User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 682 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 682

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    Controls... Controls... Controls... This game loses everything at that point. I don't remember a game that i finished and still don't know the controls.
  2. Aug 18, 2012
    8
    Really great game, provided you play it with a controller. Unfortunate fact of the matter is keyboard and mouse controls are rather bad. But if you're set with a controller there's a bunch of cool stuff here. Ubisoft made a huge emphasis on controls in this game. Just from pressing your left analog stick at different intensities, there are around 4 different walking animations, and thenReally great game, provided you play it with a controller. Unfortunate fact of the matter is keyboard and mouse controls are rather bad. But if you're set with a controller there's a bunch of cool stuff here. Ubisoft made a huge emphasis on controls in this game. Just from pressing your left analog stick at different intensities, there are around 4 different walking animations, and then there's another animation for running once you hit the "high profile" button. This allows you to seamlessly transition between movement speeds for incredibly tight and precise controls. This ties in beautifully with the game's focus on parkour style gameplay. Climbing up Jerusalem's tallest buildings and beholding the surrounding view is an amazing experience.

    Sadly, the game does suffer from lack of variety in combat and missions. Not enough to spoil the experience though. Between the controls, the gritty atmosphere and plot, and the environments, there's quite a lot to enjoy. here A real step forward for action platformers in my opinion.
    Expand
  3. MarkyP
    Aug 17, 2008
    7
    An absolutely fascinating premise, a 'game within a game' dynamic that hasn't been exploited before. It's a stunningly realised Medieval world, and the first few missions are breathtaking. Hearing the characters speak, negotiating crowds, and running up walls and climbing is just pure joy. The draw distance is good and I was worried that my PC wouldn't cope (ports An absolutely fascinating premise, a 'game within a game' dynamic that hasn't been exploited before. It's a stunningly realised Medieval world, and the first few missions are breathtaking. Hearing the characters speak, negotiating crowds, and running up walls and climbing is just pure joy. The draw distance is good and I was worried that my PC wouldn't cope (ports of console games tend to be badly optimised). But my year-old MacBook Pro could play everything on max settings and it simply looks superb. But I'm only going to play halfway through this game because of what everyone else has been saying: the repetition, which is starting to pall. A real shame, because such a detailed and believable world deserves a more developed gameplay dynamic. And the main character Altair is simply arrogant and American (the American accent didn't exist in 1191AD, but of course it is Desmond being projected into that world as an avatar; but still, why make the protagonist cheesily American like every other action hero?). Definitely worth seeing and playing, but not worth 40. Expand
  4. DavidH.
    Apr 18, 2008
    8
    This is a very pleasing looking game and the stunning ease at which you can fly through the city's is a joy to play. Battle is a refreshing change to most games, you can't mow down 20 men with a press of a button in this game, it's much more realistic. However, once you have completed one assassination you've pretty much explored everything the game has to offer. The This is a very pleasing looking game and the stunning ease at which you can fly through the city's is a joy to play. Battle is a refreshing change to most games, you can't mow down 20 men with a press of a button in this game, it's much more realistic. However, once you have completed one assassination you've pretty much explored everything the game has to offer. The beginning screen and tutorial is painfully long combined with the repetitiveness of the main game ducts the 2 points from an otherwise very good game. Its good, but it could have been brilliant. Expand
  5. Dr.VV
    Oct 23, 2009
    2
    This is typical ubisoft, good graphics but the gameplay and interface are very linear and not well documented and the control interface sucks. As is very typical, they consistently require various combination's of keystrokes to do various actions and yet allow the character to get locked up in surroundings or people, this preventing any action from taking place. Avoid this fetid This is typical ubisoft, good graphics but the gameplay and interface are very linear and not well documented and the control interface sucks. As is very typical, they consistently require various combination's of keystrokes to do various actions and yet allow the character to get locked up in surroundings or people, this preventing any action from taking place. Avoid this fetid design unless you thrive on frustration. Oh, and Ubi, fix your friggin interfaces first, then worry about graphics. Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2011
    4
    I really tried to like this game, but overall it was so repetitive it started to feel like a chore to finish. Go here, view here, complete objectives, and return to Masyaf. Aside from the historic holy land cities you visit (where you wash, rinse and repeat) the story is interesting and the visuals are great. The repetition leaves a bad after taste in your mouth, but this game alsoI really tried to like this game, but overall it was so repetitive it started to feel like a chore to finish. Go here, view here, complete objectives, and return to Masyaf. Aside from the historic holy land cities you visit (where you wash, rinse and repeat) the story is interesting and the visuals are great. The repetition leaves a bad after taste in your mouth, but this game also helps to setup the Assassin's Creed franchise. Not all is bad here, but it just wasn't well thought out and executed. Expand
  7. Apr 30, 2011
    6
    Beautiful, detailed game. Authentic medieval feel. Great animations. Climbing tall structures gives genuine feeling of vertigo which never gets old. Repetitive and boring game play however which evolves little as game progresses. Annoying combat sequences. Little motivation to complete lengthy campaign beyond concluding the story. Excruciating game menu interface.
  8. Dec 22, 2011
    9
    I really love the Assassin's Creed series, I like this game very much. I like the graphics too. Great controls and story, the enemies need some more voices, but that's alright. The thing I don't like is that the structure of the missions is repetitive, and sometimes the dialog is too long. Other than that, it is a good game to buy. 9 out of 10 is what I give it.
  9. JYT
    Jan 6, 2012
    1
    - only work is done on the graphism and riding the horse is nice
    - the story is simple: follow the doth, only one route to the end and no multiple route for the character.
    - it means no decision making - the last fight using the mouse has a bug and the support team was not able to solve the problem, they give and all-made answer of updating drivers although the rest of the game works well
    - only work is done on the graphism and riding the horse is nice
    - the story is simple: follow the doth, only one route to the end and no multiple route for the character.
    - it means no decision making
    - the last fight using the mouse has a bug and the support team was not able to solve the problem, they give and all-made answer of updating drivers although the rest of the game works well the system.
    - Who is the stupid game developper who did not bother programming the function "Quit", "Save and Quit" ??????
    Expand
  10. Aug 12, 2012
    8
    This is a very good game. Its graphics are superb and the storyline is well thought out and gripping. Basically, you play as a 21st century person who uses a machine to relive the life of his ancestor-Altair, an assassin in the 12th century. Altair messes up a mission and is demoted in his assassin guild. In order to regain his high rank Altair is tasked by his master to assassinate aThis is a very good game. Its graphics are superb and the storyline is well thought out and gripping. Basically, you play as a 21st century person who uses a machine to relive the life of his ancestor-Altair, an assassin in the 12th century. Altair messes up a mission and is demoted in his assassin guild. In order to regain his high rank Altair is tasked by his master to assassinate a number of Templars-his guild's mortal enemies, including their grand master. The story has an interesting conclusion-I'll leave it at that. The gameplay is fluid and amazing. My only real criticisms are that the NPCs don't do much else other than walk around and utter the odd sentence. Also, most of the time you simply duel your target face-to-face, rather than employing skill to take them out stealthily. Overall, a great game! Expand
  11. Mar 23, 2013
    1
    Why this game has earned the respect of so many people? It seems very repetitive. The only thing acceptable was that the story engages, the rest is always the same Even the dialogues of the characters in the cities are repeated over and over again, not to mention the damn beggars and madmen that you pull to one side... PC is also very hard to play with keyboard, since I tried to play withWhy this game has earned the respect of so many people? It seems very repetitive. The only thing acceptable was that the story engages, the rest is always the same Even the dialogues of the characters in the cities are repeated over and over again, not to mention the damn beggars and madmen that you pull to one side... PC is also very hard to play with keyboard, since I tried to play with it but it's impossible to configure it, because each time I enter the game again is dropped and buttons are misplaced. I put it a 1 for the story... Expand
  12. Jun 25, 2013
    6
    I really tried to like this game and it does have some things going for it. It looks good, it has very open maps and the premise (being stealthy assassin) sounds great.

    Unfortunately this game is very repetitive. Basically every mission is exactly the same and every map has the same scripted things you need to do and can do. This gets old somewhere around third mission. I originally
    I really tried to like this game and it does have some things going for it. It looks good, it has very open maps and the premise (being stealthy assassin) sounds great.

    Unfortunately this game is very repetitive. Basically every mission is exactly the same and every map has the same scripted things you need to do and can do. This gets old somewhere around third mission. I originally expected something more like Thief series. Optional side quests like "collect zillion flags around the map, to get nothing concrete" also don't help.

    It's also mind boggling why we need convoluted double plot. You see, all the assassin stuff actually happens inside this guy's head who is kidnapped by some organization in present time and placed inside machine that can play his "genetic memory". I really can't see any relevance or added value between this and the game's central idea of being medieval assassin. Granted that I didn't finish the game so I don't know if it starts to make sense at some point.

    All in all, the game is ok. Unfortunately, there are tons of better ways to spend your time than this game. It offers nothing exceptional or memorable.
    Expand
  13. MechelsM.
    Apr 30, 2008
    4
    The graphical quality is very good, the models and animations are some of the best I've ever seen. The storyline is reasonable, but nothing to write home about. It pretty much spoils itself before it's halfway through. The 'random' banter from NPCs is highly repetitive, most of them have only one or two sentences which they repeat over and over again. Which gets really The graphical quality is very good, the models and animations are some of the best I've ever seen. The storyline is reasonable, but nothing to write home about. It pretty much spoils itself before it's halfway through. The 'random' banter from NPCs is highly repetitive, most of them have only one or two sentences which they repeat over and over again. Which gets really annoying after a while. This annoyingness is matched easily by the behaviour of the NPCs, drunkards and beggars will only harrass the player. I ended up getting killed several times by a drunkard who for no reason at all lashed out and pushed me into the water. No guards or any NPC seems to care about the violent behaviour displayed by these drunkards, though if you fight back the heat will be on like there's no tomorrow. NPC guards in mini-game missions will instantly know where you are and of your intentions the second you 'lock' on to them, regardless of how stealthy your approach was. This completely negates the option of using the throwing knifes to get a free kill on these mini-games. I find this a rather immersion breaking issue. The controls leave the most to be desired though. Clearly it is a console port and the controls will constantly remind you of this fact. AWSD only allows for movement in 4 absolute directions, where in combat it is often needed to be able to 'move' diagonally or else the game will lock onto a different target and ruin your combo. The same goes for getting around the towns, in freerun mode the game decides when to jump, how far to jump and will adjust your direction to accommodate the jump it wants you to make. This will often lead to frustrating gameplay where the character either jumps too far or onto the wrong object killing the momentum of your run. Even when playing with a gamepad the controls feel unresponsive and like you're not the one in control of your character. Yet despide this "AI" controlling where and when you jump it's more than happy to let you jump to your doom, even though you have already changed directions or let go of the freerun mode entirely. I'd give it a 8 for graphics and animations, a 5 for the storyline, a 2 for immersion and a 1 for the controls. All in all, I give it 4 out of 10. Sorry, but lavish graphics do not make up for such poor controls and poor NPC behavior. Expand
  14. JalexD.
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    Okay, I do wish that there was even more variety in the gameplay, even if it meant delaying this version some. But, I already loved the console version and the PC version does no harm to the original. It merely adds to it and that can only be a good thing. So, if you loved the game (not just liked it or thought it was 'okay') or haven't played it yet and think it looks Okay, I do wish that there was even more variety in the gameplay, even if it meant delaying this version some. But, I already loved the console version and the PC version does no harm to the original. It merely adds to it and that can only be a good thing. So, if you loved the game (not just liked it or thought it was 'okay') or haven't played it yet and think it looks good, this is a must-buy expansion to a classic game. Expand
  15. BrianS
    Aug 3, 2008
    9
    This game was very fun. Great story and graphics and the combat can be challenging as well. I would like everyone that complains about the controls to read the reccomended specs for this game.. Yes a xbox360 gamepad makes all the difference in the world when playing this game and I highly reccomend everyone picking up a gamepad if they buy this game.
  16. Dec 30, 2011
    4
    I'm a huge fan of the Assassin's creed series, but this one i could not get into at all. At first i loved it because I could run around and collect things but that grew old and repetitive just like the story missions. Near the end it gets less repetitive but you have to grind through many same-thing different-story missions to get there. The only reason this gets a 4 from me is becauseI'm a huge fan of the Assassin's creed series, but this one i could not get into at all. At first i loved it because I could run around and collect things but that grew old and repetitive just like the story missions. Near the end it gets less repetitive but you have to grind through many same-thing different-story missions to get there. The only reason this gets a 4 from me is because the story that it lays down for the rest of the series. Expand
  17. Aug 30, 2012
    6
    A good start, but not more. The following games are better. Me missions are not very difficulty, but the open world feeling ist very cool. The graphics were awesome that time.
  18. StevenH
    Jun 3, 2009
    4
    Slightly inspired gameplay repeated twenty times over for the course of the game. Utterly repetitive. Unskippable cinematics. Shoddy programming. Invasive piracy protection (which failed). Prince of Persia combat. Inconsistent controls. Mediocre graphics. Cliched but acceptable storyline. Disastrous bugs (especially on PC - I must turn audio hardware acceleration off every time I play). Slightly inspired gameplay repeated twenty times over for the course of the game. Utterly repetitive. Unskippable cinematics. Shoddy programming. Invasive piracy protection (which failed). Prince of Persia combat. Inconsistent controls. Mediocre graphics. Cliched but acceptable storyline. Disastrous bugs (especially on PC - I must turn audio hardware acceleration off every time I play). Slightly overrated, but thankfully people know that the developers can't program. Had a lot of potential, but failed in most regards except under the most exact circumstances (stars aligning, looking at 5 minutes of gameplay in the cities, good mood, etc. and even then it's about an 8 or 9 out of 10). Expand
  19. Mar 19, 2012
    4
    A GAME WITH BIG "BUTS" +++
    I'm a huge fan of medieval games and a huge fan of stealth games, so Assassin's Creed was my game of choice the moment I played it for five minutes on a friends PS3. Graphics are well done, no doubt about that, assets, clothes, armour and architecture put you back into the time of crusades without too many fantasy like touches -- as an upcoming reenactor I found
    A GAME WITH BIG "BUTS" +++
    I'm a huge fan of medieval games and a huge fan of stealth games, so Assassin's Creed was my game of choice the moment I played it for five minutes on a friends PS3. Graphics are well done, no doubt about that, assets, clothes, armour and architecture put you back into the time of crusades without too many fantasy like touches -- as an upcoming reenactor I found this very inspiring!
    +++
    Game controls are a joy to play with. While many jump'n'run games fail to guide you along thin beam or on critical jumps, you really have to force your character off, which can be done quite well after a little practice. As mentioned before this sometimes gets into your way when your character automatically grabs ladders or beams to climb, while you actually want to run/fall/whatever.
    +++
    The fighting system is nice in terms of animations and feeling, but it is way too easy. While you are able to draw attention at you by an entire crusaders encampment you may get surrounded by 20 knights in a "circle of death", meaning you only fight one enemy at a time. Despite the honor of your enemies you will never get attacked when lying on the ground after you made a bad turn. You can use instant kill counterattacks efficiently after the first few fight leaving no challenge to such situations!
    +++
    As an assassin your job is to kill hits (people of influence, nobles, etc.) and nothing is more useful but having some clues on your hit before you strike. The game does not only offer clues, it forces you to collect them by playing repeating mini games. Even failing at those mini games is not a loss as you may retry as many times as you like -- so no pressure. After all clues you get are not only things you already know or you get to know -- at least while you try to find your "contacts" for the clues -- but they also have no impact on how you will strike! There usually is only one way in, no way to really prepare your strike and no way to strike silently. It always ends in a "honorable" fight (mentioned above) so you could rush right through if you didn't had to do those (now) pointless mini games....
    +++
    As mentioned before AI behavior only focuses on the player and gets really annoying as you -- the one in a robe wandering with the monks -- are literally attacked by beggars in a place crawling with nobles wearing silk more worth than half of the city.
    +++
    The story of Assassin's Creed has a nice idea inside. In good story telling characters called "shapeshifter" are the ones who betray you, fooling you to have worked for the wrong side after a long way, but still leaving you -- the player -- fooled as well when done well. Assassin's Creed tries that as well, leaving hints by each hit that you are fooled and if you have an IQ greater than a stone you will get it at least after the 3rd hit. This would not be the problem if there were not 6-7 more! From this point on I was not that motivated very much as I -- the character -- had to do things I -- the player -- didn't really want to do.
    +++
    I kept playing until the final punch in the face: You finally know what the master plan was behind everything in this game, but then suddenly be left alone in solitary, able to walk around, use "the machine" or literally find "the game's credits on a wall". The game has no satisfying ending, keeping you -- the player -- eager to continue right there. You may call it "cliffhanger" but it felt like someone ran off with the bag of money two month before the game was finished....
    +++
    CONCLUSION: The game is fun for one or two hours with so many ideas BUT looses depth quickly, like a teaser shooting all golden moments of a movie. As a "pilot" of a series it failed to get me....
    Expand
  20. CodyW.
    Apr 12, 2008
    4
    For a mouse and keyboard gamer this game is a piece of crap. The tutorial assumes you're using a gamepad and this is repeated throughout so you get brain-washed into assuming what the controls are with nothing to anchor the on screen instructions to your actual set-up. People criticize PC gaming but when ports go out of their way to fog the control scheme is it any wonder that we For a mouse and keyboard gamer this game is a piece of crap. The tutorial assumes you're using a gamepad and this is repeated throughout so you get brain-washed into assuming what the controls are with nothing to anchor the on screen instructions to your actual set-up. People criticize PC gaming but when ports go out of their way to fog the control scheme is it any wonder that we have bad things to say about game devs. Expand
  21. Aug 4, 2011
    6
    The story is good - EA did an awesome job doing historical research.
    However, the game play has the following pattern that does not change:
    Get Assignment, Kill soldiers, Assassinate Target. Next. Guess what - using a Knife!
    After third assignment - i uninstalled this game from my computer.
  22. IanK
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    good game overall, i played it on the xbox 360 at my friend's a couple times and it was GREAT! I absolutly loved it! Graphics were amazing, gameplay was semi-repetative but think thats possibly what an 12th century assassin had to do. deep story line very fun to play. The reason i played this the first time was to see if i could get any ideas for free running ie. parkour, and was good game overall, i played it on the xbox 360 at my friend's a couple times and it was GREAT! I absolutly loved it! Graphics were amazing, gameplay was semi-repetative but think thats possibly what an 12th century assassin had to do. deep story line very fun to play. The reason i played this the first time was to see if i could get any ideas for free running ie. parkour, and was shown so much more then i was hoping for, I was sucked into the story and couldnt walk away. GREAT GAME! Expand
  23. TimE.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    This game is awesome! It's very funny and the graphics are insane. The gameplay reminds me a bit of Dark Messiah of Might and Magic, all this interacting with the NPCs is very cool. The story is great, too.
  24. AlexR.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    This game is ridiculously fun all you do is run around and kill people it is repetitive because your an assassin and all your job to do is to kill people and THAT my friend is what makes this video game so awesome and addictive. Some people may get bored of this but it is one of the reasons I play video games. I LOVE IT!!!
  25. DustinG.
    Feb 27, 2008
    10
    Great story. Amazing graphics. Combat system might have one or two flaws but still overall awesome!
  26. MooMan
    Apr 14, 2008
    10
    It has some bugs but I think its fun other than you can dodge in a corner.
  27. BrianS.
    Apr 14, 2008
    10
    Fluid game play, awesome graphics, great story. Exciting, fun to play, a little repetitive....but worth playing.
  28. DavidD.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    I have had a blast and then some with this game. AMAZING!
  29. Nov 22, 2010
    3
    Yet another half-arsed attempt to milk the pc market on money. It's a port at its worst, a growing trend.

