• Publisher: NCSOFT
  • Release Date: Apr 13, 2006
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Mad Max brought to MMORPG world, finally! Too bad that action-packed fighting is almost the only thing the excellent setting is used for, at least for now. Luckily the action is all good and enjoyable. [Apr 2006]
  2. The fact that it’s very solo friendly, the large number of missions, the interesting universe and the artistic design will surely convince a lot of newcomers to the online gaming world to give it a try.
  3. Is it fun? Yes. Is it graphically pleasing? Yes. If Auto Assault suffers from any problems they would be a repetitive influence in missions, and a lack of players, giving the sparse world an even sparser feel.
  4. 80
    There are enough MMOs out there that deserve to be roadkill, and Auto Assault isn't one of them.
  5. It's unlikely to tempt many current MMO addicts away from their regular poison, but if you've been looking for something that requires less commitment or organization it might be just the ticket. Auto Assault is the MMORPG for people who don't have time for MMORPGs.
  6. Auto Assault has undergone a massive overhaul from last year. In it's current state it looks fantastic, and plays with the kind of adrenaline-rushing glee that all games hope to aspire to.
  7. Auto Assault's biggest issue mmaay be its lower-than-normal player population at launch. If the world doesn't attract more players, its post-apocalyptic setting may be more appropriate than the developers intended. [July 2006, p.77]
  8. This vehicular action/MMO hybrid may be a tad ahead of its time. Grind-core audiences have too many combat variables; pulp action audiences have too many RPG-growth elements.
  9. Such potential is marred by a lack of polish and care- there is simply too much that is flawed or missing to place this game in the "great" category, despite the noble ambition of delivering a unique MMO experience.
  10. 75
    If Auto Assault's mission content had a little more substance, and if its geography had more familiarity, then its conventional MMO level grind template would probably be only a small annoyance.
  11. Reminds us why car combat is fun, stellar graphics if your ‘puter has the goods, a totally different brand of MMORPG.
  12. 75
    An inventive and completely amusing massively multiplayer role-playing game that incorporates elements of traditional MMOs with the vehicular combat seen in games like "Twisted Metal."
  13. It’s not quite Mad Max, but it can be fun to hit the open road and blast a few mutants along the way.
  14. It's picking the wrong fight - taking on MMOs on their own turf, instead of truly daring to be something different. It tries. Often it succeeds. Just not enough to stop the sound of its stalling engine ringing as loud as the gunfire. [June 2006, p.92]
  15. If you’re looking for a game to replace "World of Warcraft" or "Everquest" for your long-term fix, Auto Assault won’t fill the abyss. However, if you’re looking for an action-packed MMO to last you a month or so, it’s a decent change of pace.
  16. Auto Assault certainly has a lot of potential. But in its current form, that potential is squandered with repetitive quests, technical glitches, and a complete lack of challenge from most of the environment.
  17. Basically, if you’re into speed and blowing a lot of stuff up, you’ll enjoy this game. It also has enough ambiance and an interesting enough story to hold your interest for a while.
  18. Combines the vehicular glee of Jayce and the Wheeled Warriors with the ultraviolence of Rambo or Carmeggedon. What lets it down is ugliness, its hunger for power (and the corresponding technical issues), and the knowledge that this would be much better and more coherent as a purely single-player game.
  19. For now it feels too much like a single player game with some nice multiplayer options, and there's no real incentive for you to invest much time or money in it once the free trial has ended.
  20. If you're looking for an MMO with voice chat, heavy weaponry, and absolutely no elves, Auto Assault is likely the one. The game delivers on its promise of massive combat action in a twisted shadow of the world we know, albeit for a monthly $15 subscription fee and some steep tech demands.
  21. A certain population of gamers will no doubt find exactly what they're looking for here. especially as they get into the higher-level content and PvP areas of the game. [Jun 2006, p.117]
  22. The fundamental problem is that it all feels a little detached - for an MMO, solo play feels far more natural, as the speed turns most of the battles into one-on-ones dotted around the map. [July 2006, p.88]
  23. If you like the idea of driving while firing machine guns and rocket launchers from your mobile death machine in a post-apocalyptic wasteland in a fully-destructible environment, this is the place to do it.
  24. 70
    It's obvious a game is unpolished when you have to sit through a patch download each time you want to play. Auto Assault may be fun for the hardcore Mad Max fans, but the steep learning curve and frustrating controls are red flags for the casual gamer.
