Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1161 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 1715. Pirates rule the waters of the Caribbean and have established a lawless Republic. Among these outlaws is a lethal young captain named Edward Kenway. His notorious exploits earn the respect of legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroyThe year is 1715. Pirates rule the waters of the Caribbean and have established a lawless Republic. Among these outlaws is a lethal young captain named Edward Kenway. His notorious exploits earn the respect of legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built for themselves. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    There are refinements still to be made but Black Flag is a stunning return to form worthy of any gamer’s time.
  2. Dec 30, 2013
    90
    Makes up for the failings of AC3, delivering a fantastic, engaging open world experience. [Jan 2014, p.78]
  3. Jan 16, 2014
    90
    Fans that were bummed out by Assassin’s Creed III will most likely find Black Flag to be a welcoming return to what they love about the series, with a great story, amazingly crafted world and smart additions to the sailing that make it a refreshing part of the Assassin’s Creed formula.
  4. Dec 19, 2013
    87
    At the end of a generation, Ubisoft gives us a new and great chapter of Assassin's Creed. Black Flag, despite some congenital defects works great, focusing on the exploration and a free roaming component refreshed for the most.
  5. Nov 24, 2013
    80
    Like its winsome protagonist, Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag is fixated on pursuing the riches of high-seas piracy and seems reluctant to be drawn into convoluted Templar plots. The most self-aware Assassin’s Creed title to date, and one that makes the most of some aging mechanics.
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    80
    The game looks absolutely beautiful, is jam packed with things to do, and as ever, the combat is a joy to fiddle with.
  7. Mar 5, 2014
    60
    Ironically enough for a game which centers around the concept of genetic ancestry, however, it continually lets itself down by refusing to break away from its own tired and worn-out heritage,

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 261
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    The Assassin Creed Franchise has had its up and downs, but ACV is absolutely an up. This game is extremely fun and I recommend it to anyoneThe Assassin Creed Franchise has had its up and downs, but ACV is absolutely an up. This game is extremely fun and I recommend it to anyone who enjoyed the previous games. The ship combat has improved and the graphics are beautiful. This game is probably my favorite in the franchise so far. Expand
  2. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    Ubisoft took all wrongs from AC3 and made them right.
    AC4 has a much more immersive and intriguing world. The naval combat and exploration
    Ubisoft took all wrongs from AC3 and made them right.
    AC4 has a much more immersive and intriguing world. The naval combat and exploration are very enjoyable, mission aren't as repetitive and give you MUCH more freedom.
    Edward is also a very interesting character. You see him mature and become a better person. Character development is very good.
    Overall this game is fun and you will find yourself spending much more time in it than you probably expected.
    Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    People are funny (or is that just PC gamers?). Yes, yes, yes it has some minor technical issues (FPS) that will need patching, but these arePeople are funny (or is that just PC gamers?). Yes, yes, yes it has some minor technical issues (FPS) that will need patching, but these are expected for a game with this much scale. I felt that depressing feeling during the opening cutscene and tutorial island when the game wasn't as smooth as I'd hoped. Once I boarded my ship and headed to Havana, things improved and confidence regained (unlike my hairline). AC:BF is very good. The map is HUGE, the graphics (some frame rate drops) are excellent, the sound passionate, the naval element well implemented, animations are fabulous, cutscenes and voice acting some of the best i've seen and the game is simply fun. Greatly improved from AC3 and with so much to do and collect, it's gonna take a while to see all of it. This is my new favourite AC game. Enjoy. Collapse
  4. Jan 5, 2014
    8
    It's hard to rate this game, although it's the best game of the franchise in my opinion. First of all, the setting is great (nice open worldIt's hard to rate this game, although it's the best game of the franchise in my opinion. First of all, the setting is great (nice open world and places just look beautiful) and I really like the way the story is told. The storyline itself is different compared with the other Assassin's Creed games and this makes this game so special (the story which is placed in the background (in the "reality") follows on the events of the third part, but it's as bad as before and occupies only a small part in the whole game) The gameplay is solid and sometimes it seems to be too easy. And now for the problems: The graphics are great but I just don't get it why Ubisoft isn't able to develop a game, since Assassin's Creed 3, which runs smooth on good hardware GTX 680, Intel Xeon E3 1230v3 (30 FPS and worse on max settings)). I'm able to run Battlefield 4 and Crysis 3 on max settings without any issues, but this is a joke. Another joke is the recycling of older games. Almost the whole movement of Edward Kenway is copied from Connor in Assassin's Creed 3. I can believe that they don't have much ideas left, but this is ridiculous. Next thing: Optional objectives. I really like the idea of optional objectives, but sometimes I don't know if the developers even tested them (and don't tell me I'm just a bad gamer).
    At large it's a really good game, but it definitely doesn't deserve 10/10, because it's nothing new, they just changed the setting.
    Expand
  5. May 6, 2014
    7
    Pretty pirate-simulator with some fun naval combat. Let down though by the usual repetitive quests, stupid sword-play combat, and lack of aPretty pirate-simulator with some fun naval combat. Let down though by the usual repetitive quests, stupid sword-play combat, and lack of a particularly interesting narrative journey or characters. An improvement for sure on the last AC. The best aspect of the game is traversing the picturesque waters in changing weather conditions on a boat full of pirates singing a song. Not much tension or drama, plenty of grind. Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2014
    5
    The franchise really jumped the shark with this one as assassinations and history are no longer the foundation of the gameplay. Now youThe franchise really jumped the shark with this one as assassinations and history are no longer the foundation of the gameplay. Now you basically have a glorified mini-game (sailing around in the Jackdaw) and collectables as the centrepiece which is as tedious as it sounds. The story is straight out of a Uwe Boll film, and I swear you can almost imagine the voice actors flinching when doing their third rate lines. Not that this franchise ever had a satisfying story it was always more about the characters. That being said I never connected with this character, previous protagonists especially Ezio had a personal matter setting them off into the world, this guy just wants to earn some money. I mean, that's nice for him but it doesn't make me sympathize or immerse.

    As a cherry on top this game coming from a franchise which used to proud itself in its presentation of history contains almost no historical facts at all. Like, in the first 2 cities you have maybe 3 or 4 buildings you can check in the animus and that's pretty much it. All in all, this game made me really sad because of its pampering to the lowest common denominator.
    Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2014
    0
    One reason should be enough. And it's called U PLay. I'm not buying these ubisoft games anymore. I don't like to be forced to feed your dataOne reason should be enough. And it's called U PLay. I'm not buying these ubisoft games anymore. I don't like to be forced to feed your data mining software. I also don't like to be forced to have another game client on top of Steam. And I don't like to have the game crashing to desktop that often. Expand

See all 261 User Reviews