APB (All Points Bulletin) PC

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 290 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 9, 2011
    9
    The Customization in APB is some of the deepest I've seen rivaling games like Oblivion. The Driving with sirens and random mayhem also make for great fun. 2/3 of the game are spot on and keep me playing time and time again. The downside? Cheaters and more so the Combat system. The weapons in APB are horrible and make me believe that regardless of their hand in GTA, RTW had no businessThe Customization in APB is some of the deepest I've seen rivaling games like Oblivion. The Driving with sirens and random mayhem also make for great fun. 2/3 of the game are spot on and keep me playing time and time again. The downside? Cheaters and more so the Combat system. The weapons in APB are horrible and make me believe that regardless of their hand in GTA, RTW had no business making anytype of shooter. The pistols function as .50 cal sniper rifles with awkward firing rates, the assault rifles are horribly inaccurate also with awkward rates of fire, and so on. Basically ranges, rates of fire, and accuracy degradation are all f*cked up. Also there is no system of FPSesque aiming that you would see in most 3rd person shooters. No sniper scopes, red dots, acogs etc, just the same crappy zoom for everything.

    The Game has great potential but the weapons mechanics need an overhaul and the hackers need to be dealt with.
    Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    The fact that it's all free, APB is a fantastically fun game filled with endless customization, good PvP, great graphics, with lacking content. I have only played this game with friends, so a large part of my score is probably due to that, but the ability to form a group called "The A Team" and formed by characters that look perfectly like the real deal, in a black van with burnt orangeThe fact that it's all free, APB is a fantastically fun game filled with endless customization, good PvP, great graphics, with lacking content. I have only played this game with friends, so a large part of my score is probably due to that, but the ability to form a group called "The A Team" and formed by characters that look perfectly like the real deal, in a black van with burnt orange trimming and a logo that is identical to the real thing is just priceless. Hours of fun with my friends, and since it's free you can't complain. Definitely worth checking out. Expand
  3. GregoryS
    Jun 30, 2010
    8
    I've played the beta and its really got me hooked up so I pre-ordered. Very fun and intense. Lots team action with chases and drive by with your team of strangers or friends. Progress through ranks faster as you perform the missions better by outsmarting your opponent, and unlock many new stuff for customizations, weapons and and vehicles. There's also built in voice chat used I've played the beta and its really got me hooked up so I pre-ordered. Very fun and intense. Lots team action with chases and drive by with your team of strangers or friends. Progress through ranks faster as you perform the missions better by outsmarting your opponent, and unlock many new stuff for customizations, weapons and and vehicles. There's also built in voice chat used for talking to your teammates or just talk to players in the safe area. The customization. are unlimited. like design your own funny t-shirts for everyone to see using various fonts colors and images for everyone to see or play with style. You can only compare it to gta, but you hardly can find anyone to play gta4 and its lags alot. Its also not the same level of realism and physics as gta4. There's no flat tires or shoot through glass or taking cover. More like gta 3 with unreal 3 graphics. The steering of a car is also different, similar to nfs shift but more easier to drive. You really gotta be focused and get experience (as a player not char) with driving to master it. No motorcycles , not many car models and weapons yet, but new content should be served regularly as in mmo. The maps are also well designed, good intuitive routing and wide roads, unlike gta 4 maze. You also have interiors, and areas with on foot only in various designs like covers, ladders, and other obstacles, where one team get point to defend while other team trying to reach or capture. Of course I've also had there's some issues with it but it doesn't break for me. Overall the concept is great and the game one of a kind. So its very recommended at least to try, if you like this mixed genre of online, shooting, driving, and role play certainly try. You get 50 hours of playing in the action area and unlimited time in the safe/social area. So if you're not hardcore and can play 5-10 hours a day this can last 2-3 month and it doesn't expire so can came back at any time, buy 20 hours for $5 or you can subscribe for a month of unlimited gameplay at $10 or 6 month for $50. Expand
  4. CC
    Jul 1, 2010
    9
    Good start and much potential. Needs some balance tweaking, but overall is very fun. Minor issues are dwarfed by moments of brilliance. If you like GTA, and wished, "Hey, I wish I could play this online with my friends with an MMO twist (leveling, gear, etc..)" then you will be very pleased!
