User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 826 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 826

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2013
    9
    I was utterly in love with this game. I played it for about 6 month solid, exploring every possible story arc. I even had the official walkthrough and it still took 6 months. Wonderful story, beautiful graphics (at the time), a huge cast of deep and well thought out characters. In fact, there is absolutely nothing I can fault this game

    I also have to commend this game for being the
    first game (that I'm aware of) that had a romance side story that player could choose to have or not with some of the other part members. At them time, this was surprising and a very welcome feature.

    Overall:
    Baldur's Gate 2 is by far one of the most memorable RPGs I have ever played. Few RPGs have and will ever come close to the majesty that is this game.
    Expand
  2. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best games I have ever played. I bought it when it originally came out, loved it then, beat it again last year and still love it. It has very few flaws; the only reason I don't give this a 10 is because of the slow and somewhat overwhelming intro. Fantastic storytelling with an original storyline (no "you are the chosen hero" stuff here), deep & tactical gameplay, and a diverse cast of characters with their own agendas round out a mindblowingly good RPG that has actual roleplaying in it. Expand
  3. Aug 5, 2014
    9
    Fantastic sequel to the ultimate masterpiece, that was the first Baldur's Gate. More content, more levels for your characters, more quests, better resolution etc. everything a sequel should have, even dragons! But honestly, for me, it lacked that otherworldly magic of the first Baldur's Gate for me and my experience here wasn't nearly as strong. I also feel it's a bit overrated and my theory is that people who prefer the BG2 to the original played it first, but it's a must play nevertheless, both Baldur's, especially when you can (and should) create your chars in BG and then export them and continue with them in BG 2, this is an incredible saga. The one that wasn't surpassed still to this day and might never be. 9/10 Expand
  4. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    I mark down almost every one of my favorite games. I am HUGELY against being a traditionalist who 'only likes' games of the 'golden era'. When a game ages, I don't give it a 10/10 simply because I loved it when i first played it. I rank it against everything that has come after. That said, this game truly does defy time. A thrilling and truly epic storyline that dances around many highly regarded stories since. This game is a gem. A true gem. When it comes to this game vs planescape torment - however. Things get tricky. As a game - BGII is the winner. As a creation - Planescape torment holds all the ambition. Both tell grand stories. They just have different strengths. Expand
  5. Oct 7, 2012
    10
    Best Game yet made. Other games have had bigger budgets, more experienced teams, better tech to work with etc etc etc. But no team has eclipsed this game. It is Baldur's Gate 2 that defined Dragon Age Origins as imperfect. BG2 defined Witcher 2 as too small. BG2 declares that Dragon Age 2 is a major fail. Awesome character development system. Awesome world. Awesome exploration. Awesome plots and subplots. Yeah a lot of other games get a lot of this right, and a lot of other games come close, but none yet surpass it. Why do we declare Skyrim to be very pretty, but finally soul-less and empty? Because years ago we played a game that gave us so many more memorable moments. Masterpiece. Expand
  6. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    Together with Fallout 2, easily the best role-playing game ever. It fixed anything that was sub-perfect in BG 1. To play it on today's machines, be sure to install the patches and mods from the community (e.g. to make the resolution fit the one of your monitor).
  7. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    The only question one might have about Baldur's Gate II is whether it is the best RPG of all time, or whether that honor should go to Baldur's Gate I. Baldur's Gate II probably edges the first. BGII marks a high point in video game history, and modern games just don't have the same pizazz.
  8. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    One of the best 2D Dungeons and Dragons RPGs ever made.

    If you like the genre and you think you can overlook the slightly outdated 2D graphics (Just look at some screenshots or videos) than you should really give it a try. Its simply brilliant.
  9. Jan 31, 2012
    9
    I don't consider this to be the best game overall. It doesn't have the best graphics, quite good but not tremendus audio and I haven't followed the plot quite carefully. Nevertheless, it's the ONLY game so far that I've finished... three times in a row! And it's a RPG!

