Assassin's Creed III PC

Assassin's Creed III Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1563 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assume the role of Connor, the son of a Native American mother and English father. As a revolution is imminent, your people are threatened by a powerful movement aiming to quell the American revolution and seize control the colonies. After your village is decimated, you bind yourself to theAssume the role of Connor, the son of a Native American mother and English father. As a revolution is imminent, your people are threatened by a powerful movement aiming to quell the American revolution and seize control the colonies. After your village is decimated, you bind yourself to the cause of freedom, and set out on a decades-long quest to achieve it. Your predatory instincts, developed through years of hunting in rough tundra, enable you to pursue and kill your targets in silence. When overt combat becomes necessary, you can uncork a myriad of weapons including tomahawks, darts, and guns. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Take the Battle to the Seas - Assassin's Creed III
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Nov 30, 2012
    100
    The PC version of Assassin's Creed III has been injected with eye-popping enhancements that bring its compelling story to life. It's like personally participating in the American Revolution without the consequences of death. The ticket price of traveling back to the fascinating period of America's battle for independence, and the fictional story that Ubisoft Montpellier has layered within it, is just a copy of Assassin's Creed III and a high-end PC. Just remember that you'll have to leave your social life behind.
  2. Nov 25, 2012
    92
    The best version so far. It solves many issues and keeps some others, and, even though it doesn't make the most of current PCs, we still think it's the best way to enjoy this outstanding game.
  3. Dec 10, 2012
    90
    If you're looking for the best platform to play Assassin's Creed III, well, take a look at the PC version and you won't be disappointed.
  4. Dec 6, 2012
    85
    Assassin's Creed III rekindled my love for the series. The new setting and characters were a great welcome for me, and the story was well told through some great writing and voice acting. There are some complications here and there that can bog the player down, but for the most part, the amount of content you get in this game is a steal for the price. The PC version is by far the best way to go if you have the rig for it, and the options for the PC players are satisfying.
  5. CD-Action
    Jan 6, 2013
    85
    Although it's hard not to appreciate the story (the line between the good and the evil was never this thin in any previous Assassin's Creed) numerous technical issues prevent you from forgetting it's just a game. In addition controls are not very intuitive and low resolution textures occur far too often. Still it's definitely worth playing. [1/2013, p.52]
  6. PC Master (Greece)
    Feb 6, 2013
    80
    Assassin’s Creed III proves to be, despite its promises, a rather indecisive game. It comes with so many strong elements, that it could have been the best Assassin’s Creed ever, but it fails to harmonically balance those elements. [January 2013]
  7. PC PowerPlay
    Dec 30, 2012
    40
    Bloated and hubristic, Assassin's Creed III is a shocking disappointment. If you adored Assassin's Creed II, you would be better served replaying that and forgetting this even exists. [Jan 2013, p.77]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    This game is awesome :P I really enjoy myself during my game-play. Although there are some bugs or glitches but they don't effect my gameThis game is awesome :P I really enjoy myself during my game-play. Although there are some bugs or glitches but they don't effect my game experiences. I believe assassin's creed 3 is worth a 10 score Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2012
    9
    Lot of fun, very solid port, the controls are much better than the previous games, combat still feels a bit awkward but I will probably getLot of fun, very solid port, the controls are much better than the previous games, combat still feels a bit awkward but I will probably get used to it, the graphics are a big step up, the people look almost real, the environments lush and full of detail, and in the frontier there are wild animals that you can hunt and skin, adding further into the depth, trees and rocks are fully climbable, and adds a lot to exploration, the voice work is really high quality, and you meet a lot of founding fathers like Ben Franklin, Sam Adams, and George Washington. My only issue is that Connor is kind of boring as a character, he doesn't have the charm that Ezio had, but he's still pretty cool. Good game over all, worth buying if you're a fan of the series. Expand
