User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1390 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 30, 2011
    8
    DRM aside, Assassin's Creed II is and awesome game, sure the controls can be frustrating, but the story and characters are stunning. Graphics are good too... until you get up close.
  2. Apr 1, 2011
    8
    Great game, but the default control scheme is horrible. The tutorials, such as they are, don't provide much help in learning the controls, because all they show is little icons instead of what the actual keys you are supposed to press. Still, after a remap and learning the controls, it's a very easy thing to go off flying across rooftops and enjoying the scenery of Italy.
  3. Mar 24, 2011
    9
    Lots of side missions that add depth to the main storyline game. Great main storylinethat builds Ezio from his womanizing care-free beginnings into the iconic assassin of the order. Various ways to complete objective even if gameplay is linear. Would have liked different endings depending on how you complete objectives. Gameplay mechanics improved from the original, but a more intelligentLots of side missions that add depth to the main storyline game. Great main storylinethat builds Ezio from his womanizing care-free beginnings into the iconic assassin of the order. Various ways to complete objective even if gameplay is linear. Would have liked different endings depending on how you complete objectives. Gameplay mechanics improved from the original, but a more intelligent and agressive AI would have been ideal and felt like a cake walk. Music by Jesper Kyd is phenomenal. (as always)
    -0.5 DRM issues (tisk tisk Ubisoft)
    -0.5 Creativity. (Repetitive Missions)
    Expand
  4. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    An artistic masterpiece, providing an incredibly deep and immersive storyline. The character realism was fabulous. The voice acting is outstanding. Ezio feels like Antonio Banderas combining a romancing charm with his cold-hearted killer instincts. The fundamentals of the original game have been vastly improved upon. Many of the finishing moves are just spectacular to watch; the doubleAn artistic masterpiece, providing an incredibly deep and immersive storyline. The character realism was fabulous. The voice acting is outstanding. Ezio feels like Antonio Banderas combining a romancing charm with his cold-hearted killer instincts. The fundamentals of the original game have been vastly improved upon. Many of the finishing moves are just spectacular to watch; the double switchblade faceplant always brings a smile to my face.

    Straight up combat is still a weak point in the game, but they increased the fun factor by providing more means to avoid it like hiring thieves, using smoke bombs, creating a distraction by throwing money, strategically placing corpses, and assassinating targets from distance with a pistol. At ~30 gameplay hours, Assassin's Creed II was an amazing experience.
    Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    Gameplay - 10 , Graphics - 8.0 , Story - 9.0 , Playing time - 30+hours. Aside from the DRM problem, this is a very good game. However, for 2010 the graphics is a bit outdated.
  6. Jul 7, 2012
    10
    This game is epic, there was so much love and dedication put in this game it simply gives you a feeling of satisfaction once you complete it that you don't feel quite often when completing a game. Every single aspect of the story is very well made and the near-end plot twist is awesome, from beginning to end it is interesting and keeps you immersed. The graphics are good but there is spaceThis game is epic, there was so much love and dedication put in this game it simply gives you a feeling of satisfaction once you complete it that you don't feel quite often when completing a game. Every single aspect of the story is very well made and the near-end plot twist is awesome, from beginning to end it is interesting and keeps you immersed. The graphics are good but there is space for improvement, Assassin's Creed had amazing graphics and I feel this is just the same graphics with little or no improvement. The overall sound is amazing with a great soundtrack which is also great to play with an instrument and some excellent sound effects as well as top voice acting. The platforming is way faster and better in many ways such as the gameplay that has you always interested. You can get about 12 hours out of this game and even though the replay value is not much I had the desire to play it again, which I did. Now to the part everyone hated, the Ubisoft DRM is something that has people really mad, but I had surprisingly no problems with this. Overall you should get this game though you should be really careful about the DRM for mac users the best option is buying it in the mac app store and but I think overall the best thing you could do is get it for console, yet its worth a try on PC/Mac. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2011
    8
    This game is great, specially the storyline. They create a great bound between the player and the character. The graphics are awesome, the sound is very good, the gameplay is diversed and is not repetitive. The only thing I didn't like was the whole city-travelling thing. It's a very good game overall, I'd give it a 8,5 if I could. Also, I don't get why people complain about the DRM whenThis game is great, specially the storyline. They create a great bound between the player and the character. The graphics are awesome, the sound is very good, the gameplay is diversed and is not repetitive. The only thing I didn't like was the whole city-travelling thing. It's a very good game overall, I'd give it a 8,5 if I could. Also, I don't get why people complain about the DRM when you're supposed to rate the game itself... Expand
  8. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    Gorgeous graphics and scenery. Well crafted and fun. Excellent work. Picked it up for a couple bucks on a sale and I have been playing this game for hours on end and I love it so much I will buy every AC version hereafter now. People complaining of DRM stuff are thieves themselves and whiny babies. Pay for the game losers. Those that complain that it's not made for PC are liars asGorgeous graphics and scenery. Well crafted and fun. Excellent work. Picked it up for a couple bucks on a sale and I have been playing this game for hours on end and I love it so much I will buy every AC version hereafter now. People complaining of DRM stuff are thieves themselves and whiny babies. Pay for the game losers. Those that complain that it's not made for PC are liars as well. I am only running an AMD 4800+ dual core cpu with 4gb ram and an nvidia 9800 GT video card and I'm running the game at 1600 X 1050 at high resolution with no problems whatsoever. Expand
  9. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    This is a really great game so what if it has/had DRM to be honest it doesn't matter unless you are installing it on like 5 PCs in which case I have to ask why you would be installing it on that many PCs. The people who say the DRM boots you out of the game well I have never been booted out of the game because of the DRM.
  10. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    Game is really good and the DRM system is updated. Missions are really awesome some of them are hard but I still give this game 10/10. Most Assassin's Creed players will enjoy this game. And it also comes with free DLC unlike for consoles.
  11. Mar 17, 2011
    7
    Enjoyable from 0.5 hours in to finish. The start of the game is woeful. Apart from that, the feeling of speed, motion and exploration are rendered well in a rich historical backdrop. I found the storyline attempted to be too grand and a bit silly at times, and despite best efforts the repetitive missions are still a bugbear. The gameplay makes up for it however, and judged on it's merits,Enjoyable from 0.5 hours in to finish. The start of the game is woeful. Apart from that, the feeling of speed, motion and exploration are rendered well in a rich historical backdrop. I found the storyline attempted to be too grand and a bit silly at times, and despite best efforts the repetitive missions are still a bugbear. The gameplay makes up for it however, and judged on it's merits, make this a good bit of light fun. Expand
  12. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    I found this game thoroughly enjoyable, and i'm not going to whine over how highly dodgy the DRM is, even though I do have few connection problems. I will agree with the multitude of people who complain that it is pretty shoddy, but the game itself, not counting the DRM, is a true masterpiece
    The storyline is highly involving and intricate, the time setting couldn't really have been more
    I found this game thoroughly enjoyable, and i'm not going to whine over how highly dodgy the DRM is, even though I do have few connection problems. I will agree with the multitude of people who complain that it is pretty shoddy, but the game itself, not counting the DRM, is a true masterpiece
    The storyline is highly involving and intricate, the time setting couldn't really have been more appropriate and I found Renaissance Italy a very interesting setting to work from.The graphics are fantastic, and even though the system requirements are a bit beefy, I couldn't help every once in a while climbing a viewpoint simply to stand there and gaze at the surrounding cityline.
    A major aspect of the first game was the non-linear style of play, which I loved. This has been very nicely updated and improved in the sequel, which a vast range of side-missions to complete, as well as having entire cities to roam around almost freely, allowing you to decide when to complete a main objective; you can go and rush through the main story if you want or leave it out until you've had some fun with it.
    The fighting system, freerunning and climbing aspects, the largest parts of the game, have been improved very nicely, with more freedom as to how you can conduct yourself about the city. The in-depth and well-explored characters also allow the player to feel immersed in the game. All of this makes for a game that can be replayed again and again and will always feel a little different.
    Expand
  13. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    es un juego fantastico una experiencia inolvidable
    sinceramente es uno de los mejorers juegos y **** IS HORRIBLE la compania con su mierda de DRM hace una BAD EXPERIENCE y es que se que muchos estais molestos por el DRM of the DAMNED fu*k you ****
  14. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Great game you see what the team has done it is just positive. Great story and the movment is just awesome. As a complete Assassin's creed game also awesome.
