Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. May 27, 2011
    73
    As previous episodes, a simple and accesible adventure, a bit more complex than the previous ones, with joyful humor and a fun story. Although we think it could be even better.
  2. May 9, 2011
    70
    The fourth episode is a step back of what we see at the third one, pretty easy, short and only interesting for those who loves the movies. TellTale Games can make it better, we all know.
  3. May 5, 2011
    70
    Despite its faults, Back to the Future Episode 4 remains a pleasurable nostalgia trip for fans. Among other clever winks to the film series, Marty blasts a few people off their feet after hooking his guitar up to a car-sized speaker and rides around town on a makeshift skateboard. Like every episode before it, Double Vision ends with a twist, which helped build my excitement for Telltale's next (and final) entry, but I hope Episode 5 tries to break the mold.
  4. May 1, 2011
    70
    Not much better or worse than past episodes in the series, Double Visions still has a spot of inspiration in its story, and a few good ideas for some of its puzzles.
  5. PC Games (Russia)
    Jun 24, 2011
    65
    Double Visions is as good as the previous episode, but we're really in for some grandiose season finale. [July 2011, p.99]
  6. Jun 20, 2011
    65
    There's a lot of talking and gathering things for other people. It's rather ho-hum.
  7. May 25, 2011
    60
    Double Visions continues the downward trend of Back To The Future: The Videogame.
  8. May 18, 2011
    60
    Somewhat better than Episode 3, with a bit more variation and more challenging puzzles. It delivers a few hours of easily forgettable entertainment, for one of those rainy days where there's nothing else to do.
  9. PC Gamer
    Jul 14, 2011
    55
    It's still better than the first episode, but its weaknesses will leave you wishing you could go back in time to stop yourself from playing it--space time continuum be damned. [Sept 2011, p.73]
  10. May 9, 2011
    50
    As far as Double Visions goes, its pervasive blandness makes it the weakest of the series to date, and with yet another trip to Hill Valley's past, it's hard not to feel like we've been here and done all this before.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    fans following the episodes will like it not bad story is getting interested and the voice acting awesome waiting for the final episodesfans following the episodes will like it not bad story is getting interested and the voice acting awesome waiting for the final episodes puzzles are innovative Full Review »
  2. Apr 3, 2014
    8
    If you're a BTTF junkie, it's a must have.
    It has the same flavour as the movies, even that little things.
    The story is fun but the puzzles
    If you're a BTTF junkie, it's a must have.
    It has the same flavour as the movies, even that little things.
    The story is fun but the puzzles are rather easy.
    Just enjoy the ride
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 16, 2012
    6
    Much alike the first episodic entry into this series of games, episode IV isn't as stimulating in terms of plot points and storyline as theMuch alike the first episodic entry into this series of games, episode IV isn't as stimulating in terms of plot points and storyline as the last two. The setting has (for the most part) been largely featured before in previous installments but the voice acting is still quite stellar. If you play for the puzzle solving and don't care about the dialog this might potentially be your favourite. Perhaps one of the most interesting moments of this game is during the end credits as we're shown a sneak peak as to what's foreshadowing in the final title. Full Review »