Assassin's Creed III PC

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1550 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 26, 2014
    4
    The perfect example of how to NOT make a sequel

    First, AC3 feels least like Assassin’s Creed game. From the overly specific full synchronization mission objectives to the walk-between-cutscenes missions, the player is stripped of the sandbox style of play. The game forces you to play a predetermined style, which rids of the fun. In fact, the entire game plays out like you are more of a
    The perfect example of how to NOT make a sequel

    First, AC3 feels least like Assassin’s Creed game. From the overly specific full synchronization mission objectives to the walk-between-cutscenes missions, the player is stripped of the sandbox style of play. The game forces you to play a predetermined style, which rids of the fun. In fact, the entire game plays out like you are more of a soldier than an Assassin.

    Connor is the least strong of the AC characters and I actually found him quite annoying. The game is rather shallow in that it does not delve at all into the Creed or Brotherhood, but only that it exists and is there to stop the Templars.

    The game lacks any polish. First, the game suffers from poor mechanics. Fluidity and consistency are the biggest problems. While there is the random ledge grabbing and haphazard horse controls, the combat is the biggest misstep. I use to love the combat, but in AC3 it is tiresome. The counters work like half the time. The gunplay ruins any flow. I died so many cheap deaths because of the odd mechanics. Second, there are more glitches in bugs in this game than in any other game I’ve played, which is sad for a blockbuster franchise like AC.

    Next, the extras do not tie into the game whatsoever. I completed the game without doing any extras. I did not find them fun and rather unnecessary unlike previous installments where I did everything. They were not explained well. Also, I did not see weapon upgrades or costume upgrades.

    Other serious complaints are the rather terrible fast-travel between zones, strange menu design, and the insanely long 4 hour tutorial at the beginning of the game.

