User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 244 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 244

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Well worth 10 dollars, there's gonna be a bunch more free skins on the way from what I understand if anyone was interested in that.

    This game is a 2D platformer moba without the a-holes from those games, I swear playing dota 2 changed me into an evil person almost, but holy crap this game is so laid back and fun, it's still competitive but fun.

    To me, getting kills isn't nearly as
    satisfying as getting them in dota 2 but the over all game play just feel so slick.

    Instead of buying items, you buy upgrades, and the abilities are pretty cool the game is well worth 10 dollars.

    It does need a few balances though, but otherwise it's a solid game well worth looking at.
    Expand
  2. Aug 6, 2012
    8
    Awesomenauts its a MOBA style videogame, fun and very dynamic, but theres something negattive playing online, the champions or characters are unlockable depending on player level, but online matches doesnt balance this, player will lose a few times against more experienced players until the player unlock a few champions.
  3. Mar 8, 2013
    4
    To be honest it is not a bad game, game-play is fun, responsive and brings you back for more. But, now here is where the game completely falls off. There are quite a few "awesomenauts" i find very OP (overpowered). Not only are they OP, but there are also badly designed maps which have blind spots which these nauts can kill you from with no effort or skill involved. In conclusion go ahead and buy the game if u REALLY want it but otherwise it is unpolished, very unbalanced and will prove to be an overall frustrating experience Expand
  4. Aug 10, 2012
    10
    Ok, this game is just great. There's nothing at all bad about it, the devs update regularly, the heroes are unique, and the platforming makes everything fun. The only bad point is that people aren't that talkative while playing it seems, so try to get a party together. Then the real fun begins. That, and it costs like 10 bucks, its a must buy in my opinion. Very well balanced too. Also, it doesn't have the problem 2 other MOBAs have (HoN and LoL (Dota 2 has good voice acting)): EXTREMELY ANNOYING VOICE ACTORS. Also, the community is actually pretty pleasant, so yeah, its pretty great. Expand
  5. Aug 10, 2012
    10
    The name Awesomenauts definitely reflects what I think of this game, it's awesome! I love this game. It's a new MOBA style platforming game that introduces new elements to the genre. Playing this game is very fun and relaxing and you don't feel as much pressure as you would in other MOBA's which is great! There are currently some balance issues and the character and map roster isn't very big although the developers promise they are going to continue to support the game with new features and are constantly keeping in touch with the community to help fix bugs. Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    Whatever you may find appealing about this game at first glance, let me assure you now that Awesomenauts does and will provide for your needs, and from personal experience, goes above and beyond. This game is a fresh unique game with a ton of personality and quite a bit of innovation for a MOBA type game. It has a fair skill curve that makes it easy to pick up early on, and it's a ton of fun to play regardless of how good you are. When I first went into Awesomenauts, I was a bit hesitant as to how long I would actually play it and if I would just end up pushing it off to the side of my virtual Steam library shelf like most of my other ten dollar multiplayer games. This was not the case, however, as I soon discovered that the game has lots to keep you coming back every time.

    While there may be a couple of bad things to say about Awesomenaut's balancing, server, matchmaking, etc. at this point in time, I feel it's important to note that this game is updated and patched at a frequent basis. That being said, it's a bit hard for me to rate the game based on said content as the developers are progressively updating game mechanics to eventually become even better.

    In conclusion, Awesomenauts is well worth the ten dollars. The platforming MOBA cross breed has all the credentials that a great online game requires, and it's evident that the developers truly love their creation and aren't just throwing it on the market as fast as possible to make their cash. Awesomenauts is an experience I'd highly recommend seeing for yourself, as I too am still playing it to this day, eagerly waiting for the next awesome batch of content.
    Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2013
    0
    Avoid this game at all costs. The producers are just out to make a buck from some poor, unwitting slob that thinks Saturday Cartoons and MOBA cannot possibly fail.

    Horrible balance.
    Bad latency.
    Rubber banding even!
    Oh, did I mention the bugs and exploits?

    Yeah, glad I didn't spend the money on this game. Got it as a gift, had I purchased it I'd ask for a refund.
  8. Nov 26, 2012
    6
    For the price you pay, it's a good game, although I did get bored pretty quickly. The concept of the game is on the right track, but it could use some more work
  9. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    I have no idea how, but i cant seem to be able to not have fun in this game. The awesomenauts/champions/Heroes are all fun in their own way and each of them bring something unique into every game. being a big fan of the "DOTA clone" genre i cant help but to recommend this to anyone else who enjoys this genre of games.
  10. Oct 26, 2012
    5
    Very fun game, only issues are with the matching system and connection problems.

    Often times you'll be booted from a game due to Host lag, the system then notes your leaving the game as a quit and penalizes you for "leaving". So not only don't you get experience from the game you were just in, but your experience from the next game is lessened, because you "quit" a match.

    Also,
    there are times when a team will just steamroll you, no matter what you do you cannot even kill a single opponent, so after the match you'll return to the menu, trying to get paired with more even opponents, only to join a new game against the previous team. Go ahead and leave it, you'd rather face the leave penalty than waste time in a losing match. Oh no! The system returns you to this match again.

    So your next step is to join up with some friends from Steam, you play a couple of successful rounds and are feeling great about Awesomenauts again. Even losing a close match is just as fun as winning one. But three or four games in, suddenly one of your Steam friends spawns on the opposing side, with no warning or reason.

    The game gets an A+ for fun when it works but when you go three matches in a row and drop connection from each one right at the end, you're ready to uninstall and move on.
    Expand
  11. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    Since it came out in early May, I have played this game almost everyday. The game play is simple yet addictive, and the fact that there has been no updates for months (I play on a PS3) has not stopped the game from being a ton of fun. For 10 dollars, I don't think you can get a better deal.
  12. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Online game addictive and fun. I really enjoyed and made many friends playing the game. Each character has unique abilities and the game is very diverse.

    Congratulations to the developers
  13. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    I have never considered myself a DOTA fan. I have never played DOTA before I tried this game. In fact I tried DOTA2 after I played this game just to find out it's too much for me. Awesomenauts on other side has everything in it to keep me playing for hundreds of hours and still have fun. I love graphic style, music, and sound design. I am using series of wallpapers on my desktop, I listen to a soundtrack for days. It seems I love everything about Awesomenauts. It so much fun to play alone. And it's triple fun when played with friends. Expand
  14. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    This game is a blast. I've spent over a hundred hours on it and counting. The community isn't poisoned, the new content updates are frequent, and the developers are very good at responding to feedback. The game takes the fun of LoL and DOTA and leaves 80% of the awful stuff behind. For $10, you could not whine about it being a waste of money. To me, Awesomenauts is one of the best indie games ever made. Expand
  15. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    Steam was once having a steam sale for Fable: The Lost Chapters. Quite recently actually. After I purchased it, I had $10 dollars left to spend. I browsed for an hour looking for a game, and found only a few games that even appealed to me. So i just chose Awesomenauts, as I couldn't have cared less. I thought it would be one of those games that I would play once or twice and then never touch again. I played it for more than 15 hours in 2 days. This game is amazing and I would have easily Dropped $50 or $60 dollars for it, and with the recent patches to balance the game, It is a must buy. Expand
  16. Nov 16, 2012
    6
    Awesomenauts looks great and the controls feel good but after unlocking a few new characters I quickly became bored with the game. Some heroes are obviously more effective than others and if you want to win you quickly realize what hero your team needs and how it should be played. Players can hop in and out of the 3v3 matches as they please which reduces the competitiveness and the motivation for teammates to talk. You can pretty much experience everything this game has to offer in 1 hr of play which makes it a hard buy at any price. Expand
  17. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This game is a simple version of LoL, which in turn is a simple version of Dota, but not be simply a bad game, you can show great skill moving with the character, the games are fast and fun, different characters if you can choose which skills improve each character, this game really costs little and provides hours and hours and hours of fun, besides having the option to go prestige and gaining positions in the leagues

    a great game with very little money
    Expand
  18. Dec 13, 2012
    5
    A good game idea, kind of based on Soldat with some DotA ideas. The game can be very fun and could deserve a 7 or even 8 on first look. The problem with this game is it is meant to be multiplayer, but the multiplayer sucks.

    You will enter lots of online games where you will play only with bots, or what's even worse, you will find yourself too often playing with bot team mates against a
    completely human team. Also if you are dropped from a game (which, because of its P2P nature, happens quite often) you can't enter back, being punished.

    Arranged teams are matched against random teams, making games also very imbalanced.

    P2P connection consumes lots of bandwith, and as soon as your ping rises above 300ms you are automatically kicked out of the game. I've seen lots of games ruined because of this.

