Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 144 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Blending fast-paced, explosive action with tactical battlefield command, Anomaly puts players in charge of a military convoy tasked with fighting back against the mysterious alien war machines that have begun to spring up in many of the world's largest cities. Players take part in battlesBlending fast-paced, explosive action with tactical battlefield command, Anomaly puts players in charge of a military convoy tasked with fighting back against the mysterious alien war machines that have begun to spring up in many of the world's largest cities. Players take part in battles personally to support and assist a hand-picked armor squad, utilizing their top-down tactical view to plot each and every turn of the convoy. As they progress through the story campaign and challenge modes, players will unlock upgrades and new units to build their ultimate destruction squad. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. May 2, 2011
    91
    There's not much to say in summary other than "It's a bargain!"
  2. Apr 11, 2011
    90
    For the price, Anomaly: Warzone Earth offers a fresh and exhilaratingly fun strategy experience that only few titles can match.
  3. Apr 18, 2011
    85
    The graphics are smooth and exciting, the action is hectic and well-balanced, and the gameplay is truly like nothing else I've ever seen before. And, as I started out saying, this is a budget title. How much gameplay do you need for $10? I think for the money Anomaly: Warzone Earth is a fine bargain.
  4. Apr 8, 2011
    80
    Anomaly's short length doesn't make the time I spent with it any less amusing. The chance to explore this well-executed unusual concept is well worth its $10 price tag. I look forward to seeing what the future holds for this talented studio.
  5. May 18, 2011
    80
    Despite several irritations, there's a lot of innovation in this title, and a lot of fun to be had with enough varied mission designs to prevent it from getting stale.
  6. Apr 12, 2011
    80
    These flaws are mere minor annoyances. Anomaly: Warzone Earth gives you a flexibility I've never encountered with tower-defense games, allowing you to determine the strategy you think is best suited for the situation at hand. The game is a lot of fun--and I hope this isn't the last we've seen of Anomaly from 11 bit studios.
  7. Apr 14, 2011
    70
    Complemented with a solid plot and gameplay that finds a steady medium between strategy and action, Anomaly is a clever game that is sure to draw in tower defense fans. It's a very interesting twist and breathes new life into what was quickly becoming a tired genre.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    Prima game. Anomaly tells a good story, augmented by its smart sense of place.
    I have god fun. Lots of satisfying explosions when you destroy
    Prima game. Anomaly tells a good story, augmented by its smart sense of place.
    I have god fun. Lots of satisfying explosions when you destroy alien defenses.
    Expand
  2. Apr 12, 2011
    10
    I had no idea this would actually be all that entertaining. I'm a big fan of tower defence games, and this is a pretty good example of itI had no idea this would actually be all that entertaining. I'm a big fan of tower defence games, and this is a pretty good example of it flipped over. The graphics are very nice, the only other td game that I've seen with nice gfx is defence grid:awakening. And i think the change is refreshing enough that I've found a new favourite. Its taken me an hour to get through 6 levels, altho I'll probably go back through on hardcore, once you nail down the strategy you'll find yourself trying to clear the areas completely instead of going with the get the the finish mentality they almost encourage. There are awards for ruthlessness tho, which are satisfying. Expand
  3. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    Great idea, beautifull graphics and genius mechanics. I found it firs on play store but didn't get it and then I found it on PC. I hope youGreat idea, beautifull graphics and genius mechanics. I found it firs on play store but didn't get it and then I found it on PC. I hope you guys are working on something new. Collapse
  4. Feb 1, 2012
    8
    The game is beautifully voiced. Has a typical, yet working story-line. The mechanics are very dynamic, fast-paced, yet easy to learn. ButThe game is beautifully voiced. Has a typical, yet working story-line. The mechanics are very dynamic, fast-paced, yet easy to learn. But all in all - the game is just pure fun - it is unique in its approach to tower-defense, intermixing strategy, and way-point action. Really worth the time! :) Expand
  5. Mar 6, 2013
    8
    I purchased this game on steam for $3.33 and got about 7 hours of enjoyment out of it. By my books, that is a successful game. And there wasI purchased this game on steam for $3.33 and got about 7 hours of enjoyment out of it. By my books, that is a successful game. And there was still stuff left to complete that I never got around to doing. Graphics are decent, gameplay is unique and different, and the price was right. If on sale again, I would highly recommend it. Expand
  6. Jun 9, 2012
    7
    Pretty descent game. It's basically a reverse-tower defence game. The story is... mediocre, and the game-play is alright too. Again, for $10Pretty descent game. It's basically a reverse-tower defence game. The story is... mediocre, and the game-play is alright too. Again, for $10 bucks, I expected much worse. On a side note, this game had a very indie feel to it, and probably because it was. Expand
  7. Feb 6, 2012
    1
    I could not play through the second level. The reason? The idiots who wrote this game named their game after the English word "anomaly", andI could not play through the second level. The reason? The idiots who wrote this game named their game after the English word "anomaly", and use it throughout the game. It is quite clear that they have no bloody clue what it means whatsoever, and it's really frustrating to hear it used so hand-wavily. It's become an umbrella term for anything alien and spacey and physicsy or whatever, and that is an embarrassment. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews