ArmA: Combat Operations PC

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 79
  2. Negative: 9 out of 79
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    This is one of the most realistic games I have ever seen and its a very good looking game as well there's so much user made content its insane. Most people buy this game just because of the many mods and one famous mod is DayZ that is A-mazing. There's a few bugs here and there but the patches are great and fix a lot of them. If you want some action then you must try this game!
  2. ChuckL
    Apr 8, 2009
    10
    Armed Assault is closest war simulator ever done. It doesn't matter, it has many bugs with physics and such, but it's not the point. The point is to make player know - how it is to be a soldier on battlefield, commander in tank, or pilot in a plane. Game has very interesting storyline, the oportunity to download addons is great. Of course some things have remained from Operation Armed Assault is closest war simulator ever done. It doesn't matter, it has many bugs with physics and such, but it's not the point. The point is to make player know - how it is to be a soldier on battlefield, commander in tank, or pilot in a plane. Game has very interesting storyline, the oportunity to download addons is great. Of course some things have remained from Operation Flashpoint, but this also gives the feeling that it is really the sequel to previous OFP. Only we can wait for ArmA 2 and well hope it will have previous "spirit of the game". Expand
  3. ZachO.
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    Awesome, Awesome simulation. I say simulation because this thing is far from a game. The realism in this game can be brutal for the uninitiated, which will probably turn off plenty of more casual types of gamers expecting something more like BF2. Personally, I'm glad that games like this are still made and that BI doesn't 'dumb it down' for the lowest common Awesome, Awesome simulation. I say simulation because this thing is far from a game. The realism in this game can be brutal for the uninitiated, which will probably turn off plenty of more casual types of gamers expecting something more like BF2. Personally, I'm glad that games like this are still made and that BI doesn't 'dumb it down' for the lowest common denominator like the R6 and GR franchises have chosen to do. Realistic sims are in short supply these days. You will probably either love this game or hate it. If you liked OFP I don't see how you could not like this sim. The replay factor is infinite as there are already tons of user made mods out for it already and multiplayer is unique (horay coop!). Expand
  4. MarioT
    May 27, 2009
    9
    Out of the box the game was kinda bad.. but since then things gotten alot better, patch fixed many of the bug, and the community ran with it, making truely awesome mods for it now.. if your only looking for single player play... this isnt your thing.. this game really shines when played online in a structured manner, which is where the action is at, missions which might take anythign from Out of the box the game was kinda bad.. but since then things gotten alot better, patch fixed many of the bug, and the community ran with it, making truely awesome mods for it now.. if your only looking for single player play... this isnt your thing.. this game really shines when played online in a structured manner, which is where the action is at, missions which might take anythign from 20min to 3 hours, is where the immersion factor really draws us in, this is a SIMULATOR, not a arcade game.. keep this in mind. The ACE mod is a fan required mod for this game, after that.. its only a matter of finding the right server to play in, hooah! Expand
  5. Feb 13, 2013
    10
    It is the best military shooter ever made, maybe i'll install it once again to remember the good old days, the new Arma games are great to, but this one was the base for those games.
  6. JonF.
    Apr 4, 2008
    1
    game sucked. reminds me of that jet game, ace combat or somethng like that. I guess they are trying to go for reality and all but the game is just too hard, too slow, and leaves you with a WHAT look on your face. I don't know, was a waste of money for me and I love military games and fps.
  7. PaulJ.
    Mar 7, 2007
    2
    Played the demo. Like what I saw. It was a multi player demo so played a bit and then decided to purchase the full game before getting too into the demo. Boy was I wrong. The demo is based on an earlier version of the game. The actual game is rife with bugs, ctd's and shoddy code. I could only play the game for 1min max before the game crashed. When it did run, there was terrible Played the demo. Like what I saw. It was a multi player demo so played a bit and then decided to purchase the full game before getting too into the demo. Boy was I wrong. The demo is based on an earlier version of the game. The actual game is rife with bugs, ctd's and shoddy code. I could only play the game for 1min max before the game crashed. When it did run, there was terrible mouse lag. Looking at the help forum, there were MANY disgruntled users with MANY other problems. Avoid like the plague! You have been warned. Expand
  8. JackReacher
    Mar 14, 2008
    2
    As a veteran of many, many hours of enjoying Operation Flashpoint & Resistance, I was severely disappointed then ultimately mad at Bohemia. It is the worst piece of software ever put forth for purchase. Don't waste your time and especially your money. When a 3 Gig 64 bit system with 8 Gig of RAM coupled with a 8800GT won't handle the graphics, then you know you've got aAs a veteran of many, many hours of enjoying Operation Flashpoint & Resistance, I was severely disappointed then ultimately mad at Bohemia. It is the worst piece of software ever put forth for purchase. Don't waste your time and especially your money. When a 3 Gig 64 bit system with 8 Gig of RAM coupled with a 8800GT won't handle the graphics, then you know you've got a problem. No wait... Bohemia has the problem. Steer clear of this mess. Expand
  9. JackR
    Jun 22, 2008
    0
    DONT BUY FROM STEAM!!! Launch problems that have too many complicated answers if you buy from steam its a waste of 30 dollars and you wont get a refund.
  10. CD
    Jun 13, 2009
    0
    There are WAY too many controls. I'd say there are at least 3 functions to a key, and they are awkwardly positioned, so much so that you'd have to have 3 hands to run and go prone and track a moving target when it only takes the 2 you have in games like Call of Duty and Battlefield. Reassigning the controls is a complete waste of time, because there would be something ELSE that There are WAY too many controls. I'd say there are at least 3 functions to a key, and they are awkwardly positioned, so much so that you'd have to have 3 hands to run and go prone and track a moving target when it only takes the 2 you have in games like Call of Duty and Battlefield. Reassigning the controls is a complete waste of time, because there would be something ELSE that would be awkward to get to when you need to fast. Overall, unless you have 3 hands and can memorize a whole keyboard's worth of commands, don't buy the game. Expand
  11. Apr 25, 2011
    0
    How do you take a steaming pile of **** and sell it for $20? Tell people it's 'hardcore' 'military simulator'. Then you will acquire a loyal following of dumbasses who think they are badasses because they can play this piece of crap. Graphics are fine, it''s the horrendously bad AI that makes this game suck so hard. If they wanted it to be a multiplayer experience why try to pass theHow do you take a steaming pile of **** and sell it for $20? Tell people it's 'hardcore' 'military simulator'. Then you will acquire a loyal following of dumbasses who think they are badasses because they can play this piece of crap. Graphics are fine, it''s the horrendously bad AI that makes this game suck so hard. If they wanted it to be a multiplayer experience why try to pass the broken AI in this game as something other than a broken PoS? My squad mates creep me out the models are so weird looking. This game really could be good if the AI was more evolved than space invaders. Who cares how advanced or hardcore the crap is when your squadmates walk around like imbeciles bumping into walls and shouting enemy spotted but they are looking up in the sky. BAD AI. BAD. Won't get burned again with this **** game **** Arma 2 **** Bohemia **** ARMA **** Flashpoint **** **** games with **** AI. Expand
  12. Alex
    May 6, 2007
    9
    ArmA, like Flashpont before it is amazing. Get into a plain, tank, truck or even a helecopter and go blow stuff up. With the most detailed island ever, its masive. The only problem, if your computer cost less than £2000, then dont try and run it past medium. It's that good!
  13. ErikS.
    Jun 20, 2007
    8
    It's not perfect, but is very realistic.
  14. PatrickT.
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    This a great game. Using the editor, you can set up any kind of mission you like, and play as any of the units. I am not a multiplayer, but it also shines there. However,if you want arcade, twitch gaming, this is not your game.
  15. AndrewBrenner
    Mar 14, 2008
    10
    This is one of the most realistic games I have ever seen and its a very good looking game as well theres so much user made content its insane you can never get bored and almost everyday theres new content just check out armaholic.com that has a ton of stuff also they have an iraq mod coming out soon imwmod.com I used to play BF2 and thought it was great now I will never play it again thisThis is one of the most realistic games I have ever seen and its a very good looking game as well theres so much user made content its insane you can never get bored and almost everyday theres new content just check out armaholic.com that has a ton of stuff also they have an iraq mod coming out soon imwmod.com I used to play BF2 and thought it was great now I will never play it again this is the only modern warfare game for me yes theres a few bugs here and there but the patches are great and fix alot of them at one time if you want realism buy this game Expand
  16. MordI.
    Feb 19, 2007
    6
    Slog for half an hour, get to your location, get one shotted by a sniper from half a mile away, repeat. Good AI control of squads and massive beautiful maps but gameplay isn't great.
  17. Daddy69
    Feb 20, 2007
    7
    As a huge Flashpoint fan, I was pumped for this sequel. But there's something missing. That 'X' factor that OFP had that this strangely doesn't. Can't put my finger on it.
  18. YoCal
    Apr 24, 2007
    9
    This game delivers! Action Strategy, you can't simply run around and kill like in COD2 or any similar military shooter, the maps are too huge and some dude is lying in cover 700 yards away with a 50 cal sniper rifle, will take you out. Is there another multiplayer military game where it takes you 5 to 10 minutes to drive across the map, fly planes, drive and shoot tanks, drive lots This game delivers! Action Strategy, you can't simply run around and kill like in COD2 or any similar military shooter, the maps are too huge and some dude is lying in cover 700 yards away with a 50 cal sniper rifle, will take you out. Is there another multiplayer military game where it takes you 5 to 10 minutes to drive across the map, fly planes, drive and shoot tanks, drive lots of vehicles, tons of individual weapons, this game is where teamwork rules. If your not playing the retail multiplayer version you are not playing the game, the demo doesn't even compare Single player campaigns and missions are a waste, buy this game for serious military multiplayer gaming. Expand
  19. StaggerLee
    May 11, 2007
    9
    This is the most amazing game I have ever had on my hard drive. It's almost more simulation than game, and yet the game elements work together to give a whole that is greater than its parts. Do you want a wargame with maps 400sq. kilometers in size? It literally takes almost two hours to run from one end of the main island to the other. Harrier jets, many helicopters, tanks, HMMVs,This is the most amazing game I have ever had on my hard drive. It's almost more simulation than game, and yet the game elements work together to give a whole that is greater than its parts. Do you want a wargame with maps 400sq. kilometers in size? It literally takes almost two hours to run from one end of the main island to the other. Harrier jets, many helicopters, tanks, HMMVs, even civilian cars and trucks and motorcycles are available and handle realistically. Infantry combat in this game is a different affair than the Hollywood style combat of Battlefield 2. It's common for firefights to take place at ranges greater than 500 meters. The a.i. is very realitic and good, if you can see them they will likeliy be able to see you, and probably already have. They plan flanking maneuvers regularly and surprise often. Knowing that it only takes one well placed bullet to end your game makes this a very intense experience. I can't remember the last time my heart beat this hard and my palms sweat this much while playing a "game".

    One of the other comments made by Tango was "Nowhere near as satisfying as the Call of Duty series". I beg to differ. If you "can" survive the missions the infitely more satisfying than a run and gun shooter that is CoD, in which there is no challenge.

    If your idea of a fun game is one where you don't need to worry about dieing because you can just reload from a few seconds ago, there's really no challenge, and there's hardly any realism to speak of, stay far away from this game.

    This is the only 1st person shooter game that supports the TrackIR device so you can actually aim in one direction while looking in another, for an almost virtual reality type experience. Here's a video of this in action:
    http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-1374856073400801627&q=arma+trackir

    And here's a great trailer video for the game:
    http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=5694574260637917586&q=arma+imagined
    Expand
  20. Bingo
    May 15, 2007
    10
    The most incredible game I have played. I wanted only to award 9 stars and keep the 1 star in check due to the occasional bugs that surface, however every game I have ever played has bugs, Call of Duty 2 still does and has not had a patch in many many months (and probably won't have another one), whilst BIS has a good track record in bug fixing and patching, so I am confident any The most incredible game I have played. I wanted only to award 9 stars and keep the 1 star in check due to the occasional bugs that surface, however every game I have ever played has bugs, Call of Duty 2 still does and has not had a patch in many many months (and probably won't have another one), whilst BIS has a good track record in bug fixing and patching, so I am confident any teething little troubles go away. The user Tango said he didn't want to be a trained marine and preferred his spray-and-pray FPS's like COD. That's no reason to rate a game poorly, it's just not your cup of tea. Expand
  21. BruceW.
    May 19, 2007
    9
    A few tweaks on the AI and you have a 10! The beauty of these game truly shines in the multi-player realm.
  22. SamK
    Oct 7, 2008
    9
    ArmA is pretty far from perfect with clumsy framerates, inconsistent graphics and awkward controls. It's extremely bothersome to command 18 troops to board different vechicles and sometimes it's even more troublesome to get them to move properly in formation. Trucks move too slowly and HMMWVs move too quickly. I also remember times where a particular soldier refused to stay in ArmA is pretty far from perfect with clumsy framerates, inconsistent graphics and awkward controls. It's extremely bothersome to command 18 troops to board different vechicles and sometimes it's even more troublesome to get them to move properly in formation. Trucks move too slowly and HMMWVs move too quickly. I also remember times where a particular soldier refused to stay in the truck, jumping out and going on foot every time I told all of them to move. It also dosen't help that the learning curve is so steep - 70% or so of mainstream gamers will likely give up even before they finish their first mission. The extreme difficulty sometimes add to the fun. It's extremely satisfying to (finally) successfully down a man at 200 meters with an M4. But you can't blame Bohemia Interactive studios for that - they do not have support by big name publishers such as EA or the newly-formed Activision Blizzard. Right out the box, at version 1.0, the game is a nightmare. I can't remember how many times the game simply crashed to the desktop because I tried to swim across a small lake. Watching how your computer computer struggles to drive a truck out of a tight corridor - causing you many deaths - is no less than frustrating. Thankfully, the game is being kept alive in a similar way to how Blizzard's Warcraft III is kept alive - through community-made content. You could always find some great mods or someone online to play with - and the best thing is, due to the inherent "inaccessibilty" to the game, you will find very few, if any, whiny prepuberscent players to spoil your experience. Expand
  23. SteveH.
    Jun 19, 2008
    9
    ArmA might not be perfect, but it's a damn sight better than the majority of "realistic" shooters. That is, it tries to be realistic instead of just saying it on the box. It's harsh and unforgiving, and I guarantee that you will die numerous sudden and unexpected deaths even after you get to grips with it. War is hell, after all.
  24. JohnD
    Jun 24, 2009
    8
    A pretty solid game that works much better than what most people say (at least for me...). The game is complicated for someone who is use to arcade-style shooters like CoD or Battlefield and will take MUCH practice to get use to. Overall, it is a pretty solid FPS. Yeah, the graphics could be better, but if games were only bought for graphics, I would of gone out and just bought a painting A pretty solid game that works much better than what most people say (at least for me...). The game is complicated for someone who is use to arcade-style shooters like CoD or Battlefield and will take MUCH practice to get use to. Overall, it is a pretty solid FPS. Yeah, the graphics could be better, but if games were only bought for graphics, I would of gone out and just bought a painting of a soldier holding a gun. Expand
  25. BenA.
    Jan 14, 2007
    9
    Amazing game! Now I'm not a huge fan of First Person Shooters, but this a simply amazing game. You can command over 40 men and move them into a large variety of formations. The graphics are stunning (as long as it's on a decent computer) and the map maker has kept it's true Flashpoint brilliance. A must have for any Flashpoint/FPS fan.
  26. Matt
    Jan 24, 2007
    10
    A brilliant game. I highly recommend it to any war fan.
  27. GerryI.
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    Stunning recreation of war. Closest thing to being in a real battle yet. Was buggy before the new patches, but now it's a dream. Damn good!
  28. DavidF.
    Feb 22, 2007
    9
    Game like ArmA please military fan hearts combined with mission editor potential and mod addons yet ArmA strongest point is COOP MP and tons of custom made SP mission. Rating 9 is for version 1.05.
  29. WilR.
    Feb 23, 2007
    9
    "Slog for half an hour, get to your location, get one shotted by a sniper from half a mile away, repeat. Good AI control of squads and massive beautiful maps but gameplay isn't great." Yep, sounds a little more like war than 'gameplay'. Did you consider that the objective might have been to create an experience which was more like war than 'gameplay'? "Slog for half an hour, get to your location, get one shotted by a sniper from half a mile away, repeat. Good AI control of squads and massive beautiful maps but gameplay isn't great." Yep, sounds a little more like war than 'gameplay'. Did you consider that the objective might have been to create an experience which was more like war than 'gameplay'? Wouldn't that mean that by that standard the 'gameplay' was great? I, for one, prefer realism over 'exciting fighting scenes.' Not every wargame has to be full of trite, meaningless heroic posturing and trumpery. Personally, I prefer games that don't seem to be telling me that war is great fun, and in which small pieces of metal coming at me at supersonic speeds seem to do little more than irritate me. Expand
  30. J.J.
    May 14, 2007
    8
    Pros: ArmA is good and is very rewarding online multiplayer game. It's a simulation, not an arcade game (I like the more arcade-like BF series too). In ArmA there are all times of day simulated. The sun will set, or rise, rain and thunderstorms pass, etc. The night battles scenes can be quite spectacular - like a real battle! The night vision goggles are really cool. The graphics can Pros: ArmA is good and is very rewarding online multiplayer game. It's a simulation, not an arcade game (I like the more arcade-like BF series too). In ArmA there are all times of day simulated. The sun will set, or rise, rain and thunderstorms pass, etc. The night battles scenes can be quite spectacular - like a real battle! The night vision goggles are really cool. The graphics can be bland or quite amazing, depending on what you are looking at (just like real life). For example if you are on a hill overlooking a village, you can see the whole village (amazing sight) and far beyond. The detail level of the map is very good. Details like playgrounds with sandboxes, well done electrical substations and apartment buildings that have many rooms to shoot from are well done. It seems to be one gigantic map where many different battle configurations can be had in many villages. The game has a lot of promise. It is being patched to address the pressing issues. It's a huge game and if you assume after ten minutes the game isn't your cup of tea, but you like FPS games, you didn't give it long enough. There's a lot to discover in this game! It's deep and rewarding! B.I. is working to improve it apparently. The game is highly modifiable. For example there is a free mod to play the game online in RTS mode like Company of Heroes, except of course that you play a soldier. You can command at least 32 AI players in this mod too. Each base you capture in this RTS mode gathers resources (like CoH), etc. ArmA has the potential to become a real classic. After playing many FPS games (including the BF series) it's very nice to have a huge battlefield area like in ArmA. Cons: The learning curve for ArmA is quite steep for beginners and interface is often non-intuitive. The game doesn't hold your hand. Be patient. The game can behave in ways that you didn't intend but as you learn the interface that goes away. As of mid-May 2007, it does need some improvements (patches) to be a great game. There are significant issues (bugs, etc) with ArmA C.O. but no show-stopper bugs. On my nVidia 7600GT the computer AI soldiers can see me long before I see them, so I die before I have a real chance to kill them. So I play online against real people (I avoid coop mode servers obviously) to have a better chance. There are definite 'base camping' issues online, much like the BF series. However your 'home base' area can not be camped, which is good. Expand
  31. R.g.
    Jun 23, 2007
    10
    Separates the men from the boys, simple as that...may be a game, but you can see who is thinking more strategically and realistically just by watching your pointman.
  32. walker
    Mar 12, 2008
    10
    Go anywhere do anything. Check out VBS2 the pro military version of this simulation.
    or read what the US Marines think of VBS2
  33. JimS.
    Mar 31, 2008
    10
    ArmA is an ultra-realistic simulator with a great community and mods, it does have a tough learning curve, but once you get past that the game has so much replayability in the mission editor it's hard to put down.
  34. TimothyH
    May 18, 2008
    9
    Overall, I love this game. The single player is a little difficult, not because of skill per se, but because the missions often glitch and friendly AI is fairly simple. This was probably a tradeoff in favor of low CPU overhead, which is forgivable. AI can be enhanced with mods. Patches address the single-player mission glitches. The mods for this game are amazing. Some terrific effects Overall, I love this game. The single player is a little difficult, not because of skill per se, but because the missions often glitch and friendly AI is fairly simple. This was probably a tradeoff in favor of low CPU overhead, which is forgivable. AI can be enhanced with mods. Patches address the single-player mission glitches. The mods for this game are amazing. Some terrific effects mods, tons of new weapons and vehicles, and so on. Like Operation Flashpoint, the mod community is huge. The multiplayer is a lot of fun. I've been playing this more than any of my other games for at least two months. I went back to single player recently and even that seemed much easier than it did initially, so there is a learning curve. You do need a level of patience since this is not a run-and-gun game. Overall, it's a 9 (-1 for minor glitches). Expand
  35. AdamD
    Feb 23, 2009
    10
    I really like ArmA. This is a realistic game, so only tactical gamers will enjoy this, in this game, there is no run-jump-shoot-die-respawn (although there is respawn at some CTF type maps) but the game is 90% about coop, and it is unforgiving. It might have bugs, but no game is perfect right!? I personally enjoyed (and still enjoy) every moment playing this game, and modding it with its I really like ArmA. This is a realistic game, so only tactical gamers will enjoy this, in this game, there is no run-jump-shoot-die-respawn (although there is respawn at some CTF type maps) but the game is 90% about coop, and it is unforgiving. It might have bugs, but no game is perfect right!? I personally enjoyed (and still enjoy) every moment playing this game, and modding it with its wonderful community. Expand
  36. PeteH
    Feb 27, 2009
    10
    I love this game! I play it all the time and I did buy it from Steam. I have modded this to suit all my (and my pals) needs, we added zombies for friday night games. Anyway, I would HIGHLY recomend this game for ANYONE who wants to play a fun, realistic, war game.
