Assault Android Cactus PC

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Oct 28, 2015
    90
    Assault Android Cactus kind of snuck up on me, and is easily one of my favorite shooters of the year. I'm really interested in seeing what developer Witch Beam comes up with next.
  2. Oct 21, 2015
    90
    A top notch bullet hell experience racked out with character options, unlockables, and some charming dialogue, Assault Android Cactus is a top shelf choice of any shooter addict. A lack of online co-op is unfortunate, if understandable, and the characters – while cute and expressive – may be a bit too adorable for some.
  3. Oct 7, 2015
    90
    Assault Android Cactus is a slick game that feels so good to play, feels so right in your hands with its satisfying controls, intelligent game mechanics, charming presentation, terrific levels and exciting weapon styles.
  4. 90
    It has a very steep learning curve, but once you get your head around it all, it’s incredibly fun.
  5. Sep 28, 2015
    88
    An energising shooter experience. Each level, character and enemy brings something fresh to the game, and the end result is chaotic, polished, packed with variety and effortlessly charming.
  6. Oct 12, 2015
    80
    Assault Android Cactus is one of the best twin stick shooter available on Steam. The game delivers a frantic, compelling experience, packed with many different characters and lots of enemies to shoot at.
  7. Oct 12, 2015
    80
    A pretty decent game. You can easily get your money out of this, and it’s a great four player co-op experience.
  8. Oct 3, 2015
    80
    Like Cactus in the opening sequence, the ultimate result of Assault Android Cactus is looking at the relentless danger, thinking "I'll take my chances with the lasers," and wading into the chaos. Reckless, gleeful, and a really hard, incredibly good time.
  9. Sep 27, 2015
    80
    AAC is a pretty interesting twin-stick shooters. If you like this genre and you're looking for the next challenge, have a look at it.
  10. Sep 23, 2015
    80
    While the story definitely missed on some untapped potential, this is a perfect benchmark that leaves the studios future one to definitely look forward to.
  11. Sep 23, 2015
    70
    Assault Android Cactus is a big, bright, blast of twin-stick shooting action, filled with personality and clever design.
  12. Sep 23, 2015
    70
    It's unfortunate that Assault Android Cactus feels a bit slight, because the game is quite a bit of fun in short bursts.
  13. Nov 30, 2015
    65
    If you’re not an avid fan of shoot-‘em-ups, you’d hardly look twice at this plain-looking game and its scanty arsenal of weapons.
  14. Nov 27, 2015
    60
    Assault Android Cactus is good, but it used to be great.
  15. 50
    Assault Android Cactus – between its twin-stick gunplay, dialogue, and ample modes – exhibits a rare polish among its peers, but the atrocious HUD, useless unlocks, and local co-op that’s actively better without friends keep Witch Beam’s debut from rivaling the genre’s titans.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    Oh boy, oh boy, oh boy! Where the HECK did this little gem fall from?! I bought this game with absolutely NO expectations... I started withOh boy, oh boy, oh boy! Where the HECK did this little gem fall from?! I bought this game with absolutely NO expectations... I started with the demo to see if the game would run in S3D using Tridef Ignition. Sure enough put aside a few shadow issues, it worked!
    Go figure I'm not even a big fan of twin stick shooters - mostly because I'm a keyboard/mouse kinda guy, not able to carry the same skillset on a controller.

    Despite my shortcomings on control skill, this game is awesome. It's awesome, it's addictive, it's a blast. On your own, you'll have a lot to handle and need incredibly quick reflexes on your aim finger - often finding yourself completely surrounded with enemies all trying to rip your character's face off! It's a demanding twin stick shooter that carries with it a visual style that just makes you want to play "just another 15 minutes" over and over. It's hard to put the controller down.

    The visual styles are really a great fit. The characters are cute and the level end animations are funny. I even found Holly telling the boss "I'm here to stop you so uhm... stop it!" kinda funny... through small hints they unveil distinct character personalities. This was taking it beyond what I expected for 15$. The cherry on top.

    If you are a fan of twinstick shooters you should already own this title. If you aren't much for twinstick like me, do still consider this title. I did not regret my purchase.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 15, 2016
    0
    keybinding are not redefinable........it's unacceptable in this time and age.........learn to properly program an user interface......................
  3. Oct 8, 2015
    8
    This twin shooter is very, fun really engaging and quite challenging, the character design is well achieved and the sound effects and musicThis twin shooter is very, fun really engaging and quite challenging, the character design is well achieved and the sound effects and music are top notch. Full Review »