Assassin's Creed II Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1711 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assassin's Creed II is the product of over two years of intensive development by the original creative team behind the Assassin's Creed brand. In a vast open world environment, the game invites players to incarnate Ezio, a privileged young noble in Renaissance Italy who's been betrayed byAssassin's Creed II is the product of over two years of intensive development by the original creative team behind the Assassin's Creed brand. In a vast open world environment, the game invites players to incarnate Ezio, a privileged young noble in Renaissance Italy who's been betrayed by the rival ruling families of Italy. Ezio's subsequent quest for vengeance plunges players into an epic story that offers more variety in missions, surprising and engaging new gameplay elements, diverse weapons and a profound character progression that appeal to fans of the original Assassin's Creed as well as entice players new to the brand. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Uplay PC - Launch Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Assassin’s Creed II is a gem, a truly masterpiece also on PC. Developing a new economic system, and bringing more attention to combats, notoriety and context-script, Ubisoft achieves an awesome and epic experience. This sequel is far better than the first one.
  2. Despite the foolish DRM and six months after the consoles release, Assassin's Creed 2 is still an incredible adventure with a deep and rich world, an engaging story and loads of contents.
  3. PC Format
    90
    A worthy sequel with all the parkour fun and swashbuckling joy of the original, and a bunch more game for your money. [Apr 2010, p.88]
  4. That’s how a sequel should be done. There’s a better story and a much more charming hero. Even the few flaws of the game can’t hurt the great overall impression.
  5. PC Gamer UK
    86
    Tactile, bloody and substantial. One of gaming's most exciting open worlds - but only when you're online. [Apr 2010, p.96]
  6. Assassin's Creed II is a great romp through the past and a present that lingers on the precipice of becoming bleak and controlled.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    50
    A combination of DRM and instability ruins what should be an excellent game. Pick this up on console. [Apr 2010, p.58]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 152
  2. Negative: 24 out of 152
  1. Nov 24, 2017
    10
    El videojuego es mucho mejor que el titulo anterior. Es porque con más presupuesto usaron otro motor gráfico. La jugabilidad es casi la mismaEl videojuego es mucho mejor que el titulo anterior. Es porque con más presupuesto usaron otro motor gráfico. La jugabilidad es casi la misma con mejoras, ya se puede nadar en el agua o en los ríos de Italia. La época del renacimiento está bien, el enfrentar a los Medicis, a Sabonarola, a Rodrigo Borgia. Y el conocer a Da Vinci, a Catherina Esforza, ver más de la hermandad es un acierto. La pelea final es un duelo a puño limpio con el antagonista, y la revelación final asombra.

    In English
    The video game is much better than the previous title. It's because with more budget they used another graphic engine. The gameplay is almost the same with improvements; you can already swim in the water or in the rivers of Italy. The Renaissance period is fine, facing the Medicis, Sabonarola, and Rodrigo Borgia. And knowing Da Vinci, Catherina Esforza, seeing more of the brotherhood is a success. The final fight is a duel with a clean fist with the antagonist, and the final revelation amazes.
    Expand
  2. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    Awesome story,great combat,stealth gameplay,perfect graphics,KILLKILLKILL!
    Best Third person adventure/action game in my opinion.
    And at
    Awesome story,great combat,stealth gameplay,perfect graphics,KILLKILLKILL!
    Best Third person adventure/action game in my opinion.
    And at least it does not require a quad core comp :D
    I can only recommend it to everyone.
