Baldur's Gate: Enhanced Edition Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 362 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Baldur's Gate: Enhanced Edition includes the entire Baldur's Gate adventure, the Tales of the Sword Coast expansion pack, and some never before seen content as well.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    100
    Overhaul Games has succeeded in making one of the big RPG classics available on modern machines. The infinity engine looks great in HD and all the esthetics are well preserved. The new stuff is okay, but most importantly Baldur's Gate can now be fully enjoyed again, as it deserves.
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    89
    The game may not be perfect, and it may not be particularly easy, but that doesn't mean it isn't a fantastic game that RPG fans of all shapes shouldn't try.
  3. Dec 8, 2012
    85
    With this renewed edition, the first chapter of the Baldur's Gate saga revives of a new life, thanks to the original expansion pack "Tales of the Sword Coast" and the new original adventure "The Black Pit" made by Overhaul Games.
  4. Dec 4, 2012
    80
    The classics never die. Baldur's Gate still is awesome. A must have for anyone that not played the original, but less recommendable for the veterans of the saga.
  5. Dec 12, 2012
    80
    Should you buy Baldur's Gate: Enhanced Edition if you own it on GOG? Probably not. A few optional characters, a Horde mode, and a few built-in modifications do not a Really Special Edition make. You should absolutely play Baldur's Gate if you don't mind isometric RPGs that give you a real challenge, since the writing is still amazing and both the world and combat system are still really deep and engrossing.
  6. Dec 17, 2012
    79
    All in all, you'll have to make that decision for yourself. If you want to play the game as it originally looked, or if you want to pay the barrel bottom price, pick the GoG version, but if you think the game is worth a bit of money, want to play the game with a bit of tweaks to make it more usable, or want access to the excellent new content, be sure to at least give the Enhanced Edition a look.
  7. Jan 24, 2013
    40
    The unfortunately named Enhanced Edition fails to make a compelling case for its existence in any meaningful way, especially when you consider its asking price of twenty bucks can net you both the original Baldur's Gate and the far-superior sequel from a site like GOG, and downloading a few free mods that make them really shine takes mere minutes of your time. I would highly recommend that course of action instead.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 95
  2. Negative: 25 out of 95
  1. Dec 16, 2012
    10
    I will give this a 10 just because they are bring the best game series of all time back to life. It's freaking Baldur's Gate. The best gameI will give this a 10 just because they are bring the best game series of all time back to life. It's freaking Baldur's Gate. The best game I've ever played! I can't wait for the following releases especially BG2 and finally BG3. I feel like a kid again :) Expand
  2. Jan 30, 2015
    10
    Amazing game, you will not regret buying. Anyone considering this should buy because it is a worthy investment both for your money and forAmazing game, you will not regret buying. Anyone considering this should buy because it is a worthy investment both for your money and for your time spent as a gamer on this top quality product/company. Expand
  3. Jan 30, 2013
    9
    Quite a treat for us infinity fans, the franchise is just the best out there, BG was, is and will be the epitome of rpg story driven adventureQuite a treat for us infinity fans, the franchise is just the best out there, BG was, is and will be the epitome of rpg story driven adventure of all time.

    At this point - several major patches have arrived making the rather unpolished initial release quite impressive.

    Simply a must for any fan or newcomer of strategy rpg.

    Oh yea almost forgot, ad&d 2nd edition is just spot on.
    Expand
  4. Oct 16, 2013
    7
    Worth it for nostalgia reasons. However there's not a huge amount "enhanced" about this. And if they're going to ask for a fair bit more thanWorth it for nostalgia reasons. However there's not a huge amount "enhanced" about this. And if they're going to ask for a fair bit more than what you can get from the basic gog download then it should certainly have had more work done to it as it still feels as old as the original. However, I can't give this a bad review.... I mean, come on.... it's Baldurs Gate... It's just a shame the enhancements were so slight. Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2012
    5
    I had great hopes, becausei absolutely loved and adored baldur's gate 2.. and having never played BG1, i was very excited..turns out, it didI had great hopes, becausei absolutely loved and adored baldur's gate 2.. and having never played BG1, i was very excited..turns out, it did not hold up for me.. you would have a better experience with the game when using the Gog edition.. with all the community content.. Expand
  6. Dec 3, 2012
    3
    Here's my thoughts about the game by notes while I played it. - Great engaging music. - Zoom and hear soldiers marching, creating a greatHere's my thoughts about the game by notes while I played it. - Great engaging music. - Zoom and hear soldiers marching, creating a great atmosphere. - Maps to explore hiding treasures and monsters. - Customization on character. - Lots of items and well organized for you to pick. - Items match you character looks (cloth, armor, weapons). -- Stunning graphics for an old school rpg feel. - Advanced interface on character skill/magic casting, very easy to use. - Mix of RTS and RPG seamless. - Characters join hero party, balancing all round skills. - Skill/magic tree to build character for all companions. - Interesting story adding new and creative lore on fantasy worlds (not just orcs vs humans stereotype). - Various game modes. - Cutscenes are joined weirdly. Beginning of the story jumps straigh to a dialogue hard to pick up (needs to be corrected by devs). - Unit animation is well done, with fluid moves . - Day and night provide different atmosphere. - A great game to create a DOTA style of play map. - Few games of nowadays that actually kept lan mode to play at home with friends. - Unit animation when hit by enemies. - Not for COD & Battlefield players: you can't have a game with those graphics in a RTS game, so don't wine about it. It's better than most mmo's around anyway (I've seen the graphics argument on youtube and it's ridiculous, pure gratuitous bashing). - Allows to be played on older pcs since its graphical detail can be easely modified. - You can choose either to be nasty and devious or kind hearted and righteous in the outcomes of small quests (lie, help for example) - Unique sets to equip characters with bonuses found throughout the game. All in all it's a fundamental "must have" on rts based games ownership. There isn't much of this kind of quality games anymore and if you're a fan already of the series, it can be easily purchased on steam for example. Look for gameplay videos on youtube and check the site out and decide for yourself if it's worth or not, at least it's not a hyped game and from big corps advertising it everywhere and promising what they don't deliver. This is just my recommendation. Cheers! Expand
  7. Dec 3, 2016
    0
    I would give the original game 10/10 when I played it on release back in 1998

    This enhanced edition adds nothing of interest. The new NPCs
    I would give the original game 10/10 when I played it on release back in 1998

    This enhanced edition adds nothing of interest. The new NPCs are poorly written and conveniently placed to encourage people who never played the original to pick them up easily.

    Black Pits was also an unnecessary addition.

    Overall a very average game, however additional points must be deducted as the lack of professionalism by the "community manager" is unforgivable. Banning people on their official forum over the years for no good reason, spreading lies as to why people were banned, asking for positive reviews etc. is not acceptable.
    Expand

See all 95 User Reviews