Assassin's Creed II PC

Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
Buy On
  1. Assassin’s Creed II is a gem, a truly masterpiece also on PC. Developing a new economic system, and bringing more attention to combats, notoriety and context-script, Ubisoft achieves an awesome and epic experience. This sequel is far better than the first one.
  2. Massive adventure with plenty of action, addressing every flaw of the first game in some way while adding tons of new gameplay features. Story, characters, combat... the mix is just perfect and the PC conversion is almost flawless.
  3. Despite the foolish DRM and six months after the consoles release, Assassin's Creed 2 is still an incredible adventure with a deep and rich world, an engaging story and loads of contents.
  4. 90
    Assassin's Creed 2 maintains the character of the first game, but gets rid of the repetitiveness and brings along a more atmospheric storyline. It fascinates from the start; the smooth gameplay and fun free running are enjoyable and liberating. Missions are based on the foundations of the first game, but are given more variety and that’s a big positive.
  5. PC Format
    90
    A worthy sequel with all the parkour fun and swashbuckling joy of the original, and a bunch more game for your money. [Apr 2010, p.88]
  6. PC Zone UK
    90
    Immense amounts to do. [May 2010, p.74]
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    90
    Assassin’s Creed II on PC is the same thing that it was last year on consoles – truly one of the best games you can play these days. Excellent lessons in history (and of killing people). [Issue#189]
  8. Total PC Gaming
    90
    A prime example of the genre that is even better on PC and well worth waiting for. [Issue#31, p.48]
  9. Pelit (Finland)
    90
    DRM aside, quite possibly one of the years best PC games. [Apr 2010]
  10. A very good port of a brilliant game with improved graphics and smooth gameplay . Unfortunately you have to stay connected to the internet due to Ubisoft’s anti-piracy protection.
  11. 89
    The experience is layered, unique, and shows an incredible attention to detail. This is one case where the sequel has triumphed over the original by catching the gameplay up to the already excellent visuals.
  12. That’s how a sequel should be done. There’s a better story and a much more charming hero. Even the few flaws of the game can’t hurt the great overall impression.
  13. Assassin’s Creed 2 is one of those rare sequels which managed to correct a large part of the gameplay flaws from its predecessor, but which, ironically, is brought down by the technological aspects.
  14. PC Gamer UK
    86
    Tactile, bloody and substantial. One of gaming's most exciting open worlds - but only when you're online. [Apr 2010, p.96]
  15. The game is highly enjoyable, but the DRM system and few minor issues in the control scheme sets the PC version under the console one.
  16. Assassin's Creed II is a great romp through the past and a present that lingers on the precipice of becoming bleak and controlled.
  17. Assassin's Creed 2 surpasses its previous entry solving both technical and gameplay-wise issues.
  18. The PC version of last year's beautiful action adventure is lots of fun, but you'll have to overcome its online-only copy protection and high price point.
  19. Two years later, Assassin's Creed tries again to make real those promises from Ubisoft, and prove itself as a better game than it was. The truth is that, despite the Renaissance setting, the vivid locations and the historical landmarks, the new features added don't really improve the sequel: the same repetitive mechanics remain, as the flawed enemy AI, a rough combat system and moments of frustration coming from issues with the camera and the control response in the platform sections. Assassin's Creed II it's still a good game but far from the masterpiece Ubisoft has been promising.
  20. The PC version of Assassin's Creed 2 enhances the already awesome elements of the console editions, and includes all the DLCs. On the other hand there are too many problems with the Ubisoft DRM system. You can play the game only if connected to internet, but the unstable quality of the Ubisoft service could be a huge problem to solve.
  21. The PC-version of Assassin’s Creed II is a copy of the console-version, with two new levels, decent keyboard- and mouse-control and a hideous DRM-security which will be a huge turn-off for many gamers. Other than that Assassin’s Creed II is still a great game that improves on the original.
  22. PC PowerPlay
    50
    A combination of DRM and instability ruins what should be an excellent game. Pick this up on console. [Apr 2010, p.58]
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1647 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 149
  2. Negative: 23 out of 149
  1. DisappointedCustomer
    Apr 27, 2010
    2
    10 points for a stunning, immersive game. -8 points for the horrifically invasive DRM that boots me out randomly every couple of hours. 10 points for a stunning, immersive game. -8 points for the horrifically invasive DRM that boots me out randomly every couple of hours. Finally sick of this BS, I have now uninstalled the legit version of the game and am playing the cracked version. Congratulations, Ubisoft, you've made me into a pirate. Yarrr. Full Review »
  2. Matt
    Jun 13, 2010
    10
    I am rating this purely on the game itself, not the Ubisoft DRM (which i didn't need to worry about because i cracked the game[shhh tell I am rating this purely on the game itself, not the Ubisoft DRM (which i didn't need to worry about because i cracked the game[shhh tell no one!]). The graphics, beautiful. The Free running, excellent, some tweaks made to improve it, and endless fun to be had. The story, FANTASTIC, and WAY better than Assassins creed 1. There is more to do, and a wider, more diverse range of directions to go, so it is not the same things over and over again. And the events that are taking place interest you and draw you in. The Combat system remains largely unchanged, but larger scale of enemy difficulties makes for some more challenging and often more enjoyable fights. And I love the cash aspect of this game. Instead of just having a sword and a dagger, the ability to buy and upgrade weapons, to save for the next one, is great! Plus the ability to upgrade the Villa (Sort of home town) in order to gain more revenue is good as. So, based purely on playing the game itself, i give it a 10. I give Ubisoft a 0 for trying their hardest to lose as many customers as they can, but admittedly they've put out a damn good game. I will add that this is an obvious console port, with the menu better controllable with keys, as well as the game telling you to press the "hand" key rather than the shift key (the HUD has an Xbox button style diamond like in Assassins Creed 1, with images corresponding to each button on an Xbox controller). Once you get past this, and the keys become muscle memory, you will have no more issues with it. I would give it 9.5/10 but there's no such option so I'm rounding up. Full Review »
  3. Nick
    Mar 12, 2010
    0
    Any game that treats you like a criminal simply isn't worth paying for, and isn't worth playing. The draconian DRM ruins any fun I Any game that treats you like a criminal simply isn't worth paying for, and isn't worth playing. The draconian DRM ruins any fun I might have had, since my spotty internet connection means I keep getting booted out of the game. Full Review »