Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Apr 18, 2011
    100
    As good as open world action gets. [May 2011, p.58]
  2. Apr 8, 2011
    100
    Brotherhood is the best showcase yet for the series' formidable quality and range, with an excellent campaign and an equally intriguing online approach, and while I hope the next one actually answers some questions, I can't begrudge Ubisoft in the slightest for giving us one more memorable voyage with Ezio.
  3. Mar 31, 2011
    95
    A masterpiece that deserves your time.
  4. Mar 22, 2011
    95
    The PC version of Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is definitely the best one. Combined with the best game in the series, this is a must-buy title.
  5. Mar 21, 2011
    94
    Its new gameplay elements and other additions like the multiplayer modes makes this one the most complete Assassin's Creed this far. Brotherhood is an amazing follow-up for the sequel and an amazing way to conclude Ezio Auditore's adventures also in PC.
  6. Mar 28, 2011
    93
    Assassin's Creed Brotherhood for PC delivers stunning visuals, a huge number of missions to complete, solid gameplay (though it's not challenging at all) and an engaging story. The multiplayer modes are very fun, too. Fans of the previous Assassin's Creed episodes absolutely can't miss this one.
  7. Apr 19, 2011
    92
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood isn't as much a sequel as a completion to the second game, and while this is certainly the best game of the three so far, you probably don't want to jump into the story without having played at least the second game first.
  8. Apr 17, 2011
    90
    Brotherhood brings us one step closer to the third instalment of Assassin's Creed. The singleplayer is great but Ubisoft surprises just about everyone with some kickass multiplayer modes.
  9. Apr 7, 2011
    90
    The PC version of Assassins Creed: Brotherhood offers updated graphics and reduced loading times to give you the ultimate assassin experience. Relive 16th century Rome like never before and lose yourself in this epic action game. Rome has never been this beautiful.
  10. 90
    Although you can't say that it's an impressive evolution compared to Assassin's Creed II, Brotherhood is without a doubt a more polished version of its predecessor, and the introduction of a captivating multiplayer has turned it into the best game of the series yet.
  11. Mar 18, 2011
    90
    The PC version of Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is much better than the previous chapter of the popular Ubisoft franchise. The more user friendly DRM, the inclusion of every DLC of the console version and the better optimizations of the game, grant a great experience to who will decide to buy this product.
  12. Mar 31, 2011
    88
    It's a step forward from its predecessor, adding loads of new content and stuff to do. At the same time, the campaign is shorter and it has some dull moments, and multiplayer is suitable only for a very casual audience. PC porting is well done, adding some detail and filters to an already great modelling.
  13. Mar 17, 2011
    88
    Fans of its predecessor are certainly going to be pleased with the immense content that Brotherhood offers, even though it doesn't really continue the plot around the former barkeeper, now Assassin Desmond Miles and its ancestors. Everybody who's new to the series, should probably go for AC1 or the even better AC2 though. As for the now released PC-Version: Its definitely the best looking of them all and offers some additional content out of the box. So if you're able to choose between platforms, get this one.
  14. Apr 4, 2011
    87
    Same hero, same era, same game mechanics – but surprisingly huge, with well designed missions and a great atmosphere. But you should have played Assassins's Creed 2 to know what's going on.
  15. Mar 29, 2011
    86
    An exhilarating adventure teeming with unique things to see and do- and most importantly, people to stab.
  16. 85
    Assassin's Creed 2.5 – in the best way possible. [May 2011, p.75]
  17. Apr 6, 2011
    85
    Brotherhood is truly "same as it ever was", but none the worse for it.
  18. Mar 28, 2011
    85
    Its beautiful vision of 15th-century Rome is just one of many reasons to get lost in Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood.
  19. Mar 25, 2011
    85
    Brotherhood is a must have for all Assassin's Creed fans. It doesn't blow your mind the way Assassin's Creed II did, but it certainly doesn't leave an impression of wasted money. If forthcoming sequels keep the same level of quality, they can be released every six months. I don't mind.
  20. Mar 21, 2011
    85
    With great improvements both in graphics and gameplay, Brotherhood is the pinnacle of the Assassin's Creed experience.
  21. 80
    Polished conversion of the console version cannot be labeled as an add-on. This is an excellent full-featured game with interesting multiplayer mode. Period. [Issue#203]
  22. Apr 27, 2011
    80
    Built on the shoulders of Assassin's Creed II, Brotherhood is the most polished and robust execution of the Assassin's Creed formula yet.
  23. Mar 23, 2011
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  24. Mar 17, 2011
    80
    The game doesn't advance the wider narrative very far, the new mechanics don't really add a great deal and the mission designs rarely explore new gameplay possibilities...That said, there's a lot to like; the game is undeniably solid, while the multiplayer offers a unique experience.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 843 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 118
  2. Negative: 10 out of 118
  1. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    I love the whole AC games. assassin's creed brotherhood (ACB) is even better, offers me more open world. I love games which are based on real history. AC or ACB continue to trigger higher attraction. I was addictive to play longer for AC 2 before. without doubt, I will fall into history again, and let me just be Ezio. graphic, environment, story, voice acting.... all these elements work together to make ACB perfect game. I don't want to talk about detail of story (it will be a spoiler). only one thing what I regret is why ACB PC version is out now after long delay. but it is worthy of every penny. from today I will enjoy the ride of adventure of Ezio again. Full Review »
  2. Jul 7, 2011
    6
    AC:B is almost a great game. Graphics are great, soundwork and voiceovers are as good as always for the series, the fighting has been improved and you can really use heavy weapons now, etc. I would love it except for one thing that ruins everything: the controls. Granted, this problem has been there in all AC-games, but with all the new moves and abilities in Brotherhood, as well as the stricter requirements on most missions, it is many times more glaring than it was before. Most of the time Ezio does the exact oppsite of what you feel you are telling him to, and with the mouse and keyboard, which I prefer, there is a huge problem with the camera being locked when you are jumping, preventing you from getting the direction right for the next jump, as well as idiotic button configuration. Who decided to make the buttons for grabbing and letting go of walls the same? And who thought it was a good idea to press E to activate tunnels for purchase, but Shift to activate them for use?

    I'm not exaggerating if I tell you that 9 out of 10 times I get hit or fail a mission, it's because of some bug or control issue. Let me give you an example:

    I'm playing a mission where I have to kill a group of guards without being noticed. I decide to climb onto a pillar and drop down on them, killing them with the dual hidden blade. For some reason Ezio decides to only hit one of them, because of a tiny fault in my aiming, which is impossible to see, and the other guy immediately sees me. Mission failed, start over.
    This time I try to shoot a lone guard. For some reason the camera suddenly changes to view behind Ezio, the shot fires in the wrong direction even though the guard was highlighted, and the noise alerts him. Mission failed, start over.
    This time I try to walk up behind two guards and stab them. Again Ezio decides to kill only one, despite being exactly in the middle of them, and again I am spotted. Mission failed, start over.
    This time I try to shoot a guard with the crossbow, then duck behind a wall for cover. The other guards only start turning around once I'm safely behind the wall, yet they see me straight through it anyway. Mission failed, start over.

    And this happens over and over and over again in every single mission. This game COULD have been great. Instead it's an exercise in angry hair removal.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. First of all, I want to clarify that I am playing this on the following hardware (to back up my arguments, just in case there are any doubters out there). Phenom II x4 965 BE 3.4ghz, 8gb ddr3 1600 RAM, HD5770x2 crossfire, Win7 Ultimate 64bit. So basically what happens in this game is that the frame rate drops to 29-30fps and it doesn't matter whether it's maxed out or in the absolute lowest settings possible, or in between, or whatever, it's all the same. So what can possibly be wrong with this? as you see by the specs of my PC above, this should not be happening. In other words this is a poorly optimized console port, and it is going to lag terribly on anything below what I just mentioned above (that would suck to have to buy 8gb RAM just to play this game, yikes!). That is why I warn you now, there are no patches or future updates that will fix this issue, EVER. Good luck trying to play it well, if you want to play it with different hardware and you think my hardware is the issue, than you can probably try intel processors and nvidia cards, but as I have heard, the same exact thing happens with those and it doesn't matter anyway. As for myself, I'll just max it out because it's all the same. As for the game itself, its a fun game (for me), but like I said, it may be different for weaker hardware with all the lag, and poor optimization. And if you don't have at least quad core in the 3.0-3.4ghz range or 8gb ram, or an HD5770 Crossfire (the equivalent of a single hd5870, yikes! those are expensive too) than I suggest you skip this game, because according to my observations, that's the kind of hardware you require to play it at the minimal 30fps...OUCH! Full Review »