User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 681 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 681

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. joesphb.
    Aug 3, 2008
    10
    I had a fun time playing it the the graphics are the best . I like ho u can steal everyons pen thing and go on the computer. My overall sayin is vantastic
  2. TimE.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    This game is awesome! It's very funny and the graphics are insane. The gameplay reminds me a bit of Dark Messiah of Might and Magic, all this interacting with the NPCs is very cool. The story is great, too.
  3. AlexR.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    This game is ridiculously fun all you do is run around and kill people it is repetitive because your an assassin and all your job to do is to kill people and THAT my friend is what makes this video game so awesome and addictive. Some people may get bored of this but it is one of the reasons I play video games. I LOVE IT!!!
  4. DustinG.
    Feb 27, 2008
    10
    Great story. Amazing graphics. Combat system might have one or two flaws but still overall awesome!
  5. MooMan
    Apr 14, 2008
    10
    It has some bugs but I think its fun other than you can dodge in a corner.
  6. BrianS.
    Apr 14, 2008
    10
    Fluid game play, awesome graphics, great story. Exciting, fun to play, a little repetitive....but worth playing.
  7. DavidD.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    I have had a blast and then some with this game. AMAZING!
  8. JalexD.
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    Okay, I do wish that there was even more variety in the gameplay, even if it meant delaying this version some. But, I already loved the console version and the PC version does no harm to the original. It merely adds to it and that can only be a good thing. So, if you loved the game (not just liked it or thought it was 'okay') or haven't played it yet and think it looks Okay, I do wish that there was even more variety in the gameplay, even if it meant delaying this version some. But, I already loved the console version and the PC version does no harm to the original. It merely adds to it and that can only be a good thing. So, if you loved the game (not just liked it or thought it was 'okay') or haven't played it yet and think it looks good, this is a must-buy expansion to a classic game. Expand
  9. MateoG.
    Mar 12, 2008
    10
    this game redefines what it means to be logical, unique and intense and wraps it all into a great game, Graphics (9) - beautiful life-like textures and details, the movements of all the characters seem to flow evenly throughout moving through the city, the physics combines movement with rag doll-like effects making the play experience almost realistic. though the faces of the players this game redefines what it means to be logical, unique and intense and wraps it all into a great game, Graphics (9) - beautiful life-like textures and details, the movements of all the characters seem to flow evenly throughout moving through the city, the physics combines movement with rag doll-like effects making the play experience almost realistic. though the faces of the players wernt top notch as in other games, the one thing that annoyed me the most was the post-prossesing of the game, or when the objects loaded. if you were riding a horse or running through ought the rooftops, it would be almost inevitable that you would see a object load up on screen. once is fine, but this game does it too much, otherwise, this is eye candy. AI (8) - Characters in this game ( if not disturbed ) are the closest thing to real as any game can get. but if you walk in front, not using any force or anything, it would almost be guaranteed that you would get a comment either about you being a "stranger" or you being "crazy". and when you kill assassinate, the same repetitive remarks of " who would have done this!" or " get the guards" gets a little annoying, buy it doesn't ruin the over-all game experience. Sound (10) - have you ever been in a shopping mall and herd the scuffing of the feet and the whispers of the people around you and the laughter somewhere far away? This game is just like that, showing SFX and music at its best in a game. almost everyone and everything makes a perfect life-like sound. Though the voices of the characters repeat once in a while, there is such a variety that you just don't notice. Story (9) - One of the most unique story lines in any game i have ever seen. to not spoil the fun, dreams is all I will tell you, the cut scenes may get annoying if you like the main game play, if you like getting deep into a story, this games for you. Overall (10) great graphics, great sounds, great characters, great story. Top notch game, I recommend it for everyone! Expand
  10. NoahE.
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    I give it a 10 because I feel that this games depth and volume more than make up for the minor rough patches. However you will want to get a controller to play it. It allows for smoother gameplay and better control of the character. It isn't perfect, first off your going to need an up to date PC to run the thing and the loud in game sounds can become distorted(although that might be I give it a 10 because I feel that this games depth and volume more than make up for the minor rough patches. However you will want to get a controller to play it. It allows for smoother gameplay and better control of the character. It isn't perfect, first off your going to need an up to date PC to run the thing and the loud in game sounds can become distorted(although that might be due to my headphones rather than the game itself). Over all the game is deep realistic with a large and detailed world populated with individual people rather than a few generic character types. Altier moves like a flowing river, his every move looks realistic while still allowing you to direct him any way you wish. You feel that you are controlling a real person whose every move is the same as it would if you were there in person. If you already have the Xbox version then your not missing out on anything but if your PC is riding solo then this game is worth a look. If you happen to buy a copy then make sure to take your time playing it. If you try to play it to quickly then it will seem repetitive. Take your time and enjoy it for what it really is, a very well designed game(except for the unskipable cut scenes). Expand
  11. RobertB.
    Apr 18, 2008
    10
    Best conspiracy game since Deus Ex!! Can't wait for more.
  12. PlamenN.
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    Unique gameplay - easy and exciting! Perfect graphics, interesting storyline.
  13. FranM
    May 17, 2008
    10
    I can say that the gameplay is repetative, but its been too long that a game has had this great a story. Not ever have I seen such a wonderful collaboration between past present and future foreshadowing in the gaming history. The sequel will be all the sweeter.
  14. JungleN.
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    Rarely do I rate graphics above gameplay but they are simply mindblowing in this game. Stunningly rendered detail that makes up for any lack of gaming depth and to those who said the control was a bit too simplistic - it might be but there's no way they could have rendered such classy moves without making it impossible to learn. Maybe a bit 'samey' but I can't get enough.
  15. JohnC
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Love the game. Kind of reminds me a little of the prince of persia trilogy mixed with a good sand box game like GTA. Great graphics, weird but entertaining story, fun gameplay, cool acrobatics, and plenty of fun objectives all in a pretty large open world.
  16. Ralph
    Jun 22, 2009
    10
    It's one of the best games I have ever played in my life. Amazing graphics, amazing story, amazing gameplay. I loved it, and I hope you will love it too.
  17. JamesM
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    I loved this game! It's my favorite computer game of all time, I think.Sneaking up on people, quietly stabbing them, and then calmly walking away...lol It's just an all around fun game, good story (so far), fun game play, though the controls still give me a hard time, sometimes. All around... Amazing! 10!:)
  18. LisaF.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    More bang for the buck. If you waited to play this gem you really should pick up the director's cut right now. It's got more missions and costs less than the console versions of the game, a nice gift to us PC users who had to wait longer to see the game released.
  19. HarryC.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Feared, respected, deadly. This game makes me feel dangerous. Playing the main character is so immersing in this one that you will thrill to stalking your victims, feel the terror of being hotly pursued or just feel plain MEAN when fighting your way out of a sticky situation. I love this game, I can't wait until part 2 of this trilogy come out.
  20. NateJ.
    May 31, 2008
    10
    A wonderful and beautiful game. The graphics, the story, and the combat are top notch. I know some find the side missions repetitive, but I found out that I don't mind them at all. A must play indeed.
  21. OakleyP
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    Best game I have ever played on the PC. If you like any kind of Assassin or stealth games, this is for you!
  22. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Those guys who gaves scores below 5 they didn't even finished the game.. The reason? they say ots bad ported, bugs, lag...
    Well hello, if you want to play a mans game, then buy a dam **** mans PC...
    Assassins creed was th best game ever released, thank GOD somebody had the idea releasing such a beautiful game, thnak you.. The game is PERFECT. There are some repetitive missions but killing people is repetitive too isn't?? Every game has to be repetitive with something.. I enjoyed the game and i bought Assassins Creed 2 6 month later and now i bought assassins Creed Brotherhood and i already completed it... Dam, thats what i call a Game!!! Assassins Creed for Ever!!!
    Expand
  23. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played, and much better then the second.This game is full of action, semi liinear (You may need to do the storyline to unlick certain things, which is pretty common, such as areas and items) VERY underated, should be at least an 8.6 or higher.The repetetive part of the game is veiw points when you first enter the city.Many beleive the investigationsOne of the best games I have ever played, and much better then the second.This game is full of action, semi liinear (You may need to do the storyline to unlick certain things, which is pretty common, such as areas and items) VERY underated, should be at least an 8.6 or higher.The repetetive part of the game is veiw points when you first enter the city.Many beleive the investigations repetetive, but this is fixed with the director's cut.A must have. Expand
  24. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    Assassin's Creed İs Getting You Back To 1191 So İts A Rare Game.Map İs Very Big.Cities Are Very Big.Atmosphere is Good. Graphics are Very Good For 2008.And Assassinating Someone İs Enjoyable.You Can Climb Everywhere So İts Enjoyable Game.
  25. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    Personally I love the Assassins Creed series. The story is great and is full of excitement and depth. I prefer Assassins Creed over the other games in the series. This game has a very good story line to it and i recommend playing it if you like stealth and assassinating games then this is the game for you. The story has a big twist at the end of it which keeps you on you feet. The end ofPersonally I love the Assassins Creed series. The story is great and is full of excitement and depth. I prefer Assassins Creed over the other games in the series. This game has a very good story line to it and i recommend playing it if you like stealth and assassinating games then this is the game for you. The story has a big twist at the end of it which keeps you on you feet. The end of the game really shows you about the continuing story from Assassin's Creed & Assassin's Creed II via Desmond Miles. Although this is a great game i cannot deny that there are some problems in the gameplay. For example there are a few bugs that get annoying in the storyline, the fighting also has problems and the occasional glitch. But overall its a great game and i recommended it to those who love these types of games.

