Anno 2070 PC

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Anno 2070 Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 499 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Related Designs in collaboration with Blue Byte, Anno 2070 takes place in a near-future environment where climate change has forced humanity to adapt to rising sea levels that have left stretches of once-fertile land completely inhospitable. Players need to master newDeveloped by Related Designs in collaboration with Blue Byte, Anno 2070 takes place in a near-future environment where climate change has forced humanity to adapt to rising sea levels that have left stretches of once-fertile land completely inhospitable. Players need to master new technologies while facing numerous ecological challenges to build their empires. Anno 2070 offers players the ability to be architects of the future and create the world of tomorrow. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
TGS 2011: Anno 2070 - Walkthrough Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Nov 16, 2011
    93
    ANNO 2070 is the perfect game for everyone who loves to tweak an economy and build large scale cities. Especially the endgame is really complex with many things to do. A must have for every ANNO-Player.
  2. Nov 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Dec 5, 2011
    90
    The developers have succeeded in creating a game faithful to the tradition and at the same time a game full of new elements and mechanics, that make it feel fresh. All that, plus a great campaign and a variety of multiplayer options make Anno 2070 an excellent game and even some technical issues can't change that.
  4. Dec 16, 2011
    85
    The sci-fi city building of Anno 2070 is a fresh take on a familiar genre. Expect to get hooked, and stay hooked.
  5. PC Master (Greece)
    Mar 1, 2012
    84
    Putting aside minor hindrances, the game is a pleasant revival of the legendary franchise, displaying high replayability, relative to recent games. [February 2012]
  6. 80
    Going green has never been so entertaining, with the only game this Christmas where brain not brawn will save the world.
  7. Nov 21, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 145
  2. Negative: 50 out of 145
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Furistic game doesn't mean you will find aliens and uber fantasy weapons. Anno 2070, as the name suggests, is about a near future where youFuristic game doesn't mean you will find aliens and uber fantasy weapons. Anno 2070, as the name suggests, is about a near future where you must know how to manage cities and resources. This game made me spent hours of gameplay and I don't intend to stop playing. The big difference of this game compared to its predecessors is the multiplayer. The community is able to vote on global matters, choose a new president for the council, etc. Gameplay is fantastic, sound is overwhelming and campaign is quite interesting. You will find some minor problems such as voice acting doesn't seem to be good and some small typos in the text. However, I'm pretty sure such things will get fixed on future patches. This is a must buy game if you enjoy city management. Congratulations to Blue Byte! Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    New to the series, I just bought the game on Steam. I love city building and don't know how I missed the series but Blue Byte caught myNew to the series, I just bought the game on Steam. I love city building and don't know how I missed the series but Blue Byte caught my attention. They made the original Settlers which was an all-time favorite with all its short comings. Anyhow, the only bad thing about the game is that I just played for 10 hours straight and have no idea how I will wake up for work tomorrow. Just fabulous! It is intuitive, easy, and deep as a city builder can get. I suggest you just play Continuous Game rather than the missions. Have fun! Expand
  3. Dec 3, 2011
    9
    Underwater cities, massive air/sea battles, and sushi... oh my. Just like the rest of the Anno series, this game presents hours of appeal andUnderwater cities, massive air/sea battles, and sushi... oh my. Just like the rest of the Anno series, this game presents hours of appeal and challenge for all style of sim/strategy gamers. It can be as easy or tough as you wish to make it, and that's not even messing with the game settings. You can chose to be one of 2 factions, or eventually in your game progression take on aspects (fully if you wish) of both AND a sub faction! And the truly fun part about it in my opinion is that it's not just about throwing up tons of production buildings and building a massive army to conquer the world... actually, wait... strike that, it can be about that! Or you can balance trade and diplomacy and have allies fight for you. Or not even fight at all!

    The touch of balancing an ecosystem at the same time is fantastic! Fantastic in the fact that you don't have to necessarily balance the ecosystem at all if you don't want. Whether you don't mind strip mining an entire land down to bedrock to grab as much resources as possible early on or tactfully balance your production and resources for the long run without having to pickup and move around in search of more is really fun.