    Yes, it's been a while ago and yes - there weren't so many games around but still. The level of depth that this game
    offers was unprecedented at that time. I could play a game over and over again taking different decisions, different companions and have a lot of fun doing it. The amount of possibilities seemed endless and I haven't spend half a year playing a single player game since. Expand
  10. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    I still remember putting hours and hours of my early life into this game. Although this game has a really long learning curve since it's built on complex D&D rules, it's such an epic experience that you wont regret spending time on it. It may be too arbitrary to claim Baldur's Gate II is the best game ever made, but it's arguably the best mainstream RPG over all platforms. The game has excellent pacing and provides enough challenge. Game experience will be different with different party members, as all playable NPCs come with distinctive banter, side quests, and classes/abilities. Also The game packs all the stuff an RPGer would love: endless quests, believable characters, deep customization, various fighting styles, tons of unique treasures, enthralling main storyline, and lots of explorations. Pick any aspect of the game and it would be greater compare to other RPGs out there. If you are an RPG fan who has not played this, buy this game on gog and play it now. Expand
  11. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    Story: 8 out of 10, Graphics: 8 out of 10, Fun: 9 out of 10, Controls: 8 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 7 out of 10, Length: 9 out of 10, Re-play: 5 out of 10, Value: 8 out of 10
  12. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    While this game is great, there are some instances where it will test your patience. First off I dont know how anyone can complete this game without guide. If you did you are one hell of a gamer. The item system is a little too strict. If you do not find one little key or something you maybe screwed. There were a couple of instance where I had re load a saved game because I couldnt find some stupid key sitting somewhere. Other than that this is pretty impressive, huge rpg that many of the newer rpgs have copied. Expand
  13. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    In gaming, like with movies, it's a rare thing when the sequel is as good as the original. There's a case to be made that this is a better /game/ than the original because of the introduction of romances. But at least for me the story just wasn't as compelling. It's difficult because the original Baldur's Gate changed everything I thought I understood about how RPG's were supposed play; it's one of the very few games I can truly say that "blew my mind" when it first came out. This is every bit the worthy successor. I'd certainly say that the two games combined are the best single RPG package one can get, even after all these years. Expand
  14. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    10 for story. 10 for replayabilty. 10 for combat. 10 for characters. 10 for graphics at the time of release. 10 for entertainment. 10 for addictiveness. 10 for timelessness. 10 for the modding community. Nothing but nothing is in this game's league and I suspect people will be saying the same thing after another 10 years.
  15. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    If you have never played this game then you have done something wrong. Get this game, and get it yesterday. By todays standards it is not a beautiful game by any stretch, but I still enjoy the aesthetics and the hand-crafted feel to the 2D graphics (oh and the spell animations are gorgeous beyond belief if you ask me, it FEELS like your casting spells, not just waving your arms about like a maniac), the soundscape of this game is amazing. For once a game that deserves the appelation of "best game, ever", I cannot even begin to try and describe how good this game is, except for tell you to get it. Everything about it is perfect in my mind. I want to give this 20/10, but I can't :( Expand
  16. Oct 14, 2011
    10
    An immensely satisfied RPG experience, although it's slow to begin with. Its graphics are outdated today, but the gameplay, character development, and story is still top-notch in comparison to any game out there. I won't go so far as to say it's the greatest game of all time, but it's definitely up there with the best.

    I just want to add that originally it took me a few tries to get
    into it, I just felt rather bored at the beginning. But once the story really starts flowing it draws you in and you can't stop until you finish it. Expand
  17. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    Still the best rpg ever made. The graphics are old enough to where they're not immersion-breaking or sitting in the uncanny valley like Neverwinter Nights, and even with AD&D being pretty bad the game itself still gets there. You're never going to get anything better since Bioware wants to remove isometric view from Dragon Age 2 as it is and it seems like everything else just wants to be an mmo these days. Expand
  18. Aug 27, 2010
    10
    The first time that two members of my party, NPCs, started bickering with each other, I knew I had something special. When one of the NPCs left the party after I told her to stop whining, my jaw dropped. Before Mass Effect, before any of the many other BioWare masterpieces, this game made NPCs interesting. For that I give them a 10/10. Also, the rest of the game was outstanding in almost every way. "Minsc and Boo stand ready. Meep-eep-eep" Expand
  19. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    Simply beyond words as everything in this game was well-made. Every choice you make has a repercussion and the story never fails to tell. There are so many things to do in this game that it may overwhelm you when you first start but that is how adventures should feel right?
  20. Jaz
    Feb 23, 2013
    10
    The best cRPG ever (along with Planescape Torment). So the question is: Why, oh why, they don't make games like that anymore? What happened to those people who made games like BG2 and Planescape
  21. Oct 16, 2011
    10
    The most epic RPG experience ever. I was young and didn't understand D&D rules, but I learned as I played. There's so much story in this game, it's like a 7 layer cake. The graphics are STUNNING. This is the power of pre-rendered graphics, there's no limit to poly count, though they must remain somewhat stationary. If this game was realtime 3D it would look like beetle dung. The first western RPG I've played, and it's still the best. Mass Effect, Dragon Age, etc, are all crap compared to Baldur's Gate 2. Expand
  22. Jun 24, 2011
    9
    This is the quintessential story-based RPG! It's a shame it's a sequel, with a storyline focused on the villain of the piece (Irenicus) and rather disconnected from the broader tale of the Bhaalspawn (see its expansion pack to continue that). It's also a shame it still uses the yucky D&D 2E rules, although to Bioware's credit they added deeply tactical options to spellcasters only bettered by Dragon Age. Everything else about it is wonderful: huge, deeper story than the first Baldur's Gate and introduction of romance subplots with NPCs (love them or hate them; hint, go for Viconia). A true classic. Expand
  23. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    There will never be a single player RPG this exceptional again.

