Assassin's Creed: Revelations Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 843 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Revelations follows master assassin Ezio Auditore as he walks in the footsteps of his legendary mentor, Altair, on a journey to recover five ancient seals that hold the keys to the future of the Assassins brotherhood. It's a perilous path - one that will take Ezio to Constantinople, theRevelations follows master assassin Ezio Auditore as he walks in the footsteps of his legendary mentor, Altair, on a journey to recover five ancient seals that hold the keys to the future of the Assassins brotherhood. It's a perilous path - one that will take Ezio to Constantinople, the heart of the Ottoman Empire, where a growing army of Templars threatens to destabilize the region. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Assassin's Creed: Revelations End of Beta Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Dec 5, 2011
    96
    Revelations closes the Assassin's Creed journey with a familiar looking videogame, but a new iteration so epic and amazing as you might expect. It's a worthy end for the first volume of the series.
  2. Feb 29, 2012
    90
    It's the perfect closure for Ezio's trilogy; however, it does not offer something completely new and if you were getting tired by Brotherhood's mechanisms, Revelations will definitely not change your mind.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    88
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Dec 1, 2011
    80
    The gorgeous city of Constantinople takes center stage in Assassin's Creed: Revelations, another great historical adventure.
  5. Dec 15, 2011
    80
    A fitting end to the stories of Ezio and Altaïr build on a high standard of gameplay fitting for the series, ultimately held back by a lack of true gameplay evolution. Fans of the series won't be disappointed, but may find the wait for Assassin's Creed III made just a little bit harder.
  6. Dec 16, 2011
    75
    Multiplayer is the only thing that makes Revelations worth its price (and if you're still interested in the story, just go watch the ending on YouTube).
  7. Jan 3, 2012
    60
    If you're new to Assassin's Creed or the genre, go buy the first game on Steam, don't waste your time with this if it's your first entry into the series.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 126
  2. Negative: 24 out of 126
  1. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Overall i think the game was a great improvement from its predecessor (Brotherhood). One of the features that i like about this game is howOverall i think the game was a great improvement from its predecessor (Brotherhood). One of the features that i like about this game is how you are able to travel to places much quicker than before, due to the fact that you can glide over rooftops, fast travel, etc.

    The graphic details improved a lot as well, where the textures and models are more detailed than before. Like all games, this should always happen where every year the game improves in graphic quality and this game fulfilled it.

    The new features of weapons/items makes it more easier to play. One of these items would be a grenade that you throw to wipe out a crowd of enemies. There are more features, that you should find that out yourself. The story line is also as good as older Assassins Creed series, bring rich and full fulling experience. This is a game that should be played, if you haven't played any Assassins Creed, i suggest you to start from AC2 and start up.
    Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This is an Assassin's Creed game. Not as great as Brotherhood, and not without its flaws, but still a game that delivers a complex andThis is an Assassin's Creed game. Not as great as Brotherhood, and not without its flaws, but still a game that delivers a complex and fulfilling experience. Visually stunning and with few here and there improvements, This is a game that overall will not disappoint! Just avoid the tower defence part and you'll be fine! :) i would give it an 8 but it is one of my favourite series and i am giving it a break! OK? :) Expand
  3. Nov 27, 2011
    8
    Definitely it's good sequel, but it's time now to come Assassin's Creed 3 and the graphic level to get more detail.For others things i haven'tDefinitely it's good sequel, but it's time now to come Assassin's Creed 3 and the graphic level to get more detail.For others things i haven't problems :) Expand
  4. Apr 15, 2012
    7
    As Ubisoft piles new weapons, animations, and hordes of enemies onto their once-great-now-tired Florentine hero under the guise of a sequel, IAs Ubisoft piles new weapons, animations, and hordes of enemies onto their once-great-now-tired Florentine hero under the guise of a sequel, I become more and more grateful that the third game will, at least, bring a new beginning.