    So, in conclusion, game is good, but since it is meant to be played multiplayer, and multiplayer system sucks, I would not recommend anyone buying it.
    Expand
  19. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    This game is a nice casual moba style game with a nice cartoon art style (also music) to give the game character. If there is a problem, its that some characters are unbalanced but, this is happens with every moba (LOL, dota, etc.) with a new character. In conclusion, I think the game is very interesting and on pc makes a very nice casual moba game with a FRIENDLY community. This gives the game a 9/10. Expand
  20. Jan 8, 2013
    6
    Pretty fun 2D MOBA. I only have a couple qualms. The gameplay feels slow. Once into the game, I got used to it, but compared to 2D platformers or a 2D multiplayer shooter like Soldat, the base rate of fire and walk speed of the heroes in this game feels sluggish. Different genres, sure, but if you play a lot of platformers you might be less than impressed with the game physics here. There are a fair number of different maps, and the different layouts offer your team the opportunity to use different strategies, but all the maps kind of have the same feel to them. The different "worlds" don't feel very different from each other. However, I do enjoy the character choices. When you start, you'll only have three unlocked, but it's not hard to unlock more, and the different heroes do play differently from each other. Expand
  21. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    It's surprising just how well the MOBA formula adapts in a 2D environment, it might not be as strategic as others in the genre but it holds its own in terms of how fun the combat is. Special mention also goes to the sound design, very cool soundtrack and each character has their own little jingle, a small touch which I was impressed with, and on top of it all is the great voice acting which adds a welcome layer of charm to an already likebale game. Expand
  22. Dec 26, 2013
    5
    Decent game with terrible matchmaking, terrible randomness, and not much else. It's worth a couple bucks, but that's about it. It's like DOTA or smash bros for complete idiots.
  23. Nov 21, 2013
    8
    Picked up this game from a Humble Bundle. It is a polished game I must say. The only thing I'd wish is to add more players in game because 3v3 seems pretty small.
  24. Mar 31, 2013
    9
    Great concept, great gameplay, much faster-feeling and action-packed than games like LoL or dota. One thing I really enjoy is controlling the character with aswd (2 dimensionally), it gives it a closer feel than right clicking and watching your character move. The abilities are zany and fun, and each character is unique. Online play has a long queue, plagued further by glitchy match-making, but I just watch anime while I wait. The glitchy matchmaking is that if you leave a game sometimes you will be thrown into the same match when you re-queue, and other times it will just have you host a game in which there are no players (only bots) and then it immediately says it found a game with more players and you try to join that other game only to find it set you up again with bots. Only a few hundred people play this game so there's obviously longer wait times than LoL. Also there's a ranking system, so it matches you with people near your rank (unfortunately there is no unranked). On the whole though it's a great game, highly recommended if you're a fan of MOBAs. Expand
  25. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    Great 2d-moba game. I think the only 2d game.
    Nice community (more happy than lol or hon/dota), less skill and strategies..so more simple and arcade
  26. Oct 25, 2012
    9
    Minus very minimal lag issues, this game is hands down my favorite, and most well balanced MOBA I've ever played. It's quirky, easy to learn, and also very rewarding. The difference between characters is noticeable, but none are any better than the others overall. The style the game has is unmatched, and it's so easy to have a good time, even if you lose.
  27. Nov 17, 2012
    2
    It's a slightly dressed up 1980's style side-scroller. Cartoon style graphics without any attempt at animation in cutscenes. When put up against any other indy title at the same price, this one isn't original nor interesting.
  28. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    Awesomenauts is like many have said a MOBA style game with a platformer twist. I personally have found the game very fun, it's not 100% balanced which is it's biggest flaw. But hell LoL isn't 100% balanced and it is the iconic moba game of today. I would like to say I think there should be a debuff for leaving a game early as in the current state of the game there is a high number of people rage quitting. The game play it's self is fun and easy to learn. I especially am a fan of the split screen functionality. Expand
  29. Sep 22, 2013
    3
    This game could be one of the best games of its kind. It´s got an funny responsive game play, has a great team play and different maps each of them requiring a special attack-style. But now the disadvantages:
    The team balancing sucks, either you are playing in an absolutely OP team or you get raped and have no chance at all ....Very rarely there are balanced really funny matches which are
    the only reason I keep trying again and again,after having had a lot of bad matches in a row.. The game play suffers under problems as incompetent AI, lagging players suddenly one-hitting you (its not cause of my bad connection it´s quite good in every other game) and combinations of OP chars in one team. As I said the game play is really great and contains a lot of innovative and interesting ideas but how the developers use the game play in game sucks and prevents this game from getting very good.
    English isn`t my mother tongue so I´m sorry about all miss spellings or grammatical mistakes
    Expand
  30. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    Awesome 2d Moba Platformer. Worth the $10,Only problem is it needs more characters and maps.But still really fun and a different style of moba games because of its platforming and you choose your own loadout for the shop.
  31. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    This game is just straight out awesome I already had a ton of fun playing it and there is no end in sight.
    The game is regularly updated with new free champs. The latest ones have been spoken by the Yogscast and Total Biscuit this interaction with the community is just awesome and I've never seen that before.
    It's fast, It's fun, It's cheap what more would you want?
  32. Dec 26, 2012
    7
    Good game to play on your free time when you want to relax and blow small cartoon figures up. Art design is interesting and each individual avatar to play has very unique and playful looking attacks. A few problems that keep it from getting a 9 or 10 would be lack of level matching, but this is quickly resolved by the overall simplicity of the game. Tutorial in my opinion is a bit unnecessary and melee attacks being affected by direction of mouse and not of avatar seem a bit redundant to me but you are able to set up controls so the mouse isn't involved in it. Game play a bit repetitive, but fun to watch and a great breather from all the intense cinematic masterpieces of today. Good game overall though, and would recommend to anyone who just wants to play a fun game without the importance of stressing over levels and enjoy a good blast from the past. Personally waited for a sale to buy this game, but still might be worth it full price. Expand
  33. May 17, 2014
    7
    Awesomenauts in not a bad game, not even a bad MOBA. In fact, it is actually pretty good at being both. The platforming and 2d style makes it a unique experience in the market, with very beautiful graphics and easy controls. Every awesomenaut is unique and there are no counter-picks, only better-made teams. However, there are a number of problems in the game considering the match making system and the leaderboards. Leaderboards are supposed to help by matching you with players of your skill, which is calculated from your percentage of wins(winning earns you points-losing decreases your points). The problem is that in many cases you will have feeders and/or leavers that leave fairly early once your opponents gain the lead to avoid losing points and are replaced by bots that are useless compared to real players, leading to frustration almost every time. And the worst of all is leavers are not punished as hard as the player who doesn't ragequit. In addition, the game often disconnects from the "host" something that counts as a loss to your personal score and is somewhat common. Also, the number of awesomenauts is not that big as the developer is currently busy with the starstorm DLC(which I really enjoy and recommend if you have 8 more euros to spend), which may make the game a bit dull after a while(not soon though). Reporting or honoring a player is absent in this MOBA and friending them is not made as simple as in other titles. I wouldn't recommend awesomenauts to people that care about rankings in MOBAS and are sensitive about that stuff, however if you want to play it for the lolz I definitely recommend to go for it and if you can find some friends to play together you are going to love it. Expand
  34. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    An absolute blast with new content added very frequently! This developer team is building a very good community and is tweaking it's game all the time, delivering a great, balanced experience for a small price!
  35. Dec 31, 2012
    9
    This game is simply amazing, it's innovative, easy to learn, very addicting, and above all... Really fun to play.
    There's almost no pressure (like it would be the case in most MOBA's) and the playerbase is really laid back about mistakes you make. The characters are original and funny. I really like the fact that there are this much multiplayer possibilities. You can quickly jump in on
    games that are in progress, play in a team with or against your friends, you can even play splitscreen with 1/2 friends against online people

