• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 488 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Antichamber is a game about discovery, set inside a vibrant, minimal, Escher-like world, where geometry and space follow unfamiliar rules, and obstacles are a matter of perception.

    Journey through the depths of a non-Euclidean labyrinth, as you create, destroy and manipulate matter, and
    Antichamber is a game about discovery, set inside a vibrant, minimal, Escher-like world, where geometry and space follow unfamiliar rules, and obstacles are a matter of perception.

    Journey through the depths of a non-Euclidean labyrinth, as you create, destroy and manipulate matter, and uncover new ways to overcome your surroundings in this mind-bending psychological exploration game.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Feb 11, 2013
    95
    Alexander Bruce - Antichamber's creator - went out of his way to give us something more than just another first-person Portal-inspired puzzle game that appeals to critics using it's alleged artistic value. Antichamber is an unusual, fresh, intriguing and great experience. A complex mind game that will find fans among art lovers and regular gamers alike. Give your brains a break from regular shooters and give them something more interesting to process. Give them Antichamber.
  2. Feb 2, 2013
    90
    Alexander Bruce's biggest achievement with Antichamber is that he created a game that's brilliant and inviting, something that can rarely be said for a game made entirely of difficult puzzles where what you see isn't always what you get and where the room you're standing in can change at any moment.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    90
    Challenging, smart, entertaining, extremely immersive, never boring, Antichamber is a stunningly beautiful puzzle game and another deep, original indie title, with a lot of character. If you love the genre, you cannot miss it.
  4. Feb 1, 2013
    85
    Whoever wants to try something new in 2013: Antichamber has got you covered. The psychological journey developer Alexander Bruce takes you on makes you forget everything you know about videogames, and everything about the world around you. There is a chance that your brain isn’t ready for this type of psychological violence, but whoever dares to surrender themselves to Antichamber won’t be disappointed.
  5. Feb 11, 2013
    82
    Antechamber is an original and brilliant puzzle game. A title that constantly surprises you with amazing intellectual challenges in a psychedelic world.
  6. Feb 17, 2013
    80
    While it may occasionally frustrate, Antichamber is a wonderful experience. There are vague hints of a plot, but it's a plot about self-discovery and making progress, about learning how to overcome challenges and find your way through life's confusions.
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    55
    Antichamber is an intriguing little experiment. It is both a humble imitation and an attempt to avoid all the trappings and clichés of the genre. Alas, it fails to excite. Unlike Echochrome and Braid, where we bending realities to our will, in this game its creators simply tease us whenever they feel like it.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 109
  2. Negative: 11 out of 109
  1. May 31, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is really rare that I can say I loved a game this much. A ten of ten? Yes, in fact Antichamber is perhaps now one of my favorite games of all time.

    The game's premise is to put you into a world that follows rules that are nothing like the real universe: simply turning around can show you a new hallway that you didn't come through before. The puzzles slowly grow in complexity, but the gameplay is nevertheless very, very fun.

    As you play, you also find black squares with simple life lessons on them. There a total of 120 to "learn" and they contribute to the game's greatest strength, which I will explain in a second. The graphics are... interesting. The walls and floors are painted with bright, vibrant, and yet simple, elegant colors. The interface in the map room is nice as well, it lets you jump everywhere through the game with the touch of the button.

    Now, as you progress through the game, the morals you've learned start to slowly add up and create a unique picture. But, as you near the end, you finally realize the game's incredibly deep meaning. the simple (spoilers here) version is that you have been placed into a world as if you were a newborn baby, and once you win, you realize that the game is a huge metaphor for life itself.

    Overall, the game is incredibly great. The puzzles may prove challenging, but they are lots of fun to play. I would recommend this game to almost anyone who enjoys video games. The bottom line is: go out and get this game. You won't regret it.
    Expand
  2. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    [AntiChamber Steam PC Score 10] Superb a 3D first person puzzler. For the gamer great fun and addictive. For the programmer an[AntiChamber Steam PC Score 10] Superb a 3D first person puzzler. For the gamer great fun and addictive. For the programmer an inspiration in the creation of different. Computer gaming is again coming to life with refreshing ideas, so simple and straightforward, a force generating euthymia in its player, the development of patience and pride in solving each challenge. Go get it now and be prepared to be wowed.

