Assassin's Creed II PC

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1671 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    6
    Ubisoft's "Assassin's Creed 2" looks beautiful with its architecture and buildings and all those thieves and prostitutes. However, the single player makes you kinda boring as time passes by; too repetitive of what it's doing as well as a long, monotonous story with linear assassinations (But it's fun). The crucial component of AC2 that disappointed me was the controls. It's TOO difficultUbisoft's "Assassin's Creed 2" looks beautiful with its architecture and buildings and all those thieves and prostitutes. However, the single player makes you kinda boring as time passes by; too repetitive of what it's doing as well as a long, monotonous story with linear assassinations (But it's fun). The crucial component of AC2 that disappointed me was the controls. It's TOO difficult and the counter-attacks are nearly impossible to use on the **** keyboard. Sure, you can fix it, but it's not gonna feel like the typical assassination games like "Hitman: Blood Money". Nevertheless, if you're interested in the game, try for it; Maybe you might like it.â Expand
  2. May 21, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2012
    7
    OK it sucks that you have to be connected to Ubi to play, but I've not had any technical problems with the game yet and overall it's not a bad game. Combat is unchanged, if not worse than the first Assassin's Creed, so it's still by far the worst combat I've come across in this genre. Free running is stupidly boring and unsatisfying, never mind how little to no skill there is in holdingOK it sucks that you have to be connected to Ubi to play, but I've not had any technical problems with the game yet and overall it's not a bad game. Combat is unchanged, if not worse than the first Assassin's Creed, so it's still by far the worst combat I've come across in this genre. Free running is stupidly boring and unsatisfying, never mind how little to no skill there is in holding down two buttons. However, if you can ignore the pointless complications of the modern day story which confused us all at the end of the first game you'll find an open-world adventure game which unlike the first game, packs the content to be classed as a GTA clone done properly. Side missions are not as repetitive, collectibles are far more rewarding and satisfying to get, let alone more varied. There are more RPG elements but without the unnecessary complications which accompany them. The devolpers haven't made stupid decisions with this game, but they have made it a proper free-roam game with a decent story, good length and side missions and well-designed towns. The graphics aren't anything special even when maxxed out, but they are still pretty good and stand up to inspection. All in all Assassin's Creed II has the credentials of a solid action-adventure free roam game, but unfortunately the gameplay mechanics are archaic and outdated, sometimes even buggy. If you want gameplay and level design consider Arkham Asylum, but if you want an immersive game Assassin's Creed II is better in every way. It's just a shame that it excels in everything but the most important element of a game- the GAMEPLAY. That said though, it's targeted towards a more casual audience who want more of a cinematic experience rather than intense and skillful gameplay as seen in Arkham Asylum. I guess this is more for the passive gamer rather than someone who really appreciates a solid combat system and will analyse every inch of level design. If you are a hardcore gamer chances are you won't enjoy this game very much because it's quite boring to play. A nice break though if you want something which is effortless and almost not even a game. Expand
  4. May 21, 2013
    8
    A massive step forward from the original AC game. The story is even better, Ezio is a great character to play as. The missions are far more engaging and entertaining than the previous game and there is also a built in economy that you can use to upgrade your "headquarters" and get yourself better gear. A great game.
  5. Dec 13, 2012
    7
    Would've been great if they cut down on the recycling of areas and timeline leaps. More of Desmond and more present day non-combat storytelling would've helped to break things up. Overall though it's a lot better than the original. Requiescat in pace.
  6. Jul 2, 2017
    8
    The magnificence presented in Assassin's Creed II is more than enough to impress any gamer, despite the lingering bitter taste of DRM that will haunt Ezio until the end of his journey.
  7. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    While Ezio is not as compelling a character and Italy a less compelling setting, the game and mechanic is head and shoulders above the first game. Even managing the household to get income is horribly addictive. Highly recommended.
  8. Feb 27, 2013
    8
    Much better than the first game in my opinion. I loved running around the rooftops of various citites in renessaince Europe! The controls were very smooth, and made all the acrobatics fun to perform. The story was ok, and the characters were also acceptable (cliched but I was not expecting something outstanding anyways). Combat was like in the previous game. I felt it was sometimes justMuch better than the first game in my opinion. I loved running around the rooftops of various citites in renessaince Europe! The controls were very smooth, and made all the acrobatics fun to perform. The story was ok, and the characters were also acceptable (cliched but I was not expecting something outstanding anyways). Combat was like in the previous game. I felt it was sometimes just too easy with instant chain-kills, and moves that kill your opponents immediately. I felt the developers could have made this part much more challenging. The missions were somewhat varied, but not much changed since the first game. Overall I enjoyed ACII. Expand
  9. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    An artistic masterpiece, providing an incredibly deep and immersive storyline. The character realism was fabulous. The voice acting is outstanding. Ezio feels like Antonio Banderas combining a romancing charm with his cold-hearted killer instincts. The fundamentals of the original game have been vastly improved upon. Many of the finishing moves are just spectacular to watch; the doubleAn artistic masterpiece, providing an incredibly deep and immersive storyline. The character realism was fabulous. The voice acting is outstanding. Ezio feels like Antonio Banderas combining a romancing charm with his cold-hearted killer instincts. The fundamentals of the original game have been vastly improved upon. Many of the finishing moves are just spectacular to watch; the double switchblade faceplant always brings a smile to my face.