    Virtually everything about this game is bad. The only thing that stands out is the graphics, it certainly isn't crysis but not all that terrible. But everything else is, as said, terrible. The controls or inhumane, it's almost as if they randomly assigned key bindings. Now I said it's
    Yet another half-arsed attempt to milk the pc market on money. It's a port at its worst, a growing trend.

    Virtually everything about this game is bad. The only thing that stands out is the graphics, it certainly isn't crysis but not all that terrible.
    But everything else is, as said, terrible. The controls or inhumane, it's almost as if they randomly assigned key bindings.
    Now I said it's a bad port and it first shows when moving the camera, it's a standard console camera, not suitable for the PC-market since it get stuck, it's not really a idealistic viewpoint.
    The second proof that no work was put in porting this game whatsoever is the fact that you have to lock onto a target in order to fight it, it simply doesn't work and isn't needed on a computer.

    Even if the controls and the game handled like a regular PC game the story is meagre -- at best.
    It's a very cliché game, I won't go into details but I can think of several books and films that have already pulled that thing off. It's not interesting any more. For the younger and casual audience this isn't perhaps an issue at all, but for a gamer like me that view games like art it certainly isn't impressive.

    This game isn't worthwhile playing, regardless of the price, heck even if you got it for free!
    Expand
  30. Jan 16, 2013
    8
    While not nearly as refined as later titles, the original AC game stands on its own merits too. It features a compelling story, great atmosphere, and fresh gameplay mechanics. I found the parts where you must control Desmond to be rather tedious, but thankfully they are relatively short and do at least help to build up the story. The actual heart of the game, playing as Altair theWhile not nearly as refined as later titles, the original AC game stands on its own merits too. It features a compelling story, great atmosphere, and fresh gameplay mechanics. I found the parts where you must control Desmond to be rather tedious, but thankfully they are relatively short and do at least help to build up the story. The actual heart of the game, playing as Altair the assassin, is plenty of fun. The world is fairly large and mostly open, so you can explore, cause havoc, or do missions largely at your own pace. The cities are beautiful and each have their own look and feel, whether it's the holy city of Jerusalem, the crusader fortress of Acre, or the Muslim city of Damascus. Unfortunately the game provides you with limited weapons (you don't have the luxury of crossbows or smoke bombs as in later games), and most major assassination missions end up in huge sword-fights or long desperate chases. Still, there's nothing quite like hearing the chase music pumping as you leap around rooftops trying to escape a horde of pissed guards! Expand
  31. OakleyP
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    Best game I have ever played on the PC. If you like any kind of Assassin or stealth games, this is for you!
  32. KarlL.
    Apr 30, 2008
    6
    Far to easy and repetitive. Every mission follows the same formula. Hardly any real stealth elements. Stupid AI and boring sword fights once you figure out how the system works. Ugly "sci fi" effects constantly flash across your screen making sure you don't get too immersed in the medieval world. Camera is constantly being wrenched from your control, and long unskipable dialog A lot Far to easy and repetitive. Every mission follows the same formula. Hardly any real stealth elements. Stupid AI and boring sword fights once you figure out how the system works. Ugly "sci fi" effects constantly flash across your screen making sure you don't get too immersed in the medieval world. Camera is constantly being wrenched from your control, and long unskipable dialog A lot of Lame missions such as " Collect all the flags along the path before the time runs out" Not really the most exciting thing an assassin could do. It does look nice though, and being able to climb everything is great fun. This is the sort of game that I would load up once or twice a month when I'm really bored and put a half hour into. Expand
  33. joesphb.
    Aug 3, 2008
    10
    I had a fun time playing it the the graphics are the best . I like ho u can steal everyons pen thing and go on the computer. My overall sayin is vantastic
  34. BrianP
    Nov 21, 2008
    0
    Worst Game Ever. Okay first off, after playing Prince Of Persia The Two Thrones i was Pumped for this game Assassin's Creed. Why? Because the producers of the games are Same---Ubisoft. Prince Of Persia was an Epic Series and it is considered by many as the Best Action Adventure on the PC. So there, i bought the ORIGINAL DVD for Assassin's Creed Confident of the fact that it will Worst Game Ever. Okay first off, after playing Prince Of Persia The Two Thrones i was Pumped for this game Assassin's Creed. Why? Because the producers of the games are Same---Ubisoft. Prince Of Persia was an Epic Series and it is considered by many as the Best Action Adventure on the PC. So there, i bought the ORIGINAL DVD for Assassin's Creed Confident of the fact that it will be like Prince Of Persia and won't disappoint. Okay first off, the starting was very confusing and my friends near me Puked and ran away. But i wasn't gonna let this slip so easily. Being next-gen i knew Ubisoft were trying something different. After the first three assassinations i was FLAT. Yes i believed i had played the Best Game Ever. After the third however, things started to get a little repetitive and a lot till the 9th assassination. There are only three cities. Same Beggars and retards everywhere make the game so depressing. Also since this is the PC version the Side Missions are so Painfully Horrible. Two advantages you get playing this game is that it is Open World and it has the Best Graphics Ever by any Ubisoft Game. The ending for this game was pathetic and i was so disappointed that i felt like Tearing my Hair apart. I had wasted 50$s on this piece of SHIT. All in all, if you like Realism do play this game. But if you are a God Of War or a Prince Of Persia fan or a Fan of Fantasy games don't ever try this game. Prince Of Persia may be low in sales but it is a MUCH BETTER game than this Crappy Prince Of Persia Rip Off. If there is an Assassin's Creed 2, they better make it absolutely ZERO Repetitive and with no Side Quests then only i will rate it above or even in the league of Prince Of Persia or God Of War. Expand
  35. AngryRussian
    Apr 11, 2008
    7
    I based my rating on igns.. and thats what i value.. but the main point of my post is to say this:
    LUKE B!! GO TO HELL, I WISH U BURN IN HELL, you ae worthless.. u could have at least not put here.. I HATE YOU.. get cnacer .. DIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  36. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    Assassin's Creed İs Getting You Back To 1191 So İts A Rare Game.Map İs Very Big.Cities Are Very Big.Atmosphere is Good. Graphics are Very Good For 2008.And Assassinating Someone İs Enjoyable.You Can Climb Everywhere So İts Enjoyable Game.
  37. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    A revolucionary game. Intire cities developed at game, that was amazing. The problem: The game is so much repetitive. You have to do the same thing all the time.
  38. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    Personally I love the Assassins Creed series. The story is great and is full of excitement and depth. I prefer Assassins Creed over the other games in the series. This game has a very good story line to it and i recommend playing it if you like stealth and assassinating games then this is the game for you. The story has a big twist at the end of it which keeps you on you feet. The end ofPersonally I love the Assassins Creed series. The story is great and is full of excitement and depth. I prefer Assassins Creed over the other games in the series. This game has a very good story line to it and i recommend playing it if you like stealth and assassinating games then this is the game for you. The story has a big twist at the end of it which keeps you on you feet. The end of the game really shows you about the continuing story from Assassin's Creed & Assassin's Creed II via Desmond Miles. Although this is a great game i cannot deny that there are some problems in the gameplay. For example there are a few bugs that get annoying in the storyline, the fighting also has problems and the occasional glitch. But overall its a great game and i recommended it to those who love these types of games.

