Baldur's Gate II: Enhanced Edition Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 296 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You have been kidnapped, imprisoned, and tortured. The wizard Irenicus holds you captive in his stronghold, attempting to strip you of the powers that are your birthright. Can you resist the evil within you, forge a legend of heroic proportions, and ultimately destroy the dark essence thatYou have been kidnapped, imprisoned, and tortured. The wizard Irenicus holds you captive in his stronghold, attempting to strip you of the powers that are your birthright. Can you resist the evil within you, forge a legend of heroic proportions, and ultimately destroy the dark essence that haunts your dreams? Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Baldur's Gate II: Enhanced Edition - Intro Cinematic Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Feb 14, 2014
    90
    It's a great chance for all the fans out there to relive history of western RPG. Enhanced graphics and interface make this a great remaster of an immortal classic.
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    90
    Baldur’s Gate II is not a game to be missed. With an epic story, memorable characters, hundreds of hours of dungeon crawling, questing and adventuring, Baldur’s Gate stands tall among the classics.
  3. Jan 10, 2014
    85
    It’s very convenient and nice. It’s convenient and nice to not have to install a handful of mods on the original version in order to get it to look not terrible. It’s convenient and nice to have small quality-of-life things added that new players won’t even notice while Baldur's Gate veterans will likely welcome them with open arms.
  4. Nov 25, 2013
    80
    Baldur's Gate II: Enhanced Edition has a similar problem to the previous installment: it has to compete against lots of free mods. Fortunately the developers have learned a thing or two and now the game has longer, more complex missions and some clever technical novelties. It's still a game for older, more hardcore gamers, but it's important to appreciate the fact, that Enhanced Edition finally offers a lot more than any free mod does.
  5. Dec 3, 2013
    80
    Baldur's Gate II: Enhanced Edition is a well-executed restored piece, unlocking tens of hours of great fun to the new generation of gamers, while making it possible to remind the best game by BioWare to those, who remember it, in a comfortable way.
  6. Dec 17, 2013
    70
    As much as I've gotten used to modern, hold-your-hand RPGs like Mass Effect 3, there is something to be said for this take-no-prisoners blast from the past, especially if you love old-timey D&D as much as I do.
  7. Dec 13, 2013
    60
    I said it before on the first game and I'll say it again here. There is nothing to recommend this version of Baldur's Gate II over the original version available on GOG.com.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 89
  2. Negative: 17 out of 89
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    I strongly disagree with views this game is over-priced.

    Beamdog is doing great work extending the long term viability of these classic
    I strongly disagree with views this game is over-priced.

    Beamdog is doing great work extending the long term viability of these classic titles. The enhanced version of Baldur's Gate was superior to the GOG version (which I also own). This version is a legitimate rebuild and extension of a great game that allows it to seamlessly function on new systems. Thanks for a great rebuild of a great game! If you at all have any love for this game, be sure to support all the honest efforts to extend its playability into the future. People who moan about $26 as 'too much' for a game like this are losing perspective on the true value of work in this industry and perchance need spend less time playing games and more time working in the REAL world. You want the industry to support classic games? Support mods by all means, but also definitely BUY games like this so that the teams doing the work can continue to provide great games for all of us. Buy the GOG version. Mod your original version AND buy this. Then you will truly be in a position to give an honest (and constructive) review. I wonder how many 'fans' ready to score bomb this are sitting on big libraries of torrent-stolen games.

    Most irritating thing is that if these butt-hurt moaners really can't afford it, they only have to wait a few months till they can get it for pennies on a Steam sale. How painful that is NOT!

    Get some bloody perspective!

    Orctowngrot
    Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    Baldur's Gate II was, in my opinion, the single best game of all time. The Enhanced Edition takes that game and makes it even better. Dorn,Baldur's Gate II was, in my opinion, the single best game of all time. The Enhanced Edition takes that game and makes it even better. Dorn, Neera, Rasaad and Hexxat are excellent NPC's with some very interesting and extensive new content.

    The price is fair, the customer support is excellent and this development team has proven themselves worthy of making Baldur's Gate III, should they so choose.
    Expand
  3. bml
    Aug 30, 2014
    10
    The original Baldur's Gate II was perhaps the single best game ever created amongst all genres. Beamdog took it, spruced it up with modernThe original Baldur's Gate II was perhaps the single best game ever created amongst all genres. Beamdog took it, spruced it up with modern graphics, and added several quality new features.

    I checked Metacritic before buying it and was hesitant seeing a user score in the 7's, but then I noticed it had been dragged down by multiple troll 0 reviews. This remake was absolutely worth every penny of my money.
    Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    Great update to a phenomenal game. Extra characters/quests/items are nicely worked into existing game plot and a worthy addition. While theGreat update to a phenomenal game. Extra characters/quests/items are nicely worked into existing game plot and a worthy addition. While the game is $25, it is worth every penny if it brings us that much closer to BG3. Expand
  5. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    Time for Planescape Torment: Enhanced Edition,
    as that will be necessary in case Tides of Numenarema will fail us. I certainly hope not.
    Time for Planescape Torment: Enhanced Edition,
    as that will be necessary in case Tides of Numenarema will fail us. I certainly hope not. Gotta keep then best them best RPGs coming.
    Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers. The game has only had 1 small patch in the last 7 months (and that patch came shortly after release). Basically they've been forgoing patching in favour of getting both BGEE and BG2EE on Android. I would recommend you instead buy BG2 from GoG (or anywhere that sells the original game) and use the BG2 fixpack on it. It will solve all of the major and the vast majority of the minor bugs in the original BG2 and you won't get the multitude of bugs (which can include everything from your weapon proficiencies getting wiped clean to not having access to your slayer form for more than one use, to your character getting stuck on the screen from a dragon's wing buffet) you get with the "enhanced" edition.

    The new characters they introduce are decent but nothing that is resoundingly different from the many mods already available for the game (a number of which aren't available with the "enhanced" edition). Also most of the new characters quest lines are bugged (and have been obviously for the last 7 months).

    Overall I would buy the game from GoG (or anywhere that sells the original game) for less than half the price of this release. Not only will you save money but between the fixpacks and all the available mods for BG2 you'll get far better value for your money.
    Collapse
  7. Feb 3, 2017
    0
    Political agendas and classic RPGs do not mix. I do not accept these attempts at indoctrinating me while I am playing games, so zero it is.Political agendas and classic RPGs do not mix. I do not accept these attempts at indoctrinating me while I am playing games, so zero it is. Beamdog are laughable amateurs. Expand

See all 89 User Reviews