    Straight up combat is still a weak point in the game, but they increased the fun factor by providing more means to avoid it like hiring thieves, using smoke bombs, creating a distraction by throwing money, strategically placing corpses, and assassinating targets from distance with a pistol. At ~30 gameplay hours, Assassin's Creed II was an amazing experience.
    Expand
  10. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    Assassin's creed 1 suffered from repetitive gameplay and a bit weak story but this one improved in every way the graphics are amazing and the cities are full of life the story as well is so amazing and will keep you interested till the end the gameplay here is amazing with tons of weapons to choose and you'll end up buying new weapons just to see its finishing moves in the end anAssassin's creed 1 suffered from repetitive gameplay and a bit weak story but this one improved in every way the graphics are amazing and the cities are full of life the story as well is so amazing and will keep you interested till the end the gameplay here is amazing with tons of weapons to choose and you'll end up buying new weapons just to see its finishing moves in the end an excellent improvement on the first part and definitely one of the best game made by ubisoft Expand
  11. Sep 29, 2011
    7
    Assassin's Creed II is very slow at the start. I remember I was finding myself rather bored during the first 4-5 memories (out of 14). The missions weren't interesting, the areas were bland and the story was taking too long to get started. However it does pick up eventually and gets much better and incredibly fun. There are about 5 cities in this game, which is slightly more than the firstAssassin's Creed II is very slow at the start. I remember I was finding myself rather bored during the first 4-5 memories (out of 14). The missions weren't interesting, the areas were bland and the story was taking too long to get started. However it does pick up eventually and gets much better and incredibly fun. There are about 5 cities in this game, which is slightly more than the first game, and it also made improvements on many aspects from the first game, like the climbing and stealthy combat. The face-on combat is pretty much the same (it was already great to begin with, so I guess no improvements were needed), except fist fighting has gotten significantly improved. The game is also a lot more diverse. There are a lot of areas to explore, a lot of side quests to do, and even various mini-tasks such as refurbishing one of the cities to the full. One could probably spend many hours playing this game. So AC2 is better than the first in many areas, including graphics, storyline, gameplay and perhaps even the background music too. But it has some drawbacks however. The controls for example, which were already one of the biggest flaws of the first game, are even harder now. I had to go back to the controls menu to check up on some of them even in late stages of the game. They are hard to memorise and they are also very inconvenient, forcing you to hold like 3-4 buttons at the same time just to run after someone, making chase parts of the game rather difficult. I was also not too fond of many of the side quests and such. They were bland and so I ended up mostly just playing the main story. AC2 is a good game. I am guessing because of controls issues it's not supposed to be played on PC, but on a console. My bro has it on Xbox360 and the controls issues are virtually non-existent, so I'd probably advise you to get it on Xbox360 or PS3, not on PC, not to mention the killer graphics requirements the game has on PC. Expand
  12. Mar 4, 2017
    7
    İlk oyunun aksine, aksiyonu daha abartılı ve güzel olan bir oyun ortaya çıkmış. Abstergo kısımları daha az ve güzel olmuş. Karakter detayları ve haritaları güzel olan bir oyun karşımızda. Oynarken keyfini çıkarın.
  13. Jul 6, 2016
    8
    Gameplay : 8
    Graphics : 8
    Story : 7
    Sound : 8
    **********************************************************************************
    Overall : 8
  14. Jan 16, 2013
    9