    An ideal game for when you don't really have much time or to play for hours with a few friends!
    Collapse
  36. Jan 15, 2013
    8
    When it came to the MOBA genre, I didn't like it. I couldn't get used to the controls and I just couldn't get into the games themselves. But when I found Awesomenauts on steam, I was hooked. The game plays smoothly and the controls are excellent as they use the usual WASD controls. If you are a fan of MOBAs then pick up this game. If you aren't then you can still get into it like I did.
  37. Feb 14, 2013
    8
    I had no idea this game existed until I saw it on sale for 3.39$ on steam, I looked up into it to see if i would be interested, I liked what I saw/read so I got it and hoped that I wouldn't regret purchasing it. It was well worth it, turns out I did enjoy it, I played games like Dota 2, and Smite before so I understood the whole objective and to experiance a whole different type of Moba is overwhelming. The gameplay is simple, not so tough, but still gives you a challenge against whoever your facing. Also this game is local co-op so if you always have somebody always wanting a turn to play you can just hand him or her a gamepad and start blasting away. I'm not really finding that much lag well I did play this game for about 2 hours and plan to continue until further notice. Also another problem is whenever my connection will stop since it will do that from time to time, I wouldn't be able to enter that same match I was in, now it should really include a function that will allow you to do that like in the other moba's. I'm having no problems with match making because sometimes the bots will play much better then the player, and when a person does straight up leave the game you get a decent replacement at a close lvl, since this is a moba game where you may have a bad team against a good team so noone should really be complaining about that logic. Expand
  38. Oct 26, 2013
    6
    MOBA games have never been much of my cup of tea, but Awesomenauts is fun, good fun Even though it's 2D it offers it's challenges and own flavour. The characters are quite likable, though in my eyes not exactly the most balanced. But it's okay, since these games are tremendously hard to balance still, great production. *Thumbs Up*
  39. Can
    Feb 4, 2013
    9
    This game is absolutely awesome. I don't like DotA but I love this game! Only problem is connection problem and matching system but this is not a big deal. Not happening always.
  40. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    De los mejores juegos que se puede jugar todos los dias algunas partidas,
    Cada partida siempre es diferente a otras.

