User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 141 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 141

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 7, 2011
    9
    What's a 'reversed' tower defence game? Anomaly: Warzone Earth basically is a tower destroy game, and a very addictive one at that too. You plan your route, destroy enemies' structures while keep on upgrading units in order to stay alive and complete the objective.

    The fresh gameplay mechanics and presentations of this game worth way more than it's initial 10$ price tag. Nice SFX and
    great (but lack variety) soundtracks Expand
  2. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    Prima game. Anomaly tells a good story, augmented by its smart sense of place.
    I have god fun. Lots of satisfying explosions when you destroy alien defenses.
  3. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    Totally awesome game! Gameplay is like a honey, story is really nice, each troop is diferent and the player has a lot of to do inside the heart of Anomaly! Campaign is qquite short, buy I passed it a couple of time on higher difficulty. Good graphics and sounds. One of the best tactics indie game ever.
  4. May 22, 2011
    9
    Really good game. The best balanced game I've EVER played! It's easy to learn and start from high difficulty. During the game I had to change for medium and at the end It was so hard that I've finished on EASY. Non of the games I've ever played was balanced so well! Apart from that the gameplay is great, good graphics and sound.
    Weak dialogs, narrative, and lacking some functionality (e.g.
    camera movement, multiplayer). BUT It's great all around! Expand
  5. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    The first thing you will spot with Anomaly is the presentation and polish. For an indie game the presentation is amazing, from the graphical intros for each round to the voice acting, everything has been carefully nurtured to full effect. The gameplay is intuative and very easy to pick up and play without any hand holding required. There is only one downside with the game, and it isn't one that deserves any negativity, this being that it's too short! But it's short in a good way because rarely in PC gaming of recent times have I completed a game wishing that it didn't end and that I could go on. It has 14 missions and all are replayable on a more difficult level. There are even a couple of modes that keep you coming back for more, but I want more! But hang on, I only paid less than a tenner so what am I complaining about? I would gladly have paid £15 for the game and another £5 for some extra DLC maps. I hope that 11 bit studios don't get consumed by a major publisher because these guys know how to make a game - nice graphics, nice storrytelling, nice acting, simple to understand gameplay, and a feel that makes you think you're playing a AAA title. Bravo - and bring on a sequel (which would be ace with co-op or multiplayer - consider 2 player pacman as a theory :D ) Expand
  6. Apr 12, 2011
    10
    I had no idea this would actually be all that entertaining. I'm a big fan of tower defence games, and this is a pretty good example of it flipped over. The graphics are very nice, the only other td game that I've seen with nice gfx is defence grid:awakening. And i think the change is refreshing enough that I've found a new favourite. Its taken me an hour to get through 6 levels, altho I'll probably go back through on hardcore, once you nail down the strategy you'll find yourself trying to clear the areas completely instead of going with the get the the finish mentality they almost encourage. There are awards for ruthlessness tho, which are satisfying. Expand
  7. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    So far it's a discovery of the year! Can't believe it costs USD10, when it feels and plays like a USD30 title. The game is pure game-play plus some very interesting visuals, it takes you back to gold age of gaming with state-of-the art polishing. I found it very easy to get into, although the story is plain and obvious, it let me focus on tactical thinking and challenged me alright. Surprisingly it blends very well with Steam philosophy of achievements, therefore building strong potential for re-playability - when played on Steam. Pay attention to pick up there. I am utterly satisfied with this product, and I still can't believe it is so modestly priced. Go get it before the publisher finds out and fixes his only error: definitely too low price level. Expand
  8. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    I'd like to give it a 10, if the rating index to me was an equation such as (game quality + game time/cost) and the higher the better, but I dont think it deserves the highest score out there. It definitely is worth the low cost for a tower defense genre styled game. I wouldn't go as far as saying its a reverse tower defense game, but it does feel that way. You don't have a mass of units trying to flood through a setup the AI generated, but rather a limited supply of units you tactically control. I was a very big fan of defense grid, and this game defenitely resembles some of the same attention to detail ( video and audio), and an added point tracking/ranking system that I came to love, and compete over with my friends. Description: For those looking to see exactly what this game is without forking out the $. You are a commander unit that is essentially in charge of a convoy that varies in units/unit size/power that traverse a set area and you are able to plot which ways you go as the commander. As you kill towers you earn powerups, and currency which is used to enhance your existing units, or acquire more units. As the commander you are frequently on the move to make sure you can properly assist your units as they plow through all the towers. Conclusion: Worth the money if you enjoy any type of tower defense game. It has already provided hours of entertainment and I'm far from being bored of it. Collapse
  9. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    It's a short ride - maybe 8-10 hours, maximum - but don't be surprised if you finish all of that in one or two sittings. Once you pick this one up, it's nearly impossible to put down; original gameplay, intuitive controls, and all-around polish contribute to the sort of game that easily takes a place at the front of the latest wave of professional-quality indie games.

