Anodyne PC

Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Mar 13, 2013
    84
    It stays close to its inspirations and risks growing repetitive, but Anodyne’s darkly surreal atmosphere is gripping.
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    80
    Anodyne is a well done Zelda clone with a stunning story. The vintage gaming fan will love it.
  3. Apr 17, 2013
    80
    Anodyne is a game that, despite one very problematic gameplay element, manages to play with a tried and true genre and create something new and exciting.
  4. Apr 7, 2013
    80
    A nice surprise that wants to make the player feel something, no matter what. Except for the platforms, this is a solid proposal RPGs fans should try.
  5. Mar 19, 2013
    80
    A brilliantly designed adventure that translates well-worn mechanics into a package that feels genuinely new and exciting. While an over-reliance on frustrating jumping puzzles keeps it from greatness, it's a remarkable achievement for its tiny team – a freaky, fascinating exploration of the darker side of gamer psychology.
  6. Feb 13, 2013
    80
    This is a game for those who grew up in Hyrule but spent more time in Lordran in recent years. Some finicky platforming also frustrates, but then Link didn’t get an auto-jump until Ocarina Of Time.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 19
  2. Negative: 7 out of 19
  1. Apr 6, 2013
    4
    I bought this game because people called it "atmospheric". However, I was not captured by it at all-- and I'm the type of person that enjoysI bought this game because people called it "atmospheric". However, I was not captured by it at all-- and I'm the type of person that enjoys these types of games. People need to learn that if you're going to make a game with RPG Maker, you need a good story and music to make it worthwhile. Unfortunately, Anodyne is lacking in both of these areas, at least in my opinion.

    It's not terrible, but it just wasn't good enough to make me play more than an hour.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 15, 2013
    6
    This game is advertised as zelda-esque, atmospheric adventure game. As this game indeed resembles Zelda graphically it's a far cry from anThis game is advertised as zelda-esque, atmospheric adventure game. As this game indeed resembles Zelda graphically it's a far cry from an adventure like Zelda. The story itself is one of those 'you don't know why you are here and everything's strange' -types and you have to follow a certain path to advance in it. There's not much room for exploring other than finding the gateway to your next 'dungeon'. These dungeons consist mostly of week enemies, very easy puzzles and a final boss. There are also sort of collectible cards that are required for you to open gates to new areas but besides that do nothing else than provide couple lines of "humour". These "jokes" feel quite ackward in context of rest of the game being "serious". The audio of the game is decent but forgettable. I didn't feel that Anodyne was really a game, it resembles more to "To The Moon" as an interactive story that looks like an old JRPG and should be counted as one when considering a purchase. The price tag of 8€ is a bit steep so I recommend waiting for a sale. Full Review »
  3. Jun 2, 2013
    4
    Anodyne is a Zelda-style action game where you explore surreal areas and crawl through dungeons. I really couldn't bring myself to finish thisAnodyne is a Zelda-style action game where you explore surreal areas and crawl through dungeons. I really couldn't bring myself to finish this game. While the environments are neat and a bit unsettling, the game's puzzles are really poorly designed and the controls are sub-par, which made this a really frustrating experience. In addition, the map is completely labyrinthine. I had no idea where I should be going, the map was useless, and I pretty much immediately got lost.

    The star of this game is the aesthetic. It mostly sticks to the 16-bit style, and it does it well most of the time. The music is mostly ambient and a little creepy, which really hammers in the unease.

    Ultimately, though, I found I couldn't forgive the game's serious gameplay flaws. If you think the aesthetic alone will be worth the price of entry, then you might really enjoy this game, but otherwise, there are many better ways to spend your money.
    Full Review »