Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. May 2, 2011
    91
    There's not much to say in summary other than "It's a bargain!"
  2. Aug 11, 2011
    90
    Unless you hate strategy games or don't have a rig powerful enough to run this, you should not pass up Anomaly.
  3. Jun 13, 2011
    90
    One of the best indie games you will play this year for sure. Rivals AAA games.
  4. May 2, 2011
    90
    If you're interested in strategy games, I highly recommend you pick this one up and keep your eyes on 11 bit studios in the future!
  5. Apr 11, 2011
    90
    For the price, Anomaly: Warzone Earth offers a fresh and exhilaratingly fun strategy experience that only few titles can match.
  6. Jun 10, 2011
    88
    A fresh, fun idea, beautifully and expertly made. Any game this inventive and clever is worth your £9.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 141 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. Dec 24, 2011
    1
    So the basic idea here is a reverse tower-defense, which seems interesting enough. The first level is quite slow, which is understandable, you're trying to build interest. That's not the reason for my particular score. The reason there is that shortly before the end of the first level, a random meteor dropped from the sky onto my caravan and destroyed one of my vehicles, instantly failing the mission for me. Let me explain why this was a game-killer for me. It's not because I lost. It's because of the how. Punishing a player for making bad choices is fine. Giving them obstacles to overcome is fine. Several times before this, my vehicles had been hit, damaged, and I was able to repair them and move on. But this was a one-hit death, in a situation where I had no control whatsoever over what had just happened, or any way to avoid it. Just, BAM, you lose the mission. The amount of terrible game design in this is just staggering, and is enough to make me regret spending any money on this game.

    I realize that this sounds harsh, but I don't want to waste my time playing a game where a player's understanding of the game is completely removed from the equation, unless I've come in knowing that's a possibility. This game presents itself as a strategy game, dumb luck shouldn't be required for success.
    Full Review »
  2. mpr
    Jun 21, 2011
    6
    Decent game. Good graphics, original gameplay: but I got bored with it after a couple hours of play. When I purchased it, I was hoping for a game as good as Defense Grid, so I was slightly disappointed. Full Review »
  3. May 7, 2011
    9
    What's a 'reversed' tower defence game? Anomaly: Warzone Earth basically is a tower destroy game, and a very addictive one at that too. You plan your route, destroy enemies' structures while keep on upgrading units in order to stay alive and complete the objective.

    The fresh gameplay mechanics and presentations of this game worth way more than it's initial 10$ price tag. Nice SFX and great (but lack variety) soundtracks
    Full Review »