• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 421 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Related Designs in collaboration with Blue Byte, Anno 2070 takes place in a near-future environment where climate change has forced humanity to adapt to rising sea levels that have left stretches of once-fertile land completely inhospitable. Players need to master newDeveloped by Related Designs in collaboration with Blue Byte, Anno 2070 takes place in a near-future environment where climate change has forced humanity to adapt to rising sea levels that have left stretches of once-fertile land completely inhospitable. Players need to master new technologies while facing numerous ecological challenges to build their empires. Anno 2070 offers players the ability to be architects of the future and create the world of tomorrow. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Nov 16, 2011
    93
    ANNO 2070 is the perfect game for everyone who loves to tweak an economy and build large scale cities. Especially the endgame is really complex with many things to do. A must have for every ANNO-Player.
  2. Nov 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Dec 5, 2011
    90
    The developers have succeeded in creating a game faithful to the tradition and at the same time a game full of new elements and mechanics, that make it feel fresh. All that, plus a great campaign and a variety of multiplayer options make Anno 2070 an excellent game and even some technical issues can't change that.
  4. Dec 16, 2011
    85
    The sci-fi city building of Anno 2070 is a fresh take on a familiar genre. Expect to get hooked, and stay hooked.
  5. 84
    Putting aside minor hindrances, the game is a pleasant revival of the legendary franchise, displaying high replayability, relative to recent games. [February 2012]
  6. 80
    Going green has never been so entertaining, with the only game this Christmas where brain not brawn will save the world.
  7. Nov 21, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 138
  2. Negative: 47 out of 138
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Furistic game doesn't mean you will find aliens and uber fantasy weapons. Anno 2070, as the name suggests, is about a near future where youFuristic game doesn't mean you will find aliens and uber fantasy weapons. Anno 2070, as the name suggests, is about a near future where you must know how to manage cities and resources. This game made me spent hours of gameplay and I don't intend to stop playing. The big difference of this game compared to its predecessors is the multiplayer. The community is able to vote on global matters, choose a new president for the council, etc. Gameplay is fantastic, sound is overwhelming and campaign is quite interesting. You will find some minor problems such as voice acting doesn't seem to be good and some small typos in the text. However, I'm pretty sure such things will get fixed on future patches. This is a must buy game if you enjoy city management. Congratulations to Blue Byte! Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    I have spent over 200 hours playing this game and would never take those hours back. It is visually pleasant, moderately challenging and a joyI have spent over 200 hours playing this game and would never take those hours back. It is visually pleasant, moderately challenging and a joy to see a futuristic civilisation grow and prosper. The fact that there is nothing in the resource production lines that seems remotely impossible really catches me. Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    I don't usually enjoy games in the simulation category but anno 2070 hooked me, great graphics sound with very approachable and easy to learnI don't usually enjoy games in the simulation category but anno 2070 hooked me, great graphics sound with very approachable and easy to learn mechanics a senate and world council voting system brings a sense of community and bonuses based on player votes the world over and to top it all your "ark" allows enduring bonuses to be carried from one game to another connecting your many empires to each other. Expand
  4. Jan 5, 2012
    7
    This is a beautiful but short-lived distraction. I lasted just under a week before putting it on the shelf. Perhaps the most creative aspectThis is a beautiful but short-lived distraction. I lasted just under a week before putting it on the shelf. Perhaps the most creative aspect of the game itself is in the way that citizen needs become more diverse as they upgrade. New needs require new buildings and new resources, which are not all to be found on the home island. Some planning and shipping are in order, and this aspect of the strategy game captivated me for some long days. But the process is arbitrarily linear, and has some issues. Buildings aren't available until after demand for their resources has already become a problem, ruining the quest for perfection. Expand
  5. Jan 5, 2012
    5
    Stunning visuals, but I wouldn't reccomend it to people who have played anno 1404, the user interface is very much the same. There are justStunning visuals, but I wouldn't reccomend it to people who have played anno 1404, the user interface is very much the same. There are just way too many different resources to get to make stuff that the people want. I know what your'e gonna say, it's what makes the game difficult and fun to play, but it's just too difficult and has average gameplay. Going under water is a wonderful edition to the game, but all in all, it just doesn't improve the game, not for me anyway. Expand
  6. Apr 8, 2012
    2
    I'm an early 30s gamer and I love simulation games: Capitisim II, Simcity (All of them), Civilization Series, Tycoon Games, Flight Simulators,I'm an early 30s gamer and I love simulation games: Capitisim II, Simcity (All of them), Civilization Series, Tycoon Games, Flight Simulators, Cities XL. I've even tinkered with the Supreme Ruler games.

    With that in mind, I looked forward to this game. After playing it, all I could think was how much I hated this game. Going through the tutorial I had a few feelings:

    1. I was bored
    2. I felt the urge to drink
    3. I felt the urge to slit my wrists and uninstall.

    All this after having to enter the CD Key twice and set up a Ubi-whatever account even as a pre-existing Steam user. Compound that with the fact Steam still insists on selling this turd that's unfit for firing at your enemies via catapult for a handsome price of $79.95. I've yet to see it discounted, let alone sold for it's true value: $17 from Ubisoft and 2 hours of your life back.
    Expand
  7. Jul 29, 2014
    0
    Do NOT buy this game, or any game released by Ubisoft. Uplay is required, which most of the time crashes and when it doesn't, it keepsDo NOT buy this game, or any game released by Ubisoft. Uplay is required, which most of the time crashes and when it doesn't, it keeps patching and updating itself constantly. Basically the only way to get it to work correctly is to get a cracked version of the game. This is the reason why people pirate games, when you buy them, you get screwed over by **** DRM and random software like Uplay.

    I made the huge mistake of buying it, and now I can't get rid of it. I made another huge mistake when I thought I'd give it another change, but after 20 minutes of Uplay updating, patching and crashing I just gave up.

    Save yourself and stay away from Ubisoft products.
    Expand

See all 138 User Reviews