    Released on Jan 1st, 2013 and played about 5 months later by me [DRM] Steam only and thank goodness there is no GamesForWindowsLive on this title.

    [Story]
    You discover solutions to puzzles. There is no cute girl with a nice chest with the protagonist in voice over saying “She has such pretty eyes” while everybody stares at her nipples. There are no battles in the Breastriary in Nippopolis. There is no Cheesing. Just puzzles. However the next version of this game could easily involve scantily clad aliens and power ups.

    [Challenges and Mechanics]
    Learn each new skill. Don’t look with your eyes because they lie. Feel the force Luke. Trial and error is likely to make up for brief intense stupidity, and thank dog !
    [Save] The game saves itself like every game should.
    [Keys] cannot be remapped because the game takes place in 24000 BC when dinosaurs ruled the earth. You can stick it up your WSAD !

    [Game time] 30 hrs and counting. Go back and finish the stuff you did not get even though you beat the game !

    [Audio] I always play with headphones. I thought the audio was great. They could make it even more important in the game play next time. Thank you!

    [ToYou]
    My compliments to all of you who pursue and share this obsession to experience this modern digital art. There are many games that will not be playable in 15-20 years because of OS and hardware changes. The time is now to experience these achievements. Think about going to museums and looking at those Van gogh paintings already 150 years old today. Think about watching reruns of old TV programs anytime you want. This will not be possible for most games and digital art dependent on game engines so consume and enjoy now and appreciate the moment.

    [Children] Good for 12 years old and up.... be warned that the puzzles can be challenging.

    [MyPC 2011] i7-2600K 3.4GHz ASUS Z68 ProGen3 8G RAM Radeon 6870 W7 PRO SP1 Samsung 275T @1920x1200 Logitech G15 Kensington ExpertMouse

    [MyFavorites] [Win7] AntiChamber Stacking Metro2033 Rochard TheDreamMachine Crysis&Warhead&2 JustCause2 Rage [XP] DeuxExHR&TheMissingLink DeadSpace1&2 Fallout3&NewVegas HalfLife1&2 Bordelands1&2 BatmanArkumAsylum AssassinsCreed Magicka RedFaction Portal1&2 FromDust MrRobot Sam&MaxSeasons1&2 CulpaInnata TheSecretOfMonkeyIsland DreamfallTheLongestJourney Syberia1&2 CrayonPhysicsDeluxe DefenseGridTheAwakening PlantsVsZombies Prototype Bioshock1&2 UnrealTournament3 Quake4 [360] AfroSamurai BrutalLegends [XBOX] HALO KOTOR1&2 Crackdown ArmedAndDangerous AggressiveInline BeyondGoodAndEvil DeadOrAlive1&2&3&ExtremeBeachVolleyball Psychonauts [AppleG4] FullThrottle DeusExMachina ONI ReturnToZork Suspended UnrealTournament TombRaiderSeries [Born] 1964