    It's absolutely perfect, and it pains me that the greatest RPG I will ever play in my life is behind me.

    Its strategic, the story is fantastic, the characters are marvelous, the game systems are stupendous, the quests are unbelievable, and I wish the Bioware that made this game still existed instead of the Bioware that
    makes passive entertainment.

    If you're on the fence and you love RPGS, just but it. You will be so glad you did.
    Expand
  24. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    The best game made ever. Dated at this point, it has the most poignant story and character interaction of any game. Dragon Age pales in comparison to this epic. The Icewind dale series is a close 2nd in this genre
  25. Feb 21, 2012
    9
    One of the great classic games. Excellent writing, superb character development, numerous, varied and enjoyable quests. The world is large and detailed, the characters engaging and memorable. The antagonist is one of the most notorious in gaming and the setting is sufficiently epic for a Greek tragedy. The game is not without it's flaws though. At over a decade old, it's visuals have not aged well and many mods are required to bring it up to the present day, and even then it's not going to be on the same level as current generation graphics. The game is also the third instalment of a four part series so if you haven't played the previous two games you will be a little lost. The game never penalises you but it is designed for an audience from 1999 when the first two games were still popular. There are also a few balance issues with certain classes, with some being completely useless and others being super-powered. But these problems are quickly drowned away, and the masterpiece tells the story of the god-child with epic brilliance. Oh, and the game is very fun. Expand
  26. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    In short: the best game ever made. I played this when it was released and was amazed of all the detail, soul and love put into it.If you haven't played this then do it! It still feels as freshed as it was when it was released. I'm so sad BioWare has gone a totally different way and started making games such as Dragon Age II. I will quote another review:
    Often imitated, never duplicated: BGII.
  27. Jun 15, 2012
    10
    If this is possible, this is even better than Baldur's Gate.
    Everything has improve, graphics, sound, pathfinding works now - but this is only the technical part.
    Even the storytelling has improved, and that coming from a clear 10.
  28. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    This is the best RPG ever made, period. The quests, variety of play, romances, memorable characters and their interactions, strongholds, the ending epilogues depending on the choices you made during the course of the game and much more. The list of good points just goes on and on. Also, with certain mods, the game is even better. Not repetitive, lots of replay value. I have nothing negative to say about this classic masterpiece. A must for any RPG fan. 10/10. Expand
  29. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    This game is perfection and shows just how RPG should be done - complex, with wonderful story and characters. None of present games of the genre can even compare to the old ones made by Interplay!
  30. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First of all this is the best computer game ever made.3.000 interesting quests and a lot of very interesting characters, each with his own great story and personality.Very nice monsters and dragons,perfect music and romantic dialogues.Magnificent combat controls, great and terible villains.I cant wait for the new enhanced edition to live the Baldurs Gate 2 experience again. Expand
  31. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    This review is already rubbish, simply because humans haven't developed the communicative skills with which to describe BG2's sheer brilliance. The best RPG ever made, without a doubt. This game literally took over my life: I cared for and wanted to know the characters within it, I longed to fulfill my destiny and actually felt incredibly sad when I reached the end. Even to this day the beautiful hand-drawn backdrops and masterful voice acting are in a league of their own, the combat is a D&D player's dream and the storytelling only ever rivaled once (not surprisingly by another Bioware title, Planescape: Torment). There is literally nothing even slightly below perfect that can be said about BG2. You can pick it up right now at http://www.gog.com, it's fully supported and priced at one tenth of it's real value. This is the pinnacle of Bioware's creativity. Its not A classic, rather THE classic. Expand