  5. MattU
    Jul 2, 2010
    8
    It's not the most polished game, and it doesn't really feel like a complete game yet. The game can be quite repetitive at times with the same mission types, but the game is a blast when playing in a group with friends. There's really nothing else like it. I'm also certain that this game will evolve into something much more appealing to other people as development It's not the most polished game, and it doesn't really feel like a complete game yet. The game can be quite repetitive at times with the same mission types, but the game is a blast when playing in a group with friends. There's really nothing else like it. I'm also certain that this game will evolve into something much more appealing to other people as development continues. This game is more like a work in progress, just... stay tuned if you're not interested yet. Expand
  6. DanielW
    Jun 29, 2010
    10
    I love it, it's SO cool. most online games charge you to do everything, go anywhere, but APB only charges the action districts (and im loving the customization area) The community is cool and the forum people are getting back to us a lot quicker than most games I've played. Seriously love the gameplay as well. You've not lived until you've been in a ten vs ten or more, I love it, it's SO cool. most online games charge you to do everything, go anywhere, but APB only charges the action districts (and im loving the customization area) The community is cool and the forum people are getting back to us a lot quicker than most games I've played. Seriously love the gameplay as well. You've not lived until you've been in a ten vs ten or more, seriously. Expand
  7. mattb
    Jun 29, 2010
    8
    It's a fun game that does what it says it pits you against other players to battle it out in the city of San Paro, and thats pretty much it PvP. I myself enjoy it for its simplicity but it's simplicity does not mean it lacks in customization on the contrary the amount of depth and time that can be put into your car, character, cloths, emblem is endless. If you have friends to It's a fun game that does what it says it pits you against other players to battle it out in the city of San Paro, and thats pretty much it PvP. I myself enjoy it for its simplicity but it's simplicity does not mean it lacks in customization on the contrary the amount of depth and time that can be put into your car, character, cloths, emblem is endless. If you have friends to play with you will not be disappointed. Expand
  8. MikhailB
    Jun 29, 2010
    10
    The game is real fun. You can play as a Criminal or an Enforcer, which gives a variety of choises in available actions. As an Enforcer you are trying to arrest criminals which commited a crime, while as a Criminal, you break the law by all means nececcery, because this brings you advancement with your contact relationship. Also in this game you can customize your character, tatoos, cars, The game is real fun. You can play as a Criminal or an Enforcer, which gives a variety of choises in available actions. As an Enforcer you are trying to arrest criminals which commited a crime, while as a Criminal, you break the law by all means nececcery, because this brings you advancement with your contact relationship. Also in this game you can customize your character, tatoos, cars, car detail, clothing and weaponry. I would like to conclude, this probably is a biggest MMO expirience of your life, don't miss it! Expand
  9. TonyJ
    Jun 30, 2010
    9
    It really has the core for the makings of a great game. The customization is ridiculous. Last night, I made a set of clothing that looks exactly like what they sell in my college bookstore. There are some bugs at the moment, most notably the performance issues. It seems that no matter how good your system is, its hit or miss on whether you will be able to run the game properly. RTW says It really has the core for the makings of a great game. The customization is ridiculous. Last night, I made a set of clothing that looks exactly like what they sell in my college bookstore. There are some bugs at the moment, most notably the performance issues. It seems that no matter how good your system is, its hit or miss on whether you will be able to run the game properly. RTW says they are working on the problem, but its been a known problem for a few weeks now. The gameplay is fun. Driving an ambulance while your friends hang out of the windows and doors while running over opponents really gets the blood flowing. Expand
  10. NathanS
    Jul 2, 2010
    9
    Overall a very fun game - but not without its flaws. This game honestly probably should have been delayed for probably about another month, but, despite lacking in many ways, I've found the game quite enjoyable and has delivered to meet my needs on a basic level. If you have someone else to play with, this is an easy win, although I can't vouch for solo play - as with any MMO, Overall a very fun game - but not without its flaws. This game honestly probably should have been delayed for probably about another month, but, despite lacking in many ways, I've found the game quite enjoyable and has delivered to meet my needs on a basic level. If you have someone else to play with, this is an easy win, although I can't vouch for solo play - as with any MMO, you have to rely on the competancy of others, which can be hit or miss. If the developers hold true to their promise of patching the issues they claim they will (and soon) this review will have been well worth the rating. Expand
  11. T.Daley
    Jun 29, 2010
    8
    This game is as fun as you make it. Playing in groups of 2 or more is where the most fun is to be had and the APB system is a really cool concept and is what makes this game special over traditional MMO's. If you are crafter/grinder this game isn't for you. If you are a shooter fan then this game is certainly worth a try.
