Assassin's Creed II PC

Assassin's Creed II Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1581 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assassin's Creed II is the product of over two years of intensive development by the original creative team behind the Assassin's Creed brand. In a vast open world environment, the game invites players to incarnate Ezio, a privileged young noble in Renaissance Italy who's been betrayed byAssassin's Creed II is the product of over two years of intensive development by the original creative team behind the Assassin's Creed brand. In a vast open world environment, the game invites players to incarnate Ezio, a privileged young noble in Renaissance Italy who's been betrayed by the rival ruling families of Italy. Ezio's subsequent quest for vengeance plunges players into an epic story that offers more variety in missions, surprising and engaging new gameplay elements, diverse weapons and a profound character progression that appeal to fans of the original Assassin's Creed as well as entice players new to the brand. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Assassin’s Creed II is a gem, a truly masterpiece also on PC. Developing a new economic system, and bringing more attention to combats, notoriety and context-script, Ubisoft achieves an awesome and epic experience. This sequel is far better than the first one.
  2. Despite the foolish DRM and six months after the consoles release, Assassin's Creed 2 is still an incredible adventure with a deep and rich world, an engaging story and loads of contents.
  3. PC Format
    90
    A worthy sequel with all the parkour fun and swashbuckling joy of the original, and a bunch more game for your money. [Apr 2010, p.88]
  4. That’s how a sequel should be done. There’s a better story and a much more charming hero. Even the few flaws of the game can’t hurt the great overall impression.
  5. PC Gamer UK
    86
    Tactile, bloody and substantial. One of gaming's most exciting open worlds - but only when you're online. [Apr 2010, p.96]
  6. Assassin's Creed II is a great romp through the past and a present that lingers on the precipice of becoming bleak and controlled.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    50
    A combination of DRM and instability ruins what should be an excellent game. Pick this up on console. [Apr 2010, p.58]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 142
  2. Negative: 24 out of 142
  1. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    Si has jugado el uno y como a mi te parece aburrido, tedioso y repetitivo... juega a este. Es todo lo que hubieras querido de la primera parteSi has jugado el uno y como a mi te parece aburrido, tedioso y repetitivo... juega a este. Es todo lo que hubieras querido de la primera parte y más. Con componentes de rol, una variedad apabullante y una jugabilidad genial. Puntuación Assassin's Creed: 5.5 / Puntuación Assassin's Creed 2: 9.5 / Expand
  2. May 13, 2013
    10
    Simply one of the best games I have ever played. Great, engaging storyline, superb combat and gameplay, witty dialogues and a charismaticSimply one of the best games I have ever played. Great, engaging storyline, superb combat and gameplay, witty dialogues and a charismatic lead. You can only love the great assassin Ezio Auditore. His story brings evokes great emotions in the player and that is a highlight of a well made game. Expand
  3. Matt
    Jun 13, 2010
    10
    I am rating this purely on the game itself, not the Ubisoft DRM (which i didn't need to worry about because i cracked the game[shhh tell I am rating this purely on the game itself, not the Ubisoft DRM (which i didn't need to worry about because i cracked the game[shhh tell no one!]). The graphics, beautiful. The Free running, excellent, some tweaks made to improve it, and endless fun to be had. The story, FANTASTIC, and WAY better than Assassins creed 1. There is more to do, and a wider, more diverse range of directions to go, so it is not the same things over and over again. And the events that are taking place interest you and draw you in. The Combat system remains largely unchanged, but larger scale of enemy difficulties makes for some more challenging and often more enjoyable fights. And I love the cash aspect of this game. Instead of just having a sword and a dagger, the ability to buy and upgrade weapons, to save for the next one, is great! Plus the ability to upgrade the Villa (Sort of home town) in order to gain more revenue is good as. So, based purely on playing the game itself, i give it a 10. I give Ubisoft a 0 for trying their hardest to lose as many customers as they can, but admittedly they've put out a damn good game. I will add that this is an obvious console port, with the menu better controllable with keys, as well as the game telling you to press the "hand" key rather than the shift key (the HUD has an Xbox button style diamond like in Assassins Creed 1, with images corresponding to each button on an Xbox controller). Once you get past this, and the keys become muscle memory, you will have no more issues with it. I would give it 9.5/10 but there's no such option so I'm rounding up. Expand
  4. Jul 26, 2011
    9
    Since crappy always-on DRM was removed, this game has become a timesink for me. Great atmosphere, and always that nagging feeling to get thatSince crappy always-on DRM was removed, this game has become a timesink for me. Great atmosphere, and always that nagging feeling to get that one more mission done :) Expand
  5. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    First of all I'd like to say that I'm not going to rate the terrible-at-that-time DRM system in this review, but stick to the game itselfFirst of all I'd like to say that I'm not going to rate the terrible-at-that-time DRM system in this review, but stick to the game itself instead. Assassin's Creed 2 expands on all the aspects of the original - the cities are bigger, the activities are more varied, you've got WAY more gadgets, the game itself is longer and the plot now spans over thirty years. The storyline puts us in the feet of Ezio Auditore - a young Florentine noble who loses his family shortly into the game. On our course for revenge we meet lots of important historical figures of that era (and kill some of them) and explore beautifully reconstructed cities of Florence, Venice and a couple of smaller towns. Collectible hunting has become more reasonable, and you should definitely check the Glyphs - collecting all of them will reveal quite a shocking "The Truth" video, which plays an important role in the franchise's mythology. (or you can just watch it on youtube, why) The only thing that game drops the bar at is the graphics. They're noticeably worse than in the original, and that's somewhat of a letdown. All in all, Assassin's Creed 2 is a well-made game, which retains the original's flaws, like the somewhat dull and easy combat system and drops of pace - I've played it for several weeks and then had to take a break from it for almost a year. Expand
  6. stevek
    Jun 5, 2010
    6
    great graphics, ok gameplay, doesn't let you roam and play as you want - desynchronises when u kill civilians. Also, too easy - still great graphics, ok gameplay, doesn't let you roam and play as you want - desynchronises when u kill civilians. Also, too easy - still giving game hints "press so and so to jump back etc etc" 20 hrs into the game. Surely you should just be told the controls - and, is this a shock? - work it out yourself! A game that holds your hand every step of the way isn't a game, it's an interactive movie - not what i wanted. Expand
  7. May 28, 2011
    0
    DON'T buy this for PC. After having read all of these horrible reviews, I figured it couldn't be *that* bad and I got it (because it is aDON'T buy this for PC. After having read all of these horrible reviews, I figured it couldn't be *that* bad and I got it (because it is a great game, after all). Such a waste of money! First there's the DRM and required internet connection - not a problem for me, though. I get booted out of the game sometimes (Ubisoft's issue, not mine) and often my game doesn't save properly and I have to redo it (which is bad considering you can't save whenever you want in this game - it's automatic). When I play this, I feel like I'm playing a pirated or emulated game!!! It's so sloppily copied from the console game it's not even funny... it's actually sad. At the beginning of the game it shows you the controls using the Xbox360 color coded icons. I found myself mashing random buttons on the keyboard having no idea what corresponded.

    There are so many bugs and issues I don't even know where to start, from messed up cutscenes to bad controls. If you want to play Assassin's Creed II, get it for another system (it's a really good game when it's not on PC). If you don't have one, honestly just pirate the game (I never pirate games but I wouldn't blame anyone if they did with this terrible thing).
    Expand

See all 142 User Reviews

Trailers