Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1315 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assassin's Creed II is the product of over two years of intensive development by the original creative team behind the Assassin's Creed brand. In a vast open world environment, the game invites players to incarnate Ezio, a privileged young noble in Renaissance Italy who's been betrayed byAssassin's Creed II is the product of over two years of intensive development by the original creative team behind the Assassin's Creed brand. In a vast open world environment, the game invites players to incarnate Ezio, a privileged young noble in Renaissance Italy who's been betrayed by the rival ruling families of Italy. Ezio's subsequent quest for vengeance plunges players into an epic story that offers more variety in missions, surprising and engaging new gameplay elements, diverse weapons and a profound character progression that appeal to fans of the original Assassin's Creed as well as entice players new to the brand. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Assassin’s Creed II is a gem, a truly masterpiece also on PC. Developing a new economic system, and bringing more attention to combats, notoriety and context-script, Ubisoft achieves an awesome and epic experience. This sequel is far better than the first one.
  2. Despite the foolish DRM and six months after the consoles release, Assassin's Creed 2 is still an incredible adventure with a deep and rich world, an engaging story and loads of contents.
  3. Assassin’s Creed II on PC is the same thing that it was last year on consoles – truly one of the best games you can play these days. Excellent lessons in history (and of killing people). [Issue#189]
  4. That’s how a sequel should be done. There’s a better story and a much more charming hero. Even the few flaws of the game can’t hurt the great overall impression.
  5. Tactile, bloody and substantial. One of gaming's most exciting open worlds - but only when you're online. [Apr 2010, p.96]
  6. Assassin's Creed 2 surpasses its previous entry solving both technical and gameplay-wise issues.
  7. A combination of DRM and instability ruins what should be an excellent game. Pick this up on console. [Apr 2010, p.58]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 122
  2. Negative: 22 out of 122
  1. May 13, 2013
    10
    Simply one of the best games I have ever played. Great, engaging storyline, superb combat and gameplay, witty dialogues and a charismaticSimply one of the best games I have ever played. Great, engaging storyline, superb combat and gameplay, witty dialogues and a charismatic lead. You can only love the great assassin Ezio Auditore. His story brings evokes great emotions in the player and that is a highlight of a well made game. Expand
  2. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    First of all, I absolutely love this game, in fact it is; in my opinion the BEST GAME EVER! If you are thinking about getting this, I highlyFirst of all, I absolutely love this game, in fact it is; in my opinion the BEST GAME EVER! If you are thinking about getting this, I highly recommend that you do! You should only rate on the actual game. Best game ever. 10 out of 10.(Rating on the game itself) The PC controls are annoying because it shows you signs. Expand
  3. Matt
    Jun 13, 2010
    10
    I am rating this purely on the game itself, not the Ubisoft DRM (which i didn't need to worry about because i cracked the game[shhh tell I am rating this purely on the game itself, not the Ubisoft DRM (which i didn't need to worry about because i cracked the game[shhh tell no one!]). The graphics, beautiful. The Free running, excellent, some tweaks made to improve it, and endless fun to be had. The story, FANTASTIC, and WAY better than Assassins creed 1. There is more to do, and a wider, more diverse range of directions to go, so it is not the same things over and over again. And the events that are taking place interest you and draw you in. The Combat system remains largely unchanged, but larger scale of enemy difficulties makes for some more challenging and often more enjoyable fights. And I love the cash aspect of this game. Instead of just having a sword and a dagger, the ability to buy and upgrade weapons, to save for the next one, is great! Plus the ability to upgrade the Villa (Sort of home town) in order to gain more revenue is good as. So, based purely on playing the game itself, i give it a 10. I give Ubisoft a 0 for trying their hardest to lose as many customers as they can, but admittedly they've put out a damn good game. I will add that this is an obvious console port, with the menu better controllable with keys, as well as the game telling you to press the "hand" key rather than the shift key (the HUD has an Xbox button style diamond like in Assassins Creed 1, with images corresponding to each button on an Xbox controller). Once you get past this, and the keys become muscle memory, you will have no more issues with it. I would give it 9.5/10 but there's no such option so I'm rounding up. Collapse
  4. Sep 29, 2011
    8
    Assassin's Creed II is very slow at the start. I remember I was finding myself rather bored during the first 4-5 memories (out of 14). TheAssassin's Creed II is very slow at the start. I remember I was finding myself rather bored during the first 4-5 memories (out of 14). The missions weren't interesting, the areas were bland and the story was taking too long to get started. However it does pick up eventually and gets much better and incredibly fun. There are about 5 cities in this game, which is slightly more than the first game, and it also made improvements on many aspects from the first game, like the climbing and stealthy combat. The face-on combat is pretty much the same (it was already great to begin with, so I guess no improvements were needed), except fist fighting has gotten significantly improved. The game is also a lot more diverse. There are a lot of areas to explore, a lot of side quests to do, and even various mini-tasks such as refurbishing one of the cities to the full. One could probably spend many hours playing this game. So AC2 is better than the first in many areas, including graphics, storyline, gameplay and perhaps even the background music too. But it has some drawbacks however. The controls for example, which were already one of the biggest flaws of the first game, are even harder now. I had to go back to the controls menu to check up on some of them even in late stages of the game. They are hard to memorise and they are also very inconvenient, forcing you to hold like 3-4 buttons at the same time just to run after someone, making chase parts of the game rather difficult. I was also not too fond of many of the side quests and such. They were bland and so I ended up mostly just playing the main story. AC2 is a good game. I am guessing because of controls issues it's not supposed to be played on PC, but on a console. My bro has it on Xbox360 and the controls issues are virtually non-existent, so I'd probably advise you to get it on Xbox360 or PS3, not on PC, not to mention the killer graphics requirements the game has on PC. Expand
  5. Aug 30, 2012
    7
    The main story outside the animus is more extended as in the first game. Ezio is a good character. Good storytelling inside the game.

    But
    The main story outside the animus is more extended as in the first game. Ezio is a good character. Good storytelling inside the game.

    But the DRM is ...
    Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2013
    6
    In a couple ways this was better than the first AC. I liked the additional combat mechanics, the graphics seemed like they were a notchIn a couple ways this was better than the first AC. I liked the additional combat mechanics, the graphics seemed like they were a notch higher, there wasn't as much time out of the animus and it seemed less repetitive, better locations. I started out very excited, especially after the strong finish of the first one. I jumped right into this one. About 2/3 the way through though, I encountered the timed platforming challenges. Make it through a platforming puzzle before the gate closes. Usually fun, and challenging. Fighting with the controls and the fixed control camera, is not fun. The combat started getting more heavy, as you'd expect and this issue started to rear it's ugly head more, as my timing was confounded by a cinematic swing that ended up behind a bush, tree or NPC. I can only assume this is a terrible PC port. I'm guessing the console folks had better control of the camera. Had to take quite a few points off, because I had to quit the game a couple times out of frustration, and started becoming eager for the end of the game. That being said, the game did finish off strongly, with an intriguing addition to the story line for the series. Expand
  7. Oct 9, 2014
    0
    I have wasted hours with this disgraceful manadatory uplay DRM software, the game also makes it impossible to map controller triggers,I have wasted hours with this disgraceful manadatory uplay DRM software, the game also makes it impossible to map controller triggers, terrible optimisation with poor framerates despite more than adequate hardware. Despicable PC port, I will never buy another Ubisoft product again 0/10. Expand

See all 122 User Reviews