    This is AssassinReviews,
    Thanks for reading :D
    Expand
  39. Feb 24, 2014
    5
    The game looked very nice and the story was appealing. But the gameplay just wasn't for me. I think I just expected something else from the game. It seems smooth, made with a lot of care and perfectionism, but it just wasn't for me. I gave up after 5 or 6 hours.
  40. Jun 22, 2014
    8
    This game was one of the best games I have played in a long time. Ubisoft did well. The story is great but there are a few flaws. The game is repetitive. You basically have to get a certain same requirement for each chapter. For example, you needed three investigations and they were pretty much the same throughout the whole story. You also needed to do view points and save citizens whichThis game was one of the best games I have played in a long time. Ubisoft did well. The story is great but there are a few flaws. The game is repetitive. You basically have to get a certain same requirement for each chapter. For example, you needed three investigations and they were pretty much the same throughout the whole story. You also needed to do view points and save citizens which pretty much got boring. The game also does not explain well on who the characters and places are. The visuals for its time is astonishing. The game makes you feel and care about certain characters whether good or bad. I would give this game an 85/100. Expand
  41. NDrakesden
    Apr 12, 2009
    9
    I think this is a fantastic game, especially if you go into it keeping in mind the criticisms others have had, but also remembering the first time you heard or saw anything about the game in previews. The way you get around and interact with the world is ingenious. There are a limited number of things you can do in a very large world, but you do those things incredibly well--the way a I think this is a fantastic game, especially if you go into it keeping in mind the criticisms others have had, but also remembering the first time you heard or saw anything about the game in previews. The way you get around and interact with the world is ingenious. There are a limited number of things you can do in a very large world, but you do those things incredibly well--the way a master assassin would. The game itself is gorgeous; you just have to remind yourself to look around when you're jumping from the top spire of a gigantic cathedral, or jumping over the Dome of the Rock. Combat can get deadening if you let it; but if you try new strategies (like drawing opponents into side streets by throwing a dagger) you can keep it interesting for a long time. I'm starting my second round through (on a much more powerful computer than my first time) and am finding it very entertaining--even the story grows on you--just don't let yourself get tied down by the less interesting elements, such as the flag "achievements," and when something gets repetitive, find another way to do it. Expand
  42. Dool
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    Amazing graphics of course, it reminds me of the prince of persia series. especially the fact that unlike the Prince of Persia series, your free to run jump and face plant 6 stories down and the worst thing that will happen to you is you will get booted back to the future. the one thing i dont get is if your running around on your hores in the countryside the guards tweak and all think Amazing graphics of course, it reminds me of the prince of persia series. especially the fact that unlike the Prince of Persia series, your free to run jump and face plant 6 stories down and the worst thing that will happen to you is you will get booted back to the future. the one thing i dont get is if your running around on your hores in the countryside the guards tweak and all think your up to no good, but if you hold down a button that makes you walk slightly slower, all is well. But I really did like Assians Creed, even when it did shit all over itself but its something new and different. Expand
  43. KevinG.
    Jan 23, 2008
    8
    Awesome game, definitely worth buying. Good variety of missions, some of them get a little repetitive but it never plays out quite the same. Excellent fighting system, though the fist fighting could have used a bit more thought. I was extremely disappointed to find out that you can never use the crossbow shown in the opening video though. The story was a refreshing tale with plenty of Awesome game, definitely worth buying. Good variety of missions, some of them get a little repetitive but it never plays out quite the same. Excellent fighting system, though the fist fighting could have used a bit more thought. I was extremely disappointed to find out that you can never use the crossbow shown in the opening video though. The story was a refreshing tale with plenty of twists to keep you on your toes. Expand
  44. MikeK.
    Apr 13, 2008
    9
    A wonderful game that has a new twist on the classic "Stealth Action Game"... the ability to hide in plain site. A few technical glitches such as the rediculous menu system or the tedious Desmond Miles scenes hold this game back from being a classic. It seems that many professional critics have rated this game based on the quality of the port to PC rather than the game itself, which is A wonderful game that has a new twist on the classic "Stealth Action Game"... the ability to hide in plain site. A few technical glitches such as the rediculous menu system or the tedious Desmond Miles scenes hold this game back from being a classic. It seems that many professional critics have rated this game based on the quality of the port to PC rather than the game itself, which is both ridiculous and unfair. Which is ultimately holding the meta-score score down. Expand
  45. T
    May 29, 2008
    2
    Great graphics. Other than that... A control set, and control system, totally unsuited to PC gaming. Just awful. Imprecise, unpredictable, and frustrating. An average plot with even some semi original elements that, once you have seen it the first time, is unskipable on later re-plays. Unforgivable. Very restricted gameplay in the modern sections of the game. It totally breaks my Great graphics. Other than that... A control set, and control system, totally unsuited to PC gaming. Just awful. Imprecise, unpredictable, and frustrating. An average plot with even some semi original elements that, once you have seen it the first time, is unskipable on later re-plays. Unforgivable. Very restricted gameplay in the modern sections of the game. It totally breaks my suspension of disbelief that this guy just mutely goes along with everything. As a professed former assassin himself he doesn't grab the fire extinguisher off the wall and try to brain his captors with it before using their biometrics to escape... No, he just mutely does everything he is told to do like a sheep. Speaking of suspension of disbelief, as the game opens you have a character that is capable of amazing feats. Then he is demoted in his order, and suddenly can't do half of that stuff anymore. Cos that makes absolute sense. No. This whole thing screams "LAZY CONSOLE PORT" at the top of its lungs and is sadly representative of the disaster that is PC gaming these days. Expand
  46. GB.
    Jun 10, 2008
    3
    I have nothing bad to say about the graphics or the control system in this game. The graphics are brilliant, especially with DX10 supported card. It took a few minutes to get to grips with the controls, but once you've got the hang of it, it's fine. I enjoyed the game for the first couple of cities, but then it became very clear that there was little variety and that the I have nothing bad to say about the graphics or the control system in this game. The graphics are brilliant, especially with DX10 supported card. It took a few minutes to get to grips with the controls, but once you've got the hang of it, it's fine. I enjoyed the game for the first couple of cities, but then it became very clear that there was little variety and that the gameplay for each city was going to be the same: save a civilian, climb a few watch points, eaves drop, assassins challenge, go take on the main assassination target, escape. I finished the first 3 "memory blocks" and then uninstalled it. I just couldn't face wasting any more of my life playing it, and would quite like those few hours back please. If only game developers spent a bit more time on making a good game than trying to wow us with pretty graphics. Expand
  47. OrenI.
    Aug 3, 2008
    7
    The game is beautiful and entertaining for the first few hours of gameplay. But as time goes on and the combat system is mastered, the game is all too repetitive and nothing is really added to spice up the game. After the fifth hour of gameplay I started to avoid combat altogether until boss battles. It is not worth all the trouble to get to a boss battle though. A great combat system The game is beautiful and entertaining for the first few hours of gameplay. But as time goes on and the combat system is mastered, the game is all too repetitive and nothing is really added to spice up the game. After the fifth hour of gameplay I started to avoid combat altogether until boss battles. It is not worth all the trouble to get to a boss battle though. A great combat system that is 15X better than the usual hit, run/block, hit, but it isn't good enough to support an otherwise boring game. It is cool to climb up buildings, but doing so takes too long. Overall, you should try this game, but I think the 7 rating I gave was fair... Expand
  48. SyedS.
    Nov 27, 2009
    8
    The graphics are realistic and the gameplay is great, but the story is somewhat confusing, and the side missions are boring. The styles are great, especially leaps. You wouldn't find anything new to it rather than the side missions which turn out to be boring as well.
  49. AlanM
    Jun 5, 2009
    9
    Having not played this game on anything but the PC, I cannot speculate on any changes/imporvements made from the carry-over to the computer version. That being said, I easily gave this title a 9 out of 10, and only because most, if not all, missions are repetitive in nature. The essence of not only the main character but his surroundings are superb and at no time did I feel that things Having not played this game on anything but the PC, I cannot speculate on any changes/imporvements made from the carry-over to the computer version. That being said, I easily gave this title a 9 out of 10, and only because most, if not all, missions are repetitive in nature. The essence of not only the main character but his surroundings are superb and at no time did I feel that things within the context of the overall game were out of place. In fact, I became more interested in the real history of the area and time period because of this game. The end of the game only solidified my curiosity as to what Ubisoft will develop with the other two games of the trilogy and seeing as how Assassin's Creed 2 ships late 2009, I count the days and crave what comes next. Expand
  50. ChrisR
    Jul 17, 2009
    8
    Great game, it gets a little repetitive though...
  51. GusGus
    Jan 14, 2010
    6
    What an amazing game! So much fun to play and great graphics. What awful awful awful interface on PC. on Win 7- 64bit, I cant alt tab out of the game and it takes sometimes 7-8 trys to cntrl-alt-del out of the game! Why is it neccesary to leave the game this way? Because to just quit the game takes 5 minutes! first you have to quit the "animus" then leave the game, then goto the menu, What an amazing game! So much fun to play and great graphics. What awful awful awful interface on PC. on Win 7- 64bit, I cant alt tab out of the game and it takes sometimes 7-8 trys to cntrl-alt-del out of the game! Why is it neccesary to leave the game this way? Because to just quit the game takes 5 minutes! first you have to quit the "animus" then leave the game, then goto the menu, then quit the game???? Really? They couldnt just give you a "Quit to Windows" option? Also some glitchy stuff that I am not going to get into. Great game, great graphics, not made for the PC and/or just a lack of awareness be designers that truly takes away from the experience. Expand
  52. ChrisE.
    Feb 22, 2008
    8
    Hello, Assasians Creed is a brilliant puppetter game. It uses great skills. The Xbox version to me is easier to use, for the game controller but the PC Version is as good. The story is great and the tasks rule.
  53. MateoG.
    Mar 12, 2008
    10
    this game redefines what it means to be logical, unique and intense and wraps it all into a great game, Graphics (9) - beautiful life-like textures and details, the movements of all the characters seem to flow evenly throughout moving through the city, the physics combines movement with rag doll-like effects making the play experience almost realistic. though the faces of the players this game redefines what it means to be logical, unique and intense and wraps it all into a great game, Graphics (9) - beautiful life-like textures and details, the movements of all the characters seem to flow evenly throughout moving through the city, the physics combines movement with rag doll-like effects making the play experience almost realistic. though the faces of the players wernt top notch as in other games, the one thing that annoyed me the most was the post-prossesing of the game, or when the objects loaded. if you were riding a horse or running through ought the rooftops, it would be almost inevitable that you would see a object load up on screen. once is fine, but this game does it too much, otherwise, this is eye candy. AI (8) - Characters in this game ( if not disturbed ) are the closest thing to real as any game can get. but if you walk in front, not using any force or anything, it would almost be guaranteed that you would get a comment either about you being a "stranger" or you being "crazy". and when you kill assassinate, the same repetitive remarks of " who would have done this!" or " get the guards" gets a little annoying, buy it doesn't ruin the over-all game experience. Sound (10) - have you ever been in a shopping mall and herd the scuffing of the feet and the whispers of the people around you and the laughter somewhere far away? This game is just like that, showing SFX and music at its best in a game. almost everyone and everything makes a perfect life-like sound. Though the voices of the characters repeat once in a while, there is such a variety that you just don't notice. Story (9) - One of the most unique story lines in any game i have ever seen. to not spoil the fun, dreams is all I will tell you, the cut scenes may get annoying if you like the main game play, if you like getting deep into a story, this games for you. Overall (10) great graphics, great sounds, great characters, great story. Top notch game, I recommend it for everyone! Expand