    This is AssassinReviews,
    Thanks for reading :D
    Expand
  26. IanK
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    good game overall, i played it on the xbox 360 at my friend's a couple times and it was GREAT! I absolutly loved it! Graphics were amazing, gameplay was semi-repetative but think thats possibly what an 12th century assassin had to do. deep story line very fun to play. The reason i played this the first time was to see if i could get any ideas for free running ie. parkour, and was good game overall, i played it on the xbox 360 at my friend's a couple times and it was GREAT! I absolutly loved it! Graphics were amazing, gameplay was semi-repetative but think thats possibly what an 12th century assassin had to do. deep story line very fun to play. The reason i played this the first time was to see if i could get any ideas for free running ie. parkour, and was shown so much more then i was hoping for, I was sucked into the story and couldnt walk away. GREAT GAME! Expand
  27. BrianS
    Aug 3, 2008
    9
    This game was very fun. Great story and graphics and the combat can be challenging as well. I would like everyone that complains about the controls to read the reccomended specs for this game.. Yes a xbox360 gamepad makes all the difference in the world when playing this game and I highly reccomend everyone picking up a gamepad if they buy this game.
  28. NDrakesden
    Apr 12, 2009
    9
    I think this is a fantastic game, especially if you go into it keeping in mind the criticisms others have had, but also remembering the first time you heard or saw anything about the game in previews. The way you get around and interact with the world is ingenious. There are a limited number of things you can do in a very large world, but you do those things incredibly well--the way a I think this is a fantastic game, especially if you go into it keeping in mind the criticisms others have had, but also remembering the first time you heard or saw anything about the game in previews. The way you get around and interact with the world is ingenious. There are a limited number of things you can do in a very large world, but you do those things incredibly well--the way a master assassin would. The game itself is gorgeous; you just have to remind yourself to look around when you're jumping from the top spire of a gigantic cathedral, or jumping over the Dome of the Rock. Combat can get deadening if you let it; but if you try new strategies (like drawing opponents into side streets by throwing a dagger) you can keep it interesting for a long time. I'm starting my second round through (on a much more powerful computer than my first time) and am finding it very entertaining--even the story grows on you--just don't let yourself get tied down by the less interesting elements, such as the flag "achievements," and when something gets repetitive, find another way to do it. Expand
  29. Dool
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    Amazing graphics of course, it reminds me of the prince of persia series. especially the fact that unlike the Prince of Persia series, your free to run jump and face plant 6 stories down and the worst thing that will happen to you is you will get booted back to the future. the one thing i dont get is if your running around on your hores in the countryside the guards tweak and all think Amazing graphics of course, it reminds me of the prince of persia series. especially the fact that unlike the Prince of Persia series, your free to run jump and face plant 6 stories down and the worst thing that will happen to you is you will get booted back to the future. the one thing i dont get is if your running around on your hores in the countryside the guards tweak and all think your up to no good, but if you hold down a button that makes you walk slightly slower, all is well. But I really did like Assians Creed, even when it did shit all over itself but its something new and different. Expand
  30. MikeK.
    Apr 13, 2008
    9
    A wonderful game that has a new twist on the classic "Stealth Action Game"... the ability to hide in plain site. A few technical glitches such as the rediculous menu system or the tedious Desmond Miles scenes hold this game back from being a classic. It seems that many professional critics have rated this game based on the quality of the port to PC rather than the game itself, which is A wonderful game that has a new twist on the classic "Stealth Action Game"... the ability to hide in plain site. A few technical glitches such as the rediculous menu system or the tedious Desmond Miles scenes hold this game back from being a classic. It seems that many professional critics have rated this game based on the quality of the port to PC rather than the game itself, which is both ridiculous and unfair. Which is ultimately holding the meta-score score down. Expand
  31. AlanM
    Jun 5, 2009
    9
    Having not played this game on anything but the PC, I cannot speculate on any changes/imporvements made from the carry-over to the computer version. That being said, I easily gave this title a 9 out of 10, and only because most, if not all, missions are repetitive in nature. The essence of not only the main character but his surroundings are superb and at no time did I feel that things Having not played this game on anything but the PC, I cannot speculate on any changes/imporvements made from the carry-over to the computer version. That being said, I easily gave this title a 9 out of 10, and only because most, if not all, missions are repetitive in nature. The essence of not only the main character but his surroundings are superb and at no time did I feel that things within the context of the overall game were out of place. In fact, I became more interested in the real history of the area and time period because of this game. The end of the game only solidified my curiosity as to what Ubisoft will develop with the other two games of the trilogy and seeing as how Assassin's Creed 2 ships late 2009, I count the days and crave what comes next. Expand
  32. JoE.
    Mar 13, 2008
    9
    Great game, but very repetitive, but definitely worth playing.
  33. JeroenD.
    Apr 23, 2008
    9
    Immersive, a unique experience in gaming, very fun to jump around the rooftops and drive a hidden blade into an unsuspecting archer's neck, watch his corpse fall down to a plaza and hear the cries of horror of the people below. It's a very fun concept, and very well executed for a first attempt. There is lots to improve on, though, but it's a very promising concept. Not to Immersive, a unique experience in gaming, very fun to jump around the rooftops and drive a hidden blade into an unsuspecting archer's neck, watch his corpse fall down to a plaza and hear the cries of horror of the people below. It's a very fun concept, and very well executed for a first attempt. There is lots to improve on, though, but it's a very promising concept. Not to mention an awesome story, in my opinion! Expand
  34. Flesh
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    Very fun game! I needed a break from fps online games, I liked it a lot, only a 9 cause I wish the surrounding we more interactive.
  35. Bryon
    Jul 19, 2008
    9
    A word about the controls for PC... If you have a 5-button mouse, it makes controlling this game a LOT easier and more fun. I have played it on 360 and was wondering how it would be to play it on PC. Thankfully, you can use a 5-button mouse with this game, and it is so much better than with a 360 controller! This game has amazing graphics. It looks awesome on my monitor. Much better than A word about the controls for PC... If you have a 5-button mouse, it makes controlling this game a LOT easier and more fun. I have played it on 360 and was wondering how it would be to play it on PC. Thankfully, you can use a 5-button mouse with this game, and it is so much better than with a 360 controller! This game has amazing graphics. It looks awesome on my monitor. Much better than on my standard def TV. I can't wait for Assassin's Creed 2! Expand