    En un año casi, no he dejado de jugar ni un solo dia. Cada semana entra nuevos jugadores.
  41. Jun 7, 2013
    9
    A brilliant game that's well worth the small price tag.

    As you may have picked up from the other reviews, yes online playing can feel a little unbalanced at times. Yet there are settings in place to try and counter this happening. For example the league system assigns a player to league 6 from the start and winning or losing games and counting the number of deaths an kills will depend
    on whether or not you move up a league or down. When you go to find a game you will be match making with players in the same league or very close to it.

    Another point is that the level up system to unlock new characters and upgrades isn't only available from online play, you are more than welcome to play only practice mode with rather easy bots and still reek the benefits that players winning online matches would. It's something I'd strongly recommend doing a couple of times as every character so you find one that matches your play style before you wonder in to battle with the big boys.

    This game should not be missed if you like to play a nice quirky game that quickly becomes very competitive. More fun with friends.
    Expand
  42. May 24, 2013
    8
    This game is worth the money as its got really good gameplay, graphics and sound! Also love the humour and style of the game. I also can't believe that someone actually made a Dota Platforming game which blown my mind!
  43. AWG
    Jul 30, 2013
    4
    Yawn. I got bored quite quickly. Ok, it's cheap so at least you won't waste money but you'll waste time. The concept of the game is not as original as devs think.
  44. Jun 10, 2013
    10
    Amazingly addictive, the fact my steam says I've played this for over twenty four hours definitely helps me decide the score this game deserves. It's kind of a smaller and kinkier version of LoL or Dota. Definitely worth 10$, recommended!
  45. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    I nice little platforming shoot-them-up, it's isn't like any of those AAA first person shooters where everything is serious and gruff, it's a fun little strategy shooter, well worth the money.
  46. Jul 10, 2013
    9
    A princípio tinha julgado mal o jogo. Vi a apresentação e escutei a música frenética e achei que seria apenas mais um jogo de criança. Felizmente estava errado.

    Comprei em uma promoção no Humble Bundle por 1 dólar e comecei a jogar no Steam. Fiquei surpreso com o game, que está me proporcionando várias horas de diversão solo e com amigos. Os personagens são carismáticos e alguns deles
    são muito divertidos, por conta das diversas falas em determinadas ocasiões da partida.

    E por falar em partidas, comigo elas duraram de 8 a 26 minutos. O jogo tem suporte total controle, inclusive com tela dividida para até 3 pessoas (todas com ou sem controle).

    Recomendo Awesomenauts para quem procura um jogo barato, divertido, relativamente rápido e com uma boa variedade de personagens.
    Expand
  47. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    Awesomenauts is (another) MOBA, which isn't surprising considering the waves of them coming forth from the success of games like DOTA and LoL. However, 'Nauts puts its own twist on the genre. The game is entirely in 2d, and features fast-paced, yet relatively casual gameplay not seen in most MOBA's. The character design is spot on, with superb music to boot. The only issue with this game that I can see is that it suffers severe balancing issues. A few characters are just allowed to become rampantly overpowered, and many characters uselessly underpowered and neglected. All in all, 'Nauts is a satisfying experience well worth the asking price. Expand
  48. Feb 9, 2014
    8
    This game is good,with the exception of OP characters(like Clunk) and a Player vs AI mode that is very easy,and you actually level up with it, it's a really good MOBA game,and the only one that i actually enjoy.As it is a platformer game too,this made me respect this game,combining 2 genres that have no connections at all.
    I recommend it for every type of player,Hardcore,Newbie etc. this
    game is for everyone. Expand
  49. Nov 23, 2013
    9
    ‘Still Well Worth the Price Tag With Hours upon Hours of Endless Fun’