    The Assassin’s Creed franchise is one of my favorites and AC2 is one of my favorite games of all time. I found so much disappointment and squandered potential with AC3.
    Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2014
    6
    This game was a very mixed experience of good and bad, and while it's not too bad in the end, it suffers from several flaws that could have easily been fixed to make it a much better game. I tried to play it for the first time about a year ago, but before even finishing the prologue sequence I got frustrated and gave up. It took me awhile to give it another try, and this time I stuck itThis game was a very mixed experience of good and bad, and while it's not too bad in the end, it suffers from several flaws that could have easily been fixed to make it a much better game. I tried to play it for the first time about a year ago, but before even finishing the prologue sequence I got frustrated and gave up. It took me awhile to give it another try, and this time I stuck it out played all the way through. Connor's story has some really good moments, especially at the end of the prologue sequence (easily one of the best moments of the whole series). However, both Connor's and Desmond's stories went through stretches where they didn't make much sense or were just boring. Worst of all, both stories' ending were pretty anticlimactic. Right when you're waiting for a big payoff (after several games and many hours of play), they just putter out. The game introduced some new features that I liked, such as having different abilities for assassin recruits, hunting game, and crafting. Unfortunately, these features failed to reach anywhere close to their full potential: once they level up some (or you recruit several) the assassin's abilities are not too helpful, as they can just kill anything anyways. Hunting is mostly used for crafting and trade, but there isn't much worth crafting after you get the few available upgrades, and money quickly becomes useless once you upgrade your ship, which you can do pretty early on. By far my favorite new aspect was the addition of naval combat missions. While quite different in nature from the traditional AC gameplay--going for all-out combat instead of stealthy kills--it was fairly well implemented and gave a welcome break from running around through endless streets and trails. One thing that this game did horribly, however, was the controls: AC games on PC have a reputation for being lazy console ports, but it seems like instead of getting better, this issue is getting worse. Instead of allowing you to take advantage of having a keyboard with more than a half dozen keys, the game wants to force you to use the same couple keys for everything, with the result that you frequently end up doing something completely different than you intended. Finally, the voice acting is pretty terrible in general, and this is especially noticeable with Connor, the protagonist, who spends the whole game sounding like he's reading his lines and just doesn't care. Overall, it's not a bad game, and it's worth playing if you're an AC fan. I just wish that Ubisoft had put more thought and effort into the game, as it had the potential to be a very good one... Expand
  3. Jan 27, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game didn't quite grasp the full extent of the Assassin's Creed series. In my opinion AC Revelations & Brotherhood are the best in the series. This game however didn't live up to my expectations. There's no final boss battle! You will just kill the final Templar & then the credits rolls up.There are no character developments either. If you didn't read the Animus database, you wouldn't even know who really is Achilles & how the Colonial Brotherhood was disbanded. The story is great but the narration sucks. Ubisoft became lazy after Ezio's success on his past three titles. The naval combat also doesn't really make a difference. I also would prefer Jesper Kyd's music over Lorne Balfe's. AC3's music didn't really impacted to me unlike the past titles. There are very few synchronization points & very few maps. Expand
  4. Feb 18, 2013
    6
    BAIT AND SWITCH. I was under the impression that I would be playing a badass Indian assassin bent on killing the English. 3 out of the 12 chapters you play as the Indian assassin's English father. It is ridiculous watching an Englishmen jump from roof top to roof top. The combat is clunky and repetitive. There are two prologues and the training is horrendous. But the world itself isBAIT AND SWITCH. I was under the impression that I would be playing a badass Indian assassin bent on killing the English. 3 out of the 12 chapters you play as the Indian assassin's English father. It is ridiculous watching an Englishmen jump from roof top to roof top. The combat is clunky and repetitive. There are two prologues and the training is horrendous. But the world itself is really really beautiful and the music is awesome. If you have the horsepower in your rig and a great soundcard you can really loose yourself in the game. Don't buy for over $20 or you will be disappointed. Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2013
    5
    I've played every AC, and this is by far the worst AC of them all. The Desmond story is OK, I actually enjoyed playing a bit more as him. However, the Connor story just sucked. Connor is an idiot who keeps making stupid decisions while he actually thinks he's doing it right. The American Civil War looked like an exciting setting, but it failed, a lot. 1/3rd of your time you will be in aI've played every AC, and this is by far the worst AC of them all. The Desmond story is OK, I actually enjoyed playing a bit more as him. However, the Connor story just sucked. Connor is an idiot who keeps making stupid decisions while he actually thinks he's doing it right. The American Civil War looked like an exciting setting, but it failed, a lot. 1/3rd of your time you will be in a forest called Frontier, a depleted forest. I was missing the awesomeness of Florence, Rome, Istanbul, Venice, Acre, etc etc already as soon as I entered this area. I don't want to spoil the story for you, but it ends with a major cliff hanger. All that comes with glitches and bugs, the useal side missions that are boring and repetative and the fact they got rid of some nice weapons and techniques (in both climbing & fighting) from previous AC's. Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2013
    2
    Boring interminable unskippable cutscenes. One of the weakest stealth engines ever made (look me in the eyes and tell me the stealth aspects compare to Thief, Dishonored, Metal Gear, etc.). Combat is ok, but really it's just a less-fun ripoff of the Arkham City/Asyum melee engine.
    But here's the real problem: NO JUMP BUTTON. How do you make a platform game without a jump button? From
    Boring interminable unskippable cutscenes. One of the weakest stealth engines ever made (look me in the eyes and tell me the stealth aspects compare to Thief, Dishonored, Metal Gear, etc.). Combat is ok, but really it's just a less-fun ripoff of the Arkham City/Asyum melee engine.
    But here's the real problem: NO JUMP BUTTON. How do you make a platform game without a jump button? From the hype, I was hoping for a third-person Mirror's Edge, but all you do is hold down "run" and point the analog stick and the game plays itself. It's like a barely interactive cutscene. Imagine if you were playing an FPS where you just held down a "safety off" button and the guns all fired automatically whenever an enemy wandered into the crosshairs. Doesn't sound fun, does it? Neither is this.
    Expand
  7. Jan 12, 2013
    1
    Simply put, this game is amazing. It's visually stunning, and a lot of fun to play, most of the time. All the glitches are what drags it down to a 3/10 for me. When you spend 4-5 hours doing the same mission over and over again due to a glitch that they won't patch. They don't deserve your money.
  8. Dec 20, 2012
    3
    So far it's good, not great though. the graphics have improved over Revelations and the gameplay is a lot simpler (for the better) BUT in pretty much half the missions you have absolutely no idea what to do and after failing a few times you figure out how to progress, plus the actual design of the different levels you get thrown into during missions is herendous, it's almost impossible toSo far it's good, not great though. the graphics have improved over Revelations and the gameplay is a lot simpler (for the better) BUT in pretty much half the missions you have absolutely no idea what to do and after failing a few times you figure out how to progress, plus the actual design of the different levels you get thrown into during missions is herendous, it's almost impossible to get 100% synchronization in most levels, I still have no idea what the developers were smoking when they designed these areas and it is extremely infuriating. The story is alright for an AC game and some of the characters interesting, but most are pretty one-dimensional and boring as heck. Overall it's leaving me a bit disappointed, it's like Ubisoft added some really interesting mechanics to the game but at the same time COMPLETELY butchered what made previous games great, and forgot how to design levels in the process, AND completely threw away any form of guidance to help you figure out what the hell you're doing half the time. This is supposed to be a great starting point for new players to the series but if an AC veteran that has played every single game in the series gets totally confused and frustrated half the time how the heck is someone new to the series supposed to get through the entire campaign?? All in all AC 3 is basically a mess, a shiny mess, yes. But still a mess Expand
  9. Dec 16, 2012
    5
    Initially I was really enjoying the game... Story and game play start off strong. Fighting is amazing. Graphically the cities of Boston and New York look great but both look very similar which was disappointing. The open country is ok but only makes me yearn for Skyrim. Hunting is a joke PERIOD! Ability to run and jump on branches is so unrealistic and just dumb in my opinion. Not sureInitially I was really enjoying the game... Story and game play start off strong. Fighting is amazing. Graphically the cities of Boston and New York look great but both look very similar which was disappointing. The open country is ok but only makes me yearn for Skyrim. Hunting is a joke PERIOD! Ability to run and jump on branches is so unrealistic and just dumb in my opinion. Not sure why they included Naval missions at all, it seems so out of place for this type of game. Half way through I was getting very tired of the linear missions that forced you with one cut scene after another to do missions a specific way. The Ending was so ridiculously stupid that i say let us never speak of Assassin Creed ever again. Expand
  10. Dec 28, 2012
    3
    Amazing graphics and cinematics... but that's about it. Ubisoft no longer pays any attention to PC gamers, who prefer to play with mouse and keyboard. Game is completely reliant on a controller and if you don't have one or don't like playing with one, you cannot play this game because the controls are impossible. This is a big one to me, as I've always been a big fan of the AC series, evenAmazing graphics and cinematics... but that's about it. Ubisoft no longer pays any attention to PC gamers, who prefer to play with mouse and keyboard. Game is completely reliant on a controller and if you don't have one or don't like playing with one, you cannot play this game because the controls are impossible. This is a big one to me, as I've always been a big fan of the AC series, even back when it didn't reach that much publicity. Now I am forced to use a controller, something I do not enjoy in the slightest, to play one of my favorite franchises. The combat and gameplay is completely lineair, blocking off any creativity from the player. If you're looking for a good assassin game, I'd recommend Dishonored as I have had way more fun playing that than AC III, despite it's superior graphics. Assassin's Creed III is no asset to the franchise, instead it looks like it's going down the same road as the ever-criticized Call of Duty. Save yourself the frustration and the money, unless you're a die-hard fan of the AC lore, don't buy AC III. Expand
  11. Dec 31, 2012
    5
    The fundamental gameplay is still there for AC3. The addition of sea battles and a ship you can work to upgrade was great. The revolutionary period was an awesome stage for the 3rd AC3 and final in the Desmond storyline. That's about it. Storyline was botched and it is very easy to see where and how corners were cut to push this game out. After playing and honestly enjoying the firstThe fundamental gameplay is still there for AC3. The addition of sea battles and a ship you can work to upgrade was great. The revolutionary period was an awesome stage for the 3rd AC3 and final in the Desmond storyline. That's about it. Storyline was botched and it is very easy to see where and how corners were cut to push this game out. After playing and honestly enjoying the first 2 offerings from this franchise AC3 failed to match up and had the feeling it was rushed through production. From lots of glitches in fighting, free running and maps to an economy system that was very hard to understand. Then you get to the disappointing and short ending. Its time for us to expect more out of these blockbuster franchise games, it will net a fortune regardless of critic review but the long term prospects of subsequent releases will suffer due to its unpolished nature all in order to save a dollar now. Expand
  12. Jan 1, 2013
    5
    For me, this has been the most anticipated game since Vietcong 2 (which sadly, also bombed) back in 2005. Since the first Assassin's Creed, I have been a huge fan of this series, although (to be fair) slightly let down by Revelations, which in my opinion was way too short, and the first follow-up to let me down somewhat. With the Desmond saga building up to this undeniable climax, whereFor me, this has been the most anticipated game since Vietcong 2 (which sadly, also bombed) back in 2005. Since the first Assassin's Creed, I have been a huge fan of this series, although (to be fair) slightly let down by Revelations, which in my opinion was way too short, and the first follow-up to let me down somewhat. With the Desmond saga building up to this undeniable climax, where "all will be revealed" and where patience will prove a virtue, making up for time lost from the Revelations story line... Assassin's Creed 3 plain and simply does not deliver.

    Don't get me wrong, it's a gorgeous game... but to be honest, what with all the advances in technology, I'd be slightly bummed if it didn't look better than it's predecessors. However, this doesn't just look better, it's gorgeous. If I didn't know it before, however, I do know it now... no amount of gorgeous graphics can make up for a shell of a game, for that essentially is what this feels like. With Altaïr and Ezio, we were trained to learn how to fight; with Connor, we are informed (through cut scene cinematics) that we have trained; fighting is no less easy prior to training, and where taking on 30 men at once in any of the previous games could be construed as perhaps having a bit of a death wish, in AC3 this is no problem what so ever (even without weapons, and prior to "training"). Fighting has become so easy that there now is little to no incentive (unless the main mission design demands it) to try a stealthy approach.