  36. JuanC
    Jun 17, 2009
    9
    Getting in and out menu is exasperating. Seems the menu was a copycat from console game. Fantastic graphics. Sword battles reminds me the Fugitive Samurai.
  37. PabloS.
    Jun 5, 2009
    9
    Although after a long time becomes a bit tedious, is a very entertaining game and a very pleasant environment.
  38. Tactics1
    Apr 13, 2008
    9
    All i have to say is wow. I dont have any of the new consoles, so this was a first experience for me. I got a gamepad though, and everything from the overall experience, controls, graphics, fun factor, and originality definitely make this game worth its cost. However, I must say, that the storyline is quite awkward. If an epic plot is important to you, you will be let down.
  39. AlexR.
    Oct 24, 2009
    9
    This game is ridiculously fun all you do is run around and kill people it is repetitive because your an assassin and all your job to do is to kill people and THAT my friend is what makes this video game so awesome and addictive. Some people may get bored of this but it is one of the reasons I play video games. I LOVE IT!!!
  40. Dec 22, 2011
    9
    I really love the Assassin's Creed series, I like this game very much. I like the graphics too. Great controls and story, the enemies need some more voices, but that's alright. The thing I don't like is that the structure of the missions is repetitive, and sometimes the dialog is too long. Other than that, it is a good game to buy. 9 out of 10 is what I give it.
  41. Apr 9, 2012
    9
    Great atmosphere, with wonderful animations and an intriguing story. The parkour-style gameplay is addictive and fast paced, and the human crowds are lively, realistic and add an exciting element to the gameplay. Repetitive combat and missions are the drawbacks to Assassin's Creed, peppered with occasional camera and control issues, inherent with third-person open-world action games.Great atmosphere, with wonderful animations and an intriguing story. The parkour-style gameplay is addictive and fast paced, and the human crowds are lively, realistic and add an exciting element to the gameplay. Repetitive combat and missions are the drawbacks to Assassin's Creed, peppered with occasional camera and control issues, inherent with third-person open-world action games. Highly recommended, provided you have a gamepad and the hardware to support it! Collapse
  42. Jul 13, 2012
    9
    Great story, graphics and animations are very good, Killing people it is repetitive because your an assassin and all your job to do is to kill people and all the objectives are great...
  43. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    This game is nearly perfect. The storyline is a bit controversial but it unfolds in an amazing fashion as you are transported back and forth in time to relive the "memories" of your assassin ancestors. The developers took great pains to faithfully recreate the Holy Lands during an early crusade and bring times and places to life. One of my favorite parts of this game was simply scaling theThis game is nearly perfect. The storyline is a bit controversial but it unfolds in an amazing fashion as you are transported back and forth in time to relive the "memories" of your assassin ancestors. The developers took great pains to faithfully recreate the Holy Lands during an early crusade and bring times and places to life. One of my favorite parts of this game was simply scaling the large building and taking in the historic scenery. The controls were amazing, IMO, even with the mouse and keyboard. The ability to scale nearly every building, leap from the highest heights, and fight crowds of soldiers, all with an amazing fluidity and a profoundly deep level of control makes this one of the most enjoyable games you will ever play. I can agree with those who found the game a bit repetitive at times, particularly if you do the storyline first and then go back to try to get full synchronization; however, if you take your time and do all the side quests in an area before moving on to the next part of the storyline, it really isn't too bad. The only reason this game doesn't get a full 10 out of 10 is because once you finish the storyline, which doesn't feel rushed or too short, you really have no reason to play it again. It's like watching a great movie that you feel totally satisfied to have watched, but have no interest in watching again... sure you really look forward to the sequel, but you aren't going to do the first one over since you know how it is going to end and there is nothing new or exciting the second time around. . Expand
  44. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    A revolucionary game. Intire cities developed at game, that was amazing. The problem: The game is so much repetitive. You have to do the same thing all the time.
  45. Sep 3, 2013
    9
    this game is the one that made history is not boring and of course this game is one of the best game in the world this game is the one that started the assassin's creed franchise made this franchise one of the best open world game in the world
  46. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game leaves a awesome positive mindset everytime you quit. One thing that is even remotely bad is quitting the game. It takes over a minute to exit the memory and the animus then quit the game. You cant skip cutscenes but usually they are so big of a deal you possibly cannot play without them, most of them are interactive so you can still do something while watching them. You get used to the keyboard controls very soon but it is clear that they didn't think of the mouse. the game has good graphics for it's age. The experience is intresting after memory block 1 and 2. The assassinations are really difficult if you don't exactly know what you are doing (one instance: I didn't play for a while and started playing right before an assassination and got killed over 20 times). the game is well balanced you are really agile and have to fight against a lot of enemies. Counter attacks may even be the most important thing in the game. Expand
  47. Oct 13, 2013
    9
    Game Play[9]
    Controls[10]
    Contactable/Easter Eggs[7]
    Innovation[10]
    Graphics[10]
    Sounds[9]
    replay Value[7]
    Gaming Satisfaction[9]
    Price/Playtime[10]
    Technical Issues[10]
    ------------------------------------
    Over All[9.1]
  48. Nov 18, 2013
    9
    This game is very well done, with a great story, great gameplay, great graphics, and great everything. The story will keep you intrigued and keeps you moving forward. Planning the Assassination of each of your targets is interesting, as you have to do investigation to find out more about them. Such as how to infiltrate the building they are currently in, the location of guards, why theThis game is very well done, with a great story, great gameplay, great graphics, and great everything. The story will keep you intrigued and keeps you moving forward. Planning the Assassination of each of your targets is interesting, as you have to do investigation to find out more about them. Such as how to infiltrate the building they are currently in, the location of guards, why the target is there, places to climb to get a nice view of the target.
    This game will keep completionist occupied, as to get %100 you have to kill 60 Templars, and get a set of flags from each of the three main cities.
    You can find secrets in areas in the game that will reveal parts of story you might miss completely.

