Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Jan 10, 2012
    75
    All Points Bulletin has improved drastically from its original launch but isn't necessarily the MMO Grand Theft Auto we've been looking for.
  2. Jan 23, 2012
    70
    There is fun to be had on the streets of San Paro though, and as the price of entry is precisely zero, there's absolutely no reason not to give it a try.
  3. Jan 25, 2012
    68
    APB Reloaded comes with new locations, a better gameplay and a new free-to-play format that lets you play for hours without spending anything, though you have to buy something in order to be more competitive.
  4. Feb 20, 2012
    60
    The immediacy of the game with fast missions and compact worlds allows constant action, which grants immediate satisfaction. However, it takes more than flowered shirts and deadly shotguns to create a committed relationship with the player.
  5. Jan 19, 2012
    60
    A textbook example of wasted potential. Again! If someone woke me up in the middle of the night and asked about the differences between the original APB and Reloaded I'd mention only two things. 'Civilians' got some new animations and the game went free-to-play. It's not enough for a relaunch. [February 2012, p.54]
  6. Jan 6, 2012
    60
    Fires far too many blanks. Free is a tough price to turn down, but the city of San Paro is – at best – a vacation spot. We simply can't recommend an extended stay.
  7. Jan 26, 2012
    57
    Reloaded has recreated APB, but reined in its ambition. Most of the same problems are here, but for a better price. [Mar 2012, p.70]
  8. Aug 7, 2012
    50
    This isn't a great game, it's not even a good game, but it is the closest thing we've got to a cops-and-robbers MMO - which is, I suspect, one of the all-time great video game concepts. One day, somebody's going to do it right, and they're going to become very rich indeed.
  9. Apr 28, 2012
    50
    Although APB has a few good ideas, the execution just isn't fun enough. It presents itself as an online Grand Theft Auto, but in its core is nothing more than deathmatch in an open world. Shooting isn't balanced well, and the number of missions is so limited that it becomes a bore really fast.
  10. Dec 11, 2011
    50
    It's still not nearly enough to save what is a fundamentally bad shooter. The smartest thing GamersFirst did was make APB: Reloaded free-to-play, allowing players to find out for themselves without the upfront cost.
  11. Dec 19, 2011
    42
    Just a bad shooter in its bones. Whether the cops or the robbers win a matchup is still mostly dependent on who gets there first and camps out with line-of-sight to the objective. Lack of locational damage means hitting someone with a sniper shot is going to make them half dead whether the bullet hits someone in the face or the ankle. Other than the tweaks mentioned earlier the vast litany of complaints we had about the game the first time around still stands.
  12. Feb 6, 2012
    40
    The original release of the game was an interesting (but not great) concept hobbled by atrocious execution, and it seems like the people who went in trying to rescue it have managed to make things worse in an overall sense. There was little to recommend the original game. There's even less to recommend it's second act.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 222 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 109
  2. Negative: 49 out of 109
  1. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    Very fun to play with friends. Alone it's not as fun but still it is. Being a nice change to other Free 2 play MMOs. There were alot of bugs in the earlier version but they are mostly fixed. New patches and updates are coming so the game won't get boring for a while. The game looks good and even with minium settings. Full Review »
  2. Jun 27, 2012
    0
    It makes me want to vomit. What else can I say? Nonexistant physics, illogical mechanics and constant pressure to go premium. Yesterday I was rammed into a shop by an enforcer who then proceeded to witness me and throw grenades until my car exploded. The day before that I was on a mission in which the enemy team had no deaths due to superior equipment and spawning close to the objective. The day before that I glitched into a wall while exiting my van full of stolen goods, then had to watch as those goods were taken and sold by other players. Get the game if you'd like, but understand the following: Bullets will go through walls. Players with better guns will kill you time and time again. Your brain cells will slowly die off as you drag them through this farce of a game, laden with idiotic "how-did-he-not-die?" moments, an inadequate physics engine and plain-out foolishness. I've only played it for a week and my IQ's dropped a good 10 points. Good thing I uninstalled it today. Full Review »
  3. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    If they manage to keep updating and fixing stuffm, then they are absolutely doing a great job. I liked the RTW version but it was so broken, i certainly see great improvements. Very good team game, playing alone when being a high rank is risky though. Full Review »