    When starting the game, you are informed that the Animus software has been upgraded; less jumping "the wrong way at the wrong time", in short just better control. This is either a blatant lie, or proof that Ubisoft never hired gameplay testers for this project. Never touch the jump button, and you'll be fine; touch it, and... well, it's at your own risk. Getting hurt isn't that big of a deal though, because no matter how hurt you get from falling (or fighting), as long as you aren't dead, your health quickly (and yes, we're talking really fast) regenerates to full. Being able to run off the ground, up in the trees is at times really cool. It is, however, at times equally frustrating to find that that one branch that looks like you should be able to stand on it (because you just a second ago stood on an identical one), doesn't think you should be able to stand on it. This is particularly evident in cities, where sometimes you jump into the tree, sometimes you jump through it.

    It's hard to figure out just what peeves me the most about this game. It could be that it's the first game ever that has forced me to get up off my ass, walk over to the 360 and manually restart it because the game had frozen up on me, or it could be that the first time I load into New York and finally get to that part of the game, I loaded up under a bridge, under some dirt, in water, with only one direction (the wrong one, naturally) being open for movement, resulting in desynchronization. It could be that every single "training" mission, introducing me to new skills and game options, has been utterly useless (read: that which you train, is in no way central to the game, and if you don't actively seek out these things, you will not have to do them again), or maybe just that riding a horse is pretty much impossible unless you stay on the road. It could be that those "run through buildings" doors and windows that were advertised as so cool and special, are far and few between, or it could be that the game only ever feels open and free when I'm not doing a mission (entering a village from the wrong direction will not trigger the needed cut-scene and thus the game will not proceed). Maybe it's that the "marker" on the screen is some Animus-styled almost invisible shimmering that you will not see unless you're really really close, or maybe it's that the Desmond part of the game is so skimped on that it feels like it might as well have been left out.

    All in all I think my disappointment with this game all boils down to it being chalk-full of bugs and glitches, the controls feeling wonky and the gameplay very unbalanced. The storyline is far from as engaging as has been the case with the previous editions, the lead character is bland and forgettable, memorable characters are few and there is little cohesion between the Animus world and the real world. A lot was advertised, and little was delivered. With the past four games holding such high quality, naturally there were high expectations... but sadly, very few were met. If you want a linear cinematic that looks great, but don't care too much about playability (or just don't care about your time and money), then by all means, get the game. If you want playability, value your time and money, and ultimately don't want to be let down by the Assassin's Creed series, watch the Desmond and precursor story on YouTube and avoid the get the game.

    AC3 in short: a huge disappointment.
    Expand
  13. Jan 18, 2013
    1
    BORING. That ´s how you define this game in 1 word. The game history and "open world" gameplay keep the pace so slow that i almost don´t see how can they have done the assassins creed 2 trilogy.
  14. Mar 1, 2013
    5
    Assassin's Creed 3 is an experience as you wouldn't expect it... in a bad way. After the game got promoted by gorgeus and amusing missions, you play about only half of the game as the Connor we got to see. Take away the emotional story of Ezio, the way of living by the creed of Altaïr, and replace it with a boring, flat character that just wears the Assassin's outfit as a murderer'sAssassin's Creed 3 is an experience as you wouldn't expect it... in a bad way. After the game got promoted by gorgeus and amusing missions, you play about only half of the game as the Connor we got to see. Take away the emotional story of Ezio, the way of living by the creed of Altaïr, and replace it with a boring, flat character that just wears the Assassin's outfit as a murderer's license. The best thing is the only thing they did good: the Naval Warfare missions. Being in command of a ship was fun, but the same can't be said for the new combat, hunting and tree running. The combat basically got rid of the iconic hidden blade and replaced it with a tomahawk and a pistol. Combat got even easier, and yet more frustrating because of the awful complexity that was tried to mix in with the simplicity of button mashing. Hunting was fun, but seeing Connor use the same animation time after time to skin an animal, dull quick time events and the uselessnes of the money made it just "a thing to do". Money could be used to buy craftingmaterials, new weapons and costume dyes, but none of those were needed. It was just an addition to kill time, and with the huge forest, the cities and shops seemed unnecessary. That brings us to the last flaw: out of the cities and into the forest. Fun, right? Well no. For the most time treerunning worked, but the stubborn controls often had their own way of navigating through trees and taking the complete opposite path of what you wanted. And since there were barely any roofs to run on like in the previous games, it was either climbing trees like a frustrated monkey of taking the boring roadtour on the ground. For once, Desmond had the best levels. It was fun to play as Desmond, and the levels in the modern day were stunning! Connor's story was basically bad. Was it because Ubisoft focused a bit too much on Ezio, or because the franchise is becoming the newest cashcow? I don't know. Maybe both. It's worth a playthrough, but the characters and new additions, except for the naval warfare missions and Desmond missions, were boring and they didn't leave the emotional mark like the previous games did. Expand
  15. Feb 22, 2013
    5
    After briefly playing other Assassin's Creed games I was feeling really positive towards this title. However after playing through the prologue I encountered a few things that spoiled the whole experience for me. First is a very subjective matter the main protagonist. I am talking about Connor. After playing as Haytham who was cool, well-spoken I got a rather slow-witted and possessingAfter briefly playing other Assassin's Creed games I was feeling really positive towards this title. However after playing through the prologue I encountered a few things that spoiled the whole experience for me. First is a very subjective matter the main protagonist. I am talking about Connor. After playing as Haytham who was cool, well-spoken I got a rather slow-witted and possessing the most obvious motivation hero who is really rather dull. The graphics are good but nothing stunning. The combat system is easy to master and very satisfying. The connection between the Assassins story and the American Revolutionary War is very interesting and not forced-in. The locations look well but moving through them takes too much time and eventually leads to boredom. Naval combat is the feature which I personally found the most innovative and pleasant. It is a pity that many games concerning pirates lack this system. To sum up Assassins Creed 3 is a mediocre game but not a bad one so if you are fan of the series you probably have already bought it but if not then this one is not a must. Expand
  16. Mar 2, 2014
    6
    Almost a great game. But there are more than a couple of things in the game which prevent it from being as good as it should. The premise was always going to be sound. AC2 was an amazing game but AC3 does not build on it strongly enough and adds tedium and irritation to the gameplay by trying to do too much superficially. Colonial America doesn't seem as vibrant or immersive or real asAlmost a great game. But there are more than a couple of things in the game which prevent it from being as good as it should. The premise was always going to be sound. AC2 was an amazing game but AC3 does not build on it strongly enough and adds tedium and irritation to the gameplay by trying to do too much superficially. Colonial America doesn't seem as vibrant or immersive or real as AC2's Renaissance Europe. unfortunately, AC3 adds a lot of newer features to the game play which sometimes makes playing it tedious. the wandering around in the undergrounds beneath the cities just to find the fast travel points can be so frustratingly tedious it's more fun watching paint dry (at least then you can inhale the fumes ...) . The AI detection system is also sometimes wonky but more often than not, the detection rate can be frustrating (and sometimes it seems the guards also attack for no real reason even when you are no where near a restricted zone). The story-line and narrative isn't wholly terrible but it's not great either (at least no where near AC2). Unlike AC2 which gives a sense of character progression (without really engaging any RPG-like schemes - eg. ungrading armor/weapons, there isn't really a sense of character progression this time around). the crafting/economy/trading concept was interesting but mostly superficial. ultimately, it's sad that the most engaging gameplay (for me at least) in this installation of the Assassin's Creed franchise were the naval/sea battles. Expand
  17. Mar 8, 2013
    4
    Getting to the forest as Haytham Kenway and not being able to run in the trees made me laugh because of how racist it seemed. Anywho, the game is pretty riddled with glitches at some points and I'm not one for wanting to redo the same level twice in a row for something I have no control over. I wouldn't play it again personally, but Assassin's Creed has always been interesting before thisGetting to the forest as Haytham Kenway and not being able to run in the trees made me laugh because of how racist it seemed. Anywho, the game is pretty riddled with glitches at some points and I'm not one for wanting to redo the same level twice in a row for something I have no control over. I wouldn't play it again personally, but Assassin's Creed has always been interesting before this installment. Expand
  18. Jun 13, 2014
    7
    this port is unoptimized for the pc with constant fps drops. storytelling is good but is highly linearized .the world is less open ended than the previous game. the plus side of the game is its naval combat .
  19. Jan 23, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Assassins Creed III is a game I haven't been longing to play. The first and second game in the franchise took me by storm and fulfilled my gaming experience. This game however is a complete different story!

    Story wise this game is awesome and still stands by the Assassins Creed genre of History and Religion mixed with a little Fiction. However the game play itself is terrible terrible terrible. I even bought the game almost 2 years after release and still it's buggy as freaking hell, I dare say even worse than Fallout: New Vegas. Glitch after glitch and bug after bug. Some examples are the out of sync lip sync, cuts in the cut scenes where a lot of the dialog is lost, people vanishing in to thin air and appearing from nowhere, rag doll effect on corpses that fly away or twitch and spaz out, random people doing "acrobatics" in the middle of the street (actually worth seeing since it made me laugh out loud) and the annoying minor glitches that ruin some missions completely and just makes you so mad that you want to shove a blade in some random settler, witch is of course not possible.

    The thing that bugs me the most is a minor thing. The person you play as can't walk up stair in a normal manner. It just looks weird as hell. If I'd try it I would fall on my ass.

    Still the good things are that everything is beautiful, the landscape, graphics and the story but that can't help the terrible game play.
    Expand
  20. May 2, 2016
    3
    This game is a buggy P.O.S. it is not playable, the "challenge" of this game is getting anything to work so you can in fact "play" it, i got this game in 2016 and it doesn't work, i have had people tell me this game was boring but i love ac 1,2,4 so i decided to come back and give it a far chance but i cant even play the game, i dont even have enough space here to list everything wrongThis game is a buggy P.O.S. it is not playable, the "challenge" of this game is getting anything to work so you can in fact "play" it, i got this game in 2016 and it doesn't work, i have had people tell me this game was boring but i love ac 1,2,4 so i decided to come back and give it a far chance but i cant even play the game, i dont even have enough space here to list everything wrong with it. the short answer is you cant play it, i am so glad i played ac 4 before this one cause this would have put me off ac forever, although it still may have put me off ubisoft games so i guess the same effect, If you dont want my money ubisoft fine just stop making **** ports this is disgraceful. Expand
  21. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    this no doubt one of the best assassins creed so far,amazing story and amazing characters ,its story is even better that assassins creed 2,especially haitham character is awesome, for me 10 out of 10 is fair for this awesome game
  22. Dec 17, 2015
    7
    Gameplay : 8
    Graphics : 9
    Story : 8
    Sound : 8
    **********************************************************************************
    Overall : 8
  23. Jun 13, 2014
    2
    Sadly, Assassin's Creed 3 does little to differentiate itself from it's predecessors, spends the first third of the game on tutorials, and is otherwise a bit on the boring side. All this could be forgiven if it weren't for the fact that the PC port is terrible and crashes constantly. I have literally never uninstalled a game before I finished playing it. Congratulations AC:3. You were soSadly, Assassin's Creed 3 does little to differentiate itself from it's predecessors, spends the first third of the game on tutorials, and is otherwise a bit on the boring side. All this could be forgiven if it weren't for the fact that the PC port is terrible and crashes constantly. I have literally never uninstalled a game before I finished playing it. Congratulations AC:3. You were so bad that I couldn't be bothered to finish you. Expand
  24. Nov 24, 2013
    6
    Expected a lot more from Ubisoft, in particular this one, since its the latest installment after Ezio's trilogy. The graphics won't put you down since they are above par, however the story and gameplay will. The mechanics are worth mentioning. Not too bad, but, could have been a lot better.
  25. Dec 31, 2013
    3
    The lowest point in the series. Not only does it run like an awful console port with enhanced textures (it is) there is a show stopping bug at EVER. SINGLE. FRAGMENT. of each sequence. It felt like I was playing a random number generator instead of being a part of a scripted game. Even though the writing is a bit forced into the genre, it is the only redeeming part of the game.
  26. Jan 29, 2017
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The only good thing about this game is perhaps great facial expressions and combat animations thanks to great motion capture. Other than that I can't think of anything good about this game...

    I should perhaps just list all the negative things I could think of at the moment in point form because there are too many to mention.

    - Lack of charm of the cities
    Can't blame them for this, its hard to trump AC2 in setting.

    - Bad story
    Too predictable, lack of details in certain important events (What happened between the time gaps? How did Haytham knew he had a son?), horrible ending which only serves as a blatant sequel hook

    - Protagonist's lack of charm
    Everyone agrees that Connor is an unlikeable character due to his lack of emotion and childishness. I blame his lack of character development on bad writing.

    - Bad pacing
    Why not just make more missions instead of the unnecessary time gaps?

    - Waste of characters
    Where the f are Benjamin Franklin and Thomas Jefferson? They make Haytham such a central character just to kill him off a few missions later after meeting him in person. Really?

    - Boring side missions, useless collectibles
    This is a problem of the whole AC series. They don't contribute to the story in anyway.

    - Bad control/UI (map, accounting book and secondary weapon choice screen)
    Half of the time I waste is because of the horrible controls/UI of the accounting book and secondary weapon choice screen.

    -Bad mechanism (especially horse riding)
    It's faster to run because the horse gets stuck most of the time anyway.

    - Uplay
    Don't need to mention this, it's why I pirated this game.
    Expand
  27. Dec 10, 2013
    5
    This is the first game I played from the series and it was a huge disappointment. The controls may be OK for console players I guess but on PC I felt just like watching a movie (with a bad plot) rather than playing a game. I hate simplicity at the expense of playability. That said the game graphics and physics are fine and there are few very good ideas. But the game as a whole is tooThis is the first game I played from the series and it was a huge disappointment. The controls may be OK for console players I guess but on PC I felt just like watching a movie (with a bad plot) rather than playing a game. I hate simplicity at the expense of playability. That said the game graphics and physics are fine and there are few very good ideas. But the game as a whole is too boring for me. Expand
  28. Dec 20, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I absolutely loved Assassin's Creed III and it's clearly my favourite from the series.
    The story is thrilling and I especially liked protagonist Connor Kenway. Following from his childhood on helped building up a strong connection to him, his character shows a lot of depth. The other characters you interfere with also have quite touching stories, and yeah, I admit I shed a tear when our friend died.
    Another great aspect about the game are the fantastic graphics. Take a black horse and ride deep into the forest in winter at night, look at the full moon, see your horse rear in front of the night sky it's just amazing. I'm not a fan of too-realistic-looking graphics, and AC III got it just right!
    The game-play was also fantastic, Connor does have some awesome new skills and weapons. I played this on PC but with an X-Box controller by the way. The enemies were neither too hard nor to easy to beat, and there's no way you'll get tired of playing, there's just so much to explore. Especially the introduction of sea fights is pretty cool, though I personally was not a fan. My brother loved them, I was kind of annoyed, the controls and everything weren't all that great yet, AC IV is a huge difference to that.
    Furthermore the game has a great soundtrack and it's just made with so much love, it hurts.

    I can only recommend!
    Expand
  29. Jan 27, 2014
    2
    I have played and finished every single AC game upto this one and pretty much liked them. But my god how I hated this one. The gameplay seems to be taken right out of a beta version of the AC I. Guards get stuck in invisible walls all the time. Guards don't see you when standing right next to them, but then again see you 1 mile away. On the PC the map and every other menu makes you wantI have played and finished every single AC game upto this one and pretty much liked them. But my god how I hated this one. The gameplay seems to be taken right out of a beta version of the AC I. Guards get stuck in invisible walls all the time. Guards don't see you when standing right next to them, but then again see you 1 mile away. On the PC the map and every other menu makes you want to hit something. Quests usualy just start by talking to some dude without ANY explanation. You just run up to him, and a marker appears on the map. Many times the quest-dude just said "thank you" and the quest was over before I did anything (must have killed the particular guard sometime before?!). Immersion is broken all the time when silly things are happening all around you. For example, the main character gets a cut on his face, gets a pad soaked in alcohol pressed on it and 1 second later there is a closeup of his face and the cut is gone. I could go on and on but I wan't to forget about this game as fast as I can. Expand
  30. Jun 7, 2014
    9
    Awesome. I got this game one year after the initial release and don't really understand the low user ratings at all. Possibly the game had many bugs when it was released and it still has some minor bugs. But as far as atmosphere, story, graphics and gameplay go, it's the best game in the series so far. Simply amazing and one of the best games I've played.

    As always, I deduct one point
    Awesome. I got this game one year after the initial release and don't really understand the low user ratings at all. Possibly the game had many bugs when it was released and it still has some minor bugs. But as far as atmosphere, story, graphics and gameplay go, it's the best game in the series so far. Simply amazing and one of the best games I've played.

    As always, I deduct one point because of Uplay. It's terrible and useless (for the customer anyway) software.
    Expand
  31. Jan 24, 2014
    10
    this game was amazing! it is honestly the best one since assasians creed 2. The story was great and the gameplay was fun. I love the amazing details and it reminded me why I love the assasians creed series.
  32. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    This game is just awesome! I learned a lot history and the moments as Desmond Miles is also very cool because you are an assassin when your'e him too! The best Assassin's Creed game so far! (Better than "Black Flag"). But that is just my opinion.
  33. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    I learned how to jump from high places and broke my ear.
    I totally recommend this game to all kids who wants learn parkour stunts and kill teachers.
    11/10
  34. Mar 29, 2014
    1
    The most annoying game i've ever played, worst than sleeping dogs. I don't want to climb and stay on top of everything. Killing half of the city isn't a problem but shoving them is inappropriate. Riding a horse can't be more difficult i guess, i don't understand why both character and horse stop moving when something block their way and don't care the damn distance between the target, thisThe most annoying game i've ever played, worst than sleeping dogs. I don't want to climb and stay on top of everything. Killing half of the city isn't a problem but shoving them is inappropriate. Riding a horse can't be more difficult i guess, i don't understand why both character and horse stop moving when something block their way and don't care the damn distance between the target, this is really ridiculous. Expand
  35. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    This is the best AC game I have played so far. Sure there are some bugs and glitches but the story and game play makes up for those. The plot and storyline is awesome, the new combat system blew me away even if most of the controls has changed.