  25. 70
    The problem is that NetDevil really needs to improve on the social aspects of the game; as it stands now, it's more of a "massively single-player game" than anything else.
  26. Something that delivers the goods this fast and with such a high smile-to-trigger-pull ratio will be hard for anyone to put aside for long. [July 2006, p.83]
  27. Given time, a tune-up, and some more vigorious fanning of the community flames, this could improve, but at the moment there are more appealing things to spend a monthly fee on. [June 2006, p.90]
  28. 2006 is an unforgiving time for online gaming, and a game as mixed up and inconsistent as this simply cannot make an impact, as hard as it tries with its meaty combat and awesome-looking vehicles.
  29. Sadly, regardless of the time of day I played, I generally felt very alone in the world.
  30. With drab visuals, lifeless towns, frequent performance problems and little sign of an enthusiastic player community – the chat channels are very quiet – Auto Assault feels like a game where the key is in the ignition but no one’s quite got around to turning it. [July 2006, p.134]
  31. As it is, Auto Assault is a distraction - a bit of massively multiplayer fluff - not the genuine competitor to World of Warcraft people hoped it would be.
  32. 60
    Just don’t expect something radically different from what we’ve all be playing for the past 8 years or so.
  33. It leaves behind much of what makes MMORPGs so addictive and still keeps us shelling out $15 a month. If Auto Assault followed the "Guild Wars" model, it could definitely have been the short-attention span alternative. But this budget rental car just isn’t worth the luxury fees.
  34. The short-term gratification is gradually diminished by too-obvious regeneration of the damage you cause, and there's not enough variety of experience to sustain a monthly subscription. [June 2006, p.90]
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Oren
    Apr 18, 2006
    10
    Phew, this game is amazing. It has everything a serious MMORPG player would want! Great PvP? Check! Multi-layered PvP (areans, free-roaming and more)? Check! An extremely deep crafting system? Check! Tons of customizations? Check! Economy? Check (auction houses are forthcoming)! Housing? Check! Auto Assault includes some revolutionary mechanics as well, including destructible world and random loot (meaning that hardly ever two drops will be the same). In addition, the countless missions are full of lore, and the setting itself is refreshing. I was never attracted to car games, but Auto Assault just grabbed me and wouldn't let me go. It will happen to you as well, if you just give it a try. Highly recommended! Full Review »
  2. Jul 5, 2012
    9
    This was a great MMORPG. Auto Assault was unique because instead of being a human warlock, you created a character but you would usually be in a vehicles. I reserved this game from Gamestop when it was first released. The game was given to the people who reserved a few days earlier then everyone else. I remember it was Easter weekend. When I bought the game for some reason most of that week I was out of school. In about a five day time span I had put in over seventy hours of game play. There was a monthly fee of fifteen dollars (like usual), with the first being free. I started off as a Commando and eventually was able to use a tank. The game featured players to make their own clans, change the colors of their vehicles, and use a mic in game. Besides being able to get a tank, their was also other vehicles like a motorcycle that could stealth. The quests do get repetitive, but all MMO quests are. My favorite part of the game was getting loot to customize the vechicle and make it all bad ass. Their was not a bazillion people when the game released (like World of Warcraft) but their was a lot more then Final Fantasy 11 Online for the Xbox 360 (see previous review). The game featured PVP death matches that were tons of fun. Driving around and shooting other people with laser beams and machine guns was great. About two years after initial launch I began playing the game again. I realized there were different factions. There was human, biotic, and some cyborg dudes. I messed around with the game for another month because I was pissed that my human Commando with the tank had been deleted (I am guessing because of my inactivity). I tried out the biotic guys and would say that use poisons and are green. The cyborg people were the coolest faction. They have futuristic looking vechiles and for some reason I remember the color red being associtated with them. This time when I played their was even less people playing. I would say I saw about hundred people in each city I went to. I recently checked up on this game found out they have closed down the servers as of 7/02/2007 =( If you are interested in this game then you should look up and find a private server. If you find one post the link in the comments section (I would not mine playing it again). This was a great MMORPG and so I deceided to review this game; even though it is dead. In a way it competes with World of Warcraft as the best MMORPG to me because this game offered what other MMOs have not; kicking ass in vechiles while looting. Full Review »
  3. MartR.
    Aug 1, 2006
    5
    There is nothing defining or special in this game that should keep anyone playing it for longer periods. The controls are clumsy, the graphics mediocre and the action repetitive and stale. It is a crime to charge people for something as boring as this on a monthly basis. Full Review »