    I have to start off by saying that I never had any trouble with stability or DRM, so I'm not taking off points for that. Assassin's Creed II, as a game, is simply amazing. This game has exactly what you want in a sequel: continued solid story, improved game mechanics, improved graphics, and more content. AC II continues Desmond's story from the first game, while introducing a new andI have to start off by saying that I never had any trouble with stability or DRM, so I'm not taking off points for that. Assassin's Creed II, as a game, is simply amazing. This game has exactly what you want in a sequel: continued solid story, improved game mechanics, improved graphics, and more content. AC II continues Desmond's story from the first game, while introducing a new and likable protagonist, Ezio. The new settling of Renaissance Italy is both fresh and exciting, while preserving and improving on the extensive open world gameplay of its predecessor. It also introduces more sophisticated characters which you actually begin to care about, unlike the dull characters of the first game. Gameplay-wise, AC II skillfully introduces enough new mechanics and improvements to keep it fresh, while not feeling too different: you have a greater variety of weapons, including (thankfully!) long-range weapons; you can now use money to buy weapons and armor on your own schedule, instead of waiting around for mission rewards; you can hire mercenaries, thieves, and prostitutes to assist you in your missions; and plenty of other interesting things. While AC II isn't perfect, I think that it is a shining example of what a good sequel should be. Expand
  15. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    That game is an upgrade from the first. Now you can swim, The fights are more complex and fluid.
    Ezio is so much charismatic, the ambient of Italian Renaissance are SO amazing.
  16. Sep 9, 2016
    9
    Best game in the franchise. Period. The original Assassin Creed was great but repetitive. I loved it though because of the Crusades Jerusalem setting. The sequel, while less attractive as a setting to me, was a much better game, with richer gameplay. And the story, although not the best in the world, was enjoyable and not totally retarded like it became in future installments.
  17. Mar 10, 2013
    6
    Assassins creed does a lot of thing right. The cities are beautiful and they really feel alive. The medieval theme looks and feels really nice. There is quite a load of content in this game with plenty of things to do besides the pretty long main quest. Managing your estate is a fun but shallow distraction. The vehicle sections are pretty fun. The acrobatics looks cool and feels fluidAssassins creed does a lot of thing right. The cities are beautiful and they really feel alive. The medieval theme looks and feels really nice. There is quite a load of content in this game with plenty of things to do besides the pretty long main quest. Managing your estate is a fun but shallow distraction. The vehicle sections are pretty fun. The acrobatics looks cool and feels fluid when everything works. The game feels overall really competent and you get a a nice amount of content for your money.. But sadly it does have some problems. The combat is quite awful and feels static, repetitive and boring. The ridiculous amount of healing items you can carry around also makes it extremely unchallenging and tedious. The climbing and acrobatics in this game works for the most part quite well and it really fun to use. The one-button for everything system in the game is however not flawless and sometimes the game will misinterpret your actions which is never any fun. A long campaign is always nice and this games have one. What is less nice however is that the campaign contains a lot of really boring filler missions that only serve to drag out the game a hour or two. Some other annoyances are bad jumping puzzles, lack of interesting side characters, strange difficulty-curve, terrible stealth-missions, terrible stealth-mechanics, unsatisfying assassinations and lets not forget everything Desmond related. I might sound really negative but i did enjoy my time with the game and i would definitely recommend buying this game for a cheap price if you think the concept sounds interesting. Expand
  18. Mar 18, 2014
    8
    Starting at AC3 and then AC4, I was worried about trying the older ones and running into outdated mechanics that would ruin the gameplay for me. Luckily, that never happened. In fact, the older games taught me maneuvers and other things that AC3 and AC4 apparently expected me to already know. And after playing Edward Kenway, I didn't think I would much care for the oldschool assassins, butStarting at AC3 and then AC4, I was worried about trying the older ones and running into outdated mechanics that would ruin the gameplay for me. Luckily, that never happened. In fact, the older games taught me maneuvers and other things that AC3 and AC4 apparently expected me to already know. And after playing Edward Kenway, I didn't think I would much care for the oldschool assassins, but now I know why Ezio is still the poster assassin boy. He was a badass. Expand
