Anodyne PC

Anodyne Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Anodyne, you explore and fight your way through nature, urban and abstract themed areas in the human Young's subconscious, evoked by a 16-bit-era visual style and a moody, dream-like soundtrack.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Mar 13, 2013
    84
    It stays close to its inspirations and risks growing repetitive, but Anodyne’s darkly surreal atmosphere is gripping.
  2. Apr 17, 2013
    80
    Anodyne is a game that, despite one very problematic gameplay element, manages to play with a tried and true genre and create something new and exciting.
  3. Feb 13, 2013
    80
    This is a game for those who grew up in Hyrule but spent more time in Lordran in recent years. Some finicky platforming also frustrates, but then Link didn’t get an auto-jump until Ocarina Of Time.
  4. Apr 26, 2013
    80
    Anodyne is a well done Zelda clone with a stunning story. The vintage gaming fan will love it.
  5. Apr 14, 2013
    70
    Fans of the old school adventure games should definitely enjoy the combination of exploration and puzzles the game offers and Anodyne is a nice throwback to a type of game that you simply can’t find any more.
  6. PC PowerPlay
    Jun 4, 2013
    70
    Anodyne falls between average and perfection, offering a strange, funny, horrifying few hours of old-school action-adventure. [June 2013, p.91]
  7. 60
    It's one of those games with loads of untapped potential, which is how it ultimately traps itself in the shadow of its big role-model. It manages to create an atmosphere on a comparable level of quality, but lacks in finesse of design. You're only a third of you way through this adventure until you hunger for more skills and weapons, and long exhausting marches regularly get in the way of any real adventuring. Still, Anodyne manages to entertain and displays a level of talent which has you wonder what its creators will be up to next.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 19
  2. Negative: 7 out of 19
  1. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    As far as owl rock sims go.....this game was an epic thrill ride. I barley even used my whole seat because i was on the edge of it the wholeAs far as owl rock sims go.....this game was an epic thrill ride. I barley even used my whole seat because i was on the edge of it the whole damn time! Collapse
  2. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    A great little game. Slick controls, a nice atmosphere and some real excellent music. What starts off as merely strange becomes a journeyA great little game. Slick controls, a nice atmosphere and some real excellent music. What starts off as merely strange becomes a journey into the bizarre. Can't recommend this gem enough. On sale right now for 30% off which is a great deal, but honestly $10 bucks isn't too much to ask for a game with as much charm as this. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    8
    This is a solid Zelda clone, with a really great atmosphere. The designers do a great job keeping the gameplay dynamic and interesting, withThis is a solid Zelda clone, with a really great atmosphere. The designers do a great job keeping the gameplay dynamic and interesting, with a challenging but not too hard difficulty curve. The puzzles develop in terms of intelligence and dexterity.

    While the dream-like, immersive, vagueness of the world drew me in at first, I did find it a little unsatisfying at the end. Had the ending been stronger, I would have given it a 9.
    Expand
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    5
    From the presentation, to the game engine, to the mechanics, to the controls, everything is clearly crude and underdeveloped. While it triesFrom the presentation, to the game engine, to the mechanics, to the controls, everything is clearly crude and underdeveloped. While it tries to emulate the greatness of the Nintendo classics, it totally fails on every level, including that of storytelling and setting. The only enjoyable aspect is the music sometimes. Expand
  5. AWG
    Jun 28, 2013
    5
    I can't believe games like this actually still exist in 2013. I mean, you're not good enough to develop a real game and you only can affordI can't believe games like this actually still exist in 2013. I mean, you're not good enough to develop a real game and you only can afford free tools like RPG Maker? Don't make a game, then. There are hundreds of lousy and under-the-avergare RPGs out there, we don't need another one just because it's "your own". Expand
  6. Jun 2, 2013
    4
    Anodyne is a Zelda-style action game where you explore surreal areas and crawl through dungeons. I really couldn't bring myself to finish thisAnodyne is a Zelda-style action game where you explore surreal areas and crawl through dungeons. I really couldn't bring myself to finish this game. While the environments are neat and a bit unsettling, the game's puzzles are really poorly designed and the controls are sub-par, which made this a really frustrating experience. In addition, the map is completely labyrinthine. I had no idea where I should be going, the map was useless, and I pretty much immediately got lost.

    The star of this game is the aesthetic. It mostly sticks to the 16-bit style, and it does it well most of the time. The music is mostly ambient and a little creepy, which really hammers in the unease.

    Ultimately, though, I found I couldn't forgive the game's serious gameplay flaws. If you think the aesthetic alone will be worth the price of entry, then you might really enjoy this game, but otherwise, there are many better ways to spend your money.
    Expand
  7. Nov 19, 2013
    1
    El juego en si es muy limitado, aburrido a mas no poder y parece sacado del siglo XX.
    Jugabilidad: Nula, simplemente.
    Gráficos: Parecidos al
    El juego en si es muy limitado, aburrido a mas no poder y parece sacado del siglo XX.
    Jugabilidad: Nula, simplemente.
    Gráficos: Parecidos al minecfraft, pero muchísimos peores...
    Sonido: Limidado, apenas.
    Innovación: Ninguna!!
    Expand

See all 19 User Reviews