Anomaly: Warzone Earth PC

Anomaly: Warzone Earth Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 164 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Blending fast-paced, explosive action with tactical battlefield command, Anomaly puts players in charge of a military convoy tasked with fighting back against the mysterious alien war machines that have begun to spring up in many of the world's largest cities. Players take part in battlesBlending fast-paced, explosive action with tactical battlefield command, Anomaly puts players in charge of a military convoy tasked with fighting back against the mysterious alien war machines that have begun to spring up in many of the world's largest cities. Players take part in battles personally to support and assist a hand-picked armor squad, utilizing their top-down tactical view to plot each and every turn of the convoy. As they progress through the story campaign and challenge modes, players will unlock upgrades and new units to build their ultimate destruction squad. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. May 2, 2011
    91
    There's not much to say in summary other than "It's a bargain!"
  2. Apr 11, 2011
    90
    For the price, Anomaly: Warzone Earth offers a fresh and exhilaratingly fun strategy experience that only few titles can match.
  3. Apr 18, 2011
    85
    The graphics are smooth and exciting, the action is hectic and well-balanced, and the gameplay is truly like nothing else I've ever seen before. And, as I started out saying, this is a budget title. How much gameplay do you need for $10? I think for the money Anomaly: Warzone Earth is a fine bargain.
  4. Apr 8, 2011
    80
    Anomaly's short length doesn't make the time I spent with it any less amusing. The chance to explore this well-executed unusual concept is well worth its $10 price tag. I look forward to seeing what the future holds for this talented studio.
  5. May 18, 2011
    80
    Despite several irritations, there's a lot of innovation in this title, and a lot of fun to be had with enough varied mission designs to prevent it from getting stale.
  6. Apr 12, 2011
    80
    These flaws are mere minor annoyances. Anomaly: Warzone Earth gives you a flexibility I've never encountered with tower-defense games, allowing you to determine the strategy you think is best suited for the situation at hand. The game is a lot of fun--and I hope this isn't the last we've seen of Anomaly from 11 bit studios.
  7. GamesRadar+
    Apr 14, 2011
    70
    Complemented with a solid plot and gameplay that finds a steady medium between strategy and action, Anomaly is a clever game that is sure to draw in tower defense fans. It's a very interesting twist and breathes new life into what was quickly becoming a tired genre.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    Prima game. Anomaly tells a good story, augmented by its smart sense of place.
    I have god fun. Lots of satisfying explosions when you destroy
    Prima game. Anomaly tells a good story, augmented by its smart sense of place.
    I have god fun. Lots of satisfying explosions when you destroy alien defenses.
    Expand
  2. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    So far it's a discovery of the year! Can't believe it costs USD10, when it feels and plays like a USD30 title. The game is pure game-play plusSo far it's a discovery of the year! Can't believe it costs USD10, when it feels and plays like a USD30 title. The game is pure game-play plus some very interesting visuals, it takes you back to gold age of gaming with state-of-the art polishing. I found it very easy to get into, although the story is plain and obvious, it let me focus on tactical thinking and challenged me alright. Surprisingly it blends very well with Steam philosophy of achievements, therefore building strong potential for re-playability - when played on Steam. Pay attention to pick up there. I am utterly satisfied with this product, and I still can't believe it is so modestly priced. Go get it before the publisher finds out and fixes his only error: definitely too low price level. Expand
  3. Feb 19, 2012
    9
    I originally bought this game as part of a bundle for $6 so I wasn't expecting much. However, I was presently surprised by this game. So thisI originally bought this game as part of a bundle for $6 so I wasn't expecting much. However, I was presently surprised by this game. So this is basically a reverse tower-defense game where you use powerups to protect your troops. It may sound boring, but you always have to be on your toes as a single tower can quickly deal massive damage to your troops, especially in the beginning. The main problem with the game is the lack of an option to reverse direction. Although there are a few issues here and there, it is still one of the most entertaining games I've played. Expand
  4. Oct 14, 2011
    8
    I liked the concept, the gameplay is pretty original. The game is pretty polished for an indie, actually more so than blockbusters. LevelI liked the concept, the gameplay is pretty original. The game is pretty polished for an indie, actually more so than blockbusters. Level design is nice. I got all my money's worth and then some more. Expand
  5. Mar 6, 2013
    8
    I purchased this game on steam for $3.33 and got about 7 hours of enjoyment out of it. By my books, that is a successful game. And there wasI purchased this game on steam for $3.33 and got about 7 hours of enjoyment out of it. By my books, that is a successful game. And there was still stuff left to complete that I never got around to doing. Graphics are decent, gameplay is unique and different, and the price was right. If on sale again, I would highly recommend it. Expand
  6. Jun 9, 2012
    7
    Pretty descent game. It's basically a reverse-tower defence game. The story is... mediocre, and the game-play is alright too. Again, for $10Pretty descent game. It's basically a reverse-tower defence game. The story is... mediocre, and the game-play is alright too. Again, for $10 bucks, I expected much worse. On a side note, this game had a very indie feel to it, and probably because it was. Expand
  7. Feb 6, 2012
    1
    I could not play through the second level. The reason? The idiots who wrote this game named their game after the English word "anomaly", andI could not play through the second level. The reason? The idiots who wrote this game named their game after the English word "anomaly", and use it throughout the game. It is quite clear that they have no bloody clue what it means whatsoever, and it's really frustrating to hear it used so hand-wavily. It's become an umbrella term for anything alien and spacey and physicsy or whatever, and that is an embarrassment. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews