Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1555 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 1715. Pirates rule the waters of the Caribbean and have established a lawless Republic. Among these outlaws is a lethal young captain named Edward Kenway. His notorious exploits earn the respect of legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroyThe year is 1715. Pirates rule the waters of the Caribbean and have established a lawless Republic. Among these outlaws is a lethal young captain named Edward Kenway. His notorious exploits earn the respect of legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built for themselves. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag - Horizon E3 2013 Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    There are refinements still to be made but Black Flag is a stunning return to form worthy of any gamer’s time.
  2. PC PowerPlay
    Dec 30, 2013
    90
    Makes up for the failings of AC3, delivering a fantastic, engaging open world experience. [Jan 2014, p.78]
  3. Jan 16, 2014
    90
    Fans that were bummed out by Assassin’s Creed III will most likely find Black Flag to be a welcoming return to what they love about the series, with a great story, amazingly crafted world and smart additions to the sailing that make it a refreshing part of the Assassin’s Creed formula.
  4. Dec 19, 2013
    87
    At the end of a generation, Ubisoft gives us a new and great chapter of Assassin's Creed. Black Flag, despite some congenital defects works great, focusing on the exploration and a free roaming component refreshed for the most.
  5. Nov 24, 2013
    80
    Like its winsome protagonist, Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag is fixated on pursuing the riches of high-seas piracy and seems reluctant to be drawn into convoluted Templar plots. The most self-aware Assassin’s Creed title to date, and one that makes the most of some aging mechanics.
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    80
    The game looks absolutely beautiful, is jam packed with things to do, and as ever, the combat is a joy to fiddle with.
  7. Mar 5, 2014
    60
    Ironically enough for a game which centers around the concept of genetic ancestry, however, it continually lets itself down by refusing to break away from its own tired and worn-out heritage,

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 293
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    The Assassin Creed Franchise has had its up and downs, but ACV is absolutely an up. This game is extremely fun and I recommend it to anyoneThe Assassin Creed Franchise has had its up and downs, but ACV is absolutely an up. This game is extremely fun and I recommend it to anyone who enjoyed the previous games. The ship combat has improved and the graphics are beautiful. This game is probably my favorite in the franchise so far. Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2017
    10
    This game is very fun to play. Everything looks very fine and colourful. Graphic is very good. Gameplay is fine no bugs or glitch on itThis game is very fun to play. Everything looks very fine and colourful. Graphic is very good. Gameplay is fine no bugs or glitch on it storyline is also good. Expand
  3. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    I've been with Assassin's Creed since the blunder that was AC1. To see it evolve into such a comprehensive game over the years is an amazingI've been with Assassin's Creed since the blunder that was AC1. To see it evolve into such a comprehensive game over the years is an amazing experience. Black Flag offers more of the same. A lot more. And it's all pick and choose to do what you like. You can get through most of the game without having to deal with things you don't want to, but if you enjoy exploring the waters, there is plenty for you to see.

    The ship combat is very enjoyable. I didn't like the cumbersome ship combat in AC3, but it's very different in Black Flag. It's smooth, engaging and entertaining. The story is good, the characters are well written and the sheer scale of the world is mindboggling.

    It's like GTA with boats!
    Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2017
    8
    What an amazing game.

    I thoroughly enjoyed the maps in which the game was played in, the graphics were tremendous when being played at
    What an amazing game.

    I thoroughly enjoyed the maps in which the game was played in, the graphics were tremendous when being played at 1440p high settings.

    Although the game is quite badly optimised in terms of performance, my RX 480 8GB managed to power through most of the game.

    Awesome combat, i mean REAL awesome. Edward Kenway is a rocking protagonist to play as, i love the way he moves! Boat fights are massive, and upgrading the Jackdaw and Edward is really important.

    My favourite part of the game was definitely Havana. Very fun part of the game, scouting the map collecting all collectables and assassination galore!