    As for the price -
    $10 - it's a bargain. We pay more than that for a single movie ticket. Expand
  10. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Anomaly: Warzone earth does what a lot of previous tower defense games haven't done: become the attacker. You get what your money's worth. Graphics, controls, interaction, story line, tutorial, it's all well done for a game that asks nothing more but $10 dollars.
  11. CRL
    Sep 2, 2011
    9
    This game is an interesting reversal of the tower defense genre where you become the creeps trying to destroy the tower. Control-wise, I liked the mouse interface better than a keyboard one, and eventually mapped the entire control system to my mouse. It gave it kind of a minimalist fee, leaving more room just to enjoy the game. Graphics-wise it's stellar for a top-down scroller, with decent lower-quality modes for lower-end GPUs. The gameplay itself was unique and fun, with maps that require thought but can be attacked many different ways, integral power-ups that need to be rationed smartly, and several different types of towers all with a different weak spot. Overall Anomaly: Warzone Earth is a lot of fun for the price, and I'd recommend it to anyone who prefers careful strategy to simply mowing down the opposition. Expand
  12. Aug 7, 2011
    9
    Anomaly is a fun twist of a classic tower defense game, where we are the "attackers". I had a blast playing it. The single player campaign is about 8-9 hours, not counting additional modes available after beating the main game. Maybe there could be more missions, but even with the current content you will have a lot of strategizing, because you have adjustable difficulty levels and those other modes. Also graphics is really good. You don't have those low resolution textures or simple models like in other games. Everything looks really good and runs smoothly. Highly recommended! Expand
  13. Oct 13, 2013
    9
    Fantastic way of handling the "tower offence" ethos, looks great, has absolutely flawless, effortless game mechanics, tells a compelling story, We are talking a premium quality game here.
  14. Jan 1, 2012
    9
    @ Laringar, your review is nonsense. I assume what happened when you played was either a bug or a mistake of your own. I think it's a fun game. The story mode is interesting, the characters are simple but like-able, voice acting is not bad. The gameplay is neat, reverse tower-defense is not a very common genre, but they really nailed it. Starts off pretty easy, but gets pretty difficult after level 12 or so.
    The graphics are quite good, and the menus are simple and effective, yet appealing.
    On the other hand, after a few hours, the game starts to bore and there's no real lasting appeal. Definitely a must-buy if you can find it at a good price.
    Expand
  15. Feb 19, 2012
    9
    I originally bought this game as part of a bundle for $6 so I wasn't expecting much. However, I was presently surprised by this game. So this is basically a reverse tower-defense game where you use powerups to protect your troops. It may sound boring, but you always have to be on your toes as a single tower can quickly deal massive damage to your troops, especially in the beginning. The main problem with the game is the lack of an option to reverse direction. Although there are a few issues here and there, it is still one of the most entertaining games I've played. Expand
  16. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    Great idea, beautifull graphics and genius mechanics. I found it firs on play store but didn't get it and then I found it on PC. I hope you guys are working on something new.
  17. Apr 20, 2011
    0
    I'd like to give it a 10, if the rating index to me was an equation such as (game quality + game time/cost) and the higher the better, but I dont think it deserves the highest score out there. It definitely is worth the low cost for a tower defense genre styled game. I wouldn't go as far as saying its a reverse tower defense game, but it does feel that way. You don't have a mass of units trying to flood through a setup the AI generated, but rather a limited supply of units you tactically control. I was a very big fan of defense grid, and this game defenitely resembles some of the same attention to detail ( video and audio), and an added point tracking/ranking system that I came to love, and compete over with my friends. Description: For those looking to see exactly what this game is without forking out the $. You are a commander unit that is essentially in charge of a convoy that varies in units/unit size/power that traverse a set area and you are able to plot which ways you go as the commander. As you kill towers you earn powerups, and currency which is used to enhance your existing units, or acquire more units. As the commander you are frequently on the move to make sure you can properly assist your units as they plow through all the towers. Conclusion: Worth the money if you enjoy any type of tower defense game. It has already provided hours of entertainment and I'm far from being bored of it. Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    83
    Proves that tower defence is as much fun in reverse. There's slick gameplay, nice visuals and a nice balance of action and strategy on offer here. Silly dialogues and story aside, the only real fault of the game is that it doesn't have that many missions or units. [June 2011]
  2. Sep 8, 2011
    84
    The simplicity of the design is where the game really shines. [Oct 2011, p.105]
  3. Aug 11, 2011
    90
    Unless you hate strategy games or don't have a rig powerful enough to run this, you should not pass up Anomaly.