  19. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    First of all I'd like to say that I'm not going to rate the terrible-at-that-time DRM system in this review, but stick to the game itself instead. Assassin's Creed 2 expands on all the aspects of the original - the cities are bigger, the activities are more varied, you've got WAY more gadgets, the game itself is longer and the plot now spans over thirty years. The storyline puts us in theFirst of all I'd like to say that I'm not going to rate the terrible-at-that-time DRM system in this review, but stick to the game itself instead. Assassin's Creed 2 expands on all the aspects of the original - the cities are bigger, the activities are more varied, you've got WAY more gadgets, the game itself is longer and the plot now spans over thirty years. The storyline puts us in the feet of Ezio Auditore - a young Florentine noble who loses his family shortly into the game. On our course for revenge we meet lots of important historical figures of that era (and kill some of them) and explore beautifully reconstructed cities of Florence, Venice and a couple of smaller towns. Collectible hunting has become more reasonable, and you should definitely check the Glyphs - collecting all of them will reveal quite a shocking "The Truth" video, which plays an important role in the franchise's mythology. (or you can just watch it on youtube, why) The only thing that game drops the bar at is the graphics. They're noticeably worse than in the original, and that's somewhat of a letdown. All in all, Assassin's Creed 2 is a well-made game, which retains the original's flaws, like the somewhat dull and easy combat system and drops of pace - I've played it for several weeks and then had to take a break from it for almost a year. Expand
  20. Jul 7, 2012
    10
    This game is epic, there was so much love and dedication put in this game it simply gives you a feeling of satisfaction once you complete it that you don't feel quite often when completing a game. Every single aspect of the story is very well made and the near-end plot twist is awesome, from beginning to end it is interesting and keeps you immersed. The graphics are good but there is spaceThis game is epic, there was so much love and dedication put in this game it simply gives you a feeling of satisfaction once you complete it that you don't feel quite often when completing a game. Every single aspect of the story is very well made and the near-end plot twist is awesome, from beginning to end it is interesting and keeps you immersed. The graphics are good but there is space for improvement, Assassin's Creed had amazing graphics and I feel this is just the same graphics with little or no improvement. The overall sound is amazing with a great soundtrack which is also great to play with an instrument and some excellent sound effects as well as top voice acting. The platforming is way faster and better in many ways such as the gameplay that has you always interested. You can get about 12 hours out of this game and even though the replay value is not much I had the desire to play it again, which I did. Now to the part everyone hated, the Ubisoft DRM is something that has people really mad, but I had surprisingly no problems with this. Overall you should get this game though you should be really careful about the DRM for mac users the best option is buying it in the mac app store and but I think overall the best thing you could do is get it for console, yet its worth a try on PC/Mac. Expand
  21. Mar 26, 2014
    9
    Beautiful. I love it. Magnificent gameplay. Wonderful story. I see that the developers have suceeded to take Assassin's Creed to a new level. Fantastic.
  22. Oct 29, 2013
    5
    Less repetitive than the first game, lots of content, a good story and nicely routed in history. There are now some nice pure puzzle platformer parts that bring tomb raider gameplay to mind. Sadly the horrible interface prevents this game from being great. This is a badly done port with severe consolitis interface not optimised for mouse+keyboard, severe mouse acceleration, generally tooLess repetitive than the first game, lots of content, a good story and nicely routed in history. There are now some nice pure puzzle platformer parts that bring tomb raider gameplay to mind. Sadly the horrible interface prevents this game from being great. This is a badly done port with severe consolitis interface not optimised for mouse+keyboard, severe mouse acceleration, generally too arcade, low detail graphics due to xbox RAM limits etc. Expand
  23. Apr 2, 2015
    8
    The peak of the Assassin's Creed series and a vast improvement from the original. AC2 puts you in the role of Ezio, a hot-headed charming lad turned assassin who we get to see develop and mature in a deeply personal story of revenge.