  54. JoE.
    Mar 13, 2008
    9
    Great game, but very repetitive, but definitely worth playing.
  55. LUkeB.
    Mar 4, 2008
    8
    Assins Creed is a great game, unique in a certian way that is hard to pin point, the movement is smooth, no hard steps back as you have in some 3rd person games, and the choice of fighting and stealthing make this game unimaginably entertaining but perhaps maybe just a little to hard to grasp to start with. And in fact i only gave it an 8 due to (sorry for the spoiler for anyone who does Assins Creed is a great game, unique in a certian way that is hard to pin point, the movement is smooth, no hard steps back as you have in some 3rd person games, and the choice of fighting and stealthing make this game unimaginably entertaining but perhaps maybe just a little to hard to grasp to start with. And in fact i only gave it an 8 due to (sorry for the spoiler for anyone who does not know) THIS GUY IS JUST IN A LAB! IN THE FUTURE! (from the time we play in) really brings down any story or drama in the end. Expand
  56. NoahE.
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    I give it a 10 because I feel that this games depth and volume more than make up for the minor rough patches. However you will want to get a controller to play it. It allows for smoother gameplay and better control of the character. It isn't perfect, first off your going to need an up to date PC to run the thing and the loud in game sounds can become distorted(although that might be I give it a 10 because I feel that this games depth and volume more than make up for the minor rough patches. However you will want to get a controller to play it. It allows for smoother gameplay and better control of the character. It isn't perfect, first off your going to need an up to date PC to run the thing and the loud in game sounds can become distorted(although that might be due to my headphones rather than the game itself). Over all the game is deep realistic with a large and detailed world populated with individual people rather than a few generic character types. Altier moves like a flowing river, his every move looks realistic while still allowing you to direct him any way you wish. You feel that you are controlling a real person whose every move is the same as it would if you were there in person. If you already have the Xbox version then your not missing out on anything but if your PC is riding solo then this game is worth a look. If you happen to buy a copy then make sure to take your time playing it. If you try to play it to quickly then it will seem repetitive. Take your time and enjoy it for what it really is, a very well designed game(except for the unskipable cut scenes). Expand
  57. RobertB.
    Apr 18, 2008
    10
    Best conspiracy game since Deus Ex!! Can't wait for more.
  58. JeroenD.
    Apr 23, 2008
    9
    Immersive, a unique experience in gaming, very fun to jump around the rooftops and drive a hidden blade into an unsuspecting archer's neck, watch his corpse fall down to a plaza and hear the cries of horror of the people below. It's a very fun concept, and very well executed for a first attempt. There is lots to improve on, though, but it's a very promising concept. Not to Immersive, a unique experience in gaming, very fun to jump around the rooftops and drive a hidden blade into an unsuspecting archer's neck, watch his corpse fall down to a plaza and hear the cries of horror of the people below. It's a very fun concept, and very well executed for a first attempt. There is lots to improve on, though, but it's a very promising concept. Not to mention an awesome story, in my opinion! Expand
  59. [anonymous]
    Apr 25, 2008
    7
    Disappointing ending and too much repetition.
  60. Flesh
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    Very fun game! I needed a break from fps online games, I liked it a lot, only a 9 cause I wish the surrounding we more interactive.
  61. PlamenN.
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    Unique gameplay - easy and exciting! Perfect graphics, interesting storyline.
  62. InsanelySane
    Apr 9, 2008
    5
    Yawn. A laggy experience that also plays very slow and feels empty despite the variety of the 'sandbox' open world intention. Interface is irritating because its trying to dress up everything to look nice but it ends up feeling rather cheap and slow. The story would have been ok if not for some typical and frustrating spelling-out of all details to get the plot conveyed to 6 Yawn. A laggy experience that also plays very slow and feels empty despite the variety of the 'sandbox' open world intention. Interface is irritating because its trying to dress up everything to look nice but it ends up feeling rather cheap and slow. The story would have been ok if not for some typical and frustrating spelling-out of all details to get the plot conveyed to 6 year olds. Honestly, there is something wrong with games that don't allow you the option to skip dialogue sections, making you sit through painful dialogue at stiff pace. I dont want a cinematic experience - I want to enjoy a good game. This game is trying to be all story and production values at it hasn't got the basics right as a consequence. Graphics and sound are where it gets some points only because they are up to standard as expected. Models also look nice and relevant. Games like this time and time again fail to entertain and become a chore because of sluggish interface and control. If you've seen this sort of review before, you know what to expect. If you want to play this so bad because its hyped then expect to be underwhelmed. Expand
  63. FranM
    May 17, 2008
    10
    I can say that the gameplay is repetative, but its been too long that a game has had this great a story. Not ever have I seen such a wonderful collaboration between past present and future foreshadowing in the gaming history. The sequel will be all the sweeter.
  64. BenK.
    Jun 23, 2008
    4
    Well I just bought the game and i had all the requirements but the game still looks like shit....its slow and laggy. Id rather play it on the Xbox 360 any day. Well there goes $50 :/ -Ben Komito
  65. SteffenS.
    Jun 24, 2008
    7
    It´s always the same... in the beginning it is great but then it returns ever and ever... climb up somewehere, look arround, help some people, steal something, hear something, kill your target, same in next city.
  66. JimmyB.
    Jun 6, 2008
    7
    This game is absolutely magical the first play through. It only took me 10 hours or so, and I loved it. However, there is practically no replay value. Upon starting a new level after beating the game, you have to sit through the dialogue between Altair and his master for up to 6 or 7 minutes, it's unskippable. You can't "free play" and jump straight into a city from the This game is absolutely magical the first play through. It only took me 10 hours or so, and I loved it. However, there is practically no replay value. Upon starting a new level after beating the game, you have to sit through the dialogue between Altair and his master for up to 6 or 7 minutes, it's unskippable. You can't "free play" and jump straight into a city from the beginning of the level, you must go from the palace, through Masayaf, get on your horse and ride to the gate to even get to a city. This is around 11 or 12 minutes before you even get to gameplay again!! I suppose this is ok the first round through because you haven't seen the cutscene yet, but after you've seen it once there should be an option to skip it and it's very stupid that there isn't one. The 10 minutes it takes to get to a city to play is a drop of 1 or 2 points by itself. It is very repetitive after you play it once through. The graphics are amazing on any system, and the crowd mechanics are cool. It's very immersive, especially the free running system. You can climb pretty much everything. However, the combat is much too easy and again, really repetitive. It's pretty much a timing game: a crowd of attackers attack one at a time (stupid) and you must guard and counterattack exactly when the guard hits. It's not very fun and doesn't make a lot of sense. Wouldn't the guards want to swarm and attack you rather than lining up for a go one by one? Wrapping up, this game is probably one of the most fun rentals you could ever get. You'll beat it in a few days and have a blast. Just do yourself a favor and don't buy it. It's great the first time through and monotonous any other time. Expand
  67. M.E.H
    Jul 18, 2008
    7
    The game Has very impressive graficks and and everything is nicely done and in the beggining the game is very addictive but later on you get bored bechuse the game is to repetetiv you keep doing the same thing over and over again and it has no replay value.
  68. Bryon
    Jul 19, 2008
    9
    A word about the controls for PC... If you have a 5-button mouse, it makes controlling this game a LOT easier and more fun. I have played it on 360 and was wondering how it would be to play it on PC. Thankfully, you can use a 5-button mouse with this game, and it is so much better than with a 360 controller! This game has amazing graphics. It looks awesome on my monitor. Much better than A word about the controls for PC... If you have a 5-button mouse, it makes controlling this game a LOT easier and more fun. I have played it on 360 and was wondering how it would be to play it on PC. Thankfully, you can use a 5-button mouse with this game, and it is so much better than with a 360 controller! This game has amazing graphics. It looks awesome on my monitor. Much better than on my standard def TV. I can't wait for Assassin's Creed 2! Expand
  69. JungleN.
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    Rarely do I rate graphics above gameplay but they are simply mindblowing in this game. Stunningly rendered detail that makes up for any lack of gaming depth and to those who said the control was a bit too simplistic - it might be but there's no way they could have rendered such classy moves without making it impossible to learn. Maybe a bit 'samey' but I can't get enough.
  70. TL
    Feb 13, 2009
    6
    The game has huge potencial. The areas are beautifully designet and you have a lot of freedom while moving in the cities. Also the graphics are great. But the game has one big flaw. After you have seen the first 2 cities and assassined your target there, the rest of the areals will be nearly the same. The quests will repeat itself and aren't very innovative. That takes a lot of fun The game has huge potencial. The areas are beautifully designet and you have a lot of freedom while moving in the cities. Also the graphics are great. But the game has one big flaw. After you have seen the first 2 cities and assassined your target there, the rest of the areals will be nearly the same. The quests will repeat itself and aren't very innovative. That takes a lot of fun out of the game and makes it sometimes boring. Also the character developement regarding abilities and equipment isn't really strong. You 3 (dagger works like sword so it isn't a extra weapon) weapons + fist fight. You have 2 of the weapons from the very beginning and the throwing daggers where pretty much useless to me. the game has flaws but overall is fun. Expand
  71. ZioR
    Mar 25, 2009
    2
    This game is seriously lacking in gameplay and design, which good graphics just can't make up for. Gameplay is annoying, lacking in depth, confusing, and has the appearance of a game that poured all resources into sells and graphics rather then make it actually entertaining for the customer. Ubisoft really let me down on this one, I expected much better.
  72. YuukiA
    Apr 26, 2009
    8
    After not expecting much I thoroughly enjoyed the game more then I thought I would. The sandbox feel of the game is great, allowing great freedom not seen in many 3rd person games, the quests although repeating themselves didnt ruin the experience for me as you have so much freedom to wonder the beautifully rendered areas and choose how to go about a mission. In saying that, this game has After not expecting much I thoroughly enjoyed the game more then I thought I would. The sandbox feel of the game is great, allowing great freedom not seen in many 3rd person games, the quests although repeating themselves didnt ruin the experience for me as you have so much freedom to wonder the beautifully rendered areas and choose how to go about a mission. In saying that, this game has tremendous potential to be one of the best, with an intriguing story and visually stunning base, here's waiting for Assassins creed 2! Expand
  73. JohnC
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Love the game. Kind of reminds me a little of the prince of persia trilogy mixed with a good sand box game like GTA. Great graphics, weird but entertaining story, fun gameplay, cool acrobatics, and plenty of fun objectives all in a pretty large open world.
  74. JuanC
    Jun 17, 2009
    9
    Getting in and out menu is exasperating. Seems the menu was a copycat from console game. Fantastic graphics. Sword battles reminds me the Fugitive Samurai.
  75. Ralph
    Jun 22, 2009
    10
    It's one of the best games I have ever played in my life. Amazing graphics, amazing story, amazing gameplay. I loved it, and I hope you will love it too.
  76. PabloS.
    Jun 5, 2009
    9
    Although after a long time becomes a bit tedious, is a very entertaining game and a very pleasant environment.
  77. JamesM
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    I loved this game! It's my favorite computer game of all time, I think.Sneaking up on people, quietly stabbing them, and then calmly walking away...lol It's just an all around fun game, good story (so far), fun game play, though the controls still give me a hard time, sometimes. All around... Amazing! 10!:)
  78. CH
    Jul 27, 2009
    7
    To be fair, there are some glitches and exploits here and there. One of them is the sound, and it took me like 2 days to fix it (there's a ultra short tutorial on it for XP, but now vista which im currently using). Another glitch (or bug rather) occurred when i was fighting the 9th boss (the one at the end of a passage). I somehow managed to kill the biss in the "Memory Error" zone To be fair, there are some glitches and exploits here and there. One of them is the sound, and it took me like 2 days to fix it (there's a ultra short tutorial on it for XP, but now vista which im currently using). Another glitch (or bug rather) occurred when i was fighting the 9th boss (the one at the end of a passage). I somehow managed to kill the biss in the "Memory Error" zone after 10 minutes of nintendo tumbs and tada, I'm dead cause he was beaten inside that zone. Well, apart from these 2 experiences, it's generally is fun. Expand
  79. JohnS
    Dec 19, 2008
    5
    Play it up to the first three assassinations, then throw it away. It doesn't ever get more interesting after that, and by then it's pretty much played out. The rest of the game begins rapidly descending into the absurd and the gameplay becomes increasingly stupid and frustrating. Good idea for a game, but done badly. There's no more than a demo's worth of content in Play it up to the first three assassinations, then throw it away. It doesn't ever get more interesting after that, and by then it's pretty much played out. The rest of the game begins rapidly descending into the absurd and the gameplay becomes increasingly stupid and frustrating. Good idea for a game, but done badly. There's no more than a demo's worth of content in this game. 98% of the game is doing the same things over and over again in precisely the same way. It all could have been removed, as it is more or less an active waste of time. Expand
  80. TahaALN.
    Feb 27, 2008
    8
    The game itself takes you to another dimensional thinking level. The story-line is fascinating and the graphics and audio are extremely well done. The problem with this game is the fighting styles. It seems to be the same over and over. Although many critics say you must try not to confront your enemies directly, because it's about acting stealthy, but still, you have to have The game itself takes you to another dimensional thinking level. The story-line is fascinating and the graphics and audio are extremely well done. The problem with this game is the fighting styles. It seems to be the same over and over. Although many critics say you must try not to confront your enemies directly, because it's about acting stealthy, but still, you have to have different unique fighting styles. Expand
  81. ZO
    Apr 12, 2008
    6
    If you've played the Thief or the Hitman series, don't bother since you've seen far better already. If you haven't played either series you'll probably enjoy it since you don't know what you've missed. Overall pretty mediocre and it gets tedious very quickly, but the graphics are good I guess.
  82. MarcB.
    Apr 12, 2008
    6
    First off, this game is beautiful. The devs really did a phenomenal job of brining the crusades period middle east to life. The architecture and scenery is spectacular, and walking around in it (or on horseback) you really get the feeling the place is living and breathing. Unfortuanately, that's where the fun ends. The gameplay is about as repetitive as a night with diarrhea. The First off, this game is beautiful. The devs really did a phenomenal job of brining the crusades period middle east to life. The architecture and scenery is spectacular, and walking around in it (or on horseback) you really get the feeling the place is living and breathing. Unfortuanately, that's where the fun ends. The gameplay is about as repetitive as a night with diarrhea. The cities you get to explore are divided up into rich/poor/middle districts, each opening up after a new level is completed. Within each one you are tasked with several side quests, which really don't further the story along any. The annoying part is, is that the quests are all the same in each district with a few minor differences. Boring. The developers could have created an epic game here, with some real immersement, but chose to go the easy route and dumb it down, I assume for the console crowd that it was originally marketed to. The story arc, which diverges into two paths, could have been neatly tied together by using interactive elements a la Elder Scrolls, to add some more realism - this could have been an excellent rpg, in addition to what it already is. Unfortunately now it's just another mediocre game admist many others. So sad. Game developers need to realize that to make something great, they need to reach new levels of inspired thinking and creativity. PC gamers have just about seen everything and done it all. Lame console ports just don't cut through the cheese. Definitely play this game, its mindless fun, but don't expect any replay value or excitement after the first few levels start becoming a repeatfest. Expand
  83. Tactics1
    Apr 13, 2008
    9
    All i have to say is wow. I dont have any of the new consoles, so this was a first experience for me. I got a gamepad though, and everything from the overall experience, controls, graphics, fun factor, and originality definitely make this game worth its cost. However, I must say, that the storyline is quite awkward. If an epic plot is important to you, you will be let down.
  84. TimC.
    Apr 18, 2008
    5
    Graphics are good, not awesome. but good. And the story is average and forgettable. The gameplay is absolutely repetitive and the sound is horrid. Overall this game I wouldn't rate high, as it seems it was rushed to get done. Not to well thought out. but better then a lot of games I suppose. Thats not saying much.
  85. LisaF.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    More bang for the buck. If you waited to play this gem you really should pick up the director's cut right now. It's got more missions and costs less than the console versions of the game, a nice gift to us PC users who had to wait longer to see the game released.
  86. HarryC.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Feared, respected, deadly. This game makes me feel dangerous. Playing the main character is so immersing in this one that you will thrill to stalking your victims, feel the terror of being hotly pursued or just feel plain MEAN when fighting your way out of a sticky situation. I love this game, I can't wait until part 2 of this trilogy come out.
  87. NateJ.
    May 31, 2008
    10
    A wonderful and beautiful game. The graphics, the story, and the combat are top notch. I know some find the side missions repetitive, but I found out that I don't mind them at all. A must play indeed.
  88. AlexR.
    Oct 24, 2009
    9
    This game is ridiculously fun all you do is run around and kill people it is repetitive because your an assassin and all your job to do is to kill people and THAT my friend is what makes this video game so awesome and addictive. Some people may get bored of this but it is one of the reasons I play video games. I LOVE IT!!!
  89. Nathan
    Apr 11, 2009
    8
    this blew my mind when I first saw the detail and graphics, quests are fun, though a bit repetitive, and I love just beating the shit out of the solders in super HD style.
    The only cons I have BOUT THIS game is that when you stab someone it doesn't look very realistic, but that's a tiny con compared to this games massive quantity of pros.
  90. PhillipB
    Jul 28, 2009
    7
    Not the best, not the worst, i give it a 7/10 because some of the gameplay is repeating and the story is a bit confusing, but the its still a very entertaining game to play.
  91. Aug 12, 2010
    6
    This game is mediocore at most. The combat system is repetitive, and the assassinations are surprisingly linear. All that is fun to do is basically the free-running, and even that gets boring at sometime. I like the concept, but it is just too repetitive to be a good game.
  92. Sep 4, 2010
    8
    Great game, the storyline slowly unfolds and the main character pulls off some amazing moves in a visually stunning backdrop. Does tend to become a bit repetitive after a while though.
  93. Oct 14, 2010
    5
    I bought this for PC because it was on sale on Steam for $5. You should only plan to buy this for PC if you have a computer capable of taking advantage of the graphics vs a console and if you have a controller (the game instantly recognized my Logitech Rumblepad 2). The PC controls are beyond awful. Controls aside, this game had some good ideas for assassination but could have beenI bought this for PC because it was on sale on Steam for $5. You should only plan to buy this for PC if you have a computer capable of taking advantage of the graphics vs a console and if you have a controller (the game instantly recognized my Logitech Rumblepad 2). The PC controls are beyond awful. Controls aside, this game had some good ideas for assassination but could have been executed much better. Every aspect in the game is repetitive. All three cities you explore look exactly the same. The AI citizens same the exact same things, perhaps in a different accent. The missions you do are indistinguishable from the other. Saving citizens, finding flags, chasing people down, everything you do in the game is pretty much restricted to those few actions. This wouldn't be so much of a problem if the story was good, but it's not. While getting to the end was intense, the long middle was just hunting down an evil person, killing them and viewing their cinematics, then repeat. You meet no indistinguishable characters and everything gets REALLY boring, REALLY fast. I can only think of one reason to recommend anyone to play Assassin's Creed, and that is to play Assassin's Creed II. While it's not mandatory to play it to understand AC2's backstory, it's nice to be less confused in the game. And believe me, AC2 fixes EVERYTHING from the first game, and adds so much more. Assassin's Creed II alone, makes the first game worth playing. Expand
  94. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Those guys who gaves scores below 5 they didn't even finished the game.. The reason? they say ots bad ported, bugs, lag...
    Well hello, if you want to play a mans game, then buy a dam **** mans PC...
    Assassins creed was th best game ever released, thank GOD somebody had the idea releasing such a beautiful game, thnak you.. The game is PERFECT. There are some repetitive missions but killing people is repetitive too isn't?? Every game has to be repetitive with something.. I enjoyed the game and i bought Assassins Creed 2 6 month later and now i bought assassins Creed Brotherhood and i already completed it... Dam, thats what i call a Game!!! Assassins Creed for Ever!!!
    Expand
  95. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    OK, I usually don't like games that are set in middle ages, but this was a surprise. The graphics are awesome but my computer could handle this only on the lowest settings and that's the reason why I don't try Assassin's Creed 2 and Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood. Even the lowest settings are great! The story is about a dude. In 2012 he has been held in captivity by a mad scientist. He putsOK, I usually don't like games that are set in middle ages, but this was a surprise. The graphics are awesome but my computer could handle this only on the lowest settings and that's the reason why I don't try Assassin's Creed 2 and Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood. Even the lowest settings are great! The story is about a dude. In 2012 he has been held in captivity by a mad scientist. He puts the dude in sort of a time machine (or what the hell it is) called Animus. You actually control the dude. The environment is massive and you can go wherever you want. You will be in Middle East and there is a village, a big kingdom, and three cities - Jerusalem, Damascus and Acre. There are there three areas in each city - rich class people area, medium class people area and poor class people area. All those things are nice but sadly, that you do the same thing over and over again. There are some bugs too. Two or three times I fell out of the graphics. The good thing is that you can climb walls, jump from roof to roof etc. The controls are a bit confusing but you will get used to them.