  32. Vio
    Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Sequel to the start of one of the most epic RPG tales ever. Compared to today's graphics the game is obviously very lacking, but like its predecessor the art itself is beautiful. Gameplay and mechanics is complicated, but like its predecessor the story, world, and basic exploration properties overcome this. Did I like it? Yes!
  33. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    After all those years, I still remember the good moments from this game! It was a masterpiece of storytelling, and the engine was a great improvement over BG1. With captivating plot, interesting characters and overall feeling of epicness, this still is a masterpiece. Maybe it didn't age so well, but at its time it was on top of the RPG world and deserves its glory.
  34. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    Best game ever made for the PC. It makes such a difference when important characters have talented voice actors. What I think also makes a difference is that the player character is actually part of the story, not just some mercenary who was "mentioned in the scriptures that were foretold". You know the kind of crap that developers try get away with when they lack creative talent. The music is beautiful and enhances the atmosphere of this game. They just get everything "right" basically, very little is out of place. That's kind of why major modifications for this game were always mediocre at best. Expand
  35. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    The best computer RPG ever! Mainly because of the atmosphere and storyline (NWN's mod-ability made it very close though). Based on AD&D 2nd edition.
  36. May 27, 2011
    9
    Until the Witcher 2, this was the best RPG I've ever played. Stellar for its time, it is still as good today (though the graphics have aged). Its storyline is awesome as are the NPCs and the quests you will take. It has perhaps the best villain ever in Jon Irenicus. It is challenging, fun and immersive. In fact, it still has an active modding community TEN YEARS after release. That alone should tell you how phenemonal this game is. Expand
  37. Aug 7, 2014
    10
    Infinity Engine will be never outdated as producers thought. Am still enjoy and after many years play again Baldurs Gate 2 Icewind Dale 1 and Planescape Torment. games. Of course somehow am enjoy BG only with custom portraits and sounds, and only solo mage. Actually hate that NPC and stuff but as it may be skipped or customized it not bother me. If I would be forced to play some original parts then my score would be lower, but its ok, good game try it. Also am liked exploration of map as it was done in BG1 here you begin from cherry on cake, inside town. But further I was disappointed, sometime confused like am not even explored town and NPC send me somewhere and everybody say it is urgent. First time am believed in this and am go there which really confuse me, because its better leave it for later after solve quests inside town. Something like please hurry am in great danger and am ok am going just give me month or two, where am arrived probably half year later after so much time spend on heal wounds by sleep (am play solo mage) this is bit not realistic, at least confuse me. Or I have dreams frequently by one night = one dream, and am dream everything possible so have no further dreams after week. Beginning of this game is hyper active, but maybe its better to be confused than bored. Where RPG should have smooth progression curve and here is too sharp like designed to create WOW shape on player mouth. Personally I have WTFOW but in overall good game, they tried to make it better from BG1 Expand
  38. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    The most demanding and rewarding experience in my life.Quest,enemys,bosses,skills,combat,story,it's all there.This and diablo took 3 years of my youth,and i don't regret it at all.It was a hell fun ride there.
  39. Feb 17, 2011
    10
    One of the best games every made. Not many RPG's have gotten anywhere near this level. Great characters a good plot and an enormous amount of side quests.
  40. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    the best RPG ever created yet. Fantastic Story, Fantastic Gameplay, and by far the best thing that happened to RPG gaming yet! In fact the only reason why this game could be disliked is that it is so good that to some people it is incomprehensible.
  41. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    Simply the best game I have ever played, second to none. I can't possibly fault this game in any way, it is a masterpiece and will be hard to ever remove from its rightful place at the top of the plinth of PC rpgs.