    Where AC1 suffered from crippling repetition in its side quests, AC2 rectifies this somewhat by including more variety within the side missions and in its
    The peak of the Assassin's Creed series and a vast improvement from the original. AC2 puts you in the role of Ezio, a hot-headed charming lad turned assassin who we get to see develop and mature in a deeply personal story of revenge.

    Where AC1 suffered from crippling repetition in its side quests, AC2 rectifies this somewhat by including more variety within the side missions and in its locales. However, most of these turn out to be little more than diversions that don't really add much depth. They are still entertaining for the most part, but even in AC2 they still become slightly tedious and repetitive, their incentive being a little extra cash on the side. The glyphs are the exception to this, which provide a nice change of pace in gameplay with its puzzles, in addition to a little more backstory and lore to the game.

    When it comes to visuals, the game looks fairly decent. Standing on a tall tower and looking down upon the city of Florence certainly makes for an impressive scene. When the cutscenes come rolling in however, character models definitely leave much to be desired. What impresses me most about AC2 though is its setting and general atmosphere. I have to congratulate Jesper Kyd on the soundtrack because it is absolutely BEAUTIFUL. It does a phenomenal job of imbuing a great sense of discovery, of true Renaissance Italy, and it is the main reason (at least for me) why the game remains so memorable over the years, because just listening to it gives me the fondest sense of nostalgia.

    Overall score - 8.5/10 (rounded down)
    Expand
  24. Jan 24, 2017
    8
    Unlike many here I didn't have any issues with DRM, so I'll note AC2 on its worth: a solid 8, bordering on 9.

    I played AC1 years ago and sort of forgot how I felt about it at the time. I remember only that I was interested enough to play AC2, but that I also got really, really, really really BORED. AC1 was a good example of an open world game that lacked gameplay. Lots of stuff to see,
    Unlike many here I didn't have any issues with DRM, so I'll note AC2 on its worth: a solid 8, bordering on 9.

    I played AC1 years ago and sort of forgot how I felt about it at the time. I remember only that I was interested enough to play AC2, but that I also got really, really, really really BORED. AC1 was a good example of an open world game that lacked gameplay. Lots of stuff to see, lots of atmosphere to take in, lots of spirit and effort, but no transition of the character's struggle to the player through difficult or fun gameplay mechanics.

    In less verbose, AC1 wasn't hard and wasn't fun. It was a long winded and repetitive, but still an enthralling visit to the Holy Land of the Crusade's times.

    Guess what? AC2 is exactly the same. Running on rooftops, escaping guards, trying to assassinate without being discovered first, failing, killing 50 guards with nothing but your sword, it's all the same.

    Setting changes, we're in Renaissance Italy, and there's a loooootta more guards on the roof than I remember seeing in AC1. And of course the architecture and world appearance are all changed.
    Florence/Firenze looks beautiful, and Venice may be the most beautiful open world city I've ever seen in terms of style, effort and realism.

    So the beautiful interactive tourism postcard principle still holds very true. And since Renaissance Italy wasn't a time of war like the Crusades, the cities have a lot of beautiful buildings and less military ones. So overall, it's a plus in every way.

    However while it bettered its predecessor in almost every way(except perhaps slightly less realism, so no more crossing the entire holy land to get to a new city, instead we get fast teleports from city to city), and it mended some of the worst aspects of it, namely the missions are more diverse and thus repetition is less strong, it didn't fix them.

    The three sins of AC2:
    -the combat
    -the parkour controls
    -the repetition

    Combat is just like the last one. It's still very slow, very hit-and-pray or wait-and-counter, and it still sucks HARD. I need to stress this, I had moments where I literally wanted to yell at my screen "ATTACK ME ALREADY" to some guards. I'd like to say that the addition of the new smoke bomb, throwing knives and poison blade help, but they absolutely don't. They're either pointless(poison blade), or just serve to make an easy game easier without adding any fun(knives and smoke). No aiming and no skills required, too.
    The only really novel gameplay addition is the gun, which does diversify gameplay, and has only 6 bullets, so you use it little and it makes every shot precious.

