Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 706 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tensions rise as NATO peacekeeping forces begin to leave The Republic of Altis: a strategic fault-line between crumbling European influence and a powerful, resurgent East. But when a key radar facility drops off the grid, a Mediterranean flashpoint risks escalating into global conflict.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Oct 5, 2013
    90
    Arma 3 is an improvement over the previous ones, but the game still suffers from clunky interface and lackluster AI. For an Arma fan like myself, though, it is the best Arma so far. [Oct 2013]
  2. Sep 13, 2013
    84
    A significant step forward for the king of military simulation offset by inconsistent graphical performance.
  3. 80
    Modernized, polished and friendlier, selling its strong points while remaining basically the same. The lack of a radical difference is not really a problem. [Issue#234]
  4. Sep 12, 2013
    75
    Arma 3 makes big steps forward with a huge world and more vehicles and weapons. This time around its trump card is Steam workshop integration though, making downloading mods effortless. A smart move by Bohemia Interactive because it are those mods that will give Arma 3 its long lifespan. Unfortunately Arma 3 is quite inaccessible and doesn't seem to grow along with modern game design on certain fronts. Space time and perseverance are your best friends here, until Bohemia's support starts paying off.
  5. Nov 22, 2013
    70
    Arma 3 seems to have a lot to offer in terms of multiplayer, but still not so much for the player looking to the single player experience.
  6. 70
    Arma 3 demands much of the player's ability, forcing him to make the best possible experience. It is the player who has to entertain itself using the tools that Bohemia Interactive provided.
  7. Sep 25, 2013
    40
    When it clicks, the game is second-to-none which is why I’ll continue to play despite its many issues. With no campaign, spotty multiplayer, and poor canned scenarios, Arma III just isn’t a complete product at this time.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 69 out of 218
  1. Aug 9, 2014
    10
    It was back in 2001 as Codemaster’s Operation Flashpoint: Cold War Crisis set the bar for military simulations. A game which did everythingIt was back in 2001 as Codemaster’s Operation Flashpoint: Cold War Crisis set the bar for military simulations. A game which did everything right from graphics, realism and mood as a fully integrated mission editor as well. It was so exiting to stay up in the night and play it for hours and hours. Codemaster and Bohemia tried hard in the coming years to built a better and even more realistic military simulation but something was missing for me – some kind of feeling. With Arma III Bohemia accomplished their mission fully this time. The game is so exciting in detail and offers one of the most realistic military simulation available today. Expand
  2. atd
    Oct 11, 2013
    10
    My sum:

    Corsair PSU-850TX 850W Corsair Cooling Hydro Series H80i Gigabyte X58 UD3R r:1.6 Intel i7 920 D0 2.66 3.0Ghz 6GB Triple Channel
    My sum:

    Corsair PSU-850TX 850W
    Corsair Cooling Hydro Series H80i
    Gigabyte X58 UD3R r:1.6
    Intel i7 920 D0 2.66 3.0Ghz
    6GB Triple Channel RAM 2000Mhz
    Gigabyte GTX 660Ti
    OCZ RevoDrive 3 120Gb 6Gb/s
    2x1TB HDD Western Digital Black RAID 0
    2x3TB HDD Seagate OEM RAID 0
    ACER GD245HQ/BenQ XL2420T

    FPS: 35 to 55 after optimization :-)

    If you are looking for mature game-play and a ton of fun, than ARMA 3 is 4U! :-)

    Once you have joined the right clan and you are playing on the ''closed'' clan server you will find this game awesome :-)

    (clan server no lag, no strangers, no spammers, no nubs, no hackers, live admin fun fun fun :-))

    If you want to play ARMA 3 online, like you would play Battlefield or COD or whatever, this game is not for you!

    lot of fun, with the right people, for the right people!

    This is not an Arcade game, this is a ''slow'' paced Military Sandbox Simulator for mature players :-)

    I have played 300 hours since May and this is my first ARMA game ever!

    come and join us: Tactical Gaming Community/TG

    All the Best
    Expand
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    Compare to the other games, with the right players it can achieve more, we don't need call of duty fans
    to play this game and say, "Omg this
    Compare to the other games, with the right players it can achieve more, we don't need call of duty fans
    to play this game and say, "Omg this game sux ballz, i cnt run faster, i cant shoot anything omg"
    so, if you hate a Real and intense game play don't buy this game, it need communication and team work,
    which simply no kid in cod has ever done before
    Expand
  4. Sep 21, 2014
    8
    Srry for bad English.
    (good side) nice graphics improvement from arma 2, the game has an editor that let you do what you want on a huge map
    Srry for bad English.
    (good side) nice graphics improvement from arma 2, the game has an editor that let you do what you want on a huge map and multiplayer is fun.

    (bad side) The campaign is ok, fps drop in towns and the game is hard for beginners.
    Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2013
    6
    Its a great game BUT battleye sucks! I got Globally banned for no reason, the graphics and gameplay are amazing but battleye is the worst antiIts a great game BUT battleye sucks! I got Globally banned for no reason, the graphics and gameplay are amazing but battleye is the worst anti hack in game creation, user made ones are better Expand
  6. Sep 26, 2013
    4
    Fun, but there's no content yet. I love the game play, but its a little awkward not having a campaign to base most ratings on. The scenariosFun, but there's no content yet. I love the game play, but its a little awkward not having a campaign to base most ratings on. The scenarios are just for getting a feel for the game, and the multiplayer hasn't really developed yet. In the future it might be better, but right now it's not very playable, should have held in beta quite a bit longer. Expand
  7. Jul 27, 2014
    0
    Absolutely laughable optimization. The game is a joke. There are mil sims games made in 2004 with way better optimization and tons of featuresAbsolutely laughable optimization. The game is a joke. There are mil sims games made in 2004 with way better optimization and tons of features A3 simply doesn't have. You can't even knife someone. The problem is, the developers are only in it for the money it seems...they say, we're working on it, but no one stops and admits, the engine the gane is sitting on is 1o **** years old and simply can't be better optimized without completely removing and upgrading to a new engine for the Arma serious. Some have said this can't be done, but DayZ just announced they're doing just that. Tossing the old engine for a fresh new shiny engine. So if DayZ can do it, way can BI? Joint Operations from Novalogic released in 2004 is a far superior game in nearly every single aspect except graphics. Just after the game was released, the dev team focused solely on optimizing the game and did a great job of it. This is why I say A3 is just laughable. I am done supporting this incompetent excuse for a game company and watch them laugh and sip coffee while their game runs like ****
    Also, they just released an "add-on" which should have just been free, but they sell it for 2 or 3 dollars and claim they sold over 1 million copies, this would give the impression that theres a new fresh injection of cash in the dev coffers for optimizing the game, no? They release an update recently 1.24 I believe and it's actually made the game worse. BI is a joke, I have zero respect for them as a game company.
    Expand

See all 218 User Reviews