    The story is odd, and is a little original but it may have been done before. I don't want to give anything away. But you most of the time you play as Altair, or 'The son of none', who has to assassinate nine targets in three cities in each district of that city (poor, middle, rich). Each memory block contains an assassination (1/2/3).
    Memory Blocks are split up so you can get story bits in between, out of the animus.

    Part of the game takes outside of the animus, which can read memories of your ancestors. Altair is the ancestor of Desmond Miles, a bartender. The animus can read his DNA to access Altair's memories. Like I said I am not going to spoil anything, but this game will interest you.

    Buy this game.
    Expand
  49. Aug 1, 2014
    9
    "Assassin's Creed" features a fresh and decent plot and an innovative gameplay. Back in 2008, its graphics were exceptional, too. You cannot get easily attached to the central character, but the full of twists story is pretty absorbing. It's an absolute achievement and deserves every single bit of its acclaim.
  50. KevinG.
    Jan 23, 2008
    8
    Awesome game, definitely worth buying. Good variety of missions, some of them get a little repetitive but it never plays out quite the same. Excellent fighting system, though the fist fighting could have used a bit more thought. I was extremely disappointed to find out that you can never use the crossbow shown in the opening video though. The story was a refreshing tale with plenty of Awesome game, definitely worth buying. Good variety of missions, some of them get a little repetitive but it never plays out quite the same. Excellent fighting system, though the fist fighting could have used a bit more thought. I was extremely disappointed to find out that you can never use the crossbow shown in the opening video though. The story was a refreshing tale with plenty of twists to keep you on your toes. Expand
  51. DavidH.
    Apr 18, 2008
    8
    This is a very pleasing looking game and the stunning ease at which you can fly through the city's is a joy to play. Battle is a refreshing change to most games, you can't mow down 20 men with a press of a button in this game, it's much more realistic. However, once you have completed one assassination you've pretty much explored everything the game has to offer. The This is a very pleasing looking game and the stunning ease at which you can fly through the city's is a joy to play. Battle is a refreshing change to most games, you can't mow down 20 men with a press of a button in this game, it's much more realistic. However, once you have completed one assassination you've pretty much explored everything the game has to offer. The beginning screen and tutorial is painfully long combined with the repetitiveness of the main game ducts the 2 points from an otherwise very good game. Its good, but it could have been brilliant. Expand
  52. SyedS.
    Nov 27, 2009
    8
    The graphics are realistic and the gameplay is great, but the story is somewhat confusing, and the side missions are boring. The styles are great, especially leaps. You wouldn't find anything new to it rather than the side missions which turn out to be boring as well.
  53. ChrisR
    Jul 17, 2009
    8
    Great game, it gets a little repetitive though...
  54. ChrisE.
    Feb 22, 2008
    8
    Hello, Assasians Creed is a brilliant puppetter game. It uses great skills. The Xbox version to me is easier to use, for the game controller but the PC Version is as good. The story is great and the tasks rule.
  55. LUkeB.
    Mar 4, 2008
    8
    Assins Creed is a great game, unique in a certian way that is hard to pin point, the movement is smooth, no hard steps back as you have in some 3rd person games, and the choice of fighting and stealthing make this game unimaginably entertaining but perhaps maybe just a little to hard to grasp to start with. And in fact i only gave it an 8 due to (sorry for the spoiler for anyone who does Assins Creed is a great game, unique in a certian way that is hard to pin point, the movement is smooth, no hard steps back as you have in some 3rd person games, and the choice of fighting and stealthing make this game unimaginably entertaining but perhaps maybe just a little to hard to grasp to start with. And in fact i only gave it an 8 due to (sorry for the spoiler for anyone who does not know) THIS GUY IS JUST IN A LAB! IN THE FUTURE! (from the time we play in) really brings down any story or drama in the end. Expand
  56. YuukiA
    Apr 26, 2009
    8
    After not expecting much I thoroughly enjoyed the game more then I thought I would. The sandbox feel of the game is great, allowing great freedom not seen in many 3rd person games, the quests although repeating themselves didnt ruin the experience for me as you have so much freedom to wonder the beautifully rendered areas and choose how to go about a mission. In saying that, this game has After not expecting much I thoroughly enjoyed the game more then I thought I would. The sandbox feel of the game is great, allowing great freedom not seen in many 3rd person games, the quests although repeating themselves didnt ruin the experience for me as you have so much freedom to wonder the beautifully rendered areas and choose how to go about a mission. In saying that, this game has tremendous potential to be one of the best, with an intriguing story and visually stunning base, here's waiting for Assassins creed 2! Expand
  57. TahaALN.
    Feb 27, 2008
    8
    The game itself takes you to another dimensional thinking level. The story-line is fascinating and the graphics and audio are extremely well done. The problem with this game is the fighting styles. It seems to be the same over and over. Although many critics say you must try not to confront your enemies directly, because it's about acting stealthy, but still, you have to have The game itself takes you to another dimensional thinking level. The story-line is fascinating and the graphics and audio are extremely well done. The problem with this game is the fighting styles. It seems to be the same over and over. Although many critics say you must try not to confront your enemies directly, because it's about acting stealthy, but still, you have to have different unique fighting styles. Expand
  58. Nathan
    Apr 11, 2009
    8
    this blew my mind when I first saw the detail and graphics, quests are fun, though a bit repetitive, and I love just beating the shit out of the solders in super HD style.
    The only cons I have BOUT THIS game is that when you stab someone it doesn't look very realistic, but that's a tiny con compared to this games massive quantity of pros.
  59. Sep 4, 2010
    8
    Great game, the storyline slowly unfolds and the main character pulls off some amazing moves in a visually stunning backdrop. Does tend to become a bit repetitive after a while though.
  60. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    OK, I usually don't like games that are set in middle ages, but this was a surprise. The graphics are awesome but my computer could handle this only on the lowest settings and that's the reason why I don't try Assassin's Creed 2 and Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood. Even the lowest settings are great! The story is about a dude. In 2012 he has been held in captivity by a mad scientist. He putsOK, I usually don't like games that are set in middle ages, but this was a surprise. The graphics are awesome but my computer could handle this only on the lowest settings and that's the reason why I don't try Assassin's Creed 2 and Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood. Even the lowest settings are great! The story is about a dude. In 2012 he has been held in captivity by a mad scientist. He puts the dude in sort of a time machine (or what the hell it is) called Animus. You actually control the dude. The environment is massive and you can go wherever you want. You will be in Middle East and there is a village, a big kingdom, and three cities - Jerusalem, Damascus and Acre. There are there three areas in each city - rich class people area, medium class people area and poor class people area. All those things are nice but sadly, that you do the same thing over and over again. There are some bugs too. Two or three times I fell out of the graphics. The good thing is that you can climb walls, jump from roof to roof etc. The controls are a bit confusing but you will get used to them.