    Parkour controls are just too simple, and thus make you **** up. Not only a is a two-button system boring to play(you just keep your fingers pressed or not for 20 hours), but it can very often lead to VERY unpleasant consequences, like flinging yourself off a building or missing a ledge by 10cm and falling to lose half your health. I think the game would immensely gain from a run, jump, grab main system of 3 buttons, rather than a run, jump/grab system. You'd actually press buttons and get a feel for your controls, and not get any more infuriating falls.

    Repetition, what can I say. It was bad in AC1. I forgot how bad it was, but let me tell you, I finished AC2 with 95% or 96% done; in 25 hours. All paintings, statues, renovation, shops at max, weapons, armors, Assassin Seals, everything but the 100 feathers collectathon. If I had avoided all that, you'd think that the game would be a lot shorter and less tedious, right? Well no. That was the stuff I did to diversify my entertainment. Because AC2 is still 15% bad combat, 70% simplistic parkour, and 15% choosing your route to reach a target, an item, or an objective. Little got me more annoyed in AC2 than being teleported back to Venice, which has some really voluntarily complicated level design, to see that the game put me 350 meters away from my target and that I have to go up the roofs again, cross the city again, hold down two buttons again, for 5 good minutes if I'm fast. This repetition of the same tasks that you never get really good at, because they're all simple unless the controls destroy you, they weigh tremendously heavily on the player. I just got so bored. So hard. Past 12 hours I was a little tired, past 17, I was begging the game to end.

    Yet, I'll easily say that I was charmed by AC2. The production values that were poured into the cities, the level design, the Renaissance Italy style, the friendship with Leonardo Da Vinci and some others, even the story and plot of the series, which I don't regard very highly, it all wooed me. I completely fell for the interactive postcard, and although I got very bored, I know that I'll want to try Brotherhood at some point. There is a magic to AC2 that's certainly not in the gameplay, but in countless work hours that served to make this immersive, boring, memorable, and all in all enjoyable game.
    Expand
  25. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    Incredible evolution from the first to the second game.
  26. Aug 13, 2012
    7
    Assassin's Creed 2 on PC haves stunning graphics, and It stands with It's positives, but the problematic controls and the disappointing DRM just make the PC version even worse than console version. Still, PC version isn't bad, and It's fun for a while. 78 out of 100.
  27. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    I am amazed at the low user score for this fantastic game. I am a fan of the user scores, but in this case, they really do have it wrong. I think most of the problems with the low user score lie with the hardware (PC) requirements if you don't have an updated computer with a great video card and hard drive, your gameplay will suffer. But with the right hardware, this game is unbelievablyI am amazed at the low user score for this fantastic game. I am a fan of the user scores, but in this case, they really do have it wrong. I think most of the problems with the low user score lie with the hardware (PC) requirements if you don't have an updated computer with a great video card and hard drive, your gameplay will suffer. But with the right hardware, this game is unbelievably interesting! It's the beginning of the story of Ezio Auditore, the assassin whose story later continues with the AC Brotherhood and eventually with AC Revelations. Centered around various Renaissance cities and a private villa, even Leonardo DaVinci has a role! Take your time playing it. I have already played it four times and each time I manage to find a few things that I had not discovered. The entire Assassin's Creed series of games is my favorite of all times. Expand
  28. Dec 3, 2013
    8
    Awesome story, Ezio Auditore is one of the best characters ever created in a video game.
    Great stealth and combat, extremely detailed setting. Graphics are still decent even though a few years passed since release. It has some small design problems to it which prevent it from getting a higher score.
    A classic game that any true gamer should try, earns an 8/10 but it would get 10 if the
    Awesome story, Ezio Auditore is one of the best characters ever created in a video game.
    Great stealth and combat, extremely detailed setting. Graphics are still decent even though a few years passed since release. It has some small design problems to it which prevent it from getting a higher score.
    A classic game that any true gamer should try, earns an 8/10 but it would get 10 if the review was about story alone.
    Expand
  29. Nov 28, 2016
    8
    Assassins Creed 2 is everything you would expect from a sequel. Takes best elements of it's predecessor and builds on it a great game.

