Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Mar 30, 2011
    91
    An awesome piece of very approachable (if not plain too easy) fan service and, in this case, pleasing fans ain't bad at all.
  2. Apr 13, 2011
    90
    For fans of the films, you can hardly go wrong with the Back to the Future adventure games. If you've already bought the first, then you know the kind of quality you're in for. If you're hesitant and looking to see if it's maintained throughout the series, then you're in luck, because the Back to the Future games are still right up there with the gold standard that Telltale's set for licensed adventure games.
  3. Apr 11, 2011
    90
    The expanded scope of the story, great dialogue, and improved puzzles all combine to ensure that this game makes good on the premise's potential, and even if you weren't sold on episodes 1 and 2, if you're a fan of the series it is definitely worth your time to catch up so you can check out all the goodness episode 3 has to offer. For Back of the Future fans, Telltale has delivered.
  4. Mar 31, 2011
    88
    It has tons of nostalgia for the Back to the Future fans, as well as some good entertainment for newcomers. The acting is still top notch and the puzzles are interesting, keeping players on their toes. I can't recommend this series enough.
  5. May 2, 2011
    83
    While it would be nice to see some side quests or branching environments worth exploring, and a few minor glitches result in some awkward scenes, Telltale's Back to the Future remains one of the better film adaptations in video games, and I can't wait to see where this series goes as Telltale begins to build towards a conclusion. If episodes 4 and 5 build on the series as much as this entry has, you won't want to miss it either.
  6. May 6, 2011
    80
    Back to the Future remains a satisfactory experience for fans of the movie - but not for adventure fans who will be disappointed yet again.
  7. Apr 11, 2011
    80
    The game is definitely growing on me, as much as I want my hands on the next series, I do not want the adventure to end. This will be one of the few great story-telling game there is. Using an old point and click formula of all things too!
  8. Apr 6, 2011
    80
    In the end, the leap forward in the story helps a lot to counter any disappointment with the gameplay, though the latter won't change the minds of anyone let down by it in the series so far.
  9. May 28, 2011
    79
    Citizen Brown is as good as the whole series, but the difficulty of the puzzles still is a problem. They are a bit more diverse and funny now, but still not really challening enough. But after three of five episodes it looks like this adventure series will be a milestone.
  10. Apr 18, 2011
    77
    This third episode improves compared to the previous ones and we hope this is not just a mirage, but a sign of what to expect in the next two episodes.
  11. Apr 1, 2011
    75
    TellTale Games improves his Back to the Future game with this third chapter. Nice dialogues and plot, however it's still too short and pretty easy for many gamers.
  12. Mar 30, 2011
    75
    I dig the humor, the puzzles, the voicework and the setting. I think the story takes the characters to some goofy places in the end and I didn't feel like I'd accomplished much when everything was said and done, but that's far from a deal-breaker.
  13. Mar 31, 2011
    70
    Citizen Brown has the most intriguing story so far, but it's still short, easy and holds few surprises for adventure game veterans.
  14. 65
    It may be a step back for the series, with lots of dystopian clich├ęs and few ordinary puzzles, but we are still eager to know what Telltale is planning to do next. [June 2011, p. 100]
  15. May 5, 2011
    65
    Back to the future Citizen Brown is sure to satisfy the fans with his witty humor and great writing, those who expected some good puzzles are going to be disappointed though.
  16. Apr 19, 2011
    65
    Citizen Brown is without doubt the worst episode so far published. We hope for a sudden improvement in the fourth chapter.
  17. Apr 7, 2011
    65
    It's like watching a DVD that pauses automatically from time to time: we just have to press a mouse-button and it goes on again. That's all the effort it takes to solve the puzzles and finish the game.
  18. 64
    "Citizen Brown" has a great overall plot that spends too much time on bland details and bland puzzles.
  19. May 18, 2011
    63
    Citizen Brown's story is predictable, its dialog lacks Telltale's usual subtlety, and it takes far too long to ramp up the action. [July 2011, p.77]
  20. 60
    Although the story helps a lot to improve the third episode, playability this series is still walking the same path. Same mistakes, same rating as the previous part. [Issue#204]
  21. Apr 7, 2011
    50
    Citizen Brown is like a mediocre sitcom. There's loads of talk and not much else. The puzzles are dull and simple, the scope is extremely limited and the situations are silly at best. But at least it'll make you laugh from time to time.
  22. May 22, 2011
    43
    It's sterile, it's empty, and has no sense of fun. [June 2011, p.95]
  23. May 26, 2011
    40
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    Part 1 was okay, but you almost have to love Back to the Future to make it through. Part 2 was pretty good, but with an awesome cliff hangar. But 3 is just as good as it gets. It's nice to see what happens when someone with the power to control time itself decides to instead go into politics. But what really sells all of the games is the character interactions that really feel genuine. If I'm being honest, I may only have left at 7/10 if I wasn't such a huge BTTF fan. But heck, it's my review. Full Review »
  2. Apr 13, 2012
    8
    Yes, it's short in overall length. Indeed, it is an easy puzzle-solver. The controls still leave a lot to be desired and the graphics haven't gotten any flashier. However, the story arc in 'Citizen Brown' is SOOOO good you'd think the game writers stole the long fabled (and rumoured) script to BTTF4 instead of coming up with this sharp plot themselves. And the level design is perfect. This episode is the best of the bunch thus far and with two more episodic games still to come the legacy of this series continues to shine brighter by each passing release. Full Review »
  3. Dec 31, 2011
    6
    My least favorite episode of the 5 part series. Marty couldn't wait to get out of Hill Valley during Doc Brown's Dystopia timeline, and he wasn't the only one. The game and puzzles seemed bland at this point. Jennifer nerd-dork vs. rocker dialogue seemed very grating. I loved the prior episode, this one not so much. Full Review »