• Publisher: NCSOFT
  • Release Date: Apr 13, 2006
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 42
  2. Negative: 2 out of 42

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oren
    Apr 18, 2006
    10
    Phew, this game is amazing. It has everything a serious MMORPG player would want! Great PvP? Check! Multi-layered PvP (areans, free-roaming and more)? Check! An extremely deep crafting system? Check! Tons of customizations? Check! Economy? Check (auction houses are forthcoming)! Housing? Check! Auto Assault includes some revolutionary mechanics as well, including destructible world and Phew, this game is amazing. It has everything a serious MMORPG player would want! Great PvP? Check! Multi-layered PvP (areans, free-roaming and more)? Check! An extremely deep crafting system? Check! Tons of customizations? Check! Economy? Check (auction houses are forthcoming)! Housing? Check! Auto Assault includes some revolutionary mechanics as well, including destructible world and random loot (meaning that hardly ever two drops will be the same). In addition, the countless missions are full of lore, and the setting itself is refreshing. I was never attracted to car games, but Auto Assault just grabbed me and wouldn't let me go. It will happen to you as well, if you just give it a try. Highly recommended! Expand
  2. AlexW.
    May 9, 2006
    4
    The game is excellent as a departure, but it is less than addicting and highly repetitive. Content seems stretched over a huge game that leaves large gaps and causes players intrested in feeling something new, whether it be a level, enemy, or area to explore unfullfilled for long periods of time. Also the fee is quite high for a first time entry into the market by an unknown developer The game is excellent as a departure, but it is less than addicting and highly repetitive. Content seems stretched over a huge game that leaves large gaps and causes players intrested in feeling something new, whether it be a level, enemy, or area to explore unfullfilled for long periods of time. Also the fee is quite high for a first time entry into the market by an unknown developer with a product of questionable worth. Add to that a plethora of bugs that should of been resolved in the quite long open/semi-open beta and the fact that despite largely lacking instanced maps and missions heavily encourage single player play, the game is a major let down. Perhaps content will be added, or the game itself and its economic model focussed to something more feasible but right now this game is largely a waste of money for what will likely dissapoint most players by the end of their first month playing. Expand
  3. MartR.
    Aug 1, 2006
    5
    There is nothing defining or special in this game that should keep anyone playing it for longer periods. The controls are clumsy, the graphics mediocre and the action repetitive and stale. It is a crime to charge people for something as boring as this on a monthly basis.
  4. SteveC.
    Apr 9, 2006
    9
    I've been on the beta test for a long time--- this game is great. It's got all the best parts of an MMO while still feeling very actiony and unique. It's awesome, fast-paced action that feels like Twisted Metal or something but has full RPG stats, elements, and leveling. No death penalty, and the combat feels great! The graphics are excellent with lots of cool weather and I've been on the beta test for a long time--- this game is great. It's got all the best parts of an MMO while still feeling very actiony and unique. It's awesome, fast-paced action that feels like Twisted Metal or something but has full RPG stats, elements, and leveling. No death penalty, and the combat feels great! The graphics are excellent with lots of cool weather and stuff going on, there are big duststorms and snowstorms, and excellent weapons and explosion effects also. If you're the kind of person that wouldn't normally play a massively multiplayer game you should definitely give this a try, I think you'll love it as much as I do. Great game. Expand
  5. Matt
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    Destructible enviroments are the bomb!
  6. DanD.
    May 3, 2006
    8
    This game seems to be hit and miss for most people - you either love it or you hate it. I personally love it. Finally an MMO where travelling is FUN. Getting from x to y involves speeding through interesting areas, jumping through groups of enemies with guns blazing and destroying everything in sight. The reason I give it 8 out of 10, is because things like auction houses, skill point This game seems to be hit and miss for most people - you either love it or you hate it. I personally love it. Finally an MMO where travelling is FUN. Getting from x to y involves speeding through interesting areas, jumping through groups of enemies with guns blazing and destroying everything in sight. The reason I give it 8 out of 10, is because things like auction houses, skill point respec and more group content should have been there from the start. These are all things that we have been promised would appear, but working on a game for 5 years and not including such essential things is a bit disapointing. However it is still a very fun game, I personally hate driving games but love auto assault. Hopefully it will only get better and better! Expand
  7. BetM.
    May 3, 2006
    8
    I won't kid you - the game has flaws, but they're nowhere near as large as some would say. I really love the game, especially the lore (of course I play mutant, which I guess is the best story of the three).
  8. SeanRodman
    Apr 13, 2006
    1
    I was a beta tester for a long time on this game. The control scheme is so terrible as to make the cars virtually undrivable. A great idea...but an awful game in execution.
  9. RodLong
    Apr 14, 2006
    10
    Good game. I love the freedom the game has and the huge feel. It is fun even getting around going from mission to mission. Many other MMOs lose me here. Great genre. Don't base the game on experiences you may have had early in beta. The game has come a long way since then!