    All hail the magnificence of Baldur's Gate II: Shadows of Amn.
  42. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    Well, some people say Nostalgia is the cause of the big score for BGII. That people is wrong. I knew this game 1 and a half year ago and I'm sure this is the best game I have ever played. It has some minor issues, but its design, gameplay, graphics (for the time it was made), and sound are flawless. It even can be played in Windows7 without problems, in 1650 resolution. If you have not played it before, make it. If you did, do it again. Expand
  43. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    One of the best RPGs of all time. Deep and entertaining. It's outdated now but if your a true RPG fan play this game. Good community and Mods available as well.
  44. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    My all time favorite game. I have spend at least 200 hrs on this one. There are tons of reviews out there but all I can say is that it is the best RPG of all time. The gameplay is superb and the characters are memorable. I can see myself playing this game even im another 30 years if I am still alive by that time hehe. The thing about this game I really like is this is the first game that actually captured the complexity of D&D. Diablo 2 was great but it pales in comparison to baldurs gate in terms of complexity. Diablo 2 is the mainstream RPG that focus in mindless hack and slash. The game is text heavy and you have to actually think to actually get things done. Actions also have consequences and killing a NPC can mean not being able to take a certain quest or missing out on some reward. And going back to complexity, you have to really understand how the game works to even make a good character build and build for your other characters that can make or break a party in many fight scenes. And you have to understand how teamwork/strategy should be employed else your characters are dead in no time. This game is not for the simple minded. Expand
  45. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    After playing this game on and off for over 10 years, I still can't think of a single bad thing about it. I still have yet to play a better game. The style over substance, gimmicks, and lowest common denominator boys should look and study where this game was coming from. They may make something half decent then. Games that you go back to again and again are very few and far between these days and most new games are about as durable as tissue paper. This game is till standing and will continue to do so for a while yet. Unbelievably good and the easiest 10 I'll probably ever give. Absolutely unmissable. Expand
  46. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    If only they would make 1 game like this per year, I would be a happy panda! It is so deep and epic that you can't really tell it, you have to show it to the others. I played if first when it was fresh new, and now more then 10 years later I still play it sometimes, and I guess it is going to be the same after another 10 years. It just became a part of my life, and that tells more than anything.
  47. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Quite simply the best CRPG ever made, Bioware at their best. Exceptional gameplay, story, content, art design and voice acting. Long, long campaign filled with interesting characters and side quests. As close to perfect as gaming gets.
  48. May 24, 2011
    10
    This is a timeless piece of art that is quite simply the alpha and the omega of RPGs. The graphics are still timeless, the backgrounds and environments look like oil paintings made by a master artist pouring his vision onto the canvas. The story is free of cliches and tired conventions, and is written like a book, while still being 100% fitting with the fantasy world that the game draws you into. You will get attached to some of the characters, you will go over your spellbook and want to try new combinations of the hundreds of spells with unique effects, and you'll be surprised by huge dungeons that lay behind secret doors in the sewers that most players will probably miss. This game has not been rivaled before or since, and nobody can call themselves an RPG fan without playing and loving this masterpiece. It will always have a special place in my heart. If you haven't played it, DO IT! Play it like an RPG and enjoy it, because these days, games don't come close. Expand
  49. May 26, 2012
    10
    This game literally gives me an erection remembering all the great plot twists and amazing dialogue, coupled with perfect combat mechanisms with a very in-depth and well laid out magic scheme.
  50. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest RPG's of all time, pure and simple. If you enjoy a well written story as opposed to flash Graphics then you still cant do much better than this game. Its characters are interesting and full of depth. If there was one thing baldurs gate lacked, it was depth of the characters. But by the end of playing, you feel very atatched to each and every one of them. Its game balance to perfection. Right from the off, you are pitched in to a fast paced and well driven story that ensares and encases you in its world. Its sheer brilliance from start to finish! Expand
  51. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    top shelf, next to only a very few

    baldurs gate series is one of the few games i never regreted to have payed money for(3 times actually)
    and i would again(depending on the publisher)
    "insert words of highest praise"

    10
  52. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    The best roleplaying game, and most likely even the best game of all time.

    The immersion and replayability of this game is out of this world.