    You are missing out not playing this gloriousness!
    Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    7
    This game is bit rushed. When Assassin's Creed gets pushed out. My thoughts are "Oh awesome new story, historical views, new characters yay!".This game is bit rushed. When Assassin's Creed gets pushed out. My thoughts are "Oh awesome new story, historical views, new characters yay!". Waiting for a good game. Assassin's creed: black Flag is not bad game by any standard. It's just not ground breaking and awesome like the old ones. The story line is different and will play out to be nice, but side quests...Really? I liked to collect optional stuff from each zone, yet it netted me nothing (I don't really like that i only get 1% when i complete a zone). Outside story mode this game has nothing to offer in terms of gamplay. Pirating is fun for a while, but since you blunder basically same resources (Women, new ships, slaves, art, gold yarrr???) all over...You are not feeling like a pirate.

    Quick fire round to pro´s and con´s.

    Pro´s:
    - Setting is not limited to cities only like older releases
    - Pirate setting is done nicely, you are spending time on a vessel
    - Crafting got useful again and ship customization looks awesome
    - Sneaking, fighting got updated amongst other things.

    Cons:
    - The "Real life" story is left out for good part of the game
    - You don't really have a clue about the grand schemes, so you are not pursuing a goal.
    - Little to no graphical improvements (Well they don't even need to those, but added them anyway. Game looks awesome!)
    - Characters are uninteresting
    - Optional stuff is optional...And useless. Why collect 15 fragments that will not grant you anything expect 0,5 progress sync story.
    - I´m pretty sure i have seen some character models in AC 1 3 as major storyline...
    - You need to wait a long time until story kicks in. Don't get bored until then.
    Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2013
    5
    Same mistakes were made again like AC3. Soulness and Nonsense game story is boring. Ubisoft must understand that, last two games is not ACSame mistakes were made again like AC3. Soulness and Nonsense game story is boring. Ubisoft must understand that, last two games is not AC game. Maybe expansion pack of rookie assasins but, i didnt see any assasins whole two games. they need to get rid of being "callofdutiism". they didnt mess up any game like this, even PoP series. Expand
  7. Feb 3, 2014
    0
    assassins creed 4 is an amazing game and a grand improvement over AC3. the map is just huge, one of the bigger games i have ever seen.theassassins creed 4 is an amazing game and a grand improvement over AC3. the map is just huge, one of the bigger games i have ever seen.the story is great. it isnt a heavy or too serious story, though it does have its great moments. the story is fun and interesting, and is supported by greatly written cast of characters. the characters are interesting and greatly help the plot. overall i enjoyed the story it was written good and was fun.
    the gameplay is mostly fun. the games stealth system is greatly improved over AC3, but it still needs tweaking and it isnt as good as its supposed to be. the game has a lot of stealth, and the system just doesnt feel built for it sometimes. still some stealth missions are fun. the combat system is great. its fun and cool and the fighting animations are great. animations in general are top notch! from climbing to running the games animations are amazing. the graphics are also amazing, and its one of the best looking games ive seen. the engine isnt as powerfull as cryengine, but the game is so well made that it still looks spectacular. the sea, sunsets, citys and jungles all look amazing. jungles in particular have tons of detail, and the lighting there is great. the game in general is extremely detailed, much more than other games. given that this game is also so huge, there was a lot of effort built into it. naval combat is also great and fun. boarding ships does get repetetive though. even so its still fun. the draw distance is also spectacular. weather effects are, again, some of the best ive seen, especially the waves. the music in the game is mostly good and fits the game. when your crew starts singing its also pretty fun. the parkour system is overall great. you do stumble to your death for no reason some times, but overall it works pretty good. parkour on your boat is a bit annoying. underwater segments are also great and cool.
    EXPLORATION is a huge part of the game, and it is done masterfully. you allways want to find new locations and explore. finding collectibles in the game is also fun. in most games i dont care about collectibles, but in AC4 they are done really good. tailing missions and evesdrop missions are still in the game, and theyre annoying as ever.

    overall this game is amazing and i cant praise it more. exploration is really fun, the design is great and the story is good. this is the ultimate pirate game. i highly recomend it!!!!!!!!
    Expand

See all 293 User Reviews