    To sum it all up its a game you won't regret playing.
  36. Apr 10, 2014
    7
    While the combat is okay and the story in the simulation is fairly interesting, the game just gets fairly difficult at times. I haven't played much of other Assassin's Creed Games, but the animal block mini games are an easy way to get killed if there's more than two or three of them. However, the naval combat is definitely my favorite part of the game, but it's ruined when I'm pulled outWhile the combat is okay and the story in the simulation is fairly interesting, the game just gets fairly difficult at times. I haven't played much of other Assassin's Creed Games, but the animal block mini games are an easy way to get killed if there's more than two or three of them. However, the naval combat is definitely my favorite part of the game, but it's ruined when I'm pulled out for no reason to listen to some boring story. If there was more Naval missions and less out of simulation story the score would've been higher. Expand
  37. Apr 17, 2014
    7
    I played AC1,2, AC brotherhood and revelation in sequence without any other game in between. After 3 hours when i started playing AC 3 , i felt like somethings is missing. After finishing the game i felt like why is this story so **** and why the **** i have to play that naive "connor"??? Where are my Assassins brothers??
    But to be fair, the game mechanics and controls are improved.
    I played AC1,2, AC brotherhood and revelation in sequence without any other game in between. After 3 hours when i started playing AC 3 , i felt like somethings is missing. After finishing the game i felt like why is this story so **** and why the **** i have to play that naive "connor"??? Where are my Assassins brothers??
    But to be fair, the game mechanics and controls are improved. Graphics are ok and the most beautiful things is, you can skip ingame cutscenes now.
    Expand
  38. Aug 16, 2017
    8
    Assassin's Creed III brings about a lot of changes just like the second game did, though most of them are not as promising or charming as what was done to Ezio's adventure.
  39. Aug 13, 2014
    9
    Very nice game with old Americian father vs son fight. Again Ubisoft make big game with many upgrades from other parts, bigger world and even how we, enemy became more and more powerfull. Graphic in this game is best part of the game for sure and sound is one of the luxury part of this game. I give this game 9/10 1 point i take for console porting, but after patching game works like charm.Very nice game with old Americian father vs son fight. Again Ubisoft make big game with many upgrades from other parts, bigger world and even how we, enemy became more and more powerfull. Graphic in this game is best part of the game for sure and sound is one of the luxury part of this game. I give this game 9/10 1 point i take for console porting, but after patching game works like charm. So what now Assassins ? Go and play this awesome gang, its worth ^^ Expand
  40. Sep 13, 2014
    5
    I really liked the story but the game was so buggy, glitching and I had already had my fill hunting animals and doing side missions in Far Cry 3 that I didnt even touch anything of those. Game-play had new controls (an improvement to the previous games) but the magic of climbing building and stuff was lost. I was travelling with Fast-Travel whenever I could and by horse in the town causeI really liked the story but the game was so buggy, glitching and I had already had my fill hunting animals and doing side missions in Far Cry 3 that I didnt even touch anything of those. Game-play had new controls (an improvement to the previous games) but the magic of climbing building and stuff was lost. I was travelling with Fast-Travel whenever I could and by horse in the town cause of the long distances, and nowhere to go from rooftop to rooftop. Expand
  41. Mar 28, 2015
    5
    Another quite lackluster game in the tower-climbing simulator series. Even if the setting is quite fascinating, the main character is not up to that same standard, nor is the majority of the story. The intro was quite good though.
  42. Mar 28, 2016
    4
    Gameplay is very, very lacking... AC3 is technically a movie with intermittent "gameplay" that is really just there to force you to put your popcorn away for a minute before you get to experience the next cutscene. If you're looking to experience a game per se, just forget about this one. If you're interested in what's happening in the AC storyline, just look up the "Assassin's Creed IIIGameplay is very, very lacking... AC3 is technically a movie with intermittent "gameplay" that is really just there to force you to put your popcorn away for a minute before you get to experience the next cutscene. If you're looking to experience a game per se, just forget about this one. If you're interested in what's happening in the AC storyline, just look up the "Assassin's Creed III movie", which is essentially all the cutscenes edited together. Guess how long it is... IT CUTS REALLY CLOSE TO FIVE F'N HOURS!! Expand
  43. Nov 23, 2014
    6
    Assassin's creed 3 was a revolutionary new idea to the franchise and in some cases it worked and in others it did not. One of the good things was the new naval combat which took you to many different locations while on the helm of your ship. Assassin's Creed 3 provides a new range of tools and skills to the AC games from your tomahawk, to your bow and mines you the strap onto your enemiesAssassin's creed 3 was a revolutionary new idea to the franchise and in some cases it worked and in others it did not. One of the good things was the new naval combat which took you to many different locations while on the helm of your ship. Assassin's Creed 3 provides a new range of tools and skills to the AC games from your tomahawk, to your bow and mines you the strap onto your enemies backs. However I wasn't keen on the cities which felt boring and lifeless. The story line of Assassins Creed 3 started of really strong but after sequence 7, things started to go down hill. Hathem Kenway was one of my favorite Templars in the Assassin's Creed games and I enjoyed playing as him. When Connor came along I enjoyed playing as him also. However I hated the ending and didn't like the Templar Charles Lee who you kill at the end. Hathem should have been the one you kill because 1) he is Connors father, 2) he is grand master of the Templar order, and 3) you play as him before so you have some experience of his ways. Overall I would call Assassin's Creed 3 a good game but still would prefer the old classics like AC2 and Brotherhood over this one. Expand
  44. Dec 3, 2014
    4
    I hated AC1 because of it's repetitiveness and it's **** ending. I loved AC2, Brotherhood, and Revelations. I hoped the third could be much more better than AC2. But its a lot worst than AC1.

    Game play: walk 10 steps, press E to skip scene, walk 5 steps, press E. Enter tabern, press E, exit tabern, press E, walk 2 steps and press E, ride a horse pressing W for 15 minutes then press E to
    I hated AC1 because of it's repetitiveness and it's **** ending. I loved AC2, Brotherhood, and Revelations. I hoped the third could be much more better than AC2. But its a lot worst than AC1.

    Game play: walk 10 steps, press E to skip scene, walk 5 steps, press E. Enter tabern, press E, exit tabern, press E, walk 2 steps and press E, ride a horse pressing W for 15 minutes then press E to skip scene... and so, for at least 35 hours.

    It's absolute boredom. The main characters has nothing. Except for Haytham, Lee, and Hickey, all of them are plain, bland, and lack any interest or personality. Specially Connor. Gordon Freeman has much more charisma than Connor. FFS it had so much potential! Ubi, what have you done?! Absolute boredom.

    Not only that, but this game is a plethora of bugs. It even corrupts your saved progress from time to time so you have to start again and again and again. I've started it up 4 times now! It's ridiculous!

    I give it a 4 because of the beautiful graphics, the parkour, and the brutal combat sequences.
    Expand
  45. Oct 22, 2015
    9
    I can't give the game a perfect 10, as it doesn't have any new features or missions as the other versions but I can say that Assassin's Creed III is simply beautiful on the PC. Surprisingly, the game never dropped below a solid 60fps even when I had all the graphics maxed out. There are still some glitches, but I noticed no game-breaking ones---the worst glitches were people randomlyI can't give the game a perfect 10, as it doesn't have any new features or missions as the other versions but I can say that Assassin's Creed III is simply beautiful on the PC. Surprisingly, the game never dropped below a solid 60fps even when I had all the graphics maxed out. There are still some glitches, but I noticed no game-breaking ones---the worst glitches were people randomly appearing or guards randomly falling, and these were very rare.

    The load times now take from about a minute long (the Wii U version) to anywhere from three seconds to ten seconds max on the PC version. There's still just as much content as the other versions and it's just as engaging. It seems you'll never run out of things to do. From debunking myths like the Headless Horseman to exploring the maze-like underground sections of the towns to completing your hunting map by finding every animal in a certain area, this game is simply astounding in the amount of content it offers.