    To simply say this game is Awesome is to give a very lazy, clichéd critique of the game. But does Awesomenauts really live up to its name is it Awesome? No it isn’t, well not yet at least. Nevertheless with a bit of fine-tuning here and there and one or two improvements made to the game’s mechanics; this little beast
    of a MOBA will be well on its way to defining Awesome. Expand
  50. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    Simple, fast and incredibly fun. Each character has its own particular and way to play,and the soundtrack is still in my head.
    Congratulation to the developers!
    At this price, you must have it.
  51. Jan 4, 2014
    6
    This take on a side scrolling moba is fun to play as long as you have friends. The characters you play have their unique theme music and they are all equally unique. However where the game falls of is that unfortunately the game community is small and this is where playing Dota or League becomes an easier game to play.
  52. Feb 21, 2014
    8
    Awesomenauts is a platform MOBA designed to be played with friends. The game not only allows online multiplayer but also for multiplayer on the same PC. The level up system unlike a lot of MOBAs works rather well as it rewards you for your efforts by unlocking new characters to play as well as new items for you to buy in game. This game gives a lot all for a very small price tag and is well worth the money. All it needs now are a few more maps and maybe some for skins to make it a real contender. Expand
  53. Jul 19, 2014
    7
    Fantastic and fun game to play, and with the awesome music and soundtrack that comes with the game, I would recommend you trying the demo, ALSO it's fun to play with your friends and expect to die allot on your first try. But the DLC in this game is awful. ONE DLC for an announcer!?! ONE WHOLE DLC for spectator mode and all the other features in Awesomenauts Starstorm DLC, it should have been placed into this game in the first place!!! But on the whole, excluding DLC, it's a fun game to play. Expand
  54. Jun 24, 2014
    7
    Fun game to enjoy for a few hours but really need to improve much more if compare with strong titles such as League of Legend or Dota 2.

    In my opinion this game will be a great deal if it's on sales
  55. Jul 1, 2014
    9
    This game is definitely worth the price. It's addicting, I have played it for days straight. It is a strategic 2D MOBA that will leave you staring at your computer for hours on end. While I do wish there were more characters, it is still very fun and worth looking into
  56. Oct 13, 2013
    8
    I am not a huge fan of MOBA's or lane-pushers. My friends keep trying to get me into LoL and DOTA and it's just not taking. The games aren't that fun to me there's too much influence of the "metagame" for my tastes. Awesomenauts seems to solve that problem for me by simplifying things, but only slightly, and polishing the action. When I play Awesomenauts, I get the same kind of old-school Megaman-type joy I used to get with my NES, coupled with the heady rush of victory in a modern competitive online game or the teeth-grinding rage of defeat.

    I think the phsyics and action are well done for a side-scroller. They've managed to marry that well with the core gameplay mechanic of lane-pushers, and neither genre seems to suffer for it. I also enjoy the art, humor, and general style of the execution I believe TotalBiscuit said they were going for a Saturday Morning Cartoon motif, and it shows. This game just oozes "cool", in a elementary-school awesome hologram Ninja Turtles lunchbook sort of way, if that makes any sense.

    If I had to name gripes about it, the characters could possibly be slightly better balanced and there could possibly be a better protection against steamrolling, but that may be partly due to my skill level, as I don't like to get too much into the "metagames" of things I play.

