User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 282 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 282

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 7, 2013
    4
    One of the most beloved PC RPGs returns, but all is not nostalgically rosy, and it's not because of any lessening of the quality of the content through modern eyes, but rather the lack of value this version of the game represents.

    All the game does is take the (free) Tutu engine modification, slap it on, add a couple of new characters and quests, and triple the price of the game. They
    also managed to introduce a load of new bugs into the game that community patches had mostly fixed with the old versions. Of course, those community patches now don't work properly with this version, so it's technically inferior as well.

    Here in the UK, this game costs £14.99 on Steam. Alternatively, you can buy the entire Baldur's Gate series from GOG.com collectively for £13.26 ($19.98), and apply the free Tutu mod (or BG Trilogy mod if you prefer, which does a similar thing) to get about three times the content for a lower cost. Do that instead of buying this.
    Expand
  2. Dec 2, 2012
    1
    The last time I played Baldur
  3. Dec 2, 2012
    0
    So then, got the game and felt like a kid again. Its frikkin' Baldur's Gate right?
    Well yes and no, on one hand you will find all the butt kicking for goodness and space hamster action you may fondly remember from the original, but unfortunately most of the time the game WONT WORK.

    Seriously, even their day one dlc characters that constitute for sole new content are so broken they even
    damage quest lines not related to their own. I will just point out that one of those thrilling quests is "completed" with you teleported to a cave and stuck behind a indestructible door..

    Don't know how to use the console? Bad luck man, enjoy your cave. Just dust your own copy or perhaps wait for the complete edition to come out on steam and get it cheap during a sale, and if you're that desperate for playing in higher resolution there are mods available for years now that do the same thing, do it better and do it for free.
    Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2012
    3
    Gave it 3/10
    The original game is a legend, no scratch that it beyond legend.
    BUT dont look at this as the golden BG we all know and love this is a half baked version so filled with bugs that I actually wanted to cry. Its also overpriced, has day one dlc and the dev's attidute is smugness with them treating paying customers as beta testers. And lets face it they can - the game is sold
    thru their own launcher and was denied steam acess so good luck trying to get your money back. Expand
  5. Dec 4, 2012
    4
    Baldur's Gate needs no introduction. Setting the bar for what crpg's should be for the next decade, the Baldur's Gate released in the late 90's have gone down in the history books as the golden standard. THIS game however does little to improve on that. In fact, it does worse. There is nothing offered here that one cannot already find by means of mods for the originals. No hi-def resolution. No graphics settings of any kind. SLOW loading and stuttering gameplay put a blemish on the original. I cannot see this as anything but a cash grab by the developers. Shame on them for that. This is the equivalent of giving the Mona Lisa a facelift using spraypaint. I'm all for supporting indie developers, but this isn't a charity. I will NOT be buying the subsequent releases. I will be returning this game via credit card chargeback. Expand
  6. Dec 6, 2012
    0
    They killed it, the game is broken beyond playing.. Think Sword of the stars 2 release was bad? This is worse by a Texan mile, the textures glitch out, the cinematics awful or not often crash the game, the weapon balance is even worse then bg2 - here's a hint ANYTHING but longsword is a false choice..
    Their dlc characters are worse then those in 24 hour challenge mods. But the worse is
    their attitude, they censor and delete any and all posts who question that their game might be indeed broken..
    Overhaul games my left foot, overpriced garbage more like it.
    Expand
  7. Dec 3, 2012
    3
    Here's my thoughts about the game by notes while I played it. - Great engaging music. - Zoom and hear soldiers marching, creating a great atmosphere. - Maps to explore hiding treasures and monsters. - Customization on character. - Lots of items and well organized for you to pick. - Items match you character looks (cloth, armor, weapons). -- Stunning graphics for an old school rpg feel. - Advanced interface on character skill/magic casting, very easy to use. - Mix of RTS and RPG seamless. - Characters join hero party, balancing all round skills. - Skill/magic tree to build character for all companions. - Interesting story adding new and creative lore on fantasy worlds (not just orcs vs humans stereotype). - Various game modes. - Cutscenes are joined weirdly. Beginning of the story jumps straigh to a dialogue hard to pick up (needs to be corrected by devs). - Unit animation is well done, with fluid moves . - Day and night provide different atmosphere. - A great game to create a DOTA style of play map. - Few games of nowadays that actually kept lan mode to play at home with friends. - Unit animation when hit by enemies. - Not for COD & Battlefield players: you can't have a game with those graphics in a RTS game, so don't wine about it. It's better than most mmo's around anyway (I've seen the graphics argument on youtube and it's ridiculous, pure gratuitous bashing). - Allows to be played on older pcs since its graphical detail can be easely modified. - You can choose either to be nasty and devious or kind hearted and righteous in the outcomes of small quests (lie, help for example) - Unique sets to equip characters with bonuses found throughout the game. All in all it's a fundamental "must have" on rts based games ownership. There isn't much of this kind of quality games anymore and if you're a fan already of the series, it can be easily purchased on steam for example. Look for gameplay videos on youtube and check the site out and decide for yourself if it's worth or not, at least it's not a hyped game and from big corps advertising it everywhere and promising what they don't deliver. This is just my recommendation. Cheers! Expand
  8. Dec 6, 2012
    2
    In short, if you liked the first one, avoid this hacked together, amateur mess. Even if we are kind and ignore the plague of technical issues that this game shipped with (I only experienced the mouse issue and enabling vsync fixed it for me) this is still a terrible game. The graphics are simply dire: no shadows, no reflections, muddy textures and extremely low detail all throughout - it loks like a DX4 game. Running this at max details I get a very high frame rate (though it constantly bombs up and down for no reason) and it looks like a game from more then 20 years ago. It is a flat, boring, featureless world. The controls are vague and fairly unresponsive and generally you never really feel as though you are in control of the (utterly hateful and idiotic) protagonist. He is happy to bomb around, doing as he pleases, attacking what he wants, jumping where he fancies and generally ignoring the hell out of you while you miss target after target, normally as arbitrary and pointless countdowns expire meaning you fail the quest. The one thing I could have noted as a good point for this game is the ability to save whenever you like, rather than the usual auto-save nonsense, but even that is broken. Saving produces a pointless replica of the previous save, utterly ignoring anything you did since. Even if all the technical issues are fixed, the graphics will remain far below par (even for an overhauled game), the port will remain horrible and utterly bereft of care and attention and the story line will be pallid and uninteresting. Do yourself a favour and install the first game - you'll be a lot happier. Expand
  9. Dec 6, 2012
    2
    It's fair to say, I'm very disappointed - I've spent money to purchase and play the game, and I'm not able to play at all, which for me is a bit of a major. I think it's very unreasonable to be expected to pay money now and then wait weeks/months to get a patch to fix the game so that I can play... I'd much rather spend my money on something else now, enjoy that game, and then spend my money on Baldurs Gate "Enhanced Edition" in a few months time (assuming its been fixed). Attempts to contact Overhaul Games support have gone unanswered, which is even more disappointing since I expect more from a reputable game dev. house. Expand
  10. Dec 7, 2012
    0
    As a fan of the BG series, I was enthusiastic about the release of this game and the boasting of his in depth gameplay. I was immediately smacked in the face with reality upon loading this game for the first time. First, the opening cinematics wouldn't display and the PC would just hang a black screen. This turned out to be because the game couldn't handle 1900x1200 graphics, so I had to edit the config file to disable the cinematics just to get the game to load. Upon starting the game for the first time, I was filled with nostalgia as the games graphics and feel reminded me of the original BG1 game from the late 90's. The graphics aren't much more up to date than that. Ignoring the look of it though, I pressed on through a bit of the campaign hoping that the game play would reflect something more meaningful. Unfortunately, it did not. The "political intrigue" that was promised is nothing more than an annoying game of cat and mouse between your Fighter, Mage, Rogue, and Assassin characters. The entire political/underhanded sub plot to the game isn't anything new or exciting, it's just a tedious boredom. The "armies" are made up of generic looking units who follow the typical rock paper scissors approach to combat, and the combat itself doesn't feel very satisfying. Even after a massive battle between multiple units I was left feeling disappointed. Games such as Warcraft were able to capture the frenetic pace and feel of a large scale fight, while BGEE was barely able to capture my attention to them. My love for the book and the game series drove me to continue playing, in hopes of finding a bright spot in the game. In the end though, I realized I had simply wasted $40 and a whole lot of time on a game that should have been relegated to the top shelves of Wal-Mart alongside the old $10 games. Don't waste your money or your time on this. The game is an injustice to the world that Bioware built, and a sadly outdated addition to the RPG world. Expand
  11. X0R
    Dec 26, 2012
    2
    Really disappointed with this "enhanced" version. Quickly became bored with the gameplay and wished I would have been donated the 20-bucks to a worthwhile charity instead. Next time I feel nostalgic about an old game, I'll just watch youtube videos.
  12. Dec 5, 2012
    0
    This game is broken, they ruined my childhood experience. There are no improvements besides the ones you can get with mods + tutu.

    There are new bugs and flaws:

    a) the new monk says the same thing over and over again.
    b) the zoom feature is just too blurry
    c) the new UI was mad and very poor resolution
    d) the game crashes often
  13. Dec 7, 2012
    0
    Sword? Check. Shield? Check. Bow and arrows? Check! Stop drop and roll, to avoid the essence of mediocrity? Double check! Welcome to Overhaul Games second attempt at catching lightning in the bottle. It failed on BGEE to capture that video game magic found in BG 1 & 2. Sadly, Beamdog dropped the ball on game mechanics, storyline and variety. The game is a technical gem to behold, I'll give the development team at Overhaul Games credit for that (its hard to make a game this buggy when starting from a complete game that lacked any/all present bugs). Such an achievement should be the "norm", in today's technology driven society. I'm a realist Overhaul Games are an buisness, they need to make money. Lowering your standards for gameplay for a broad spectrum of 'gamers' is today's 'money grab' for software publishers like Overhaul Games. The game mechanics are horrid, the flow of combat, becomes a simple roll, charge one direction, swing weapon, roll and maybe fire off your three different versions of the same spell. Oh, I forgot you can use a bow and arrow to shoot monsters, it's a kiting riot! The game has hardly any active skills, most are passive. The weapon charge system is a dated concept. Multi hit is dated concept, it's a hack n slash principle. There is no riposte system, there is no flank system, stealth is a joke, you can't sneak up and back stab. There is no back stepping, unless you're using a bow and arrow. Running backwards makes your nameless avatar run with his back to the monster. Overall the game mechanics are sub par. The saving grace of this game, is the stunning atmosphere, but beyond that avoid this title until it drops in price. The game does offer good frame rates, on most top end video cards. The load times are quick. Thanks for reading. Expand
  14. Dec 9, 2012
    4
    If you're a huge fan of the original or if you don't want to bother with modding the original game, you might be interested in this title, though at 20$ it remains pretty expensive for what it has to offer. I was expecting more than what the mods already made available since the release of this 1998 classic. 3 npcs and The Black Pits, are nice additions, but ultimately, the game remains the same. You won't notice most of the enhancements made except for the zoom function, which wasn't needed in the first place, since the outdated graphics weren't improved and zooming out isn't required much. I can't give this game more than a 4/10, sadly, for it's a useless release and simply a way for the team behind it to make some money. Hopefully they have, and will release something signifantly better for BG2. Expand
  15. Jan 29, 2013
    0
    Very disapointed since I was looking forward to this re release. But Intel gfx here so the game suffers from rendering issues. for the price they ask they should be delivering a flawless experiences after 10 years.
  16. May 18, 2013
    0
    I didn't actually have a single problem running this game, although if you alt+tab out, there is a minor map scrolling problem with the mouse. Sadly this "enchanced" edition has some irritating bugs. Sometimes when you steal and you're caught, it won't announce it above your character. If you kill a person in a town, sometimes their scream for help will repeat in town throughout the rest of the game even when you were in a building. In a certain town, some NPCs scream and run for help upon you doing battle with enemies even if they are not close to you, the NPCs ordinary dialogue still triggers. There are a lot of containers (specifically shelves) which trigger the stealing module when you look at the contents which makes no sense. Neither does stealing something and then walking into a persons vision without stealth. Stealing is more effort than it's worth, money is plentiful in this game. The sounds and gfx are far from special. Sadly the game has issues with balance of some classes, party characters, exp and quest rewards. The quest log/journal is good once you get used to the chapter thing but far from perfect, many quests are left in after passing and sometimes it's not updated properly or repeats a characters quest in a new chapter. Baldur's gate is a mess, there is a wall splitting the map in many of the nine areas and finding NPCs by entering a building map or area map is not possible. Overall I wasn't particularly overwhelmed by the game, the difficulty was okay although fairly easy after the early levels. I also noticed in the one case where I thought "Know Alignment might be useful here..." my character pointed out that the guy telling the truth sounded like he was telling the truth, this was incredibly insulting as it literally solved the dilemma for me without apparently requiring anything like a ****king stat check. Holy Collapse
  17. Feb 7, 2013
    2
    i bought this because i thought it included baldur's gate 2. sadly it doesn't. the graphics are no joy. there is actually a mod that uses graphics from baldur's gate 2 in baldur's gate 1 which improves the game's enjoyment quite a bit. it may still be around on the net. baldur's gate 2 remains one of the greatest games of all time. it was inspired and nothing has really come close to it since.
  18. Jul 3, 2013
    0
    Worst game i have ever played combat system sucks graphics are terrible game is painfully slow this hasnt aged well atall still has loads of bugs feels sluggish just a complete and utter pain to play people who praise this game praise from nostalgia steer clear.
  19. Jan 17, 2013
    0
    I made an account on this website just to say this: Stay away from this game if you love baldurs gate. They **** the game up, it was a big waste of money. The new interface is so ulgy, the only thing they did was merge all the community content. Which was FREE to begin with. Seriously the company that made this should go broke and be forgotten. 20 Euro's ?? YOU KIDDING ME?
  20. Jun 12, 2013
    2
    I thought this would be a modernized version of an old game. Instead it plays like a very old game. It's dumb. There is a mod out for Neverwinter Nights 2 that recreates Baldur's gate, and so I recommend people play that. I was ripped off twenty bucks simply because I couldn't believe they would charge that amount for a game that wasn't of certain quality. I was wrong.
  21. Jul 21, 2013
    1
    This is not actually a review of the game which have obviously been one of the greatest games of the past. This version of the game is absolutely ridiculous. It adds nearly nothing except a little more barely playable content. The number of bugs is astonishing, playing a multiplayer game, which is actually what most of the people buying it would have probably wanted to do is nearly impossible due to the fact that almost everything get bugged, it's seriously almost impossible to play, i can't believe how somebody can release something like that and how anybody in the world who calls himself a critic can review a steaming piece of work like this one in a positive way, it's just a money ripoff for a thing that plainly doesn't work.

    The price also isn't cheap at all for a game that have been released a lot of time ago and most of people have already bought once.

    This game is very old and still feels very old, nostalgic player should stick to the old version and younger player who want to play a living piece of gaming history should search for a cheaper, older version, possibly modded and fixed from the community (better than this one, and for free)
    Expand
  22. May 18, 2013
    0
    I didn't actually have a single problem running this game, although if you alt+tab out, there is a minor map scrolling problem with the mouse. Sadly this "enchanced" edition has some irritating bugs. Sometimes when you steal and you're caught, it won't announce it above your character. If you kill a person in a town, sometimes their scream for help will repeat in town throughout the rest of the game even when you were in a building. In a certain town, some NPCs scream and run for help upon you doing battle with enemies even if they are not close to you, the NPCs ordinary dialogue still triggers. There are a lot of containers (specifically shelves) which trigger the stealing module when you look at the contents which makes no sense. Neither does stealing something and then walking into a persons vision without stealth. Stealing is more effort than it's worth, money is plentiful in this game. The sounds and gfx are far from special. Sadly the game has issues with balance of some classes, party characters, exp and quest rewards. The quest log/journal is good once you get used to the chapter thing but far from perfect, many quests are left in after passing and sometimes it's not updated properly or repeats a characters quest in a new chapter. Baldur's gate is a mess, there is a wall splitting the map in many of the nine areas and finding NPCs by entering a building map or area map is not possible. Overall I wasn't particularly overwhelmed by the game, the difficulty was okay although fairly easy after the early levels. I also noticed in the one case where I thought "Know Alignment might be useful here..." my character pointed out that the guy telling the truth sounded like he was telling the truth, this was incredibly insulting as it literally solved the dilemma for me without apparently requiring anything like a ****king stat check. Holy Collapse
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Jun 10, 2013
    79
    It’s not the flawless, refined version that the dedicated RPG veterans were waiting for, but even so, BG:EE remains a solid investment for Dungeon & Dragons romantics. [March 2013]
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    70
    Age may have formed a few cracks in its legendary skin, and perhaps the over reliance on randomness from the Dungeons and Dragons’ ruleset seems rather archaic, but within this slumbering ancient beast lies a mighty heart waiting to be awakened once more.
  3. Jan 26, 2013
    85
    A solid re-release of a classic plus some nice new frills, but not without its problems.