Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 739 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tensions rise as NATO peacekeeping forces begin to leave The Republic of Altis: a strategic fault-line between crumbling European influence and a powerful, resurgent East. But when a key radar facility drops off the grid, a Mediterranean flashpoint risks escalating into global conflict.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Oct 5, 2013
    90
    Arma 3 is an improvement over the previous ones, but the game still suffers from clunky interface and lackluster AI. For an Arma fan like myself, though, it is the best Arma so far. [Oct 2013]
  2. Sep 13, 2013
    84
    A significant step forward for the king of military simulation offset by inconsistent graphical performance.
  3. 80
    Modernized, polished and friendlier, selling its strong points while remaining basically the same. The lack of a radical difference is not really a problem. [Issue#234]
  4. Sep 12, 2013
    75
    Arma 3 makes big steps forward with a huge world and more vehicles and weapons. This time around its trump card is Steam workshop integration though, making downloading mods effortless. A smart move by Bohemia Interactive because it are those mods that will give Arma 3 its long lifespan. Unfortunately Arma 3 is quite inaccessible and doesn't seem to grow along with modern game design on certain fronts. Space time and perseverance are your best friends here, until Bohemia's support starts paying off.
  5. Nov 22, 2013
    70
    Arma 3 seems to have a lot to offer in terms of multiplayer, but still not so much for the player looking to the single player experience.
  6. 70
    Arma 3 demands much of the player's ability, forcing him to make the best possible experience. It is the player who has to entertain itself using the tools that Bohemia Interactive provided.
  7. Sep 25, 2013
    40
    When it clicks, the game is second-to-none which is why I’ll continue to play despite its many issues. With no campaign, spotty multiplayer, and poor canned scenarios, Arma III just isn’t a complete product at this time.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 71 out of 225
  1. Jun 18, 2014
    10
    This game is really immersive, you actually feel like you are in on the battlefield. You feel the adrenaline whenever you start getting underThis game is really immersive, you actually feel like you are in on the battlefield. You feel the adrenaline whenever you start getting under fire, and you actually have to work in team if you want to succeed. It's a simulator, and as a simulator, it does it to almost perfection. There's no fake environment sounds, every bomb you hear, every step you heard, every bullet you hear is actually being shot by another player, and that's what I love about this game. It feels REAL. If you like fast paced, rambo, non-skills needed games you won't enjoy ARMA 3. It also has a lot of fantastic mods, you can either be on a zombie apocalypse, or you can be the next Hunger Games tribute trying to survive agaisnt 30 other players on a vast map. At first, I though this game was all about luck, because I couldnt kill anyone unless I saw them first, but after playing for a month, I can now say that I am pretty solid and I can take care of most situation. Either way, this is one of top my favorite games. Expand
  2. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    To compensate for all these cod fanboys giving the game a 0 out of 10 becouse they cant have theyr twitch shooter expirience ill give itTo compensate for all these cod fanboys giving the game a 0 out of 10 becouse they cant have theyr twitch shooter expirience ill give it 10/10.

    Cons :

    Poor optimization.
    Narrow selection of weapons vehicles.
    AI that sences where you are gonna pop up.

    Pros :

    Fun as with friends.
    Map editor.
    MODS.
    ADDONS.
    Looks good & sounds good.
    Map is huge as probably takes like 5-7 hours to run across it.
    Physics.
    ++++ alot more things but ill keep this short

    Overall its same quality as arma 2 but that new movement fluidness and difirent stances make it better for me .

    Also people saying that it shouldnt cost as much as AAA games well you should have bought it when it was in alpha for 25 Stupid ppl will be stupid
    Expand
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    Compare to the other games, with the right players it can achieve more, we don't need call of duty fans
    to play this game and say, "Omg this
    Compare to the other games, with the right players it can achieve more, we don't need call of duty fans
    to play this game and say, "Omg this game sux ballz, i cnt run faster, i cant shoot anything omg"
    so, if you hate a Real and intense game play don't buy this game, it need communication and team work,
    which simply no kid in cod has ever done before
    Expand
  4. May 30, 2014
    8
    Great graphics, interesting gameplay, authentic ambience and realistic sound. There are some flaws (lack of content, bugs), but they can'tGreat graphics, interesting gameplay, authentic ambience and realistic sound. There are some flaws (lack of content, bugs), but they can't make this game bad. If you are an OFP veteran - ARMA 3 is worth buying. Expand
  5. Oct 6, 2013
    6
    Would not recommend this game. Broken AI, Physics problems, graphical glitches and very limited content make this game, in my opinion, aWould not recommend this game. Broken AI, Physics problems, graphical glitches and very limited content make this game, in my opinion, a series ending killer. Bohemia Interactive obviously rushed to develop this game and have left the play with a broken, frustrating gaming experience. Avoid this one. Expand
  6. Sep 26, 2013
    4
    This game lacks content and any real objective. You'll find yourself running around flat land for the majority of the time. Very boring gameThis game lacks content and any real objective. You'll find yourself running around flat land for the majority of the time. Very boring game and the performance is horrific. Expand
  7. Feb 13, 2015
    0
    I feel that in order for me to actually be able to review this game, the game would have to be able to run on my system (8 gigs G.SkillI feel that in order for me to actually be able to review this game, the game would have to be able to run on my system (8 gigs G.Skill Ripjaw, 1090T Black edition processor, AMD 7890 VGU.) For those of you unfamiliar with computers, these are all upper-mid end parts. However, the game does not run. The game was a piece of junk at launch and has not improved in the least bit since then. I am able to get ~10 fps during gunfights making me a ridiculously easy target. Driving a vehicle? forget about it. ~5fps in a city with more than 5 other players in it. Flying a vehicle? Haven't even bothered to give it a try. This is coming from a computer that can run Counter Strike Global Offensive at around 250 frames consistently.

    I will never buy another Bohemia game again, and I hope that anyone with an AMD CPU reading this does more research than I did before buying this game. What a waste of money.
    Expand

See all 225 User Reviews