    Graphics: They are awesome 10/10
    Sound: I usually play and don't listen to sounds
    Gameplay: 7/10 because of the repetitive gameplay
    Story: Great but confusing 8/10
    Collapse
  96. Jul 23, 2011
    8
    Assassin's Creed is fun and challenging. It puts the player in a setting in the 12th century, during king Richard the Lionheart's crusades. The player takes on a role of an assassin Altair, who is part of a secret group of assassins. The game offers a free roaming gameplay and takes place in 4 cities, as well as a countryside in between those. The graphics are very rich, with stunningAssassin's Creed is fun and challenging. It puts the player in a setting in the 12th century, during king Richard the Lionheart's crusades. The player takes on a role of an assassin Altair, who is part of a secret group of assassins. The game offers a free roaming gameplay and takes place in 4 cities, as well as a countryside in between those. The graphics are very rich, with stunning environments, the locations are well designed, and the quests are pretty fun, even though somewhat repetitive after a while. My favourite thing about Assassin's Creed is its fantastic combat mechanic. I can fight guards day in day out and not get bored of it, because there are a number of moves you can perform in combat, with the most addictive one being counter attacks, which can instantly kill an attacking enemy if timed well. And if you aren't up for a fight, you can play a cat and mouse game with the guards, run through the city streets, dodging civilians, jumping through merchant stands and eventually disappearing in a good hiding place. There are only 5-6 different types of quests which you have to do in every city and every city district, but they do get more challenging as you progress through the game. At the end of each set of sidequests you have to assassinate a certain corrupt leader, and even though that's a repetitive structure to a game, you still face a different challenge with each leader (for example one you might need to chase, another one to face in battle, third one to stealthly kill, etc). The storyline maybe isn't anything special, but it's not exactly bad either. It's predictable to a degree, but it's not stale. Repetition might be one issue in the game, but I don't mind it so much, so long as the game is fun. However there are a couple of issues I wasn't too fond of. First one was that it took a while to get used to the controls. The fact there are separate buttons for each limb and a button for a high profile stance can get confusing in the beginning. Another problem that brought the game down a bit was that whenever you entered an area where a cinematic had to occur, you would suddenly not be able to do anything apart from walking until the cinematic triggers. This means that if you tried to enter through a roof, you basically wouldn't be able to jump down and would be stuck on a ledge. Other than those few issues the game is good. Expand
  97. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    I just want to start off by saying that I actually do enjoy this game, even if it might come across overly critical. I bought it a week or so ago, and have had about 10 hours play time with it now, won't be long either, till it is completed, at least with regards to the main story line.

