Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jan 31, 2011
    90
    For an indie title, ARES is really impressive. For a full on downloadable title, this is impressive. ARES does so many things right, it's hard not to want more.
  2. Apr 21, 2011
    79
    With its rockin' techno beats, ARES takes me back to the days of the classic NES Mega Man games. [June 2011, p.77]
  3. Feb 25, 2011
    75
    I liked A.R.E.S.: Extinction Agenda, and if you're into old-school action-platformers or Mega Man X-like titles, you probably will too.
  4. Mar 29, 2011
    65
    A surprisingly well-made platformer, albeit simple and extremely short.
  5. Jan 28, 2011
    60
    If the team can perhaps fix a few niggling issues via an update A.R.E.S. will be well worth a look, but until then this is a case of try before you buy.
  6. Mar 31, 2011
    50
    Solid gameplay marred by clunky controls and an almost painfully generic story. [Apr 2011, p.68]
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 4 out of 13
  1. Nov 7, 2011
    8
    This game is very reminiscent of the Mega man X series and it delivers the same kind of platforming experience complete with new guns for defeating bosses and upgradeable armor and weapons. The soundtrack is solid and listenable, the settings look great and the 2.5D look it has really works itself to the games futuristic feel. The story did feel a bit rushed and lacking in any real meaning, but the gameplay was fun and the levels offer replay value. I enjoyed the game, but did find it a bit short, I spent maybe 4 hours on it and this was after replaying some levels quite a few times. Some of the boss battles were much more difficult that the others, but overall it was not too difficult a game really. A control pad is strongly recommended if you want the full experience. Overall I found the game worth playing and hope that they release content such as new levels and enemies, I would replay it if this was done. Full Review »
  2. Aug 15, 2011
    2
    Extremely boring and anti-climatic. Has been ported from consoles to PC which result on a confusing UI for those playing only PC games.
    Expended one hour with it and I feel like I wasted my time.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 27, 2011
    9
    For those of us who played Contra as kids, the feeling of firepower was almost overwhelming. Put simply: this is Contra in super-smooth HD. This game is gorgeous all the way through but the boss fights are mind-blowing. During boss-fights and other set pieces they use multiple layers of backgroud to create an uncanny 3D effect. Also due to the mouse, aiming and shooting is a breeze. Unfortunately the platforming is a steaming pile of frustration. Full Review »