Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 39
  2. Negative: 3 out of 39
  1. Mar 16, 2011
    70
    Generally speaking, Back to the Future: The Game is still worth some attention for fans of the movies. Its appropriate choices in art and audio, along with its 200% dedication to the films, will definitely keep Future fanatics off the manure. However, when it comes to the gameplay, my advice would be to try and not take it too seriously.
  2. Feb 23, 2011
    70
    As a gamer I found it enjoyable, but as a fan I finally found an excellent extension to the film trilogy I love.
  3. Jan 24, 2011
    70
    Get it to try something new if you haven't tried games of this nature, if you are a fan DEFINITELY get it to calm those nerves twitching from BTTF withdrawal.
  4. 70
    The game hasn't reached Telltale's usual level yet, as the puzzles feel a little uninventive and the controls are a bit wonky. But it absolutely hits the warmth and riveting feeling of adventure from the movies, and the voice acting is spot on. Back to the Future – Episode 1 isn't quite there yet, but it's a very promising start for the series.
  5. Jan 10, 2011
    70
    The idea to carry on Zemeckis' opera in a typical serial videogame from Telltale may be good, but puzzles and difficulty are too easy to prove a real challenge.
  6. Dec 27, 2010
    70
    Fans will delight in the more nostalgic and clever moments of 'It's About Time', but it's a short, easy and somewhat bland introduction to the series, which we hope still has time to get a lot better.
  7. Dec 24, 2010
    70
    But the swell of Alan Silvestri's score with the firing up of time circuits and the rev of the DeLorean's engine caught me unawares and genuinely made me feel like I was seven again: seven and filled with dreams that I too could listen to Huey Lewis and the News tapes on my Walkman and tit around on a skateboard. An authentic tribute.
  8. Dec 24, 2010
    70
    TellTale brings us the first episode of a five episodic adventure based on Back to the Future. A good game and really interesting to the fans of the movies, but the game has many aspects to improve to even compare to other great adventures from TellTale.
  9. Jan 10, 2011
    67
    You should just make like a tree and play something else.
  10. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 24, 2011
    60
    Gaming version of Back to the Future is designed especially for fans of movie trilogy. Others get a slightly above-average adventure game only. [Issue#200]
  11. Jan 4, 2011
    60
    If you like the films you really should play this game, if not there are much better adventures on the market.
  12. Dec 29, 2010
    60
    It's nice to see such a rich franchise reinvented, but lets hope for more ambition and invention in the episodes that follow.
  13. 50
    It sounds, and to a degree looks, like the movies but so far this run of the mill graphic adventure lacks the soul of the film franchise.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. Dec 25, 2010
    8
    Great game for fans of the series who've always imagined where a fourth movie would go. The only problem some might have with the game is thatGreat game for fans of the series who've always imagined where a fourth movie would go. The only problem some might have with the game is that those who buy it now are only getting 2-4 hours worth of gameplay. THE PRICE INCLUDES EVERY EPISODE! So you will get a notification whenever the second is available and be able to download it without any further cost. Also, some might be turned-off by the point and click adventure format. Again; if you're not a die hard BTTF fan the game will probably underwhelm you. All that said, the story is excellent, and it is very rewarding to put together the actions to complete each task. The voice acting from Lloyd is great as expected and the Fox sound-a-like is outstanding. If you love the series and bought the new blu-ray (which will give you the first episode for free in Feb.) this is a perfect companion piece. Full Review »
  2. Dec 25, 2010
    9
    An excellent, fully fledged sequel to the original trilogy. I just got through the first episode, and was thoroughly amused with the voiceAn excellent, fully fledged sequel to the original trilogy. I just got through the first episode, and was thoroughly amused with the voice acting, writing, and story progression. This could easily have been a fourth movie, especially considering the story takes off six months after Back to the Future Part III ended, when Doc got himself lost in time, yet again.

    I only have two complaints, the first of which is the MSRP of $25. The game only took me three hours to complete, which is very short compared to most games. Out of a $50 game, people generally expect at least 20 hours. So to only get three from a $25 game is a big let down. However, since the release I have seen some stores price it at $20, which is a tad more reasonable.

    My second complaint is that I'm going to have to wait until near the end of next year to play part five, and the conclusion of this awesome game! I'm already ecstatic for part two, coming in February!
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 5, 2011
    3
    An extremely disappointing experience. The game play is very sad and the graphics leave much to be desired. I highly doubt I will play anyAn extremely disappointing experience. The game play is very sad and the graphics leave much to be desired. I highly doubt I will play any of the additional free "chapters", when they come out. This game enforces the stereotype that Hollywood can not make games. A 25 dollar lesson learned; never buy movie titled games until they are on sale AND average 75% or better from atleast 3 or 4 game critics (user scores preferred, with no less than 30 reviews). Full Review »