  10. JoshL.
    Apr 16, 2006
    10
    It is like would of war carft but more realistick.
  11. BensonH.
    Apr 17, 2006
    9
    This is a damn fun game. I played a lot of WoW and Dark Age and got a bit bored with the fantasy setting. Plus compared to Auto Assault, most other MMOs are just plain slow. Actually, it reminded me of some first person shooters that have vehicles in them. So I guess its a nice mix of MMOs and FPSs. That's pretty cool in my book.
  12. MichaelN.
    Apr 29, 2006
    9
    If you love speed and things that go KABLOOSH!!, then this is the game for you.
  13. AnonymousMC
    Apr 7, 2006
    10
    This game kicks ass! No more boring MMORPG madness. This is action + rpg blended in ways no other MMO has ever even concieved of! Total destruction, diablo loot collection, crafting, PVP, it has it all!
  14. TimW.
    Apr 8, 2006
    10
    This game is the roxor! I love Road Warrior!
  15. YTurnipsRgood
    Apr 13, 2006
    10
    All I can say is it's really unique and a blast. It's good to see that someone other than Nintendo cares about innovating in this stagnant market. Been playing in beta for a while and can't go back to other mmos after playing. I tried, didn't work. Everything feels so slow and cliche afterwards, the game truly is a riot.
  16. DJJansen
    Apr 14, 2006
    10
    This is the most fun I've ever had playing any mmo, and TRUST me, i've played them all. I was hesitant since i'm not a big car fan, but wow...guys, you MUST give it a try, it's pretty amazing and has potential to be just absolutely epic in it's PVP. There's minor bugs, but the dev's are fixing these like i've never seen before, which again, This is the most fun I've ever had playing any mmo, and TRUST me, i've played them all. I was hesitant since i'm not a big car fan, but wow...guys, you MUST give it a try, it's pretty amazing and has potential to be just absolutely epic in it's PVP. There's minor bugs, but the dev's are fixing these like i've never seen before, which again, i've beta tested tons of mmo's and the dev's are really working hard to please all of us and taking our feedback seriously. Try it, you won't regret it! SOOOO much fun in comparison to other mmo's and screw WoW, this game has even more items....seriously, that many....crafting is absolutely insane once you understand the in's and outs of it. Lag is absolutely no prob, and my computer is pretty crappy, yet i can still run it on med/high settings, and this is with 512 ram....breath of fresh air for sure. Only thing that truly bothers me is the player population on launch day, but i think once the reviews start praising this game, that'll change. Most just aren't into cars that much, just like i am....you'll change your mind, oh yes you will. Expand
  17. KevinM.
    Apr 14, 2006
    9
    Been on since April 9th and all I can tell you this game is really fun. The amount of destructibility is just insane in this game. Its got a nice pace through leveling up although the quest text can be pretty boring to read at times. Love the fact that I can play solo (and still accomplish most quest) or convoy with other folks and can't wait to totally get into PvP. All these and I Been on since April 9th and all I can tell you this game is really fun. The amount of destructibility is just insane in this game. Its got a nice pace through leveling up although the quest text can be pretty boring to read at times. Love the fact that I can play solo (and still accomplish most quest) or convoy with other folks and can't wait to totally get into PvP. All these and I still havn't got my hands dirty on crafting... Expand
  18. Daniel
    Apr 15, 2006
    9
    I love this game! Just so you know, I'm the type of gamer who always wanted to get into Everquest and WoW, but I just didn't enjoy the combat in them enough to stick it out. Auto Assault is the first MMO that is actually fun for me to play. It's got all the stuff you'd expect, with character classes, skills, and equipment, but playing the game is much more fast-paced and fun!
  19. K-Rock
    Apr 21, 2006
    5
    How could they take possibly the greatest MMO premise - one that we've been waiting for ever since Interstate '76 - and make it so ugly? Include the technical issues that all MMOs go through in their infancy and you have a game that screams, "Wait a second! Don't buy me just yet. Give me a chance to walk first...I'm still crawling." Less organization is required, How could they take possibly the greatest MMO premise - one that we've been waiting for ever since Interstate '76 - and make it so ugly? Include the technical issues that all MMOs go through in their infancy and you have a game that screams, "Wait a second! Don't buy me just yet. Give me a chance to walk first...I'm still crawling." Less organization is required, making it less of an MMORPG than a multiplayer game. Big on action, small on layered content. We'll have to see how this one progresses - but even The Matrix Online had more to offer at launch than Auto Assault - and we all know what happened to that MMO. Expand
  20. Jul 5, 2012
    9
    This was a great MMORPG. Auto Assault was unique because instead of being a human warlock, you created a character but you would usually be in a vehicles. I reserved this game from Gamestop when it was first released. The game was given to the people who reserved a few days earlier then everyone else. I remember it was Easter weekend. When I bought the game for some reason most ofThis was a great MMORPG. Auto Assault was unique because instead of being a human warlock, you created a character but you would usually be in a vehicles. I reserved this game from Gamestop when it was first released. The game was given to the people who reserved a few days earlier then everyone else. I remember it was Easter weekend. When I bought the game for some reason most of that week I was out of school. In about a five day time span I had put in over seventy hours of game play. There was a monthly fee of fifteen dollars (like usual), with the first being free. I started off as a Commando and eventually was able to use a tank. The game featured players to make their own clans, change the colors of their vehicles, and use a mic in game. Besides being able to get a tank, their was also other vehicles like a motorcycle that could stealth. The quests do get repetitive, but all MMO quests are. My favorite part of the game was getting loot to customize the vechicle and make it all bad ass. Their was not a bazillion people when the game released (like World of Warcraft) but their was a lot more then Final Fantasy 11 Online for the Xbox 360 (see previous review). The game featured PVP death matches that were tons of fun. Driving around and shooting other people with laser beams and machine guns was great. About two years after initial launch I began playing the game again. I realized there were different factions. There was human, biotic, and some cyborg dudes. I messed around with the game for another month because I was pissed that my human Commando with the tank had been deleted (I am guessing because of my inactivity). I tried out the biotic guys and would say that use poisons and are green. The cyborg people were the coolest faction. They have futuristic looking vechiles and for some reason I remember the color red being associtated with them. This time when I played their was even less people playing. I would say I saw about hundred people in each city I went to. I recently checked up on this game found out they have closed down the servers as of 7/02/2007 =( If you are interested in this game then you should look up and find a private server. If you find one post the link in the comments section (I would not mine playing it again). This was a great MMORPG and so I deceided to review this game; even though it is dead. In a way it competes with World of Warcraft as the best MMORPG to me because this game offered what other MMOs have not; kicking ass in vechiles while looting. Collapse
  21. Jul 5, 2012
    0
    This was a great MMORPG. Auto Assault was unique because instead of being a human warlock, you created a character but you would usually be in a vehicles. I reserved this game from Gamestop when it was first released. The game was given to the people who reserved a few days earlier then everyone else. I remember it was Easter weekend. When I bought the game for some reason most ofThis was a great MMORPG. Auto Assault was unique because instead of being a human warlock, you created a character but you would usually be in a vehicles. I reserved this game from Gamestop when it was first released. The game was given to the people who reserved a few days earlier then everyone else. I remember it was Easter weekend. When I bought the game for some reason most of that week I was out of school. In about a five day time span I had put in over seventy hours of game play. There was a monthly fee of fifteen dollars (like usual), with the first being free. I started off as a Commando and eventually was able to use a tank. The game featured players to make their own clans, change the colors of their vehicles, and use a mic in game. Besides being able to get a tank, their was also other vehicles like a motorcycle that could stealth. The quests do get repetitive, but all MMO quests are. My favorite part of the game was getting loot to customize the vechicle and make it all bad ass. Their was not a bazillion people when the game released (like World of Warcraft) but their was a lot more then Final Fantasy 11 Online for the Xbox 360 (see previous review). The game featured PVP death matches that were tons of fun. Driving around and shooting other people with laser beams and machine guns was great. About two years after initial launch I began playing the game again. I realized there were different factions. There was human, biotic, and some cyborg dudes. I messed around with the game for another month because I was pissed that my human Commando with the tank had been deleted (I am guessing because of my inactivity). I tried out the biotic guys and would say that use poisons and are green. The cyborg people were the coolest faction. They have futuristic looking vechiles and for some reason I remember the color red being associtated with them. This time when I played their was even less people playing. I would say I saw about hundred people in each city I went to. I recently checked up on this game found out they have closed down the servers as of 7/02/2007 =( If you are interested in this game then you should look up and find a private server. If you find one post the link in the comments section (I would not mine playing it again). This was a great MMORPG and so I deceided to review this game; even though it is dead. In a way it competes with World of Warcraft as the best MMORPG to me because this game offered what other MMOs have not; kicking ass in vechiles while looting. Collapse
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Mad Max brought to MMORPG world, finally! Too bad that action-packed fighting is almost the only thing the excellent setting is used for, at least for now. Luckily the action is all good and enjoyable. [Apr 2006]
  2. Auto Assault has undergone a massive overhaul from last year. In it's current state it looks fantastic, and plays with the kind of adrenaline-rushing glee that all games hope to aspire to.
  3. Combines the vehicular glee of Jayce and the Wheeled Warriors with the ultraviolence of Rambo or Carmeggedon. What lets it down is ugliness, its hunger for power (and the corresponding technical issues), and the knowledge that this would be much better and more coherent as a purely single-player game.