Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 237 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game features the most awesome mercenaries in the galaxy in their fight for territorial supremacy. Awesomenauts brings Russian monkeys with jetpacks, giant robots, and lots of other mighty aliens to the two-dimensional console battlefield. Combining classic platforming-action with modern online multiplayer functionality, the action-packed gameplay offers everything the 16-bit generation and modern gamers love. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 7, 2012
    80
    Awesomenauts has fantastic potential, but is not quite there. Tweaks to the balancing and AI will make this one a star.
  2. 80
    A clever spin on the MOBA genre that strips away the complications and nerdy presentation to create a fast-paced but deceptively complex action strategy game.
  3. Aug 7, 2012
    80
    Awesomenauts is a deep multiplayer battler with the approachability of a Saturday-morning cartoon.
  4. Aug 13, 2012
    78
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Aug 3, 2012
    75
    Awesomenauts has a good and effective mix of genres: platformer, strategy and action.
  6. 70
    Splendid multiplayer mayhem contains a strong factor of addictiveness – unusual design and perfect playability will keep you in the game for a long time. [Nov 2012]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 72
  2. Negative: 5 out of 72
  1. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    I personally love the game for it being a MOBA and for not having the general "nice" people you would have on either League of legends or DOTA. It is a fun and simple game. You are easily hooked by how simple it is to play in comparison to LOL or DOTA but twice as fun due to simple layout of upgrades you can buy and the great champions or characters you can play as. Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This game is a simple version of LoL, which in turn is a simple version of Dota, but not be simply a bad game, you can show great skill moving with the character, the games are fast and fun, different characters if you can choose which skills improve each character, this game really costs little and provides hours and hours and hours of fun, besides having the option to go prestige and gaining positions in the leagues

    a great game with very little money
    Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Well worth 10 dollars, there's gonna be a bunch more free skins on the way from what I understand if anyone was interested in that.

    This
    game is a 2D platformer moba without the a-holes from those games, I swear playing dota 2 changed me into an evil person almost, but holy crap this game is so laid back and fun, it's still competitive but fun.

    To me, getting kills isn't nearly as satisfying as getting them in dota 2 but the over all game play just feel so slick.

    Instead of buying items, you buy upgrades, and the abilities are pretty cool the game is well worth 10 dollars.

    It does need a few balances though, but otherwise it's a solid game well worth looking at.
    Expand
  4. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    Awesomenauts is (another) MOBA, which isn't surprising considering the waves of them coming forth from the success of games like DOTA and LoL. However, 'Nauts puts its own twist on the genre. The game is entirely in 2d, and features fast-paced, yet relatively casual gameplay not seen in most MOBA's. The character design is spot on, with superb music to boot. The only issue with this game that I can see is that it suffers severe balancing issues. A few characters are just allowed to become rampantly overpowered, and many characters uselessly underpowered and neglected. All in all, 'Nauts is a satisfying experience well worth the asking price. Expand
  5. Aug 26, 2014
    8
    Once you get past the flaws, which every game has in one form or another, this is actually quite enjoyable. Granted it lacks the "flashy" aspects of other games, and it can take a while to get used to. But as you learn to understand the underlying mechanics it grows on you. Latency is an issue, but is getting better with time. Something different if you're tired of traditional games in this genre. Expand
  6. Dec 25, 2012
    8
    Some time ago, closer to launch, this game had serious matchmaking problems. Thankfully, these have now been fixed due to the fact that the devs are regularly updating this game and checking for problems. They've also added a wealth of new characters, which helps to bring more variety. The game itself is very fun and an interesting 2D take on the MOBA genre. Teamwork is essential for victory, not individual skill. I do think that characters could be a bit more balanced, though balance issues in the past have again been fixed by the devs. A problem yet to be fixed is the fact that there are only 3 maps, though I can see this being changed in the future. The game itself though is very addictive and requires strategy as well platforming skill to succeed. Well worth a look. Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2013
    0
    Avoid this game at all costs. The producers are just out to make a buck from some poor, unwitting slob that thinks Saturday Cartoons and MOBA cannot possibly fail.

    Horrible balance.
    Bad latency.
    Rubber banding even!
    Oh, did I mention the bugs and exploits?

    Yeah, glad I didn't spend the money on this game. Got it as a gift, had I purchased it I'd ask for a refund.
    Expand

See all 72 User Reviews