  15. Dec 22, 2011
    9
    I like this game, good textures, a nice story (it takes a while to complete) and some pretty good combat. I just don't like that it is a real long game and you get stuck on levels a little too much. But overall I absolutely LOVE this game! 9 out of 10 is what it gets
  16. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    I think that people should rate the game based on it's gameplay, graphics and controls. I found the storyline to be gripping and interesting.
    The voice acting of the characters, NPCs etc in the game is spot on and really fits the setting.
    The repetitive gameplay of the original AC has now vanished and this makes for a much more enjoyable game. The controls are easy to use and you can bind
    I think that people should rate the game based on it's gameplay, graphics and controls. I found the storyline to be gripping and interesting.
    The voice acting of the characters, NPCs etc in the game is spot on and really fits the setting.
    The repetitive gameplay of the original AC has now vanished and this makes for a much more enjoyable game. The controls are easy to use and you can bind abilities to different keys if you feel the need to do so.
    The graphics are great and at medium to max settings with anti-aliasing, look better than the console equivalent due to the vastly superior shadows and lighting. I do however feel sad that the PC version has ended up getting low user scores because of DRM, because the game itself is great. All in all, it's a great game and is now available very cheaply.
    Expand
  17. Dec 3, 2013
    8
    Awesome story, Ezio Auditore is one of the best characters ever created in a video game.
    Great stealth and combat, extremely detailed setting. Graphics are still decent even though a few years passed since release. It has some small design problems to it which prevent it from getting a higher score.
    A classic game that any true gamer should try, earns an 8/10 but it would get 10 if the
    Awesome story, Ezio Auditore is one of the best characters ever created in a video game.
    Great stealth and combat, extremely detailed setting. Graphics are still decent even though a few years passed since release. It has some small design problems to it which prevent it from getting a higher score.
    A classic game that any true gamer should try, earns an 8/10 but it would get 10 if the review was about story alone.
    Expand
  18. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    i do not understand all the rage comments below, i simply loved this game like i loved the first game of the series, worth checking out, but first play the first game to have an idea what it is all about :D
  19. Oct 29, 2013
    5
    Less repetitive than the first game, lots of content, a good story and nicely routed in history. There are now some nice pure puzzle platformer parts that bring tomb raider gameplay to mind. Sadly the horrible interface prevents this game from being great. This is a badly done port with severe consolitis interface not optimised for mouse+keyboard, severe mouse acceleration, generally tooLess repetitive than the first game, lots of content, a good story and nicely routed in history. There are now some nice pure puzzle platformer parts that bring tomb raider gameplay to mind. Sadly the horrible interface prevents this game from being great. This is a badly done port with severe consolitis interface not optimised for mouse+keyboard, severe mouse acceleration, generally too arcade, low detail graphics due to xbox RAM limits etc. Expand
  20. Apr 21, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of the best AC's games around, very long with awesome locations, a very long story, kept me busy for 40 hours almost non stop, also if you like to explore this game is completely "Free Roam" wanna go on top of a building ? You can ! Wanna look for collectibles ? You can, i would say this is one of the best and safe buy of AC's game i did, you will be able to visit Venice and Florence, and as for me which i listened to the entire game made in Italian was feeling like real. Expand
  21. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    The story is very well-written. I can't expect more about the story. Graphic is great. Environment is great. The game is quite short, i hope it was longer. However, i had a lot of fun during the 20hrs gameplay. I enjoy the story so much. Battle is pretty good. I finished this game twice because i just like it so much. I think i could finish it for the third time because it is just sooooThe story is very well-written. I can't expect more about the story. Graphic is great. Environment is great. The game is quite short, i hope it was longer. However, i had a lot of fun during the 20hrs gameplay. I enjoy the story so much. Battle is pretty good. I finished this game twice because i just like it so much. I think i could finish it for the third time because it is just soooo good. I'm not getting money for writing this. Expand
  22. Mar 10, 2013
    6
    Assassins creed does a lot of thing right. The cities are beautiful and they really feel alive. The medieval theme looks and feels really nice. There is quite a load of content in this game with plenty of things to do besides the pretty long main quest. Managing your estate is a fun but shallow distraction. The vehicle sections are pretty fun. The acrobatics looks cool and feels fluidAssassins creed does a lot of thing right. The cities are beautiful and they really feel alive. The medieval theme looks and feels really nice. There is quite a load of content in this game with plenty of things to do besides the pretty long main quest. Managing your estate is a fun but shallow distraction. The vehicle sections are pretty fun. The acrobatics looks cool and feels fluid when everything works. The game feels overall really competent and you get a a nice amount of content for your money.. But sadly it does have some problems. The combat is quite awful and feels static, repetitive and boring. The ridiculous amount of healing items you can carry around also makes it extremely unchallenging and tedious. The climbing and acrobatics in this game works for the most part quite well and it really fun to use. The one-button for everything system in the game is however not flawless and sometimes the game will misinterpret your actions which is never any fun. A long campaign is always nice and this games have one. What is less nice however is that the campaign contains a lot of really boring filler missions that only serve to drag out the game a hour or two. Some other annoyances are bad jumping puzzles, lack of interesting side characters, strange difficulty-curve, terrible stealth-missions, terrible stealth-mechanics, unsatisfying assassinations and lets not forget everything Desmond related. I might sound really negative but i did enjoy my time with the game and i would definitely recommend buying this game for a cheap price if you think the concept sounds interesting. Expand
  23. Feb 27, 2013
    8
    Much better than the first game in my opinion. I loved running around the rooftops of various citites in renessaince Europe! The controls were very smooth, and made all the acrobatics fun to perform. The story was ok, and the characters were also acceptable (cliched but I was not expecting something outstanding anyways). Combat was like in the previous game. I felt it was sometimes justMuch better than the first game in my opinion. I loved running around the rooftops of various citites in renessaince Europe! The controls were very smooth, and made all the acrobatics fun to perform. The story was ok, and the characters were also acceptable (cliched but I was not expecting something outstanding anyways). Combat was like in the previous game. I felt it was sometimes just too easy with instant chain-kills, and moves that kill your opponents immediately. I felt the developers could have made this part much more challenging. The missions were somewhat varied, but not much changed since the first game. Overall I enjoyed ACII. Expand
  24. Aug 30, 2012
    7
    The main story outside the animus is more extended as in the first game. Ezio is a good character. Good storytelling inside the game.

