Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 233 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You have been kidnapped, imprisoned, and tortured. The wizard Irenicus holds you captive in his stronghold, attempting to strip you of the powers that are your birthright. Can you resist the evil within you, forge a legend of heroic proportions, and ultimately destroy the dark essence thatYou have been kidnapped, imprisoned, and tortured. The wizard Irenicus holds you captive in his stronghold, attempting to strip you of the powers that are your birthright. Can you resist the evil within you, forge a legend of heroic proportions, and ultimately destroy the dark essence that haunts your dreams? Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Feb 14, 2014
    90
    It's a great chance for all the fans out there to relive history of western RPG. Enhanced graphics and interface make this a great remaster of an immortal classic.
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    90
    Baldur’s Gate II is not a game to be missed. With an epic story, memorable characters, hundreds of hours of dungeon crawling, questing and adventuring, Baldur’s Gate stands tall among the classics.
  3. Jan 10, 2014
    85
    It’s very convenient and nice. It’s convenient and nice to not have to install a handful of mods on the original version in order to get it to look not terrible. It’s convenient and nice to have small quality-of-life things added that new players won’t even notice while Baldur's Gate veterans will likely welcome them with open arms.
  4. Nov 25, 2013
    80
    Baldur's Gate II: Enhanced Edition has a similar problem to the previous installment: it has to compete against lots of free mods. Fortunately the developers have learned a thing or two and now the game has longer, more complex missions and some clever technical novelties. It's still a game for older, more hardcore gamers, but it's important to appreciate the fact, that Enhanced Edition finally offers a lot more than any free mod does.
  5. Dec 3, 2013
    80
    Baldur's Gate II: Enhanced Edition is a well-executed restored piece, unlocking tens of hours of great fun to the new generation of gamers, while making it possible to remind the best game by BioWare to those, who remember it, in a comfortable way.
  6. Dec 17, 2013
    70
    As much as I've gotten used to modern, hold-your-hand RPGs like Mass Effect 3, there is something to be said for this take-no-prisoners blast from the past, especially if you love old-timey D&D as much as I do.
  7. Dec 13, 2013
    60
    I said it before on the first game and I'll say it again here. There is nothing to recommend this version of Baldur's Gate II over the original version available on GOG.com.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 85
  2. Negative: 18 out of 85
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    I strongly disagree with views this game is over-priced.

    Beamdog is doing great work extending the long term viability of these classic
    I strongly disagree with views this game is over-priced.

    Beamdog is doing great work extending the long term viability of these classic titles. The enhanced version of Baldur's Gate was superior to the GOG version (which I also own). This version is a legitimate rebuild and extension of a great game that allows it to seamlessly function on new systems. Thanks for a great rebuild of a great game! If you at all have any love for this game, be sure to support all the honest efforts to extend its playability into the future. People who moan about $26 as 'too much' for a game like this are losing perspective on the true value of work in this industry and perchance need spend less time playing games and more time working in the REAL world. You want the industry to support classic games? Support mods by all means, but also definitely BUY games like this so that the teams doing the work can continue to provide great games for all of us. Buy the GOG version. Mod your original version AND buy this. Then you will truly be in a position to give an honest (and constructive) review. I wonder how many 'fans' ready to score bomb this are sitting on big libraries of torrent-stolen games.

    Most irritating thing is that if these butt-hurt moaners really can't afford it, they only have to wait a few months till they can get it for pennies on a Steam sale. How painful that is NOT!

    Get some bloody perspective!

    Orctowngrot
    Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    Outstanding update to one of the best computer games of all time (and easily my favorite computer RPG).

    The game runs very well haven't
    Outstanding update to one of the best computer games of all time (and easily my favorite computer RPG).

    The game runs very well haven't had any troubles at all after many hours of play. The new content is strong too definitely more polished and interesting than the new content in BG1:EE.

    There's been many cases where I've held up an old game in my head as wonderful and wished I could replay it, but then when given the chance it doesn't quite live up to those expectations anymore. Definitely not the case with BG2:EE....I'm flat-out loving my return to that game.

    As a Mac user, I obviously prefer the Beamdog conversion vs. getting it from GOG.com and having to run it through Parallels. For that reason as well as the new content, I think the $25 price tag is well justified. I honestly don't get why someone would rate the game a 0 because of that. If $25 is too much, don't buy it.

    In short, if you loved BGII and have longed to play it again, this is a no-brainer....plus you get interesting new content.

    Awesome job, Beamdog.
    Expand
  3. Sep 2, 2014
    10
    Insanely fun and with support for a good amount of systems its hard to go wrong. The new characters also have nicely fleshed out stories. ForInsanely fun and with support for a good amount of systems its hard to go wrong. The new characters also have nicely fleshed out stories. For 25 bucks with the dlc and 19+ hours of game play i say its worth it. Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    I played this game back in my college days and had pretty much forgotten about it until I heard the enhanced editions of BGI and II and wasI played this game back in my college days and had pretty much forgotten about it until I heard the enhanced editions of BGI and II and was thrilled to hear about them being on the ipad, but keeping in mind this is the PC review.

    I am having a blast playing this game again. It may be debatable if it is the greatest RPG ever, but it is in my mind. I feel the price is great, when I saw the game was out not once did I think “Wow, I am not paying that much!” I would have liked to see more refined enhancement in a few places, but it’s still a must buy for any RPG lover and a wonderful improvement.

    I echo another reviewer that talked about the diehard fans that have been playing to this day with all sorts of mods and are upset by the price If you are that hardcore about the game with mods then skip it, but the cost is cheap for those of us that don’t want to mod the game and the hundreds of hours one could spend playing– and beamdog’s great forums takes input on what changes and patches people would like to see. That makes the game price seem like a real bargain to me!!!!
    Expand
  5. Feb 8, 2014
    9
    Baldurs gate 2 is one of the best RPGs ever made, but the new content in this game sucks. Some upgrades are even worse than some mods that youBaldurs gate 2 is one of the best RPGs ever made, but the new content in this game sucks. Some upgrades are even worse than some mods that you can add to BG for free and the Black Pits 2 is pure trash. The only good new parts are Dorn and Hexxat quest lines, but Neeras quest line is really bad and Rassad is mediocre. I hoped that they will include some new non NPC related quests, but instead you get **** Black Pits 2. Baldurs Gate 2 is a 10/10 game for sure, but the new content is really mediocre and double price is just overkill. Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2013
    9
    This is by far the best RPG ever made. Forget about the Mass Effect series, The KOTOR series, The Dragon Age series or any other RPG game forThis is by far the best RPG ever made. Forget about the Mass Effect series, The KOTOR series, The Dragon Age series or any other RPG game for that matter. Not one compares to the depth of the gameplay, the lore. Not to mention the huge play time.
    When i first played the game years ago i thought it was for months, but for some reason i can't explain i stuck with it. To this day i would have never known what Role Playing Game means had i not played Baldur's Gate II: Shadows of Amn. I am giving this a 9/10 because there are some strange bugs still present in this version, but they are in no way game breaking.
    Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2015
    0
    Simple the game mechanics are the worst ever, spells that can go through walls or do a 90 degree turn, dual classing from either thief or toSimple the game mechanics are the worst ever, spells that can go through walls or do a 90 degree turn, dual classing from either thief or to thief has back stab severely broken and no patch to fix all the bugs by overhaul, best to by the game from black isle, it's cheaper and works right with limited patching, gave the original 90/100 give this piece of garbage 1/100 Expand

See all 85 User Reviews