    Graphics: They are awesome 10/10
    Sound: I usually play and don't listen to sounds
    Gameplay: 7/10 because of the repetitive gameplay
    Story: Great but confusing 8/10
    Expand
  61. Jul 23, 2011
    8
    Assassin's Creed is fun and challenging. It puts the player in a setting in the 12th century, during king Richard the Lionheart's crusades. The player takes on a role of an assassin Altair, who is part of a secret group of assassins. The game offers a free roaming gameplay and takes place in 4 cities, as well as a countryside in between those. The graphics are very rich, with stunningAssassin's Creed is fun and challenging. It puts the player in a setting in the 12th century, during king Richard the Lionheart's crusades. The player takes on a role of an assassin Altair, who is part of a secret group of assassins. The game offers a free roaming gameplay and takes place in 4 cities, as well as a countryside in between those. The graphics are very rich, with stunning environments, the locations are well designed, and the quests are pretty fun, even though somewhat repetitive after a while. My favourite thing about Assassin's Creed is its fantastic combat mechanic. I can fight guards day in day out and not get bored of it, because there are a number of moves you can perform in combat, with the most addictive one being counter attacks, which can instantly kill an attacking enemy if timed well. And if you aren't up for a fight, you can play a cat and mouse game with the guards, run through the city streets, dodging civilians, jumping through merchant stands and eventually disappearing in a good hiding place. There are only 5-6 different types of quests which you have to do in every city and every city district, but they do get more challenging as you progress through the game. At the end of each set of sidequests you have to assassinate a certain corrupt leader, and even though that's a repetitive structure to a game, you still face a different challenge with each leader (for example one you might need to chase, another one to face in battle, third one to stealthly kill, etc). The storyline maybe isn't anything special, but it's not exactly bad either. It's predictable to a degree, but it's not stale. Repetition might be one issue in the game, but I don't mind it so much, so long as the game is fun. However there are a couple of issues I wasn't too fond of. First one was that it took a while to get used to the controls. The fact there are separate buttons for each limb and a button for a high profile stance can get confusing in the beginning. Another problem that brought the game down a bit was that whenever you entered an area where a cinematic had to occur, you would suddenly not be able to do anything apart from walking until the cinematic triggers. This means that if you tried to enter through a roof, you basically wouldn't be able to jump down and would be stuck on a ledge. Other than those few issues the game is good. Expand
  62. Oct 14, 2013
    8
    While not as good as the sequels that followed, the original game set the bar high, in fact it's a testament to the others that they managed to beat it. The open world stealth and assassination gameplay template that many games followed was exemplified here.
  63. Jun 12, 2012
    8
    Assassin's Creed is an enjoyable new game where people who are fond of conspiracies will surely enjoy the amazing storyline with a twist. Players will also enjoy the amazing unique gameplay and the different views of places which are based upon actual real life locations. Any person who is a fan of Action, stealth or sandbox games will surely love this game and will be glad to add it toAssassin's Creed is an enjoyable new game where people who are fond of conspiracies will surely enjoy the amazing storyline with a twist. Players will also enjoy the amazing unique gameplay and the different views of places which are based upon actual real life locations. Any person who is a fan of Action, stealth or sandbox games will surely love this game and will be glad to add it to their collection. Expand
  64. Dec 28, 2011
    8
    This is a brilliant port to PC. Ubisoft listened to the complaints that people had about the console version, and came out with a refined, improved game on the PC. Unfortunately, I had to play this beauty on a on board graphics card which couldn't even run it on the lowest settings without lag. I struggled through the game with a framerate dipping as low as 5fps. After recently investingThis is a brilliant port to PC. Ubisoft listened to the complaints that people had about the console version, and came out with a refined, improved game on the PC. Unfortunately, I had to play this beauty on a on board graphics card which couldn't even run it on the lowest settings without lag. I struggled through the game with a framerate dipping as low as 5fps. After recently investing in a new graphics card I discovered that it was a truly magnificent game and I would recommend it to anyone who has an appetite for some blood (and a good enough rig) Expand
  65. Apr 21, 2012
    8
    Nice locations, awesome story, sort of weird combat system, lucky that will be fixed in the next episodes, repetitive cause you always have to investigate+help citizen, but all in all worth the price of when it goes on sale, kept me busy for a few, if you want to go for the 100% completed in-game you will need a lot of times, if you are a fan of AC game get it anyway.
  66. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    A nice start for the best-selling franchise, Assassin's Creed's main flaw is its repeatetiveness - it follows the same pattern in all the three cities: complete a number of similiar side-missions - go in and eliminate the VIP. Still, the game features a great plot (both in the middle ages and in the modern days), impressive graphics (they're competetive even today), beautifullyA nice start for the best-selling franchise, Assassin's Creed's main flaw is its repeatetiveness - it follows the same pattern in all the three cities: complete a number of similiar side-missions - go in and eliminate the VIP. Still, the game features a great plot (both in the middle ages and in the modern days), impressive graphics (they're competetive even today), beautifully reconstructed cities and the unique feeling of being an assassin, watching his targets from the crowd and going in for the kill as an eagle squawks. Expand
  67. Jan 16, 2013
    8
    While not nearly as refined as later titles, the original AC game stands on its own merits too. It features a compelling story, great atmosphere, and fresh gameplay mechanics. I found the parts where you must control Desmond to be rather tedious, but thankfully they are relatively short and do at least help to build up the story. The actual heart of the game, playing as Altair theWhile not nearly as refined as later titles, the original AC game stands on its own merits too. It features a compelling story, great atmosphere, and fresh gameplay mechanics. I found the parts where you must control Desmond to be rather tedious, but thankfully they are relatively short and do at least help to build up the story. The actual heart of the game, playing as Altair the assassin, is plenty of fun. The world is fairly large and mostly open, so you can explore, cause havoc, or do missions largely at your own pace. The cities are beautiful and each have their own look and feel, whether it's the holy city of Jerusalem, the crusader fortress of Acre, or the Muslim city of Damascus. Unfortunately the game provides you with limited weapons (you don't have the luxury of crossbows or smoke bombs as in later games), and most major assassination missions end up in huge sword-fights or long desperate chases. Still, there's nothing quite like hearing the chase music pumping as you leap around rooftops trying to escape a horde of pissed guards! Expand
  68. Oct 6, 2013
    8
    Good game. I give it a 8/10. Remarkable for the visuals for a game from 2007. Looses points for being repetitive and having a camera that you want to kill during combat. Some points come back for having an intriguing back story. I didn't realize this is a trilogy with a long story. I figured it was just run and gun. Intrigued for AC2. I stalled out on this game in chapter 2 of 7, mostlyGood game. I give it a 8/10. Remarkable for the visuals for a game from 2007. Looses points for being repetitive and having a camera that you want to kill during combat. Some points come back for having an intriguing back story. I didn't realize this is a trilogy with a long story. I figured it was just run and gun. Intrigued for AC2. I stalled out on this game in chapter 2 of 7, mostly due to the repetition, but got going again after seeing an AC4 trailer. Took about 24 hours total to get through the game. This is a pretty good stealth game, which is in my wheel house. The combat is fun, but a bit non-intuitive and timing dependent. After you get the hang of it though you pretty much can't loose. Expand
  69. Aug 12, 2012
    8
    This is a very good game. Its graphics are superb and the storyline is well thought out and gripping. Basically, you play as a 21st century person who uses a machine to relive the life of his ancestor-Altair, an assassin in the 12th century. Altair messes up a mission and is demoted in his assassin guild. In order to regain his high rank Altair is tasked by his master to assassinate aThis is a very good game. Its graphics are superb and the storyline is well thought out and gripping. Basically, you play as a 21st century person who uses a machine to relive the life of his ancestor-Altair, an assassin in the 12th century. Altair messes up a mission and is demoted in his assassin guild. In order to regain his high rank Altair is tasked by his master to assassinate a number of Templars-his guild's mortal enemies, including their grand master. The story has an interesting conclusion-I'll leave it at that. The gameplay is fluid and amazing. My only real criticisms are that the NPCs don't do much else other than walk around and utter the odd sentence. Also, most of the time you simply duel your target face-to-face, rather than employing skill to take them out stealthily. Overall, a great game! Expand
  70. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    AC is visually stunning, and the gameplay is fun. The story can be predictable, but It's interesting. Now, Assassin's Creed is the second best looking AC game, for my opinion, but It's not the best. The game can feel repetitive at times, and It haves some glitches. But, this game kicks asses, means that it's great. 83 out of 100
  71. Aug 18, 2012
    8
    Really great game, provided you play it with a controller. Unfortunate fact of the matter is keyboard and mouse controls are rather bad. But if you're set with a controller there's a bunch of cool stuff here. Ubisoft made a huge emphasis on controls in this game. Just from pressing your left analog stick at different intensities, there are around 4 different walking animations, and thenReally great game, provided you play it with a controller. Unfortunate fact of the matter is keyboard and mouse controls are rather bad. But if you're set with a controller there's a bunch of cool stuff here. Ubisoft made a huge emphasis on controls in this game. Just from pressing your left analog stick at different intensities, there are around 4 different walking animations, and then there's another animation for running once you hit the "high profile" button. This allows you to seamlessly transition between movement speeds for incredibly tight and precise controls. This ties in beautifully with the game's focus on parkour style gameplay. Climbing up Jerusalem's tallest buildings and beholding the surrounding view is an amazing experience.