    Expand
  3. Matt
    Jun 13, 2010
    10
    I am rating this purely on the game itself, not the Ubisoft DRM (which i didn't need to worry about because i cracked the game[shhh tell I am rating this purely on the game itself, not the Ubisoft DRM (which i didn't need to worry about because i cracked the game[shhh tell no one!]). The graphics, beautiful. The Free running, excellent, some tweaks made to improve it, and endless fun to be had. The story, FANTASTIC, and WAY better than Assassins creed 1. There is more to do, and a wider, more diverse range of directions to go, so it is not the same things over and over again. And the events that are taking place interest you and draw you in. The Combat system remains largely unchanged, but larger scale of enemy difficulties makes for some more challenging and often more enjoyable fights. And I love the cash aspect of this game. Instead of just having a sword and a dagger, the ability to buy and upgrade weapons, to save for the next one, is great! Plus the ability to upgrade the Villa (Sort of home town) in order to gain more revenue is good as. So, based purely on playing the game itself, i give it a 10. I give Ubisoft a 0 for trying their hardest to lose as many customers as they can, but admittedly they've put out a damn good game. I will add that this is an obvious console port, with the menu better controllable with keys, as well as the game telling you to press the "hand" key rather than the shift key (the HUD has an Xbox button style diamond like in Assassins Creed 1, with images corresponding to each button on an Xbox controller). Once you get past this, and the keys become muscle memory, you will have no more issues with it. I would give it 9.5/10 but there's no such option so I'm rounding up. Expand
  4. JohnR.
    Mar 12, 2010
    9
    Assassin's Creed 2 for PC is s top shelf game. It runs perfectly, has a deep plot, believable characters and brilliant voiice acting. Assassin's Creed 2 for PC is s top shelf game. It runs perfectly, has a deep plot, believable characters and brilliant voiice acting. The fluid movement, exploration and combat combine perfectly to make this a fun experience, especially for gamers that use the wireless xbox 360 controller. The graphics and animation are beautiful. The expansive freedom to play how you want endows this title with high replay value. Assassin's Creed 2 for PC gets a must buy recommendation from me. I love it. Expand
  5. Jul 10, 2012
    8
    To you all you crybabies out there complaining about the controls. GET. A. CONTROLLER. The game plays beautifully on PC with a controller. YouTo you all you crybabies out there complaining about the controls. GET. A. CONTROLLER. The game plays beautifully on PC with a controller. You have to live with the fact that some games were not meant for the mouse. This is one of them. Anyways GREAT improvement from the first one. Wonderful storytelling and the introduction of cut scenes makes it all the better. Played this game immediately after finishing the first one and what a difference! So much fun and a delight for history buffs out there. Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2013
    6
    Assassins creed does a lot of thing right. The cities are beautiful and they really feel alive. The medieval theme looks and feels reallyAssassins creed does a lot of thing right. The cities are beautiful and they really feel alive. The medieval theme looks and feels really nice. There is quite a load of content in this game with plenty of things to do besides the pretty long main quest. Managing your estate is a fun but shallow distraction. The vehicle sections are pretty fun. The acrobatics looks cool and feels fluid when everything works. The game feels overall really competent and you get a a nice amount of content for your money.. But sadly it does have some problems. The combat is quite awful and feels static, repetitive and boring. The ridiculous amount of healing items you can carry around also makes it extremely unchallenging and tedious. The climbing and acrobatics in this game works for the most part quite well and it really fun to use. The one-button for everything system in the game is however not flawless and sometimes the game will misinterpret your actions which is never any fun. A long campaign is always nice and this games have one. What is less nice however is that the campaign contains a lot of really boring filler missions that only serve to drag out the game a hour or two. Some other annoyances are bad jumping puzzles, lack of interesting side characters, strange difficulty-curve, terrible stealth-missions, terrible stealth-mechanics, unsatisfying assassinations and lets not forget everything Desmond related. I might sound really negative but i did enjoy my time with the game and i would definitely recommend buying this game for a cheap price if you think the concept sounds interesting. Expand
  7. Sep 17, 2017
    0
    so **** bad game, the first missions are a waste of **** time . it takes a lot to take you in the action, missions are so repetitive. story isso **** bad game, the first missions are a waste of **** time . it takes a lot to take you in the action, missions are so repetitive. story is quite good to be fair. it was a good game for its time. but now it sucks. Expand

See all 152 User Reviews