    The game follows a story of Ezio Auditore - a character I found extremely annoying at first but learned to like by the end of a game. This time the story is set in renaissance era of Italy with action taking in a couple of Italian towns like Florence,
    Assassins Creed 2 is everything you would expect from a sequel. Takes best elements of it's predecessor and builds on it a great game.

    The game follows a story of Ezio Auditore - a character I found extremely annoying at first but learned to like by the end of a game. This time the story is set in renaissance era of Italy with action taking in a couple of Italian towns like Florence, Venice, Tuscany.

    Ezio is introduced a s reckless playboy character until both his father and brother are hanged for treason. Only then Ezio learns that his father was an assassin and begin his journey into the ranks of assassins. The story this time is a bit more linear than in the original Assassin's Creed but there is no lack of side activities to torment the completionists. Same as previously we follow the modern-time story of Desmond who re-lives the life of Ezio. And as previously the time spent outside the animus feels like totally necessary.

    Mechanics wise this game improves on original game in almost every aspect. Drops the tedious repetitive missions in favour of more catered story driven missions this time. Crowd blending has been vastly improved making it more natural than previously. Notoriety has been introduced which can be removed by bribes or taking down wanted poster. It is really fun trying to navigate through a town having highest notoriety with guards alerted to your presence if you're not careful enough. Combat was also refined giving a wider array of moves.

    Graphics hold up till this day - although you can tell the age when you're outside the town and it feels a bit empty. Inside cities however there's nothing to be picky about. The designs gives a good feel for the time period. The cities are well designed and fun to travel through either by foot or taking the rooftops.

    Overall a big improvement to the original one and a really fun game that still holds up very well. Definitiely worth playing.
    Expand
  30. Jul 19, 2016
    9
    Let me put the DRM aside and review the game since I pirated it (thanks to Ubisoft and its great DRM). As a history freak this is one of my favourite triple A action adventure games in recent years. One of the most unforgettable settings in a video game - Renaissance, Da Vinci, the Church, Florence, Venice... Music is also made by my favourite composer Jesper Kyd who contributed a lot toLet me put the DRM aside and review the game since I pirated it (thanks to Ubisoft and its great DRM). As a history freak this is one of my favourite triple A action adventure games in recent years. One of the most unforgettable settings in a video game - Renaissance, Da Vinci, the Church, Florence, Venice... Music is also made by my favourite composer Jesper Kyd who contributed a lot to the AC series.

    The whole game is designed for the console though so the control scheme on KB/M is pure **** (unless you want to kill your left pinky), couldn't play it without a controller, though I prefer playing action games with a controller so I was OK with it. Graphics is optimised for the console so if you don't have a 16:9 monitor you get a letterbox on the screen...Well, what did I expect from Ubisoft?

    If you are going to play just one AC game, this is it. But you don't have to go through the collectibles since they are pointless time wasters. Just go through the story and you're done with the game. I really don't like the collectibles for achievements trend, to be honest.
    Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Assassin’s Creed II is a gem, a truly masterpiece also on PC. Developing a new economic system, and bringing more attention to combats, notoriety and context-script, Ubisoft achieves an awesome and epic experience. This sequel is far better than the first one.
  2. The PC version of last year's beautiful action adventure is lots of fun, but you'll have to overcome its online-only copy protection and high price point.
  3. Two years later, Assassin's Creed tries again to make real those promises from Ubisoft, and prove itself as a better game than it was. The truth is that, despite the Renaissance setting, the vivid locations and the historical landmarks, the new features added don't really improve the sequel: the same repetitive mechanics remain, as the flawed enemy AI, a rough combat system and moments of frustration coming from issues with the camera and the control response in the platform sections. Assassin's Creed II it's still a good game but far from the masterpiece Ubisoft has been promising.