Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 39
  2. Negative: 3 out of 39
  1. Jan 4, 2011
    91
    It's about freaking time we got to see a decent attempt at a game based on Back to the Future.
  2. Dec 23, 2010
    91
    Back to the Future is a promising start for the five-part series and a treat for fans. While adventure aficionados might hope for harder puzzles and larger spaces to explore, casual players and first-time adventure gamers should have fun reconnecting with familiar characters.
  3. Jan 27, 2011
    90
    For fans of the films, you can hardly go wrong with It's About Time. Adventure game fans might have a harder time justifying it, since while the puzzles are excellent, they go by a little fast, and can be a bit too easy for the seasoned veterans out there.
  4. Jan 2, 2011
    90
    A great little sequel to an amazing franchise.
  5. Jan 1, 2011
    90
    For fans of the hit movie trilogy, Back to the Future: It's About Time is exactly what we were hoping for.
  6. Dec 29, 2010
    90
    It's comfortable, safe and fun. By never attempting to be anything but a game which plays out like a Back to the Future story, it succeeds tremendously.
  7. Dec 23, 2010
    90
    Right now I think Telltale's created a very good game, and I have a feeling it's going to have an even greater future.
  8. Dec 23, 2010
    90
    For a few hours peering into my laptop screen, Telltale managed to make me feel eight years old again. It may not be time travel, but it could be the closest you can get without a flux capacitor.
  9. Dec 29, 2010
    85
    With a funny and engrossing story, and outstanding voice work, this is one game any fan of the franchise would do well to play.
  10. Dec 23, 2010
    85
    Back to the Future is a welcome surprise – it's a movie-inspired game that doesn't suck. Instead, it pushes the characters in interesting directions and whips up a good story.
  11. Dec 25, 2010
    83
    As an adventure gamer i have to criticize the far too easy puzzles and the controls that feel too much like a console game. But as a Back to the Future Fan I have to say: Well done, Telltale, this feels like a worthy extension of the trilogy.
  12. Mar 9, 2011
    80
    Too easy and too short...but sparkling dialogues and a brilliant interpretation will move every Back to the Future fan.
  13. Feb 24, 2011
    80
    Gameplay that refused to break any new ground can't tarnish the love and care shown in this nostalgia piece. [Mar 2011, p.68]
  14. Feb 4, 2011
    80
    Despite its clunky interface and short length, Telltale's first episode of Back to the Future: The Game provides a steady stream of delights thanks to its charming story and eccentric cast.
  15. Jan 10, 2011
    80
    Overall, I found the first episode of Back to the Future: The Game to be fun -- not amazing or anything, but fun.
  16. Jan 9, 2011
    80
    Back to the Future: Episode 1 is a blast from the past that any fan of the original series will love. It's a damn good start to what will probably be a great season of adventures.
  17. 80
    Telltale fans will get exactly what they came for, but newcomers might be surprised that point-and-click games even exist anymore.
  18. Jan 5, 2011
    80
    If you have any love for the Back to the Future series or simply are looking to digest TellTale's latest click-happy adventure, you really can't go wrong with Episode 1: It's About Time.
  19. Jan 1, 2011
    80
    While light on the gameplay side, the first episode of Back to the Future absolutely nails the charm, humor, and sense of adventure that made the films so much fun.
  20. Dec 23, 2010
    80
    Back to the Future: The Game is at its best when it's fast-paced and doesn't bog you down with too many choices to make or inventory items to keep tabs on - the episode ends on a high note because its puzzles generate and maintain a sense of momentum that the middle section lacks.
  21. Mar 21, 2011
    75
    A solid start for the series, though a little too short and easy to complete. Telltale, please, we want more! [Feb 2011, p.105]
  22. Jan 4, 2011
    75
    It is a good adventure game, that is undeniable, that honorably continues such a charming movie series, but we think and know that Telltale can do better, and we are looking forward to the next episodes.
  23. Jan 4, 2011
    75
    Despite its short length and easy puzzles, this episodic adventure still captivates with strong storytelling and compelling characters.
  24. Mar 16, 2011
    70
    Generally speaking, Back to the Future: The Game is still worth some attention for fans of the movies. Its appropriate choices in art and audio, along with its 200% dedication to the films, will definitely keep Future fanatics off the manure. However, when it comes to the gameplay, my advice would be to try and not take it too seriously.
  25. Feb 23, 2011
    70
    As a gamer I found it enjoyable, but as a fan I finally found an excellent extension to the film trilogy I love.