    But the DRM is ...
  25. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    The only disappointing part of the game is the beginning and the parts when you have to go back to present time. I understand that they had to explain to us what is going on, but still i couldn't wait to just get over with it. Soooo painful. Other than that I really recommend this game.
  26. Jan 24, 2014
    9
    Quite simply put this is an amazing game and certainly more interesting than the first instalment of the series which in itself was pretty incredible. The world is literally HUGE and there is a bare minimum of 45-50 hours of gameplay. I have played it twice now and it works out slightly differently each time so there is definite replay value here. There is an enormous amount to do andQuite simply put this is an amazing game and certainly more interesting than the first instalment of the series which in itself was pretty incredible. The world is literally HUGE and there is a bare minimum of 45-50 hours of gameplay. I have played it twice now and it works out slightly differently each time so there is definite replay value here. There is an enormous amount to do and if you do everything in each city you could probably push your experience out to 60 or 70 hours. What I really enjoyed in this game was the wealth of historical data you can access about Renaissance Italy - so you not only have a fantastic gaming experience but also learn a great deal about the environment in which you play. The only downside to this game is some of the controls especially when doing the puzzle/treasure hunts. Getting Ezio to jump the right way can sometimes be an exercise in frustration and as a result can cause you to take a hell of a long time to complete the mission - however once you do the sense of satisfaction is significant as you feel you have cracked a really difficult problem. Therefore as frustrating as they may be I would not take the easy route and skip them even though if you become desperate you can do so as they don't really affect the storyline.

