Atom Zombie Smasher PC

Atom Zombie Smasher Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players must save survivors from the 1961 zombie apocalypse by assembling an army of mercenaries and firing nuclear missiles from orbit to destroy the oncoming horde.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Apr 26, 2011
    90
    The short, breakneck campaigns create a compelling game you'll likely revisit time and time again. It's the perfect blend of planning and reflexes, requiring you to thoroughly plan every move but remain highly reactive and adaptable.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 20, 2011
    84
    Atom Zombie Smasher is a strangely compelling game. At the same time, it's simple but addictive, funny yet disturbing. It does get repetitive after a while, but not until you've gotten your money's worth. [May 2011]
  3. PC PowerPlay
    May 22, 2011
    80
    A unique take on the zombie apocalypse, and one we would love to see more of in the future. [June 2011, p.67]
  4. Mar 21, 2011
    75
    Though it has a few issues with regards to Blendo's reliance on randomization, such problems shouldn't turn you away if you're looking for an offbeat gaming experience.
  5. Mar 21, 2011
    70
    Speaking of which - you're unlikely to get more than a handful of campaigns in before your interest in AZS begins to wane, but that should be more than enough to get your money's worth.
  6. Feb 17, 2011
    70
    Zombies aren't seemingly unhealthy looking people for a change. They have been replaced by purple blocks, which don't make them any less terrifying. This game offers an especially deep strategic experience with an abstract art style, but also comes with an unnecessarily steep learning curve and lacking an actual campaign.
  7. PC Gamer
    Apr 21, 2011
    64
    Still, successfully saving all survivors from a zone and turning the tide in the war against the great zombie menace is rewarding enough to keep m,e playing. [Jun 2011, p.74]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 40
  2. Negative: 7 out of 40
  1. May 19, 2013
    10
    Such a great game. You know what the gameplay is like so I won't explain but it is so worth your time. I love how long the matches last andSuch a great game. You know what the gameplay is like so I won't explain but it is so worth your time. I love how long the matches last and the entire concept of the game is so fresh. The game runs great and is a ton of fun. Expand
  2. Aug 8, 2011
    9
    This game was extremely fun.
    Even though not graphically proficient, the game offered a large amount of fun and rarely even some humor.
    I had
    This game was extremely fun.
    Even though not graphically proficient, the game offered a large amount of fun and rarely even some humor.
    I had much fun in this game. Those who like defend games, strategy games, you'll love this one.
    Expand
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    9
    I bought this game as part of a Humble Bundle and installed it out of curiosity more than anything. It turned out to be my favorite game ofI bought this game as part of a Humble Bundle and installed it out of curiosity more than anything. It turned out to be my favorite game of 2011.

    LOL at the people who gave 0 because it was too difficult for them and mistaking stylised graphics for being poor.
    Expand
  4. Sep 6, 2011
    8
    It's really a fun indie game. It sort of is a "tower defense" genre but... not really. I know I'm contradicting myself now but there is noIt's really a fun indie game. It sort of is a "tower defense" genre but... not really. I know I'm contradicting myself now but there is no other genre I could compare it to. The main purpose here is to save people from zombies. Overall the developers had a really nice idea and I'm sure a person can have few hours of fun playing this game, but then it just gets boring. There is really not much more I can write. Pros: -Original idea for a game. Cons: -Not a kind of a game you'll stick around for too long. Expand
  5. May 2, 2012
    7
    I was pleasantly surprised by this game when i got it in the humble bundle. I have since spent over 20 hours on it getting all of theI was pleasantly surprised by this game when i got it in the humble bundle. I have since spent over 20 hours on it getting all of the achievements. It's quite unique for a defense game and has plenty of customizable options which can make the game easier or more difficult. You can customize your army, increase the amount of enemies, etc. It also has a very easy to use mod creation system which allows you to mess with almost any part of the game. I had a lot of fun creating my own mods and playing a game with them. Overall, it's a good game that is worth a look Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2011
    6
    A great idea for a defense game, but I would enjoy it more if--like other defense games---you were able to actually select your units. YouA great idea for a defense game, but I would enjoy it more if--like other defense games---you were able to actually select your units. You have no control over which units you are allowed to use in an encounter, and when you have thirty seconds to kill 10,000 zombies using only a cement wall, a stick of dynamite, and a mortar that takes a half an hour to reload, the game gets more frustrating than fun in a hurry. Maybe I just don't get it yet, but despite its stellar presentation, every time I play it I just feel like it's repetition is boring and its capricious randomization is frustrating. Glad I got it in Humble Bundle instead of buying. It's interesting and quirky, but I definitely would have been angry had I paid $10 for it. Collapse
  7. Mar 13, 2012
    0
    Are you really kidding me? After gaming for nearly 30 years, this has got to be the most worthless pile of oozing dung of a so called gameAre you really kidding me? After gaming for nearly 30 years, this has got to be the most worthless pile of oozing dung of a so called game I've ever seen! I will leave it at that. This game surely SUX to a pure 10++++ Go on...spend your money then.. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews