Bad Bots Image
Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As Sam McRae, last surviving member of the "Titan Hauler" crew, you must hack and blast your way through an onslaught of truly bad 'bots to find a way to prevent a potential planet-destroying catastrophe.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 4 out of 8
  1. May 15, 2013
    61
    Bad Bots may be going for a retro feel but it doesn’t bring anything new to the genre. I had fun for a while, but it was short lived, much like the campaign itself. This is a game you could play through over a lazy weekend but there’s nothing compelling enough to bring you back to it once it’s over. Buy this if you’re looking for a quick burst of action, otherwise it’s probably not worth the money.
  2. May 27, 2013
    60
    Overall I would recommend this game if you have a few hours to kill and don’t want to play anything overly complex. It’s a fun game with solid controls and intense boss fights. Whether or not it is worth the price tag is really hard to make a call on; perhaps buying the game when it’s on sale through steam is the best bet.
  3. Jul 22, 2013
    60
    Overall, Bad Bots was a great game to play.
  4. Jul 1, 2013
    49
    Sure the old-school visuals look nice but within the first 10 minutes, you've pretty much seen and done everything you are going to do in the game. If you got $10 to spend and about 2-3 hours to blow away tons of bots, then sure give it a try; just know that you aren't really getting that much for what you bought.
  5. Jun 4, 2013
    40
    Bad Bots is a great idea for a game brought down by a lack of variety or legitimate innovative challenge.
  6. May 15, 2013
    40
    In the end, Bad Bots feels and plays like a game made specifically for the Android/iOS market and then sloppily ported to the PC.
  7. Jun 5, 2013
    30
    Maybe it could find its place on phones and tablets, but having so many great games on PC we can't find a reason why you should play this.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    Bad Bots is a ton of fun and there's a lot more depth to it that what it seems most people are saying about it. There are so many nice detailsBad Bots is a ton of fun and there's a lot more depth to it that what it seems most people are saying about it. There are so many nice details to the rooms. The robots become more challenging as the game goes on. I play it over and over again. Expand
  2. Jul 1, 2013
    9
    Hard but very nice and fun game! Played it with a Xbox 360 controller and it played nice!

    - Very challenging! - Good retro artwork! I
    Hard but very nice and fun game! Played it with a Xbox 360 controller and it played nice!

    - Very challenging!
    - Good retro artwork!

    I had lot o fun playing it, but it will receive 9 because of the lack of music on some scenes!
    Expand
  3. Nov 27, 2013
    3
    It's an original game for sure, but it's not very fun. Too repetitive, and non-stop action. So You only do one thing,it's shooting robots.It's an original game for sure, but it's not very fun. Too repetitive, and non-stop action. So You only do one thing,it's shooting robots.

    I play like 2 hours and quit, not enough entertainment.
    Collapse
  4. May 26, 2013
    1
    haha oh man, I tried to give this game a chance, but it's just so bad. It's so unpolished it feels like a student game. My character'shaha oh man, I tried to give this game a chance, but it's just so bad. It's so unpolished it feels like a student game. My character's animation always faces to the right, even when he's moving left. There are a lot of missing sounds: a lot of things that seem like they should make noise don't, and there's areas with no music that really feel like there should be. Navigating the menus with a controller doesn't work right. Fighting enemies has no depth at all. I gave one point for the laugh, but I would not recommend this game for free, nevertheless the outrageous $10 they want for it on Steam. On the plus side, the artwork is really well done. Expand