Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 237 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You have been kidnapped, imprisoned, and tortured. The wizard Irenicus holds you captive in his stronghold, attempting to strip you of the powers that are your birthright. Can you resist the evil within you, forge a legend of heroic proportions, and ultimately destroy the dark essence thatYou have been kidnapped, imprisoned, and tortured. The wizard Irenicus holds you captive in his stronghold, attempting to strip you of the powers that are your birthright. Can you resist the evil within you, forge a legend of heroic proportions, and ultimately destroy the dark essence that haunts your dreams? Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Feb 14, 2014
    90
    It's a great chance for all the fans out there to relive history of western RPG. Enhanced graphics and interface make this a great remaster of an immortal classic.
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    90
    Baldur’s Gate II is not a game to be missed. With an epic story, memorable characters, hundreds of hours of dungeon crawling, questing and adventuring, Baldur’s Gate stands tall among the classics.
  3. Jan 10, 2014
    85
    It’s very convenient and nice. It’s convenient and nice to not have to install a handful of mods on the original version in order to get it to look not terrible. It’s convenient and nice to have small quality-of-life things added that new players won’t even notice while Baldur's Gate veterans will likely welcome them with open arms.
  4. Nov 25, 2013
    80
    Baldur's Gate II: Enhanced Edition has a similar problem to the previous installment: it has to compete against lots of free mods. Fortunately the developers have learned a thing or two and now the game has longer, more complex missions and some clever technical novelties. It's still a game for older, more hardcore gamers, but it's important to appreciate the fact, that Enhanced Edition finally offers a lot more than any free mod does.
  5. Dec 3, 2013
    80
    Baldur's Gate II: Enhanced Edition is a well-executed restored piece, unlocking tens of hours of great fun to the new generation of gamers, while making it possible to remind the best game by BioWare to those, who remember it, in a comfortable way.
  6. Dec 17, 2013
    70
    As much as I've gotten used to modern, hold-your-hand RPGs like Mass Effect 3, there is something to be said for this take-no-prisoners blast from the past, especially if you love old-timey D&D as much as I do.
  7. Dec 13, 2013
    60
    I said it before on the first game and I'll say it again here. There is nothing to recommend this version of Baldur's Gate II over the original version available on GOG.com.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 86
  2. Negative: 18 out of 86
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    I strongly disagree with views this game is over-priced.

    Beamdog is doing great work extending the long term viability of these classic
    I strongly disagree with views this game is over-priced.

    Beamdog is doing great work extending the long term viability of these classic titles. The enhanced version of Baldur's Gate was superior to the GOG version (which I also own). This version is a legitimate rebuild and extension of a great game that allows it to seamlessly function on new systems. Thanks for a great rebuild of a great game! If you at all have any love for this game, be sure to support all the honest efforts to extend its playability into the future. People who moan about $26 as 'too much' for a game like this are losing perspective on the true value of work in this industry and perchance need spend less time playing games and more time working in the REAL world. You want the industry to support classic games? Support mods by all means, but also definitely BUY games like this so that the teams doing the work can continue to provide great games for all of us. Buy the GOG version. Mod your original version AND buy this. Then you will truly be in a position to give an honest (and constructive) review. I wonder how many 'fans' ready to score bomb this are sitting on big libraries of torrent-stolen games.

    Most irritating thing is that if these butt-hurt moaners really can't afford it, they only have to wait a few months till they can get it for pennies on a Steam sale. How painful that is NOT!

    Get some bloody perspective!

    Orctowngrot
    Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    One of the best RPGs of all time got even better through lots of new features and the best is, that it will be even further enhanced andOne of the best RPGs of all time got even better through lots of new features and the best is, that it will be even further enhanced and supported in the future, too. There is but one score I can give.. a 10 for the game.. and it's community! Expand
  3. Sep 2, 2014
    10
    Insanely fun and with support for a good amount of systems its hard to go wrong. The new characters also have nicely fleshed out stories. ForInsanely fun and with support for a good amount of systems its hard to go wrong. The new characters also have nicely fleshed out stories. For 25 bucks with the dlc and 19+ hours of game play i say its worth it. Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    Visually it's not a large improvement outside of the natural benefits that come with higher resolution. it is nice that they added a zoomVisually it's not a large improvement outside of the natural benefits that come with higher resolution. it is nice that they added a zoom feature so that you can set the scale to whatever you are happy with at your monitor's resolution. It is easier to install plus saves and loads are much faster. The backgrounds have been re-mastered which adds a little bit of improvement to the overall color of the image. The sprites have not been reworked I think one of the reviews I read had that backwards.

    Overall it looks a little better but it is nice because it works without any hassle and you don't have to mod the game to get it to support your setup.

    They have also added an expansion pack worth of new characters, items, and areas to explore (30+ new areas).

    Personally I am really happy to see this game get new content 15 years after it's release. The content is up to the same standards as the original game and some of the characters they have added are more developed then the originals.

    Text is easier to read, small bugs that were never fixed are patched up now. Over all it's not a huge improvement but it is a noticeably better experience and the extra content and support with possible future DLC options makes me give this a high score. I won't be going back to the original that is for sure.
    Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2013
    9
    This edition is simply the best available version of one of the greatest RPGs.

    With the new UI it looks stylish and enhanced, the graphics
    This edition is simply the best available version of one of the greatest RPGs.

    With the new UI it looks stylish and enhanced, the graphics ARE better despite some people being a bit jaded about the game's look. (It's over 10 years old, the Devs did a really good job honestly).

    I've tried going back to BG2 and it looks quite primitive after experiencing BG2:EE. Once the modding community has fully wrapped it's collective head around the new version of the engine (and even now many mods are already compatible), the only reason anyone would have to play the original versions of BG2 will be pure nostalgia.

    The new NPCs are very interesting, I even find the story of one of them (Hexxat) to be one of the best plot twists in computer games. I like their abilities, their dialogs, their quests.

    I've only experienced a couple of bugs but it didn't stop me to play the game properly, they are minor and will be fixed soon.

    I'm loving it soooooo much now:)
    Expand
  6. Dec 1, 2014
    8
    Fel, ta vänligst bortFel, ta vänligst bort denna!.......................................................................................................................... Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2015
    0
    Simple the game mechanics are the worst ever, spells that can go through walls or do a 90 degree turn, dual classing from either thief or toSimple the game mechanics are the worst ever, spells that can go through walls or do a 90 degree turn, dual classing from either thief or to thief has back stab severely broken and no patch to fix all the bugs by overhaul, best to by the game from black isle, it's cheaper and works right with limited patching, gave the original 90/100 give this piece of garbage 1/100 Expand

See all 86 User Reviews