    If you have yet to try this game give it a chance, once you're through the preliminary trial and error, you'll understand why this game is loved by so many. -It's from an era where games were made with love and ambition, and not just to make as
    much money as possible. Expand
  53. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    The last great game from Bioware. 100 hours worth of content if you do all the side quests. Great characters, one of the best villains (Irenicus), epic music, a legendary journey through the forgotten realms, from Amn to the Underdark, a powerful combat system that gives us a lot of variety during fights, having enemies featuring either strong defense against elements, non magical weapon, or magical weapon, immunities to some form of magic, or having unique abilities, like vampire sucking your levels, mindflayers stunning you and killing you faster if you have low intelligence and so on, all coming from the most popular p&p ruleset. A level of variety that has been absent in Biowarian games since then. The only thing that's truly missing from BG2 are the innovations that were brought by Fallout in the form of consequences to your choices, interaction with the world and factions. BG2 missed that opportunity to jump in the new, more evolved computer RPGs bandwagon but even then, it still manages to be one of the most entertaining cRPG in history. I dare say it kept its place in my top ten RPGs, next to Fallout, Arcanum, Bloodlines, Mask of the Betrayer. Expand
  54. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    This game is simply amazing. The first time I played it, I was blown away by the depth. So many storylines and sidequests! Amazing voice acting, especially of the main villian Irenicus. The UI is clunky and dated, sure, but this is a game made in 2000. The D&D rules are also a little daunting at first, but I got used to them and started playing with different combinations to see what characters I liked best.

    Another big plus for this game is the dedicated modding community. The game itself is great, but if you want more challenge or more quests, you can install mods available on the internet. That shows how strongly people love this game, they spend so much time creating additional content to share with everyone.

    BG2 is so good, I occasionally dust it off and re-install it, just to play it again. Even though I know all the story, and have even memorized where all the item drops are. It's that good, I can't stop coming back for another taste.
    Expand
  55. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    Best game ever made. 12 years passed and no game is better than BG 2. Hell, no game is even near to be equal to BG 2. Epic story, side quests sending you to deepest dungeons where dragons rule, to another planes of existence, to dark forests and to old ruins under the city of Amn. Each of these places takes several hours to beat, contains epic dialogues and fights, and lets you decide how your actions will afflict the world. You really feel like you are the main hero, you will love or hate your companions, you will wish death to your enemies for all what they've done to you or anyone else. Progression of your party is a masterpiece. Stats, special abilities based on characters history and heritage, hundreds of unique items. Everytime you find something more powerful than you are wearing at the moment, you will be happy. Why are you still reading this and not playing? Expand
  56. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    This game influenced me so much, amazed me to a point, that it is definitely one of my favourites all-time. It is an improved version of BG1, with another thrilling plot, maybe a bit less interesting than the first.
  57. Sep 9, 2013
    10
    An incredible game, especially when you consider the story from start to finish as an epic complete trilogy. The story and dialog are fantastic. Combat is deep and fun. The lore of each and every item you find really adds a lot of depth to the world. The quantity and quality of characters make each replay a different experience. It goes on and on. There's so much in this game that is done so well, and few games can claim to come close. Expand
  58. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    A rating scale of 1 -10 is just totally inadequate when you consider this game. Perhaps the scale could be made logarithmic because this game is 10 times better than anything that I would give a 9 to. In depth, range, subtlety and complexity this game is still so far ahead of others it beggars belief. I could write 1500 words on just how good one aspect of this game is, never mind how good the whole thing is. The individual parts are perfect and the whole is greater than the sum of the parts. Just play it. As a mage. Then try a kensai. Then a swashbuckler. Then a cleric. Then a blade. Then a fighter/thief........This is the last word in RPGing. By a mile. Expand
  59. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    The best RPG ever, all hands down!! No other RPG even comes close in terms of combat mechanic and game story. Quests are amazingly designed and the game world is just unbelivably great. No other RPG gives you a sense of adventure in a way Baldurs Gate does. It is truly a grand adventure.
  60. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    Ya, it's well made, deep, fun etc. But I was quite disappointed by the story, it lacks any cohesion and the conclusion is very cheap. But on the other hand, the side quests or stories or whatever are actually much more better than the main quest line itself.
  61. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece from an era where game developers still cared about quality. The main villain remains the greatest voice in gaming history. Excellent story with intelligent game play. One of the few games worthy of an actual 10. Highly recommended.
  62. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Best RPG Ever. This game change my life since I've been played, I love it.
    10 for story. 10 for replayabilty. 10 for combat. 10 for characters. 10 for graphics at the time of release. 10 for entertainment. 10 for addictiveness. 10 for timelessness. 10 for the modding community. Nothing but nothing is in this game's league and I suspect people will be saying the same thing after another 10 years.
  63. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    This is the Citizen Kane of PC gaming. It is even better than Fallout 1 and it is 100x better than any RPG that get out since then. Student will study this game in classic class 75 years from now. Masterpiece.
  64. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    Do you enjoy deep and rich story-lines? Do you like making ridiculously powerful characters? Do you enjoy a plethora of side-quests? Do you enjoy creating 50 different characters whom all interact with the world differently? Do you like berserkers armed with miniature giant space hamsters? If you answered yes to any of the following well...you should already have this game to be honest. I purchased this game 15 years ago and I still play it as if it still has that new game smell to it. I could go in depth as to all the reasons why this game are great but mere words simply do not do this game justice. This is something you simply have to experience to fully appreciate. The only downside to this game is that the path-finding leaves much to be desired and oftentimes your characters get lost walking in a straight-line. Thankfully any member of the Radiant Heart or the Cowled Wizards, the in game law officials, who approach you to ask for a breathalyzer test can be struck down with lightning, or better yet, turned into a squirrel. If you enjoy or even dabble in RPG games This is a must buy, twice if you possibly can. Expand
  65. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    No game since has given me the experience of BG II. That might be nostalgia talking, but this game, while definitely dated by today's standards, is one of my all time favorites.
  66. Jan 9, 2012
    10
    Awesome plot - lots of twists -, challenging puzzles, epic fights, very smart AI, highly customizable, in-depth NPC's, timed events, nice encounters with neutral and hostile, non linear history - everything you do has its consequences, to the point you can screw up even with the main quest w/o knowing. Best RPG of all time.
  67. Jan 2, 2012
    9
    Still one of my favorite RPG's even with all the current offerings that are vastly superior in visuals. BGII brings exceptional storytelling and character development into a detailed and realized fantasy world with a great and engaging storyline. They just don't make games like this anymore.
  68. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    The best RPG by D&D rules and not only. Awesome world, an infinite number of side quests and several main story lines! It's game have a true atmosphere of adventure!