    I wish I could give this game a 10, but as it's not a remake, you'd have to check out my Wii U review for details on my gripes. But this is easily the best version of Assassin's Creed III along with its sequel Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag.
    Expand
  46. Jan 24, 2015
    10
    This game is my favorite game.The quality of graphic featured in this game is thrilling.The whole story line of this game is also accurate.The design and the textures of each an every buildings that are featured in this game is accurate.this game is totally worth buying.
  47. Dec 7, 2015
    9
    The story (there are a lot haters, but I loved it), the atmosphere, the characters, the soundtrack that gave me goosebumps every time I heard it, the ending, also the multiplayer.. This is the best Assassin's Creed game of 'em all in my opinion. 9/10
  48. Mar 22, 2016
    9
    This game is awesome. not only does it make it so you can play as an assassin, but you can also play as tribesmen and climb trees and hunt animals. I have not completed it yet but im sure to play it again soon
  49. Feb 26, 2016
    7
    Basado en la época de la guerra de independencia estadounidense. Me encantó los escenarios y el añadido de la caza al juego. Historia bastante aceptable.
  50. Aug 7, 2016
    8
    This game is good, but have got minuses. Graphics in this game is good, but graphics in Max Payne 3 and Prototype 2 are much better, gameplay is awesome, but this gameplay in Assassin's Creed II implemented better, storyline in this game is good, but in Assassin's Creed II storyline is better and in this game normal character, but character from Assassin's Creed Unity and character fromThis game is good, but have got minuses. Graphics in this game is good, but graphics in Max Payne 3 and Prototype 2 are much better, gameplay is awesome, but this gameplay in Assassin's Creed II implemented better, storyline in this game is good, but in Assassin's Creed II storyline is better and in this game normal character, but character from Assassin's Creed Unity and character from Assassin's Creed, Assassin's Creed 2 is much better too . Assassin's Creed III is good game, but isn't one of the best games of 2012 . Expand
  51. Apr 13, 2016
    2
    Am I the only one that found this so utterly boring? The characters were dull, there was, what felt like, hardly any game play and the story was just as interesting as a dishwasher. All this game consisted of was walking from one objective to another. I felt no excitement while playing this at all! Connor annoyed the hell out of me, his voice was irritating and he literally had noAm I the only one that found this so utterly boring? The characters were dull, there was, what felt like, hardly any game play and the story was just as interesting as a dishwasher. All this game consisted of was walking from one objective to another. I felt no excitement while playing this at all! Connor annoyed the hell out of me, his voice was irritating and he literally had no personality! The fact that this game is some people's favourite AC game baffles me... Its just so awful! I'm actually quite surprised I was able to finish the game... Expand
  52. Dec 18, 2016
    2
    This is the first Assassins Creed game that went downstairs.
    I enjoyed the game until the NAVAL MISSIONS showed up.What the f*** is this? Pirate Creed ?
    Worst wanted system.Guards at every damn corner.
    The only thing i liked about this game is improved movement and combat.
    The character faces are f***ed up,again after Revelations.I feel like i`m not playing Desmond anymore.
  53. Dec 21, 2016
    7
    Got this game for free recently. Have not played other AC games, so my opinion of this game is not based on comparison to its predecessors.

    When I first started playing, there were significant camera glitches. However, I tracked them to the source, and they can be entirely fixed by disabling recording software that I never use anyway. It's a good game so far. The story is
    Got this game for free recently. Have not played other AC games, so my opinion of this game is not based on comparison to its predecessors.

    When I first started playing, there were significant camera glitches. However, I tracked them to the source, and they can be entirely fixed by disabling recording software that I never use anyway.

    It's a good game so far. The story is compelling enough for me to keep playing. I'm a big fan of American history, so the setting alone is a bonus. The game is difficult enough to feel like it's a game, and not just a playable movie. I like the parkour, although it feels rather restricted compared to some other games I've played (though, to be fair, the animations for this parkour is based on motion capture and almost feels realistic, while the more fun parkour is all entirely magical).

    Just got to a section where the focus jumps from one main character to a different one. Kind of disjointed, changing it in the middle of the game, not to mention that the whole feel of the game is different when you switch from following Haytham to following Connor.

    The game was almost entirely missing tutorials. I didn't even find out about changing items until starting the Connor sequence. I guess they're there, but you have to go through the menus.

    I would have liked a better aiming system and a better combat system that better resembles a game centered around combat, but that's a stylistic choice. As it is, you press a button to block an incoming attack, if you time it right then it gives you a second to press another button to either insta-kill or disarm your opponent. For guns, a target is highlighted and you press a button to shoot. The stylistic choice there is that everything is all done with motion capture, using real motions that are all very smooth, and giving more freedom in a fight would have broken the realism.

    I like how for every mission there are several optional challenges that it gives you at the beginning. Gives you an incentive to try making it harder than just muddling through the minimum.

    Overall not awful, but then according to other reviews it's terrible compared to others in the series.
    Expand
  54. Jun 7, 2017
    10
    My favorite Assasin's Creed is III. Because I like Indigenous assasin and anything. I see here few glitches or bugs but thats not a problem. Game is good. :)
  55. Dec 8, 2016
    3
    This game is a joke, as well as everything about Uplay. Takes ages to load anything and I couldn't even find an option to skip the boring cut scenes.
    The options are ridiculously confusing to the point of wanting to break the keyboard.
    At certain point of the game, you notice this game is nothing like Assassin's Creed when you start to go through the horrible boat missions. Seriously...
    This game is a joke, as well as everything about Uplay. Takes ages to load anything and I couldn't even find an option to skip the boring cut scenes.
    The options are ridiculously confusing to the point of wanting to break the keyboard.
    At certain point of the game, you notice this game is nothing like Assassin's Creed when you start to go through the horrible boat missions. Seriously... It's bad... I mean, it's really bad.
    As much as the "tower defense" missions from the previous AC is awesome and entertaining, these boat quests are HORRIBLE!
    I tried to find an option to skip the gameplay just so I could realize the best feature of this horrible game was the uninstall button to remove UPLAY and Assassins Creed III once and for all from my computer.
    If you want a great Assassin's Creed experience, play AC II and stop there. If you want to keep going with the story to see where it goes, play Brotherhood and Revelations and stop there. If you want to hate AC to the point of never wanting to see this game ever again, AC III is your best option. It will definitely spare you from wanting to even see the continuation of this series that started awesomely and ended up deep in the garbage bin.
    Expand
  56. Dec 16, 2016
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really enjoy Assassin's Creed games. I love AC 2 and Brotherhood, but this is not at the level of AC 2. The story was so predictable that when you become the assassin, you know how the game will end! And seriously, everyone knew that Connor was going to kill his father. This for my opinion is one of the worst Assassin's Creed games out there. I got on the Ubi30 event for free. I wish I didn't do that. For me it was like a chore to complete the game. I knew exactly whats going to happen, and the GAME IS TOO EASY! Seriously I know that AC games are easy, but m8 this is the easiest game I ever played. Games like Harry Potter 5 are harder than this! And in Harry Potter 5 YOU CANT EVEN FAIL. I just died 1 because I wanted to try what happens when you die so suicided from a building. The exploration sucks, the hunting sucks, the side missions are average, shops? What even are shops? I never used a shop until a completed the game, you don't have too. I completed the game using my punches, seriously??? The only good thing I can say is that the combat moves are AWESOME, but the combat still sucks.And if that isn't enough, you have bugs. I am the only one, that cant play without at least 10 bugs in 2 hours?? WTF?

    Pros:
    Combat Moves

    Cons:
    Bugs
    TOO EASY
    Combat sucks
    Story sucks
    Side missions that you never do
    Exploration, THERE NOTHING TO EXPLORE
    And the worst thing a game can have, ITS ANNOYING AF

    Final Verdict: 2/10 AWFUL
    Expand
  57. Dec 20, 2016
    7
    Un juego decente (menos en rendimiento, apartado en el que por cierto es una mierda).
    La historia de este juego es complicada de entender, tuve que jugarlo 2 veces para entender el por qué de un par de cosas, aunque tanto el final como la pelea de Connor contra su Haytham, me parecieron estúpidas y enormemente evitables.
    Le doy un 7 porque jugarlo es muy entretenido, porque cambiaron
    Un juego decente (menos en rendimiento, apartado en el que por cierto es una mierda).
    La historia de este juego es complicada de entender, tuve que jugarlo 2 veces para entender el por qué de un par de cosas, aunque tanto el final como la pelea de Connor contra su Haytham, me parecieron estúpidas y enormemente evitables.

    Le doy un 7 porque jugarlo es muy entretenido, porque cambiaron el sistema de parkour y agregaron varias cosas más como Barcos y armas.
    Expand
  58. Apr 2, 2017
    7
    Quite a break off from first four games. It receives a lot of hate apparently because it is not about Ezio, but this is definitely not a bad game. This is a good game but not much of Asssassin's Creed game, hence why so much disappointment from fans I think. The general setting is very good, story is interesting, main characters are strong, graphics is on entirely new level, kind of entryQuite a break off from first four games. It receives a lot of hate apparently because it is not about Ezio, but this is definitely not a bad game. This is a good game but not much of Asssassin's Creed game, hence why so much disappointment from fans I think. The general setting is very good, story is interesting, main characters are strong, graphics is on entirely new level, kind of entry level to modern design, soundtrack is good. And what I really liked is that finally I got some reasonable amount of Desmond story, not just some shades and few minutes per game, now it was some meaningful amount, finally. The only thing that makes this game belong to AC series to be honest, if not this I wouldn't understand why did it get AC name, aside from Desmond story there is very little from Assassin's Creed in this game. It also lacks a bit of consistency, jumps from place to place, not giving you too much of a control. Cities are also quite small and insignificant, the game has lost a lot of a open world feel from previous parts. Anyway, a good game as a standalone creation, but not a very strong position in the series. Expand
  59. Apr 17, 2017
    3
    Cet AC (et c'est assez d'AC avec ce 5ème épisode !) est une catastrophe. Il est pourtant très abouti techniquement (malgré quelques ralentissements parfois) et clairement dans le haut du panier. L'univers est grand, trop grand, imposant de surcroît des allers et retours incessants à crapahuter et faire le zouave dans cette putain de forêt et chasser (!) des animaux dont on a que faireCet AC (et c'est assez d'AC avec ce 5ème épisode !) est une catastrophe. Il est pourtant très abouti techniquement (malgré quelques ralentissements parfois) et clairement dans le haut du panier. L'univers est grand, trop grand, imposant de surcroît des allers et retours incessants à crapahuter et faire le zouave dans cette putain de forêt et chasser (!) des animaux dont on a que faire (rien à voir avec la chasse réussie, elle, de Far Cry 3...).

    Si AC3 est beau et qu'il tourne très bien la majorité du temps, son manque de finition (comprendre : le nombre assez ahurissant de bugs) est consternant. Des détails, des petites choses, rien de rédhibitoire mais à force ça énerve. Autre souci, l'interface revue sur des détails également mais qui vont toujours dans le mauvais sens (et la maniabilité -au pad- en fait les frais).

    A tout cela s'ajoute l'histoire ou le semblant d'histoire qui remporte la palme de la nullité et de l'immense n'importe quoi ; s'ajoute aussi le Connor qui a le charisme d'un beignet et qui fait pièce rapportée du début à la fin (seul Haytham tire son épingle du jeu, les autres personnages sonnent faux et ridicules et la VF québecoise n'arrange rien...).

    Il reste tout de même quelques trop rares (bonnes) missions d'infiltration et des combats qui tiennent le pavé. On note malgré tout un abus de scripts et de scènes à QTE ainsi que des batailles navales spectaculaires mais qui peinent à convaincre totalement. Je me suis ennuyé à partir de la moitié du jeu et me suis forcé à continuer jusqu'à la fin ou la dernière scène scriptée m'a achevé. Littéralement.

    AC3 propose donc une expérience très dégradée des précédents AC : Ubi Soft Montréal vient juste d'assassiner sa propre licence avec cet épisode (vraiment) de trop.
    Expand
  60. Feb 28, 2017
    8
    In the long term, this game seems to be quite good. Changing seasons open full nature and animals of the world are certainly advantages of this game. Large selection of weapons makes a lot of fun during the game. I love to use a cable with a hook guards to hang on a branch.
  61. Mar 4, 2017
    8
    Amerika özgürlük savaşını konu alan oyun;
    Karakterler mükemmel, Haritalar ve detaylar mükemmel. Oynarken ortamın güzelliğiyle, savaşın içinde bulacaksınız kendinizi.
  62. Mar 13, 2017
    10
    For me this is one of the best Assassins creed...................... The map, the cities and de History are great, also that you can seal and modify your ship is great
  63. Mar 17, 2017
    6
    Only for those who want to finish the Desmond story or people who are interested in something Civil War related. I find the Connor the strongest Assassin (at least now that I've played until Unity...:/ yes that sh*t). The only bad thing I find about this game is the segmentation of the map and the storytelling at the fist half of the game (which has one of the worst paces I've ever seen inOnly for those who want to finish the Desmond story or people who are interested in something Civil War related. I find the Connor the strongest Assassin (at least now that I've played until Unity...:/ yes that sh*t). The only bad thing I find about this game is the segmentation of the map and the storytelling at the fist half of the game (which has one of the worst paces I've ever seen in a media content). At the second half things get better, music has some good moments and it's good for it's ending. It's a shame that they didn't achieve something more "open world" with such incredible landscapes.

    If you're fan of AC or you want something else (better than this) I fully recommend Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag. The PS4 version if it's possible which I consider the best one.
    Expand
  64. Apr 7, 2017
    9
    Read my honest 8 month late review of AC and **** metacritic, paste this link into your browser thanks @ http://www.thelategamer.com/video-game-review/pc/assassins-creed-3/
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. PC Master (Greece)
    Feb 6, 2013
    80
    Assassin’s Creed III proves to be, despite its promises, a rather indecisive game. It comes with so many strong elements, that it could have been the best Assassin’s Creed ever, but it fails to harmonically balance those elements. [January 2013]
  2. Jan 29, 2013
    85
    Assassin's Creed 3 offers a spectacular way to fill in the blanks in your knowledge of the American Revolution - it never holds back on scope, drama or action.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Jan 23, 2013
    84
    What, no French revolution? For Europeans, birth of the United States is not really very interesting time nor environment. And after Ezio (or Haytham Kenway), Connor is bland, irritating protagonist. Game is also full of chores that add very little to the experience. [Jan 2013]