Anodyne Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Anodyne, you explore and fight your way through nature, urban and abstract themed areas in the human Young's subconscious, evoked by a 16-bit-era visual style and a moody, dream-like soundtrack.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Mar 13, 2013
    84
    It stays close to its inspirations and risks growing repetitive, but Anodyne’s darkly surreal atmosphere is gripping.
  2. Apr 17, 2013
    80
    Anodyne is a game that, despite one very problematic gameplay element, manages to play with a tried and true genre and create something new and exciting.
  3. Feb 13, 2013
    80
    This is a game for those who grew up in Hyrule but spent more time in Lordran in recent years. Some finicky platforming also frustrates, but then Link didn’t get an auto-jump until Ocarina Of Time.
  4. Apr 26, 2013
    80
    Anodyne is a well done Zelda clone with a stunning story. The vintage gaming fan will love it.
  5. 70
    Fans of the old school adventure games should definitely enjoy the combination of exploration and puzzles the game offers and Anodyne is a nice throwback to a type of game that you simply can’t find any more.
  6. Jun 4, 2013
    70
    Anodyne falls between average and perfection, offering a strange, funny, horrifying few hours of old-school action-adventure. [June 2013, p.91]
  7. 60
    It's one of those games with loads of untapped potential, which is how it ultimately traps itself in the shadow of its big role-model. It manages to create an atmosphere on a comparable level of quality, but lacks in finesse of design. You're only a third of you way through this adventure until you hunger for more skills and weapons, and long exhausting marches regularly get in the way of any real adventuring. Still, Anodyne manages to entertain and displays a level of talent which has you wonder what its creators will be up to next.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 7 out of 18
  1. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    As far as owl rock sims go.....this game was an epic thrill ride. I barley even used my whole seat because i was on the edge of it the whole damn time! Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    A great little game. Slick controls, a nice atmosphere and some real excellent music. What starts off as merely strange becomes a journey into the bizarre. Can't recommend this gem enough. On sale right now for 30% off which is a great deal, but honestly $10 bucks isn't too much to ask for a game with as much charm as this. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    8
    This is a solid Zelda clone, with a really great atmosphere. The designers do a great job keeping the gameplay dynamic and interesting, with a challenging but not too hard difficulty curve. The puzzles develop in terms of intelligence and dexterity.

    While the dream-like, immersive, vagueness of the world drew me in at first, I did find it a little unsatisfying at the end. Had the ending been stronger, I would have given it a 9.
    Expand
  4. Nov 17, 2013
    5
    Find cards and battle bosses--that about sums up this adventure. There's a good number of different environments to explore, puzzles to solve, and monsters to fight. The gameplay is on par with other games in this genre. The story doesn't make a whole lot of sense and is probably the weakest part of the game. This is a great game had it been released 30 years ago. Today, it's just one of many attempts to copy The Legend of Zelda and just falls short of being anything but a clone. Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2013
    4
    I bought this game because people called it "atmospheric". However, I was not captured by it at all-- and I'm the type of person that enjoys these types of games. People need to learn that if you're going to make a game with RPG Maker, you need a good story and music to make it worthwhile. Unfortunately, Anodyne is lacking in both of these areas, at least in my opinion.

    It's not terrible, but it just wasn't good enough to make me play more than an hour.
    Collapse
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    4
    The main storyline of the game was decent, if nothing special (and to actually get to the ending you had to collect every last hidden collectible in the entire game). What I'm here to talk about is the 'post-game' half of the game.

    When Anodyne ends, it gives you an item to switch floor tiles, making you able to work places you couldn't before. This is done with the promise of further exploration and an entire (hidden) second half of the game. The thing is; you're meant to use this tool to exploit glitches that occur when moving outside of the maps, to get you to secret glitchy areas. This requires abusing your controls, and works about 1% of the time, essentially making the whole experience extremely frustrating.

    What is equally as frustrating is the fact that so much work seemingly has gone to making these glitchy areas, with 99 doors you have to try and pass by jumping into holes that kill you at different spots of different levels, but bringing up the menu, teleport to the waypoint area, and hope you hit one of the spots that has floor tiles to land on, and is on the right side of the doors.

    If this was truly meant to be optional, it would have been hidden away as secrets, not be your reward for completing the game, and it would definitely not have about as much content as the main game.
    Expand
  7. Nov 19, 2013
    1
    El juego en si es muy limitado, aburrido a mas no poder y parece sacado del siglo XX.
    Jugabilidad: Nula, simplemente.
    Gráficos: Parecidos al
    minecfraft, pero muchísimos peores...
    Sonido: Limidado, apenas.
    Innovación: Ninguna!!
    Expand

See all 18 User Reviews