    In short they really pulled out all the stops on this one and if it wasn't for some of the frustrating controls in the puzzle/treasure hunts I would give it a 10. Pick it up you won't be disappointed.
    Expand
  27. Mar 28, 2014
    9
    While the first Assassin's Creed was a great game, it's successor, Assassin's Creed 2 proves to be a even better title to it's own franchise.

    Assassin's Creed 2 serves as the direct sequel to the first game, continuing the storyline of Altair but mostly of his descendant, Ezio Auditore. The story takes place during the Renaissance period of Italy, which feels refreshing away from the
    While the first Assassin's Creed was a great game, it's successor, Assassin's Creed 2 proves to be a even better title to it's own franchise.

    Assassin's Creed 2 serves as the direct sequel to the first game, continuing the storyline of Altair but mostly of his descendant, Ezio Auditore.

    The story takes place during the Renaissance period of Italy, which feels refreshing away from the Holy Land, where sand dunes and plain terrain is the environment most of the time.

    Note that Assassin's Creed 2 varies a slight bit from AC1, with a few better improvements, as well as bringing back some of the issues that i had problem with.

    Pros (8):

    (Primary) + Significant general improvements over AC1.

    + Graphical changes were significant, the game looks much more detailed, lifelike and just more vibrant overall.
    + Even detailed character modelling returns.
    + Repetitive missions are gone! All primary missions, if not most, will always be different. Long gone are the days where doing the same reptitive task leads to the completion of the mission.
    + Storyline is even longer and better. Game no longer ends randomly on a cliffhanger, like some sort of lousy movie film.
    + At least 30ish hours of gameplay. Considered a long duration for a singleplayer story-mode game.
    + No game stability issues, did not crash time during the whole of 28 hours of in-game session.
    + More checkpoints, leading to lesser frustration when dying, crashing, etc.
    + Side missions now serves a function, such as obtaining a cape for collecting a certain amount of feathers.

    Cons (2):

    - Artificial Intelligence coding STILL feels choppy, but is improved, enemies to retaliate more often and are more aware of their surroundings.
    -Game mechanic seems worse than before. Scaling walls and performing parkours in general, feels choppier and rough.

    I highly recommend playing the first game and follow the series on a chronological order. And if you loved the first AC game, you would definitely love this one. Collapse
    Expand
  28. Feb 18, 2013
    10
    It's what I call EPIC GAME. I enjoyed in every moment of this game, it's an amazing atmosphere. Italy looked very amazing there, so this game even made me to love history and to realsie that history can be fu**ing interesting too.
  29. Mar 18, 2014
    8
    Starting at AC3 and then AC4, I was worried about trying the older ones and running into outdated mechanics that would ruin the gameplay for me. Luckily, that never happened. In fact, the older games taught me maneuvers and other things that AC3 and AC4 apparently expected me to already know. And after playing Edward Kenway, I didn't think I would much care for the oldschool assassins, butStarting at AC3 and then AC4, I was worried about trying the older ones and running into outdated mechanics that would ruin the gameplay for me. Luckily, that never happened. In fact, the older games taught me maneuvers and other things that AC3 and AC4 apparently expected me to already know. And after playing Edward Kenway, I didn't think I would much care for the oldschool assassins, but now I know why Ezio is still the poster assassin boy. He was a badass. Expand
  30. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    Best Assassin's creed to date. Story, the best in any of the games, gameplay 3x better than the first one, lots of weapons, people to talk to can't even be compared to the first one.
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Assassin’s Creed II is a gem, a truly masterpiece also on PC. Developing a new economic system, and bringing more attention to combats, notoriety and context-script, Ubisoft achieves an awesome and epic experience. This sequel is far better than the first one.
  2. The PC version of last year's beautiful action adventure is lots of fun, but you'll have to overcome its online-only copy protection and high price point.
  3. Two years later, Assassin's Creed tries again to make real those promises from Ubisoft, and prove itself as a better game than it was. The truth is that, despite the Renaissance setting, the vivid locations and the historical landmarks, the new features added don't really improve the sequel: the same repetitive mechanics remain, as the flawed enemy AI, a rough combat system and moments of frustration coming from issues with the camera and the control response in the platform sections. Assassin's Creed II it's still a good game but far from the masterpiece Ubisoft has been promising.