  37. JonathanM.
    Feb 22, 2007
    5
    Another shoot-for-the-stars Euro-shooter that fails miserably. Time to get some quality designers boys. This is a borderline average title at best with mediocre gameplay and frustrating design decisions. Furthermore, it's one of those games where the community starts pretty small and rapidly shrinks, making multiplayer a tricky affair.
  38. RichardJ.
    Feb 28, 2007
    9
    If you liked OFP, you will certainly like this game too. Just like the old one except you get a different campaign selection screen (choose 1 out of two missions per map) and graphics are a lot better. If you don't mind the high realism (getting shot down most of the time that is) this is really the game for you! Only downside (for now): The campaign isn't that big and the If you liked OFP, you will certainly like this game too. Just like the old one except you get a different campaign selection screen (choose 1 out of two missions per map) and graphics are a lot better. If you don't mind the high realism (getting shot down most of the time that is) this is really the game for you! Only downside (for now): The campaign isn't that big and the single player missions are a bit few too. Hope the opf community will create lots of stuff for this game too. Just buy it ppl. Expand
  39. NickS.
    Mar 11, 2007
    8
    Extremely pleased that these games are still being made. I wish BI the best of luck with this game, they've been making it long enough and now it's time for them to hopefully make some money. Obviously it's very difficult, so as everyone else has said, don't come near it if you want a quick fix of action. Excellent sim though - still plagued with bugs however. I'm Extremely pleased that these games are still being made. I wish BI the best of luck with this game, they've been making it long enough and now it's time for them to hopefully make some money. Obviously it's very difficult, so as everyone else has said, don't come near it if you want a quick fix of action. Excellent sim though - still plagued with bugs however. I'm sure they will get fixed but for now they are one of the only things that stops you from suspending your disbelief. Nice visuals, sound is better than OFP, interesting environment, all round well designed. This deserves the community support it is undoubtedly going to receive. Expand
  40. Tim
    Mar 29, 2007
    8
    I think this is an excellent Single player game. It will compete directly with BF2:Project Reality (mod) in the realistic war shooter multiplayer stakes and is in for a lot of competition there.
  41. Tango
    Apr 19, 2007
    5
    I don't want to be a trained marine. I obviously wouldn't live very long. Too complicated & difficult even on easiest setting. Nowhere near as satisfying as the Call of Duty series.
  42. J.R.
    Jul 19, 2007
    10
    ARMA is the closest thing to being in real combat that I've seen in a computer. If are a serious 'military gamer' you can't miss this game. I keeo getting flashbacks from my time in the military. The menu system can be daunting at first, but will become second nature after a while. The campaign is not very strong, but you can download a ton of user-made stuff for the ARMA is the closest thing to being in real combat that I've seen in a computer. If are a serious 'military gamer' you can't miss this game. I keeo getting flashbacks from my time in the military. The menu system can be daunting at first, but will become second nature after a while. The campaign is not very strong, but you can download a ton of user-made stuff for the single and multiplayer modes. Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. If you’re tired of the unrealistic nature inherent in titles such as "Battlefield 2" or the "Call of Duty" series and crave something more authentic, Armed Assault just may be what you’ve been waiting for. Put simply, you just won’t find anything in the simulation realm comparable to this addictive game.
  2. Love it or hate it though, you simply can't argue that Armed Assault is one hugely accomplished modern combat simulator. If that's what you're looking for, you won't be disappointed. [Mar 2007, p.60]
  3. An essential purchase for anyone interested in war simulation or tired of the contrived drama that fills mainstream military shooters.