    Let's face it: Assassin's Creed was half-impressive. At first it was the best thing since sliced bread, but eventually, after you notice that every mission is the exact same one as before in a new city, it becomes repetitive. The second game was the gem of the series - a perfect balance of story, setting, music, and combat - both tactical assassination and heated fights. But as the series progressed in Brotherhood, the story became second-rate, and more and more emphasis was put on parkour and large fights. Still, I forgave Brotherhood because, despite its flaws, it still maintained established characters, a beautiful setting, and at least moderately addicting gameplay.

    Then, Revelations. Revelations started by taking everything we knew about Ezio away - all of the characters we knew since II, one-dimensional as they were, all of the Italian settings we had come to enjoy, the enduring fight with a corrupt Vatican. In return, we get shallow characters that seem less interested in helping us solve our goals, and more interested in having us as their little assassin call-boy for their own domestic disputes which, frankly, I could care less about.

    The gameplay progresses little. You get a couple more tools and weapons - but frankly, I'd prefer a small arsenal that I use a ton than a large inventory of every type of bomb I could ever not want. The free-running remains fun, and the setting is visually fantastic, although the presence of a large body of water cleaving the city in two (which can only be crossed at one or two locations without taking a long, long swim) puts a damper on your building-climbing fun. The combat system plays exactly like Brotherhood, despite the addition of several almost useless weapons. Finally, the notion of being an assassin, of fulfilling tactical missions that involve more than lobbing a cherry bomb to distract guards, and the urgency of combating one or two powerful adversaries is replaced by a game full of mob fights focused around a goal that has little if any urgency behind it.

    But let's talk about Desmond/Adam Sandler for a second. Since Desmond is in a tricky situation - separated again from the characters that have been established over the last two games - the only story outside of Ezio's we get comes in the form of first-person (yep) "puzzle" platformers that provide moderately interesting story backed by a hideously boring and nonsensical physical "game". I would have rather just read the narrative on a black screen. But - I'll give them this - the extra Desmond parts are unlocked by your actions as Ezio - by collecting bonus items - which make for a much, much more attractive reward for bonus activity than collecting feathers or investing in shops did.

    Then there's the technical side. A sub-par physics/collision system, AI glitches that result in non-hostile enemies in the heat of combat, graphical bugs, and stuttering with the highest-end systems only. It literally reeks of sloppy console porting.

    Fortunately, ACIII will bring a new story (technically it won't, but by nature of the series being a frame story, the inside story is the one most people really give a crap about). Then again, by destroying everything that made Ezio who he is (other than the accent, of course), Ubisoft effectively made a new story with Revelations, and did a horrendous job at it.
    Expand
  5. Nov 29, 2011
    7
    oh god, desmond, what have they done with your face?! as keoki said whole desmond part of the game was ruined cause of his new face. otheroh god, desmond, what have they done with your face?! as keoki said whole desmond part of the game was ruined cause of his new face. other than that, its good old assassins creed with couple fixes of the old bugs and a few new ones. Expand
  6. Feb 23, 2012
    6
    I have always love the assassin's creed series. i just feel after each one of them the only reason to get the next game is from what shockerI have always love the assassin's creed series. i just feel after each one of them the only reason to get the next game is from what shocker what it shows at the end of the game. in this case, Desmand gets powers... what moron came up with that idea. This is still a good game. the games seem to get longer in lengh with each game but im not sure if thats because im getting slightly bored and it just feel that it's taking longer or or if it is genuinely longer. If they dont get back on track with a serious story im probably not gunna buy any more AC games and remember it when it was good. Expand
  7. Oct 25, 2012
    0
    Boring, repetitive, predictable, booooring, I bought it a couple of days ago from the sale on steam and I am already bored, if you are in forBoring, repetitive, predictable, booooring, I bought it a couple of days ago from the sale on steam and I am already bored, if you are in for the assassins stuff I would recommend more hitman than this... Expand

See all 126 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.