Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 247 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game features the most awesome mercenaries in the galaxy in their fight for territorial supremacy. Awesomenauts brings Russian monkeys with jetpacks, giant robots, and lots of other mighty aliens to the two-dimensional console battlefield. Combining classic platforming-action with modern online multiplayer functionality, the action-packed gameplay offers everything the 16-bit generation and modern gamers love. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 7, 2012
    80
    Awesomenauts has fantastic potential, but is not quite there. Tweaks to the balancing and AI will make this one a star.
  2. 80
    A clever spin on the MOBA genre that strips away the complications and nerdy presentation to create a fast-paced but deceptively complex action strategy game.
  3. Aug 7, 2012
    80
    Awesomenauts is a deep multiplayer battler with the approachability of a Saturday-morning cartoon.
  4. Aug 13, 2012
    78
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Aug 3, 2012
    75
    Awesomenauts has a good and effective mix of genres: platformer, strategy and action.
  6. 70
    Splendid multiplayer mayhem contains a strong factor of addictiveness – unusual design and perfect playability will keep you in the game for a long time. [Nov 2012]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 73
  2. Negative: 5 out of 73
  1. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    Awesomenauts is totally worth the price! The game itself is highly addictive and the characters are just awesome! The best part of the game, apart from that is it a incredible MOBA style game, the music is incredibly beautiful! Totally worth the price! Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This game is a simple version of LoL, which in turn is a simple version of Dota, but not be simply a bad game, you can show great skill moving with the character, the games are fast and fun, different characters if you can choose which skills improve each character, this game really costs little and provides hours and hours and hours of fun, besides having the option to go prestige and gaining positions in the leagues

    a great game with very little money
    Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Well worth 10 dollars, there's gonna be a bunch more free skins on the way from what I understand if anyone was interested in that.

    This
    game is a 2D platformer moba without the a-holes from those games, I swear playing dota 2 changed me into an evil person almost, but holy crap this game is so laid back and fun, it's still competitive but fun.

    To me, getting kills isn't nearly as satisfying as getting them in dota 2 but the over all game play just feel so slick.

    Instead of buying items, you buy upgrades, and the abilities are pretty cool the game is well worth 10 dollars.

    It does need a few balances though, but otherwise it's a solid game well worth looking at.
    Collapse
  4. Jun 9, 2014
    9
    Moba + Platformer? Why not! Awesomenauts has an incredible unique touch that doesn't take itself seriously! With ridiculous characters and also the soundtrack, the game is quite charming! The community is different than most moba as there is less competition and more fun! Not expensive, easy to play and very enjoyable I recommend it for everyone! Expand
  5. May 24, 2013
    8
    This game is worth the money as its got really good gameplay, graphics and sound! Also love the humour and style of the game. I also can't believe that someone actually made a Dota Platforming game which blown my mind! Expand
  6. May 9, 2013
    8
    Got to say, 2D MOBA really works for me. I mean, I really don't like games like Dota 2 or LoL, played both, and tried to learn them, but pretty much got the feeling that there is no fun to be had with these games, but Awesomenauts is really fun and I like it, and my girlfriend likes it too. One thing that's bad about it is that there are only 4 maps, and I feel it could use a lot more.
    Character selection is good, fits mine and my girlfriends play-styles (mine more agile, her raw power).
    The game seems a little bit unfair with the kills, as the last shot gets all the credit, and the one who might have taken off all the damage, gets no credit at all, not even an assist. But I guess thats the case with all MOBAs, which is another part I don't like about them.
    If you're just starting to play with friends, I would recommend playing a private game, with bots, so you could adjust the difficulty level and learn. Going straight to play against real people will be hard.
    So in conclusion, I would totally recommend this game even to people who are not MOBA lovers.
    Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2013
    0
    Avoid this game at all costs. The producers are just out to make a buck from some poor, unwitting slob that thinks Saturday Cartoons and MOBA cannot possibly fail.

    Horrible balance.
    Bad latency.
    Rubber banding even!
    Oh, did I mention the bugs and exploits?

    Yeah, glad I didn't spend the money on this game. Got it as a gift, had I purchased it I'd ask for a refund.
    Expand

See all 73 User Reviews