    This is one of the truly first games I've ever played where the replayability is so high because you can completely tweak the way you play even when your halfway through a game already. This game is well worth it to purchase off the get-go!
    Expand
  4. Oct 18, 2015
    7
    This is one of the best city-builder game I saw in recent years. This reminds me of such great games as Age of Empires II and Cossacks.This is one of the best city-builder game I saw in recent years. This reminds me of such great games as Age of Empires II and Cossacks. However, brave guys from Ubisoft made everything to corrupt your gameplay. Just read Steam reviews abous when you buy this game you cannot play it unless god of Ubisoft allows you to join his server. Another thing is inability to change default game UI scale - in Full-HD mode everything is so small, so you need good glasses to be able to play. Awesome game, but thanks to Ubisoft I could not fully enjoy it. Expand
  5. May 1, 2013
    5
    Anno 2070, a decent recourse based strategy game and seemingly a direct clone of 1702AD. Though Anno is a good game in its own rights it isAnno 2070, a decent recourse based strategy game and seemingly a direct clone of 1702AD. Though Anno is a good game in its own rights it is also anything other than innovative. Essentially you begin with what seems like some kind of “Mother ship” that looks like it just landed at some random island and now you need to colonize it with either hippie or corporate inhabitants and thrive. Fun for a while.
    So basically the story is that global warming has melted the icecaps and has made most of the planet, aside from the highest mountain peaks, completely uninhabitable. Where have I heard this one before? And wouldn’t the highest mountains be uninhabitable too. This game shows these areas as beautiful and the very view of inhabitable. Really, you would still be at the same height as it always was and the people would die from the cold. But I digress.
    There are two main factions; the Eden Initiative, the good guys I guess, and the Global Trust, or the bad guys. Each has its own high and low points like the Initiative are never short on recourses, but they expand slowly. And the Trust will quickly run out of recourses but will expand faster. Aside from those two things and the look of the buildings, there really is no difference between the two, in my opinion.
    The combat in the game is much like the combat in 1702AD, clunky and slow. Now I love strategy games. Sometimes I’ll get so hooked on Civilization that I lose track on the month that go by, but this system is just so bad. In fact, it’s downright boring. Though the graphics in the game are great and you can see every blade of grass as it gets ripped up and scarred by the rage of war there really isn’t much to the combat. They shoot and the one with greater numbers wins.
    There are several campaigns that add almost nothing to the game, actually most tend to just play the sandbox mode and get the experience of the scenarios in a single play-through instead of restarting every time. And there is almost no story or immersion to speak of. You know you’re playing a game entire time. There is no connection to the characters, no main character that I noticed, and poor endings.
    The only saving grace in this game is that it is a feast for the eyes and has an equally beautiful soundtrack.
    To be honest, this game should get a score of about 4, but due to the beautiful music models and textures in the game and that it does have a good amount of replay-ability, I have to give it a 5. It is an average game with an average experience. Don’t go tripping over the strategy fan-boys to get this one, but it is worth getting if not for early gameplay.
    Expand
  6. Apr 8, 2012
    2
    I'm an early 30s gamer and I love simulation games: Capitisim II, Simcity (All of them), Civilization Series, Tycoon Games, Flight Simulators,I'm an early 30s gamer and I love simulation games: Capitisim II, Simcity (All of them), Civilization Series, Tycoon Games, Flight Simulators, Cities XL. I've even tinkered with the Supreme Ruler games.

    With that in mind, I looked forward to this game. After playing it, all I could think was how much I hated this game. Going through the tutorial I had a few feelings:

    1. I was bored
    2. I felt the urge to drink
    3. I felt the urge to slit my wrists and uninstall.

    All this after having to enter the CD Key twice and set up a Ubi-whatever account even as a pre-existing Steam user. Compound that with the fact Steam still insists on selling this turd that's unfit for firing at your enemies via catapult for a handsome price of $79.95. I've yet to see it discounted, let alone sold for it's true value: $17 from Ubisoft and 2 hours of your life back.
    Expand
  7. Feb 20, 2014
    0
    I recently purchased Anno 2070 during a steam sale in Feb 2014. I wish I would have heeded the warnings of the other reviewers. Beware, you'reI recently purchased Anno 2070 during a steam sale in Feb 2014. I wish I would have heeded the warnings of the other reviewers. Beware, you're entering a **** of DRM the likes of which you've never seen. We're talking a level of paranoia and control of Orwellian proportions. Hopefully I can get the game to launch once Ubisoft is satisfied with my ©ompliance. Expand

See all 145 User Reviews