  12. MichaelP
    Jun 29, 2010
    8
    The game has smooth controls and an impressive flow to the gameplay, which greatly rewards tactical approaches to combat. This leads many to conclude that the game is unbalanced when it's really just a failure to think through your approach before charging in, but I see this as a major positive. It's only major failing is it's limited scope, which might lead some to get The game has smooth controls and an impressive flow to the gameplay, which greatly rewards tactical approaches to combat. This leads many to conclude that the game is unbalanced when it's really just a failure to think through your approach before charging in, but I see this as a major positive. It's only major failing is it's limited scope, which might lead some to get tired of it quickly. Expand
  13. MattL
    Jun 29, 2010
    9
    The amount of customization is amazing, anything you can think of can be made. It gives the game an amazing level of depth. The amount of possibilities and scenarios in each mission you take on, with players hunting you down or you hunting others down, makes the missions different every time. The only thing that kept it from a 10 was the small game world.
  14. Oct 10, 2010
    10
    I personally think this was one of the best games ever put onto the market. Yes there was major glitches, cheating problems, and bugged missions in the end but it was still an amazing game. The game kind of put you into the life of a person, being criminal or enforcer, that you got to control and live out their life. The customization was almost perfect, there were glitches in editors,I personally think this was one of the best games ever put onto the market. Yes there was major glitches, cheating problems, and bugged missions in the end but it was still an amazing game. The game kind of put you into the life of a person, being criminal or enforcer, that you got to control and live out their life. The customization was almost perfect, there were glitches in editors, glitches in applying decals, etc, but nothing that couldn't have been fixed with a few new patches. I think the reason why people did not really get into this game is the fact they didn't play with regular groups of people whilst talking to them in TeamSpeak or Ventrillo. To me when I played this with my group of friends it just felt like we were a real gang of criminals, it was just an amazing feeling and you could really get close to the people you were playing with and it almost felt as if you were really with them. I just think this game had MASSIVE potential and if it had the right funding it could have been probably one of the biggest games in history. People like Savino, JusticeMortice, and other hackers just ruined the community. Nobody liked them and they just acted like total douche bags and ruined the game with their aimbots. I think if the game had more time to fix all the bugs and fix their anti cheat system it could have been the most amazing game. I mean even as it was I would play around 5 hours a day at least. Thats a lot for a person like me, before this game id maybe play a game once a week for about an hour? I think even with repetitive missions this was one of the most entertaining games ever. I truly will miss this game, and I am sad to never have seen it grow into the game it could have been with some more time and funding. It makes me sad to see this one go. Also all the people who based their review off the first week of gameplay, they fixed pretty much everything with the driving that nobody liked, and just everything that was wrong in the beginning with GAMEPLAY was fixed. Not weapons and that stuff but everything else was fixed and running perfect. Especially the drifting in cars, most amazing drifting I have ever seen in a game. R.I.P APB Expand
  15. JayW
    Jun 30, 2010
    9
    Realtime Worlds new MMO "APB" is the most revolutionary MMO to come out since Planetside and is the first to buck the typical World of Warcraft styling since about just as long. However, some design choices made to benefit the balance of the game may alienate some less patient players as the lack of auto-aim may make GTA junkies feel less skilled as they normally expect and WoW junkies Realtime Worlds new MMO "APB" is the most revolutionary MMO to come out since Planetside and is the first to buck the typical World of Warcraft styling since about just as long. However, some design choices made to benefit the balance of the game may alienate some less patient players as the lack of auto-aim may make GTA junkies feel less skilled as they normally expect and WoW junkies looking for a new game will be turned off by the amount of player skill and pure luck that plays into the game as opposed to simply increasing statistics of your character to gain an edge in combat. Overall though anyone who plays long enough and takes the game seriously enough to adjust any previous bad gaming habits will find a remarkably well balanced combination of typical 3rd person shooter and MMORPG conventions in one amazing game. Expand
  16. BMF
    Aug 16, 2010
    10
    This game is probably one of the most underrated games I have played I think its a absolute blast to rip it up around the city with clan members and friends most people who are complaining either got their ass kicked or have old comps that they for some reason think will run new games flawlessly. APB isnt without its flaws either but realtime worlds has a large patch coming in the nearThis game is probably one of the most underrated games I have played I think its a absolute blast to rip it up around the city with clan members and friends most people who are complaining either got their ass kicked or have old comps that they for some reason think will run new games flawlessly. APB isnt without its flaws either but realtime worlds has a large patch coming in the near future that will fix most issues. Expand
  17. Aug 23, 2010
    10
    This game is average. It's not Good, but it's not bad ether. This game allows you to be creative you can make your own designs for your character and car and if you think it's good enough even put it up for sale in-game. The game works were it needs to but the action is frustrating and can be boring there isn't really a story and all missions are the same.