    Sadly, the game does suffer from lack of variety in combat and missions. Not enough to spoil the experience though. Between the controls, the gritty atmosphere and plot, and the environments, there's quite a lot to enjoy. here A real step forward for action platformers in my opinion.
    Expand
  72. Sep 26, 2013
    8
    This is a great game which I really enjoyed. The attention to detail and historical accuracy is excellent and you really feel that you are wandering around in the cities the story takes place in. I particularly liked the parts of the story that take place in Acre. However I agree with a lot people that the missions do get slightly repetitive towards the end causing the game to drag a bitThis is a great game which I really enjoyed. The attention to detail and historical accuracy is excellent and you really feel that you are wandering around in the cities the story takes place in. I particularly liked the parts of the story that take place in Acre. However I agree with a lot people that the missions do get slightly repetitive towards the end causing the game to drag a bit at times hence me only giving it a score of 8. However it is a good intro to a very well done and fascinating series and a good hack and slash romp through a fascinating part of the Middle Ages Expand
  73. Mar 22, 2014
    8
    Assassin's Creed (Director's Cut Edition) consists of a small variation of different elements that helped build the franchise's foundation and success.

    It somewhat fufilled it's role as a "historical adventure, open-world game", but unfortunately leaves out the "stealth" aspect away in the dirt. Here's a list of pros and cons from my 16 hours of experience with the game: Pros:
    Assassin's Creed (Director's Cut Edition) consists of a small variation of different elements that helped build the franchise's foundation and success.

    It somewhat fufilled it's role as a "historical adventure, open-world game", but unfortunately leaves out the "stealth" aspect away in the dirt.

    Here's a list of pros and cons from my 16 hours of experience with the game:

    Pros:

    + Great looking graphics for a 2007/2008 game
    + Game mechanics isn't really choppy, although the character sometimes get stucked in foliages and invisible floors/walls, but other than that, it still gets the job done, decently.
    + Detailed character modelling, costumes are looks realistic and well-detailed.
    + Missions usually relate to the plot directly, no twist and turns around a corner or two.
    + Plot was intriguing and epic.
    + At least 16-18 hours of non-stop gameplay spent completing just on the story.

    Cons:

    - Repetitive mission types, lacks creativity.
    - Artificial Intelligence coding feels half-assed, e.g. enemy A.I falling off buildings, not retaliating frequently to attacks, not noticing "stealth assassinations" when closeby.
    - Side missions (or known as "memories") are completely useless and takes a long time to complete.
    - Game stablility issues. E.g. unable to start the game, game crashing frequently.
    - Checkpoints feels non-existent.
    - Stealth doesn't really work all that well in this game.
    - Cliffhanger ending was disappointing. Adruptly ended with poor execution methods.

    To sum it up, this game is worth a shot at. I did enjoy this game a ton during the 16 hours of playtime. Good way to start up the storyline of the series to the future games.
    Expand
  74. Mar 18, 2014
    8
    I played the more recent AC installments and then decided to go back and try this one. I feared outdated mechanics, and though they do change drastically from the more recent set up, it was not difficult to adapt to and felt pretty good. I like the way the game flows and I felt much more like a true assassin rather than an extremely agile brawler like the other titles.
  75. Jan 2, 2014
    8
    Story:7.8/10

    Characters:5/10 Graphics:7.3/10 Gameplay:7.5/10 A.I:7/10 Controls:9/10 Voice Acting:9/10 Music:9/10 Replay Value:7.1/10 POSITIVES + Open world,Prince of Persia,Third Crusade,Assassins and more + Amazing climbing system + Great music,voice acting and controls + View points + Good surprise twist and boss NEGATIVES - Side quest get
    Story:7.8/10

    Characters:5/10

    Graphics:7.3/10

    Gameplay:7.5/10

    A.I:7/10

    Controls:9/10

    Voice Acting:9/10

    Music:9/10

    Replay Value:7.1/10

    POSITIVES

    + Open world,Prince of Persia,Third Crusade,Assassins and more

    + Amazing climbing system

    + Great music,voice acting and controls

    + View points

    + Good surprise twist and boss

    NEGATIVES

    - Side quest get repetitive and boring

    - No character development or liking

    - Frustrating A.I.

    - Desmond

    - Combat that gets boring
    Expand
  76. Jun 24, 2013
    8
    Assassin's Creed ended up being a very fun game to play, however there are certain qualities that can make it less fun than it should be. Certain civilians (Beggars and lepers, specifically) keep bugging you. So much so that I had to actually parkour out of the way whenever I saw one approaching. The combat can be rather tedious, although new moves you gain after each assassination do helpAssassin's Creed ended up being a very fun game to play, however there are certain qualities that can make it less fun than it should be. Certain civilians (Beggars and lepers, specifically) keep bugging you. So much so that I had to actually parkour out of the way whenever I saw one approaching. The combat can be rather tedious, although new moves you gain after each assassination do help to relieve that. But the biggest problem I have with this game would be the missions, which often end up being the same.

    Yet with all of these qualities, it still stands as a good game, not only for it's great visuals and music, but also because with each mission you can actually understand who the victim is, why you're killing him, and how he could see what he was doing as a good thing; something that most modern shooters miss entirely. It also gives a great sense of character development as the main character actually undergoes a major change throughout the story, as those around him begin to notice.