  26. Jan 24, 2011
    70
    Get it to try something new if you haven't tried games of this nature, if you are a fan DEFINITELY get it to calm those nerves twitching from BTTF withdrawal.
  27. 70
    The game hasn't reached Telltale's usual level yet, as the puzzles feel a little uninventive and the controls are a bit wonky. But it absolutely hits the warmth and riveting feeling of adventure from the movies, and the voice acting is spot on. Back to the Future – Episode 1 isn't quite there yet, but it's a very promising start for the series.
  28. Jan 10, 2011
    70
    The idea to carry on Zemeckis' opera in a typical serial videogame from Telltale may be good, but puzzles and difficulty are too easy to prove a real challenge.
  29. Dec 27, 2010
    70
    Fans will delight in the more nostalgic and clever moments of 'It's About Time', but it's a short, easy and somewhat bland introduction to the series, which we hope still has time to get a lot better.
  30. Dec 24, 2010
    70
    But the swell of Alan Silvestri's score with the firing up of time circuits and the rev of the DeLorean's engine caught me unawares and genuinely made me feel like I was seven again: seven and filled with dreams that I too could listen to Huey Lewis and the News tapes on my Walkman and tit around on a skateboard. An authentic tribute.
  31. Dec 24, 2010
    70
    TellTale brings us the first episode of a five episodic adventure based on Back to the Future. A good game and really interesting to the fans of the movies, but the game has many aspects to improve to even compare to other great adventures from TellTale.
  32. Jan 10, 2011
    67
    You should just make like a tree and play something else.
  33. 60
    Gaming version of Back to the Future is designed especially for fans of movie trilogy. Others get a slightly above-average adventure game only. [Issue#200]
  34. Jan 4, 2011
    60
    If you like the films you really should play this game, if not there are much better adventures on the market.
  35. Dec 29, 2010
    60
    It's nice to see such a rich franchise reinvented, but lets hope for more ambition and invention in the episodes that follow.
  36. 50
    It sounds, and to a degree looks, like the movies but so far this run of the mill graphic adventure lacks the soul of the film franchise.
  37. Feb 7, 2011
    45
    A waste of time; dull and shoddy, Back to the Future fails to deliver on anything that made the movies so much fun.
  38. Jan 4, 2011
    40
    We were waiting for this game passionately, and maybe with too many high hopes. But "It's About Time" is disappointing, and really, doesn't measure up to the legendary trilogy. There's no real excitement playing through this first episode, and it's quickly forgotten once finished. Now, let's pray that Telltale will be able to spice things up and reach the 88 mph bar with the next episode.
  39. Jan 2, 2011
    40
    There's definitely some potential here but it feels like a tentative step in a new direction. It's less sure of itself than Telltale's other premieres.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. Dec 25, 2010
    8
    Great game for fans of the series who've always imagined where a fourth movie would go. The only problem some might have with the game is that those who buy it now are only getting 2-4 hours worth of gameplay. THE PRICE INCLUDES EVERY EPISODE! So you will get a notification whenever the second is available and be able to download it without any further cost. Also, some might be turned-off by the point and click adventure format. Again; if you're not a die hard BTTF fan the game will probably underwhelm you. All that said, the story is excellent, and it is very rewarding to put together the actions to complete each task. The voice acting from Lloyd is great as expected and the Fox sound-a-like is outstanding. If you love the series and bought the new blu-ray (which will give you the first episode for free in Feb.) this is a perfect companion piece. Full Review »
  2. Dec 25, 2010
    9
    An excellent, fully fledged sequel to the original trilogy. I just got through the first episode, and was thoroughly amused with the voice acting, writing, and story progression. This could easily have been a fourth movie, especially considering the story takes off six months after Back to the Future Part III ended, when Doc got himself lost in time, yet again.

    I only have two complaints, the first of which is the MSRP of $25. The game only took me three hours to complete, which is very short compared to most games. Out of a $50 game, people generally expect at least 20 hours. So to only get three from a $25 game is a big let down. However, since the release I have seen some stores price it at $20, which is a tad more reasonable.

    My second complaint is that I'm going to have to wait until near the end of next year to play part five, and the conclusion of this awesome game! I'm already ecstatic for part two, coming in February!
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 5, 2011
    3
    An extremely disappointing experience. The game play is very sad and the graphics leave much to be desired. I highly doubt I will play any of the additional free "chapters", when they come out. This game enforces the stereotype that Hollywood can not make games. A 25 dollar lesson learned; never buy movie titled games until they are on sale AND average 75% or better from atleast 3 or 4 game critics (user scores preferred, with no less than 30 reviews). Full Review »