    I'd recommend this to anyone who enjoys the popular lane-pushers and is feeling adventurous enough to try something a bit fresh and twitchy, or anyone who hankers for some old-school Capcom style blasting with a heaping spoonful of hectic competition.
    Expand
  57. Oct 16, 2013
    8
    Imagine something like DOTA 2 crossed with the oldschool game Green Beret but with a flavour of late 80s action cartoons like Thundercats. Sounds impossible? No. It sounds like Awesomenauts.
  58. Dec 25, 2012
    8
    Some time ago, closer to launch, this game had serious matchmaking problems. Thankfully, these have now been fixed due to the fact that the devs are regularly updating this game and checking for problems. They've also added a wealth of new characters, which helps to bring more variety. The game itself is very fun and an interesting 2D take on the MOBA genre. Teamwork is essential for victory, not individual skill. I do think that characters could be a bit more balanced, though balance issues in the past have again been fixed by the devs. A problem yet to be fixed is the fact that there are only 3 maps, though I can see this being changed in the future. The game itself though is very addictive and requires strategy as well platforming skill to succeed. Well worth a look. Expand
  59. Sep 9, 2013
    10
    This is a 2d side scroller/platform style MOBA game. While similar in some respects to DOTA2 and League of Legends, I feel it surpasses both with its unique play style, graphical/aesthetic styling and sheer "fun factor". Equally enjoyable whether you are playing casually with friends, solo queuing, or find or form a 3 man team and try for a more competitive experience, this game really delivers. It is currently growing exponentially in player base, has quarterly fan-run and pseudo-official tournaments, and has a new expansion in the works. Overall this game is one of the best MOBA's I have seen, and is worth every penny of it's modest $10 price tag. Steam often has it on sale for even less as well. Expand
  60. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    Very well made MOBA platformer that works fine except with small issues like not being able to reconnect a game if internet cuts or the game crashes.Still very good.
  61. Aug 26, 2014
    8
    Once you get past the flaws, which every game has in one form or another, this is actually quite enjoyable. Granted it lacks the "flashy" aspects of other games, and it can take a while to get used to. But as you learn to understand the underlying mechanics it grows on you. Latency is an issue, but is getting better with time. Something different if you're tired of traditional games in this genre.
  62. May 9, 2013
    8
    Got to say, 2D MOBA really works for me. I mean, I really don't like games like Dota 2 or LoL, played both, and tried to learn them, but pretty much got the feeling that there is no fun to be had with these games, but Awesomenauts is really fun and I like it, and my girlfriend likes it too. One thing that's bad about it is that there are only 4 maps, and I feel it could use a lot more.
    Character selection is good, fits mine and my girlfriends play-styles (mine more agile, her raw power).
    The game seems a little bit unfair with the kills, as the last shot gets all the credit, and the one who might have taken off all the damage, gets no credit at all, not even an assist. But I guess thats the case with all MOBAs, which is another part I don't like about them.
    If you're just starting to play with friends, I would recommend playing a private game, with bots, so you could adjust the difficulty level and learn. Going straight to play against real people will be hard.
    So in conclusion, I would totally recommend this game even to people who are not MOBA lovers.
    Expand
  63. Jun 9, 2013
    8
    This is a very good game some character imbalances but overall very nice i didn't actually buy this game my friend gave it to me as a gift and i wouldn't really buy this on my own but its still fun
  64. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    It is a really good casual MOBA for everyone.
    Ypu dont need to be a pro to have fun, and the games last long enoguh to enjoy but not too long.
    It's really great to see how the game evolves and new content is added.
    Never a fan of MOBA titles but this one is really well thought.
    Music and ambient is also great .
    the price is just fine.
    A must buy to have some casual multiplayer fun
  65. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    Gameplay's a little repetitive, but fun. I do appreciate that things are still being changed and added, but this does cause some weirdnesses from time to time as well.
  66. Jul 30, 2013
    9
    I am not a moba fan in any shape or form; however I am an awesome(nauts) fan. Awesomenauts is a 2D platforming moba with crazy characters- a rapping frog, a robot cowboy, a french cameleon and even a super intelligent space-race monkey with a jetpack let alone to mention the other other characters.
    This game, unlike pretty much all other mobas is actually laid-back, that is once you get
    used to it.
    I have played this game since pretty much release, so I haven't personally experienced this problem, but this is a pretty hard game to start with; 6-7 weeks of pain and little game, then the fun begins! Ronimo has tried to solve this with a league system, however they haven't totally solved this. I'm in league II (league I is the top) out of 9, I still meet newbies woefully underequiped for the skill-level. Ronimo however, despite being a 'small indie developer' update this title frequently- so you never know.
    This game is best played with friends.
    (The only reason this is not a 10/10 is the fact that no game could possibly be PERFECT...)
    Expand
  67. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    Awesomenauts is THE moba, which will gives you 20min games, intensive action, bots for disconnecting teammates, stress, fairly good ranking and matching system, updates (new players, new maps), did I mention.. ACTION And for a really reasonable price.

