Atom Zombie Smasher Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 97 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players must save survivors from the 1961 zombie apocalypse by assembling an army of mercenaries and firing nuclear missiles from orbit to destroy the oncoming horde.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Apr 26, 2011
    90
    The short, breakneck campaigns create a compelling game you'll likely revisit time and time again. It's the perfect blend of planning and reflexes, requiring you to thoroughly plan every move but remain highly reactive and adaptable.
  2. Oct 20, 2011
    84
    Atom Zombie Smasher is a strangely compelling game. At the same time, it's simple but addictive, funny yet disturbing. It does get repetitive after a while, but not until you've gotten your money's worth. [May 2011]
  3. May 22, 2011
    80
    A unique take on the zombie apocalypse, and one we would love to see more of in the future. [June 2011, p.67]
  4. Mar 21, 2011
    75
    Though it has a few issues with regards to Blendo's reliance on randomization, such problems shouldn't turn you away if you're looking for an offbeat gaming experience.
  5. Mar 21, 2011
    70
    Speaking of which - you're unlikely to get more than a handful of campaigns in before your interest in AZS begins to wane, but that should be more than enough to get your money's worth.
  6. Feb 17, 2011
    70
    Zombies aren't seemingly unhealthy looking people for a change. They have been replaced by purple blocks, which don't make them any less terrifying. This game offers an especially deep strategic experience with an abstract art style, but also comes with an unnecessarily steep learning curve and lacking an actual campaign.
  7. Apr 21, 2011
    64
    Still, successfully saving all survivors from a zone and turning the tide in the war against the great zombie menace is rewarding enough to keep m,e playing. [Jun 2011, p.74]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 7 out of 39
  1. May 19, 2013
    10
    Such a great game. You know what the gameplay is like so I won't explain but it is so worth your time. I love how long the matches last and the entire concept of the game is so fresh. The game runs great and is a ton of fun. Expand
  2. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    Part tower defense, part RISK style strategy, all mixed into a great retro 40's / 50's style package set during the zombie apocalypse.

    Graphics are minimalistic but well presented and effective. The feeling is more of a 50's sci-fi monster movie with a WW2 style backdrop. Wherever you classify it, it works very well and has a pleasing aesthetic. Gameplay is polished and smooth. You spend most of your time playing, and not wading through extra bs. Cutscenes are done as a kind of moving comic vignette, which you can watch as it progresses or skip through at your own pace. There are lots of options for how you play the game as well. You can choose just how hard the game is with lots of items rather than the traditional "easy, medium, uberdeathhard" choices. You can turn on and off upgrades, or speed of zombies, or environmental factors like daylight length that affect gameplay. Let's you really customize your game experience, which really lets you have fun. Another thing that adds to this is that you aren't needlessly punished for a slip up. Levels are each pretty bite sized, so if you fail a mission you know quickly. Not only does it let you keep playing if you want (but flashes a restart button for convenience), but when you restart, you can have it maintain your placement of resources so you don't have to do it again or choose to redo it. No loading screens, no extra information if you don't want... just right back into the action. The way this is done is, I would say, nearly perfect.

    The only drawback, I would say, is that the game can be slightly repetitive. You are basically always on an overhead map... and maps are fairly similar. The great pacing makes up for this though. This game is about having fun. The developers obviously had that in mind when they made the game... push the fun and everything else will follow. I might have overlooked this if not for the humblebundle, which included it, which would have been a shame. This is definitely a niche style game; you have to be a fan of tower defense or RTS style games, and this is definitely a casual experience. I consider that a plus here though. The game is easily picked up without any prior instruction and is fun in bite sized pieces. Great way to pass the time while waiting for your pizza to arrive or the rest of your carpool to show up. Lots of short levels with saved campaign progress means you can start and stop playing whenever you feel like it.

    Low system requirements and price mixed with high aesthetic and fun factor make this a hidden gem that is worth the price ( $9.99 USD at time of review).
    Expand
  3. May 12, 2011
    9
    Atom Zombie Smasher combines a simple premise with huge amounts of options. You have different units that each function differently and creates a fun difficulty curve, making each level an extremely unique and rewarding challenge. The game has loads of worthwhile game mods and alternate modes of play that can drastically change your experience. It has a fantastic aesthetic, creating zany and often completely random mood to what could easily be a grim set up. If you liked the demo then this game is totally worth buying, it's just awesome. Expand
  4. Sep 6, 2011
    8
    It's really a fun indie game. It sort of is a "tower defense" genre but... not really. I know I'm contradicting myself now but there is no other genre I could compare it to. The main purpose here is to save people from zombies. Overall the developers had a really nice idea and I'm sure a person can have few hours of fun playing this game, but then it just gets boring. There is really not much more I can write. Pros: -Original idea for a game. Cons: -Not a kind of a game you'll stick around for too long. Expand
  5. Aug 23, 2013
    7
    A nice twist on the defense and zombie tropes, though you can't select which units you bring to a mission and the repetitiveness of the campaign, the uniqueness makes it a really fun playthrough for the first run, the game definitely loses it's luster after that, but still worth a look if you want something new. Expand
  6. Aug 24, 2011
    7
    Its a nice little game with a very interesting style of presentation. though technically the graphics in game are very minimalistic, it does make sense why they have it as such. if only they had more of a real storyline, it would have been something of a good game, the game overall feels like it was left half finished to me. overall, pretty fun, but then it gets old pretty quickly. Expand
  7. Mar 13, 2012
    0
    Are you really kidding me? After gaming for nearly 30 years, this has got to be the most worthless pile of oozing dung of a so called game I've ever seen! I will leave it at that. This game surely SUX to a pure 10++++ Go on...spend your money then.. Expand

See all 39 User Reviews