    TL;DR Assassin's Creed has it's flaws, but is a great game, overall.
    Expand
  77. May 27, 2014
    8
    The beginning of a legend. I liked the first game, even with a median story, but with good graphics. The real innovation became with the second game of the franchise, which is my favorite.
  78. Jun 22, 2014
    8
    This game was one of the best games I have played in a long time. Ubisoft did well. The story is great but there are a few flaws. The game is repetitive. You basically have to get a certain same requirement for each chapter. For example, you needed three investigations and they were pretty much the same throughout the whole story. You also needed to do view points and save citizens whichThis game was one of the best games I have played in a long time. Ubisoft did well. The story is great but there are a few flaws. The game is repetitive. You basically have to get a certain same requirement for each chapter. For example, you needed three investigations and they were pretty much the same throughout the whole story. You also needed to do view points and save citizens which pretty much got boring. The game also does not explain well on who the characters and places are. The visuals for its time is astonishing. The game makes you feel and care about certain characters whether good or bad. I would give this game an 85/100. Expand
  79. Dec 26, 2014
    8
    Assassin's Creed is a game published in 2007, developed by Ubisoft Montreal and published by Ubisoft. The game puts you in the shoes of Altair Ibn La-Ahad's a membership cards of "The Assassin Brotherhood", which aims to assassinate nine historical figures during the Third Crusade. To achieve this goal, player need to gather some information about tinta.Depsre story can not say anythingAssassin's Creed is a game published in 2007, developed by Ubisoft Montreal and published by Ubisoft. The game puts you in the shoes of Altair Ibn La-Ahad's a membership cards of "The Assassin Brotherhood", which aims to assassinate nine historical figures during the Third Crusade. To achieve this goal, player need to gather some information about tinta.Depsre story can not say anything because the roads to give to some spoilere.Jocul is quite ok, in terms of graphics. The game has little to control the game. Not often I tried to climb the tower and the game does not allow me to not see a window that I can climb. Expand
  80. MarkyP
    Aug 17, 2008
    7
    An absolutely fascinating premise, a 'game within a game' dynamic that hasn't been exploited before. It's a stunningly realised Medieval world, and the first few missions are breathtaking. Hearing the characters speak, negotiating crowds, and running up walls and climbing is just pure joy. The draw distance is good and I was worried that my PC wouldn't cope (ports An absolutely fascinating premise, a 'game within a game' dynamic that hasn't been exploited before. It's a stunningly realised Medieval world, and the first few missions are breathtaking. Hearing the characters speak, negotiating crowds, and running up walls and climbing is just pure joy. The draw distance is good and I was worried that my PC wouldn't cope (ports of console games tend to be badly optimised). But my year-old MacBook Pro could play everything on max settings and it simply looks superb. But I'm only going to play halfway through this game because of what everyone else has been saying: the repetition, which is starting to pall. A real shame, because such a detailed and believable world deserves a more developed gameplay dynamic. And the main character Altair is simply arrogant and American (the American accent didn't exist in 1191AD, but of course it is Desmond being projected into that world as an avatar; but still, why make the protagonist cheesily American like every other action hero?). Definitely worth seeing and playing, but not worth 40. Expand
  81. OrenI.
    Aug 3, 2008
    7
    The game is beautiful and entertaining for the first few hours of gameplay. But as time goes on and the combat system is mastered, the game is all too repetitive and nothing is really added to spice up the game. After the fifth hour of gameplay I started to avoid combat altogether until boss battles. It is not worth all the trouble to get to a boss battle though. A great combat system The game is beautiful and entertaining for the first few hours of gameplay. But as time goes on and the combat system is mastered, the game is all too repetitive and nothing is really added to spice up the game. After the fifth hour of gameplay I started to avoid combat altogether until boss battles. It is not worth all the trouble to get to a boss battle though. A great combat system that is 15X better than the usual hit, run/block, hit, but it isn't good enough to support an otherwise boring game. It is cool to climb up buildings, but doing so takes too long. Overall, you should try this game, but I think the 7 rating I gave was fair... Expand
  82. AngryRussian
    Apr 11, 2008
    7
    I based my rating on igns.. and thats what i value.. but the main point of my post is to say this:
    LUKE B!! GO TO HELL, I WISH U BURN IN HELL, you ae worthless.. u could have at least not put here.. I HATE YOU.. get cnacer .. DIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  83. [anonymous]
    Apr 25, 2008
    7
    Disappointing ending and too much repetition.
  84. SteffenS.
    Jun 24, 2008
    7
    It´s always the same... in the beginning it is great but then it returns ever and ever... climb up somewehere, look arround, help some people, steal something, hear something, kill your target, same in next city.
  85. JimmyB.
    Jun 6, 2008
    7
    This game is absolutely magical the first play through. It only took me 10 hours or so, and I loved it. However, there is practically no replay value. Upon starting a new level after beating the game, you have to sit through the dialogue between Altair and his master for up to 6 or 7 minutes, it's unskippable. You can't "free play" and jump straight into a city from the This game is absolutely magical the first play through. It only took me 10 hours or so, and I loved it. However, there is practically no replay value. Upon starting a new level after beating the game, you have to sit through the dialogue between Altair and his master for up to 6 or 7 minutes, it's unskippable. You can't "free play" and jump straight into a city from the beginning of the level, you must go from the palace, through Masayaf, get on your horse and ride to the gate to even get to a city. This is around 11 or 12 minutes before you even get to gameplay again!! I suppose this is ok the first round through because you haven't seen the cutscene yet, but after you've seen it once there should be an option to skip it and it's very stupid that there isn't one. The 10 minutes it takes to get to a city to play is a drop of 1 or 2 points by itself. It is very repetitive after you play it once through. The graphics are amazing on any system, and the crowd mechanics are cool. It's very immersive, especially the free running system. You can climb pretty much everything. However, the combat is much too easy and again, really repetitive. It's pretty much a timing game: a crowd of attackers attack one at a time (stupid) and you must guard and counterattack exactly when the guard hits. It's not very fun and doesn't make a lot of sense. Wouldn't the guards want to swarm and attack you rather than lining up for a go one by one? Wrapping up, this game is probably one of the most fun rentals you could ever get. You'll beat it in a few days and have a blast. Just do yourself a favor and don't buy it. It's great the first time through and monotonous any other time. Expand
  86. M.E.H
    Jul 18, 2008
    7
    The game Has very impressive graficks and and everything is nicely done and in the beggining the game is very addictive but later on you get bored bechuse the game is to repetetiv you keep doing the same thing over and over again and it has no replay value.
  87. CH
    Jul 27, 2009
    7
    To be fair, there are some glitches and exploits here and there. One of them is the sound, and it took me like 2 days to fix it (there's a ultra short tutorial on it for XP, but now vista which im currently using). Another glitch (or bug rather) occurred when i was fighting the 9th boss (the one at the end of a passage). I somehow managed to kill the biss in the "Memory Error" zone To be fair, there are some glitches and exploits here and there. One of them is the sound, and it took me like 2 days to fix it (there's a ultra short tutorial on it for XP, but now vista which im currently using). Another glitch (or bug rather) occurred when i was fighting the 9th boss (the one at the end of a passage). I somehow managed to kill the biss in the "Memory Error" zone after 10 minutes of nintendo tumbs and tada, I'm dead cause he was beaten inside that zone. Well, apart from these 2 experiences, it's generally is fun. Expand
  88. PhillipB
    Jul 28, 2009
    7
    Not the best, not the worst, i give it a 7/10 because some of the gameplay is repeating and the story is a bit confusing, but the its still a very entertaining game to play.
  89. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    I just want to start off by saying that I actually do enjoy this game, even if it might come across overly critical. I bought it a week or so ago, and have had about 10 hours play time with it now, won't be long either, till it is completed, at least with regards to the main story line.

    The graphics, for 2008 are very good, but, ofcourse, compared to todays standards they're not really
    I just want to start off by saying that I actually do enjoy this game, even if it might come across overly critical. I bought it a week or so ago, and have had about 10 hours play time with it now, won't be long either, till it is completed, at least with regards to the main story line.

    The graphics, for 2008 are very good, but, ofcourse, compared to todays standards they're not really that great, at all. Especially the character models and animations can sometimes have me cringing in my shoes, but I'll survive. The scenery, and the "finish", the aesthetics, are wonderful, though. I like the "dirty" look/feel to the game graphically, and it conveys a proper sense of atmosphere to the time period. Textures could be bumped up, alot, though.

    Sound and VA works fine, but the lip synch is nothing special, at all. This generation has featured, even older games, with better synching than this. All in all though, it works, but its not getting a 10/10 based on sound, VA and synching though.

    Gameplay wise it is pretty repetitive, listen to this guy, do this guy's challenge, pickpocket that guy, beat up the third guy and boom you are set to assassinate someone who will give you another piece to the storyline. So far, for me, the story line does seem quite intriguing, which is, as far as I see it (in this day and age) the one reason to play this game now. Especially seeing as Assassin's Creed II, Brotherhood and Revelations and the future Assassin's Creed III builds onto this storyline.

    Combat is a bit odd if I have to be honest. Yes you can hit someone with the sword, or stab someone with your hidden knife. If you are discovered, well, hold down right mouse button and stare at the screen until an enemy attacks you, then press left mouse button, and said enemy will either die or be out of combat for a while. You will be pretty much unkillable with right mouse button held, and left mouse button will kill people for you. It is rather simplistic, and would have worked fine, with a few more kill animations. There are quite a few, but you see them soooo often that they get tedious in the end. The first few times are very awesome though.

    Camera angling and control is horrible, it sometimes just does whatever the hell it wants to do and your sat wondering "wtf?" that is pretty much all there is to say to it.

    By 2008 standards it might have been an 8 or 9/10, by todays standards it would barely scrape a 7, but then again, for the money it costs these days, there are quite alot of fun to be had, and the story is pretty good. So 7/10 from me.
    Expand
  90. Dec 29, 2011
    7
    The game is nothing special. The assassin's creed series is fantastic but this game is just repetitive and boring, but it's not awful. It's easy, repetitive... blah. BUT, I recommend to play this before you play the rest of the games. Really, it's important. Anyway, it's a perfect port.
  91. Oct 24, 2012
    7
    I would say this is a pretty good game overall. Nice gameplay, good combat system and a pretty good story with a fantastic ending. But this game definetly has it's bad sides too : The free run system has it's flawsand the guard system is just really messed up: Sometimes you can murder someone right infront of a guard and they don't give a **** and other times all you have to do is moveI would say this is a pretty good game overall. Nice gameplay, good combat system and a pretty good story with a fantastic ending. But this game definetly has it's bad sides too : The free run system has it's flawsand the guard system is just really messed up: Sometimes you can murder someone right infront of a guard and they don't give a **** and other times all you have to do is move past them and they will try to kill you. These two and other details about the game make it so frustrating to play that i can't give it more than a 7/10. Expand
  92. Nov 12, 2012
    7
    Graphics, detailed models and artwork are good. The game play is entertaining for a short time, the player only has skills of combat, but no perks or other tactics that employs the assassin, in other words has very limited capabilities.The game has no re playability, and has no Multiplayer.So far seen few bugs.The story and the main characters are good, make you keep playing.
  93. Jan 6, 2013
    7
    Awesome graphics, fantastic gameplay, but plotline is repetitive even though the story as a whole is one of the best i've seen/played. The only thing that drove me forward was the Desmond part and conspiracy theories about religion.
  94. Jul 12, 2013
    7
    Assassin's creed is a good game with decent story (although the ending was bad great graphic and some cool characters but the game is repetitive with the same missions nothing new so you'll have fun in the beginning and then you'll get a bit bored then disappointed in the ending but still it is not bad and give it a try
  95. Aug 19, 2013
    7
    All in all you can say that the game is good. The story is okay, but you have to do the same thing again and again, so it gets boring. The graphical quality and game-play are good. Only some bugs and glitches, but nothing to get excited about.

    Finally it's totally worth 7 points and you should play it
  96. Jun 8, 2014
    7
    Assassin's Creed is a good game with stunning graphic, great sounds and amazing story. But then, the only thing left in your mind is Altair's animations and outstanding parkour race. Repetitive mission's the biggest flaw in the game, beside an open-but-boring world.
  97. KarlL.
    Apr 30, 2008
    6
    Far to easy and repetitive. Every mission follows the same formula. Hardly any real stealth elements. Stupid AI and boring sword fights once you figure out how the system works. Ugly "sci fi" effects constantly flash across your screen making sure you don't get too immersed in the medieval world. Camera is constantly being wrenched from your control, and long unskipable dialog A lot Far to easy and repetitive. Every mission follows the same formula. Hardly any real stealth elements. Stupid AI and boring sword fights once you figure out how the system works. Ugly "sci fi" effects constantly flash across your screen making sure you don't get too immersed in the medieval world. Camera is constantly being wrenched from your control, and long unskipable dialog A lot of Lame missions such as " Collect all the flags along the path before the time runs out" Not really the most exciting thing an assassin could do. It does look nice though, and being able to climb everything is great fun. This is the sort of game that I would load up once or twice a month when I'm really bored and put a half hour into. Expand
  98. GusGus
    Jan 14, 2010
    6
    What an amazing game! So much fun to play and great graphics. What awful awful awful interface on PC. on Win 7- 64bit, I cant alt tab out of the game and it takes sometimes 7-8 trys to cntrl-alt-del out of the game! Why is it neccesary to leave the game this way? Because to just quit the game takes 5 minutes! first you have to quit the "animus" then leave the game, then goto the menu, What an amazing game! So much fun to play and great graphics. What awful awful awful interface on PC. on Win 7- 64bit, I cant alt tab out of the game and it takes sometimes 7-8 trys to cntrl-alt-del out of the game! Why is it neccesary to leave the game this way? Because to just quit the game takes 5 minutes! first you have to quit the "animus" then leave the game, then goto the menu, then quit the game???? Really? They couldnt just give you a "Quit to Windows" option? Also some glitchy stuff that I am not going to get into. Great game, great graphics, not made for the PC and/or just a lack of awareness be designers that truly takes away from the experience. Expand
  99. TL
    Feb 13, 2009
    6
    The game has huge potencial. The areas are beautifully designet and you have a lot of freedom while moving in the cities. Also the graphics are great. But the game has one big flaw. After you have seen the first 2 cities and assassined your target there, the rest of the areals will be nearly the same. The quests will repeat itself and aren't very innovative. That takes a lot of fun The game has huge potencial. The areas are beautifully designet and you have a lot of freedom while moving in the cities. Also the graphics are great. But the game has one big flaw. After you have seen the first 2 cities and assassined your target there, the rest of the areals will be nearly the same. The quests will repeat itself and aren't very innovative. That takes a lot of fun out of the game and makes it sometimes boring. Also the character developement regarding abilities and equipment isn't really strong. You 3 (dagger works like sword so it isn't a extra weapon) weapons + fist fight. You have 2 of the weapons from the very beginning and the throwing daggers where pretty much useless to me. the game has flaws but overall is fun. Expand
  100. ZO
    Apr 12, 2008
    6
    If you've played the Thief or the Hitman series, don't bother since you've seen far better already. If you haven't played either series you'll probably enjoy it since you don't know what you've missed. Overall pretty mediocre and it gets tedious very quickly, but the graphics are good I guess.
  101. Apr 9, 2012
    0
    Great atmosphere, with wonderful animations and an intriguing story. The parkour-style gameplay is addictive and fast paced, and the human crowds are lively, realistic and add an exciting element to the gameplay. Repetitive combat and missions are the drawbacks to Assassin's Creed, peppered with occasional camera and control issues, inherent with third-person open-world action games.Great atmosphere, with wonderful animations and an intriguing story. The parkour-style gameplay is addictive and fast paced, and the human crowds are lively, realistic and add an exciting element to the gameplay. Repetitive combat and missions are the drawbacks to Assassin's Creed, peppered with occasional camera and control issues, inherent with third-person open-world action games. Highly recommended, provided you have a gamepad and the hardware to support it! Collapse
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Playing as gaming's most agile character is joyous, which outweighs the lengthy cutscenes and disappointing final hour. [Apr 2008, p.38]
  2. Assassin’s Creed for the PC is a pretty compelling action game that benefits from huge environments and an interesting story. While the main campaign can get a bit repetitive, the new Director’s Cut features add some nice variety.
  3. 78
    What you're left with is a repetitive side-quest requirement for completing each primary mission, though the issue is alleviated somewhat with the PC version's additional content.