    Just having a blast with it.
  68. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    I personally love the game for it being a MOBA and for not having the general "nice" people you would have on either League of legends or DOTA. It is a fun and simple game. You are easily hooked by how simple it is to play in comparison to LOL or DOTA but twice as fun due to simple layout of upgrades you can buy and the great champions or characters you can play as.
  69. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    Awesomenauts is totally worth the price! The game itself is highly addictive and the characters are just awesome! The best part of the game, apart from that is it a incredible MOBA style game, the music is incredibly beautiful! Totally worth the price!
  70. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    This game really makes fun. I've played the Multiplayer and i'm not really a fan of MOBA Games,but this is great!
    Good Things:
    Balancing Stone,Scissor,Paper principle (I'm german,so sorry when i make mistakes in grammar.)
    Latency When the Latency is too bad,the Host will change to the best I-Net Player so everyone has a good Latency.
    - Graphics For a MOBA Indie Game,the Publishers
    used a simple Comic Graphic for this game.
    - Easy to learn After you played 2 Matches you know all what you need to know
    Bad Things:
    Leveling System For itself the System is very good,but when you play your first matches,you will see that other players have better Awesomenauts and better Items as you can have.
    Skinning System You have to pay for the most Skins, 2,50€ in Germany.
    I hope i helped you! :)
    No Filter System you can't join on a server that you want,you will go in some servers there a map is that you hate. Thats the biggest Problem of the Game.
    Expand
  71. Jan 26, 2014
    9
    Awesomenauts is an outstanding game that goes above and beyond expectations of a new take on a MOBA. Lets get one thing straight, if you are one of those people who only like a certain genre of video games like fps this isnt for you. The game is very different compared to anything i've seen in a long time which should be noticed because it seems lately that there are either fps' or zombie games which i am tired of. With new updates and a brand new DLC that is in early access the game has really changed to something you can play for hours on end. Many characters to choose from each with a different advantage and disadvantage keeps you from saying the common phrase "THAT **** IS OP". Limited settings are not bad because the game is simple and there is controller support and local play. These are 2 things i feel that should be implemented into more games. Each time you play a game it tends to go on anywhere from 20 to 40mins which is nice for those times you cant play a most likely 1 hour LoL or DoTA match. The only complaints i have is that when there is clearly a game where you are losing but is gonna go on for too long you can't surrender. The last and possibly best part of the game is how although the game looks simple and easy it is difficult enough that you have to learn things about the game that takes some time to get used to. Maps can be memorized and there is even a level up and prestige system in the game to keep making you want to comeback for more. I have played 200hours of this game and have over 30 other video games. I can personally tell you that this game is well worth the money you pay for it. Expand
  72. Jun 9, 2014
    9
    Moba + Platformer? Why not! Awesomenauts has an incredible unique touch that doesn't take itself seriously! With ridiculous characters and also the soundtrack, the game is quite charming! The community is different than most moba as there is less competition and more fun! Not expensive, easy to play and very enjoyable I recommend it for everyone!
  73. Sep 16, 2014
    10
    Awesomenauts is a great 2D MOBA platformer. The game is run with P2P multiplayer, which means that occasionally there are lag issues, depending on the host of the game; however, if the lag issues are bad, the game often switches to a better host. While competitive, I still find it to be much more relaxed than other MOBAs like LoL or DOTA 2. There are many characters available and there's always a playstyle and character for everyone. The voice actors for the game are often popular Youtubers and the voices and dialogue make the game hilarious at times.

    Although you do have to unlock characters by playing games and leveling up, the starting characters provide valuable insight into how the rest of the characters work. Each character has a unique jump and movement speed and the first two characters allow new players to learn about how to use the different jumps and speeds they may encounter later.

    Many players complain about a few "overpowered" characters. The truth, in my opinion, is that every character is overpowered if used well, which results for an interesting balance in the game. However, Ronimo often updates and rebalances the characters as needed, and adds new characters every now and then.

    The community is usually quite pleasant with a few exceptions once in awhile; however, there is no voice chat (looking at the mute buttons that are now available on the scoreboard, that may be soon to come) and players rarely type in chat. Teamplay with friends is highly recommended, but not necessary. Personally, I am a solo queuer, meaning that I just join in to a game by myself, and it works out pretty well.

    Awesomenauts is an amazing and addictive game and I've been playing it every day since I bought it months ago. If you've never played a MOBA before, this is a great game to start with (I was an FPS gamer before this game). I highly recommend this game for anyone just looking to have fun, but there are competitive leagues if you're interested in that as well.
    Expand
  74. Dec 31, 2012
    0
    This game is simply amazing, it's innovative, easy to learn, very addicting, and above all... Really fun to play.
    There's almost no pressure (like it would be the case in most MOBA's) and the playerbase is really laid back about mistakes you make. The characters are original and funny. I really like the fact that there are this much multiplayer possibilities. You can quickly jump in on
    games that are in progress, play in a team with or against your friends, you can even play splitscreen with 1/2 friends against online people

    An ideal game for when you don't really have much time or to play for hours with a few friends!
    Collapse
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. 70
    Splendid multiplayer mayhem contains a strong factor of addictiveness – unusual design and perfect playability will keep you in the game for a long time. [Nov 2012]
  2. Sep 7, 2012
    80
    Awesomenauts has fantastic potential, but is not quite there. Tweaks to the balancing and AI will make this one a star.
  3. Aug 13, 2012
    78
    Quotation forthcoming.