  18. Sep 1, 2010
    8
    After the recent updates to the game my score of this has gotten significantly higher than it would have been upon release. Most of the main issues have been addressed such as match-making and balance.

    It is a shame that this game will keep the low ratings that it originally deserved, as this have improved drastically and look to continue this trend.
  19. Sep 18, 2010
    10
    Let me start by saying that I think APB has gotten a bad rap, and had many bad reviews it truly did not deserve. APB had some real flaws no doubt, but this game excels were so many have failed, and is something new and fresh in many ways, to give some many redundant games good reviews then crush this game cause it had some flaws but is doing something new and fun is to mislead many peopleLet me start by saying that I think APB has gotten a bad rap, and had many bad reviews it truly did not deserve. APB had some real flaws no doubt, but this game excels were so many have failed, and is something new and fresh in many ways, to give some many redundant games good reviews then crush this game cause it had some flaws but is doing something new and fun is to mislead many people who might have found a home as I did in APB. I saw many people reply back to bad reviews, with comments says they were glad they did not waste their many, well I wasted my money and now the game is gone, and I still do not regret playing this game a bit, and will miss this game more than most, so there were possibly countless people who never got the chance to try this game now, and that is because so game reviewers got this game wrong, dead wrong.
    The main thing about APB is you needed to play with some friends, or at least in a group. you needed to use ventrillo or at least the in game voice chat, to be able to communicate with people on your team and get in to some real fire fights and use some good strategy. I truly got in to some of the best game play and some of the best fire fights I have ever played in a game, and that says allot, I am old and have play most FPS games and something about this game shined in that regard. This game also had many bad missions, that chose to send people casing each other around the map instead of fighting, to sometimes end with a team winning in the last second and no one felt good about those missions in the end. Some missions just never made any sense to me, where one team have lives they could lose, and the other team did not, and some missions just had you run around and do some stuff and no opposition ever showed up, it felt like a waste of time to me. I think the CCG gun at the end was a unbalanced, and cheating did get worse, but I got called a cheater many times and I never cheated in the game, so I think it was not as big a problem as many thought, the problem of people calling others cheaters was a worse problem in my opinion. The cheating problem could be fixed or at least kept as a reasonable level like in any of these games, and the missions could have been easily made better, and there was so much potential for some great missions that now will never be, the game never really got a chance and was in trouble early, I think the bad reviews helped put a undeserved nail in the coffin of what could have been a really big game.
    Some things that APB had going for it, there was some much, the customization engine of this game, was fabulous and I never have seen so much diversity in a game before, and you could tell people were really in to their characters and the cars they drove. Even though there were only 2 cities, they were well done, and were designed well, the engine was beautiful, even though I bought a new PC right before the game was out, and that definitely helped, this was a awesome looking game when ran with the video options turned up. The car models looked great and the overall graphics and art work on everything was top notch, even the UI was very well done in this game, everything just looked polished like something I big game company would put out, not like many of the games I have bought that were good, but you could tell they passed on many of these things. Another thing that people do not talk about is how the how the game felt when you are running around fighting, many game just do not feel right, it feels to me like you have a broom handle shoved up your butt, you move to stiff and it's hard to quickly move and help people, this game always felt really good to me, it played so well that I think it was not talked about cause you do not notice these things when they are done this good.
    The fact that this game is just going to get scrapped and thrown in the trash can, is just crazy! I have play so many game that did not have 1/4 the potential as this game, I could spend another hour talking about ideas and expansions that would have just made this game better and better. vehicles and motorcycles, cool missions were you might rob a bank and have to keep hostages alive, training areas were you could test out your upgrades and weapons before you bought them, who maps were its clan against clan in the whole city are just a few.
    Let's hope there is still time for someone to save this game, but if not let's hope someone come out with something as good, maybe better soon.
    Expand
  20. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    My below review was for the new free-to-play title APB Reloaded. Sorry for my mistake Check it out on steam or at gamersfirst website. See you ingame! :D
  21. Aug 24, 2014
    10
    game is good it has a very unique customization level not seen in any other game every thing is basically user made, game play is fun and a great play when other games are getting boring
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 42
  2. Negative: 9 out of 42
  1. PC Zone UK
    63
    Style over substance. [Oct 2010, p.74]
  2. games(TM)
    60
    When all its cylinders are firing, APB can be quite fun, but that enjoyment is blunted by the fact that its action mechanics and driving are both so clunky. [Issue#99, p.108]
  3. APB attempts to combine the feel of an MMO with the PvP of a first person shooter. By themselves, each concept works well. But here, each feels like it only received partial effort.