  3. Mar 4, 2017
    8
    Amerika özgürlük savaşını konu alan oyun;
    Karakterler mükemmel, Haritalar ve detaylar mükemmel. Oynarken ortamın güzelliğiyle, savaşın içinde
    Amerika özgürlük savaşını konu alan oyun;
    Karakterler mükemmel, Haritalar ve detaylar mükemmel. Oynarken ortamın güzelliğiyle, savaşın içinde bulacaksınız kendinizi.
    Expand
  4. Oct 12, 2014
    6
    This game was a very mixed experience of good and bad, and while it's not too bad in the end, it suffers from several flaws that could haveThis game was a very mixed experience of good and bad, and while it's not too bad in the end, it suffers from several flaws that could have easily been fixed to make it a much better game. I tried to play it for the first time about a year ago, but before even finishing the prologue sequence I got frustrated and gave up. It took me awhile to give it another try, and this time I stuck it out played all the way through. Connor's story has some really good moments, especially at the end of the prologue sequence (easily one of the best moments of the whole series). However, both Connor's and Desmond's stories went through stretches where they didn't make much sense or were just boring. Worst of all, both stories' ending were pretty anticlimactic. Right when you're waiting for a big payoff (after several games and many hours of play), they just putter out. The game introduced some new features that I liked, such as having different abilities for assassin recruits, hunting game, and crafting. Unfortunately, these features failed to reach anywhere close to their full potential: once they level up some (or you recruit several) the assassin's abilities are not too helpful, as they can just kill anything anyways. Hunting is mostly used for crafting and trade, but there isn't much worth crafting after you get the few available upgrades, and money quickly becomes useless once you upgrade your ship, which you can do pretty early on. By far my favorite new aspect was the addition of naval combat missions. While quite different in nature from the traditional AC gameplay--going for all-out combat instead of stealthy kills--it was fairly well implemented and gave a welcome break from running around through endless streets and trails. One thing that this game did horribly, however, was the controls: AC games on PC have a reputation for being lazy console ports, but it seems like instead of getting better, this issue is getting worse. Instead of allowing you to take advantage of having a keyboard with more than a half dozen keys, the game wants to force you to use the same couple keys for everything, with the result that you frequently end up doing something completely different than you intended. Finally, the voice acting is pretty terrible in general, and this is especially noticeable with Connor, the protagonist, who spends the whole game sounding like he's reading his lines and just doesn't care. Overall, it's not a bad game, and it's worth playing if you're an AC fan. I just wish that Ubisoft had put more thought and effort into the game, as it had the potential to be a very good one... Expand
  5. Dec 23, 2012
    4
    Honestly, I could almost copy my Far Cry 3 review over here since this game suffers from the same issues. AC3 as well is a prime example ofHonestly, I could almost copy my Far Cry 3 review over here since this game suffers from the same issues. AC3 as well is a prime example of mass produced casual garbage. It also suffers from a complete lack of creativity and vision, not to mention the same dreadful casualisation that aims to take all challenge out of the game and make everything so simple that even a monkey who fell as baby from a tree and badly hit it's head could do it. Why I'm giving it a higher rating than Far Cry 3 (Rating 1)? It's because the world is a little more immersive and you at least don't see blinking weapon and ammunition vendor machines in this game. Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2013
    3
    Terrible AI, game breaking control system (even on a gamepad it's dire) and absolutely terrible combat system. I've no idea how they managedTerrible AI, game breaking control system (even on a gamepad it's dire) and absolutely terrible combat system. I've no idea how they managed to go so downhill from AC1.

    Waste of time and money.
    Expand
  7. Sep 27, 2017
    0
    the worst AC ever!!!!!!unskipable cutscenes,awful game design,worst sidemissions...I could barely play in this sh***t...ACthe worst AC ever!!!!!!unskipable cutscenes,awful game design,worst sidemissions...I could barely play in this sh***t...AC 1,2,brotherhood,revalations,black flag,rough they are good but this......... Expand

See all 364 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.