    [PS: I do not know anybody who works in the game industry I just enjoy games
    Expand
  3. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    One of the best puzzle games ever made. In most video games they give you a few options but most of them don't lead anywhere. When the hero isOne of the best puzzle games ever made. In most video games they give you a few options but most of them don't lead anywhere. When the hero is asked "Do you want to save the princess?" It might give you a Yes or No choice but really no matter what you pick, you have to go save the princess. Not in Antichamber. Every decision you make leads somewhere. Turned left instead of right at an intersection? The game will happily let you continue down this path for 20 minutes throwing puzzles at you as you go just to find yourself trapped in a room with no way out. Probably because you missed some really important clue or ignored all the really subtle warnings that you were going the wrong way. This game might just be the most scary games ever made. Its not a fear of something popping out at you and eating your face like most horror games, its a fear of the unknown. Its the same fear you might get before giving a big speech in front of a large audience. What if I make a mistake? What if I forget what I was going to say? What if the audience does not like what I'm about to say? Only now its what if I go down this hallway instead of the other one? What if I close this door behind me and I get trapped? What if this next room has a hidden trap door and I fall into a completely new level? What if I did not find all the items I needed to from the area I can no longer access?
    You can always teleport out by pressing the escape key and start again, but you don't want to. You never want to admit the game beat you or that you fell for such an obvious trap. The game does such an amazing job setting the mood and pulling you in that it almost feels like your trapped for real.
    Overall its one of the best games I have ever played.
    Expand
  4. Apr 17, 2013
    9
    Antichamber offers an extraordinary, humbling experience that I would rank up there with Braid, Limbo, and Portal. Yes, it is sad that I feelAntichamber offers an extraordinary, humbling experience that I would rank up there with Braid, Limbo, and Portal. Yes, it is sad that I feel I have to compare this game with the aforementioned titles but it seems unavoidable.
    This is not a story driven game, lets get that out of the way as soon as possible. Antichamber is for the competitive at heart; the only satisfaction one will get for playing this game is from being able to advance. Browsing the reviews this seems to be one of the most common negatives on the game. When I saw the trailer it was evident that this game was not going to be plot focused, so I wasn't let down in anyway because I knew what I was getting into. I found the lack of story actually quite refreshing.
    I kept expecting the puzzles to get repetitive, but I did not find this to be true. One of the more frustrating points of the game was the access to many puzzles that you did not have the tools to solve. The way I went about it, figuring out you are unable to do a puzzle is part of the puzzle itself.
    Watch some of the trailers for this game. If it looks good, buy it!
    Expand
  5. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    First things first: Antichamber is a must-play title if you're into puzzle game. You'll find yourselves trapped in this really deceptive mazeFirst things first: Antichamber is a must-play title if you're into puzzle game. You'll find yourselves trapped in this really deceptive maze where nothing it's what it seems, without a tutorial or anything similar to it. There's not even a game menu, everything is handled from the first room, audio and graphic options included. I know it may sound weird but works perfectly fine.

    You'll mostly walk long white corridors leading to locked doors, when you're lucky, or room with apparently no exit, when you're not. Many times I had the feeling of being in a museum of installation art rather than a video-ame.

    Soon you'll get the weird feeling of being tested, just like happened in the Portal saga. But the similarities end here. The most notable difference between the two titles is that Antichamber completely lacks a storyline. That's probably the reason why I never felt being sucked into the game. However, this is not necessarily a negative aspect. We're talking about a title that, in my opinion, should be taken in small doses, it needs to sediment before you can go on with it.

    If you won't stop for a while focusing on details you'll end up wandering around without a destination, which might be frustrating for some players. So now we get to my only real criticism. Your best friend in order to complete the game will be the map, that's where you'll get the only clues to get past the challenges you'll be faced with. The funny thing is that I realised only by the end of the game how it "worked".

    To conclude, a tip for the players willing to give this really unusual game a chance: think out of the box!
    Expand
  6. c3p
    Jan 10, 2014
    7
    While i like the idea, the learning curve is too steep in my opinion. Often i wander around aimless searching for "correct" way to proceed theWhile i like the idea, the learning curve is too steep in my opinion. Often i wander around aimless searching for "correct" way to proceed the game. I also would love a "dark mode" with differently coloured walls. Expand
  7. Feb 8, 2013
    0
    This game is unfinished. You are limited to only using the A, W, S, D keys and the spacebar. You are not allowed to configure your keys. TheThis game is unfinished. You are limited to only using the A, W, S, D keys and the spacebar. You are not allowed to configure your keys. The creator of this game and all of you whom approve this kind of half-az work to be released are asking for the world of pain. What you've shown is it's perfectly okay for people to release games that are not finished. Well Done. Expand

See all 109 User Reviews

Trailers