Back to the Future: The Game - Episode I: It's About Time Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 83 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Telltale Games, the studio behind Tales of Monkey Island and the Sam & Max episodes, turns cult time travel flick Back to the Future into an episodic adventure.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 39
  2. Negative: 3 out of 39
  1. Jan 4, 2011
    91
    It's about freaking time we got to see a decent attempt at a game based on Back to the Future.
  2. Jan 1, 2011
    90
    For fans of the hit movie trilogy, Back to the Future: It's About Time is exactly what we were hoping for.
  3. Dec 29, 2010
    85
    With a funny and engrossing story, and outstanding voice work, this is one game any fan of the franchise would do well to play.
  4. Dec 23, 2010
    80
    Back to the Future: The Game is at its best when it's fast-paced and doesn't bog you down with too many choices to make or inventory items to keep tabs on - the episode ends on a high note because its puzzles generate and maintain a sense of momentum that the middle section lacks.
  5. Mar 16, 2011
    70
    Generally speaking, Back to the Future: The Game is still worth some attention for fans of the movies. Its appropriate choices in art and audio, along with its 200% dedication to the films, will definitely keep Future fanatics off the manure. However, when it comes to the gameplay, my advice would be to try and not take it too seriously.
  6. Jan 10, 2011
    70
    The idea to carry on Zemeckis' opera in a typical serial videogame from Telltale may be good, but puzzles and difficulty are too easy to prove a real challenge.
  7. Jan 2, 2011
    40
    There's definitely some potential here but it feels like a tentative step in a new direction. It's less sure of itself than Telltale's other premieres.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    I absolutely loved this game - it really is like Back to the Future Part 4!

    Here's my Top 50 games of all time: The Legend of Zelda a Link
    I absolutely loved this game - it really is like Back to the Future Part 4!

    Here's my Top 50 games of all time:

    The Legend of Zelda a Link to the Past
    Super Metroid
    The Legend of Zelda
    Metroid Prime (Trilogy)
    Banjo-Kazooie
    Resident Evil 4
    Tetris DS
    Words with Friends (Scrabble)
    Super Mario Galaxy
    Mike Tysonâ
    Expand
  2. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    this games story line is awesome.... Bang for the buck I love it game play is excellent work buying very time comsumingand the story is greatthis games story line is awesome.... Bang for the buck I love it game play is excellent work buying very time comsumingand the story is great
    i recommend this game to anybody of all ages
    Expand
  3. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    Excellent old school adventure!

    In the game you can feel same spirit that you felt when you where watching the original movies. Graphics is
    Excellent old school adventure!

    In the game you can feel same spirit that you felt when you where watching the original movies. Graphics is 100% fit this kind of game!
    Expand
  4. Feb 25, 2011
    8
    Great game , Story seems a little silly and the game play can be a little frustrating at times but it is fun to see the back to the futureGreat game , Story seems a little silly and the game play can be a little frustrating at times but it is fun to see the back to the future story line continue on. For the price I would say buy it Expand
  5. May 4, 2012
    7
    I enjoyed it very much. I would have preferred to have skipped a few of the WASD sections where you walk around, but it doesnt overly botherI enjoyed it very much. I would have preferred to have skipped a few of the WASD sections where you walk around, but it doesnt overly bother me too much. There were no notable performance issues that i experienced. Voice acting was very good i thought, the actor sounded very much like Marty, i wasnt as impressed with the graphics styles though Expand
  6. Jul 25, 2011
    7
    A great first installment that stays true to the Back to the Future feel and characters, however it is very simple and provides more questionsA great first installment that stays true to the Back to the Future feel and characters, however it is very simple and provides more questions than answers (perhaps a good thing). Very enjoyable, but short and somewhat disjointed. I want to play the second episode now, for the story, but also in the hope that it gets even better.
    Read my full review on http://scarecrowssong.tumblr.com
    Expand
  7. Jun 6, 2011
    0
    "Back to the Future: The Game" is not only easily the worst thing I have ever played, I'm not sure I even played it. When I went back and"Back to the Future: The Game" is not only easily the worst thing I have ever played, I'm not sure I even played it. When I went back and tried to do anything other than what the "correct"(and, frankly, stupidly obvious) solution was to these badly-made puzzles, the game hit me with a vague "I can't do that with that" dialog. There are points when things happen in the story for no reason, they're just triggered by entirely unrelated and arbitrary triggers. There are times when entire sections of the game world are cut off from you for no reason, including one point where an invisible wall is put up in front of an OPEN FENCE that you're normally allowed to walk through. You don't PLAY this game, you watch a badly-animated movie and then click on something to continue.

    Insipid and intellectually insulting, don't bother with this piece of garbage. Avoid at all costs.
    Expand

See all 26 User Reviews