    The graphics, for 2008 are very good, but, ofcourse, compared to todays standards they're not really
    I just want to start off by saying that I actually do enjoy this game, even if it might come across overly critical. I bought it a week or so ago, and have had about 10 hours play time with it now, won't be long either, till it is completed, at least with regards to the main story line.

    The graphics, for 2008 are very good, but, ofcourse, compared to todays standards they're not really that great, at all. Especially the character models and animations can sometimes have me cringing in my shoes, but I'll survive. The scenery, and the "finish", the aesthetics, are wonderful, though. I like the "dirty" look/feel to the game graphically, and it conveys a proper sense of atmosphere to the time period. Textures could be bumped up, alot, though.

    Sound and VA works fine, but the lip synch is nothing special, at all. This generation has featured, even older games, with better synching than this. All in all though, it works, but its not getting a 10/10 based on sound, VA and synching though.

    Gameplay wise it is pretty repetitive, listen to this guy, do this guy's challenge, pickpocket that guy, beat up the third guy and boom you are set to assassinate someone who will give you another piece to the storyline. So far, for me, the story line does seem quite intriguing, which is, as far as I see it (in this day and age) the one reason to play this game now. Especially seeing as Assassin's Creed II, Brotherhood and Revelations and the future Assassin's Creed III builds onto this storyline.

    Combat is a bit odd if I have to be honest. Yes you can hit someone with the sword, or stab someone with your hidden knife. If you are discovered, well, hold down right mouse button and stare at the screen until an enemy attacks you, then press left mouse button, and said enemy will either die or be out of combat for a while. You will be pretty much unkillable with right mouse button held, and left mouse button will kill people for you. It is rather simplistic, and would have worked fine, with a few more kill animations. There are quite a few, but you see them soooo often that they get tedious in the end. The first few times are very awesome though.

    Camera angling and control is horrible, it sometimes just does whatever the hell it wants to do and your sat wondering "wtf?" that is pretty much all there is to say to it.

    By 2008 standards it might have been an 8 or 9/10, by todays standards it would barely scrape a 7, but then again, for the money it costs these days, there are quite alot of fun to be had, and the story is pretty good. So 7/10 from me.
    Expand
  98. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played, and much better then the second.This game is full of action, semi liinear (You may need to do the storyline to unlick certain things, which is pretty common, such as areas and items) VERY underated, should be at least an 8.6 or higher.The repetetive part of the game is veiw points when you first enter the city.Many beleive the investigationsOne of the best games I have ever played, and much better then the second.This game is full of action, semi liinear (You may need to do the storyline to unlick certain things, which is pretty common, such as areas and items) VERY underated, should be at least an 8.6 or higher.The repetetive part of the game is veiw points when you first enter the city.Many beleive the investigations repetetive, but this is fixed with the director's cut.A must have. Expand
  99. Jul 31, 2011
    6
    i`liked playing the game but before it ends it got a bit boring, because the missions are often the same und you must travel long distances without happening much...

    ++ graphics
    + atmosphere
    + controls
    ~ story
    - - Missions
    - - menu controls
  100. Oct 14, 2013
    8
    While not as good as the sequels that followed, the original game set the bar high, in fact it's a testament to the others that they managed to beat it. The open world stealth and assassination gameplay template that many games followed was exemplified here.
  101. Jun 10, 2011
    0
    OK, I usually don't like games that are set in middle ages, but this was a surprise. The graphics are awesome but my computer could handle this only on the lowest settings and that's the reason why I don't try Assassin's Creed 2 and Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood. Even the lowest settings are great! The story is about a dude. In 2012 he has been held in captivity by a mad scientist. He putsOK, I usually don't like games that are set in middle ages, but this was a surprise. The graphics are awesome but my computer could handle this only on the lowest settings and that's the reason why I don't try Assassin's Creed 2 and Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood. Even the lowest settings are great! The story is about a dude. In 2012 he has been held in captivity by a mad scientist. He puts the dude in sort of a time machine (or what the hell it is) called Animus. You actually control the dude. The environment is massive and you can go wherever you want. You will be in Middle East and there is a village, a big kingdom, and three cities - Jerusalem, Damascus and Acre. There are there three areas in each city - rich class people area, medium class people area and poor class people area. All those things are nice but sadly, that you do the same thing over and over again. There are some bugs too. Two or three times I fell out of the graphics. The good thing is that you can climb walls, jump from roof to roof etc. The controls are a bit confusing but you will get used to them.

    Graphics: They are awesome 10/10
    Sound: I usually play and don't listen to sounds
    Gameplay: 7/10 because of the repetitive gameplay
    Story: Great but confusing 8/10
    Collapse
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Playing as gaming's most agile character is joyous, which outweighs the lengthy cutscenes and disappointing final hour. [Apr 2008, p.38]
  2. Assassin’s Creed for the PC is a pretty compelling action game that benefits from huge environments and an interesting story. While the main campaign can get a bit repetitive, the new Director’s Cut features add some nice variety.
  3. 78
    What you're left with is a repetitive side-quest requirement for completing each primary mission, though the issue is alleviated somewhat with the PC version's additional content.