    Are you think what you know all about BG? No! BG have a thousand secrets.
  69. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    My favourite game of all time. If you are an American RPG fan and you havn't played and loved this game then you probably don't exist. BEST GAME EVRAAAR
  70. Jul 3, 2014
    10
    The single greatest PC RPG of all time. I still do a play through every now and again. Fantastic story devoid of cliches so common in current Bioware RPGs. Instead of being a hero destined to save the world, you are a hero destined to become an ultimate big bad. That alone should be enough to give it a try.
  71. Oct 22, 2014
    10
    Between this and Deus ex, the year 2000 has got to be the best year for great games. Two different games yet the best of their class.

    Hours upon hours of exciting gameplay, side quests, epic fights bound. The hand drawn background graphics are still beautiful now, especially with the upgraded high res version of the game.

    I wholly recommend it, it is one of the best out there.
    Neverwinter nights doesn't hold a candle to BGII, it is a very poor copy of the BGII greatness. Expand
  72. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    I am still very fond of this game. It was a time-eater and worth every second of it. The story is amazing. I remember the end, when they tell you about the future of your followers, when I just sat there and knew that this is the point where you know, that all those people in your group were not just some pixels, fighting for you, picking locks or healing you. Sadly, the games have changes since then. I must admit that I might not want to spend so much time, running around and looking for clues what I'm supposed to do now, but I'll remember this game as the peak of it's generation. You, Baldur's Gate 2, made a 23 year old guy very happy back then. Thank you. Expand
  73. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    This is my favourite game of all time. I fondly remember the story, the characters and the sense of exploration and wonder it evoked. It is full of rich depth because there is so much detail in the setting and the places you visit and so much choice in how you complete the game and what kind of character you play. The gameplay is also consistently excellent. Defeating the fatastic creatures, villains and monsters you face feels epic and massively rewarding and so do the many conversations you have and puzzles you solve. The music and artwork are fantastic. The graphics are dated by todays standards of course but I would still reccommend playing this to anyone with any interest in role playing games. 10/10 - the game to which future RPGs should aspire to be as good as. Expand
  74. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    Quite possibly the best game ever made! A deep, compelling experience. To say this is now an 11 year old game is astonishing, as nobody has managed to make a better game yet! The only other contender for best RPG would arguably be Planescape Torment, another amazing game but with a less "epic" story and more personal one. Baldur's Gate is a game that, if you can get past the (by todays standards) steep learning curve, hard to use interface and unforgiving nature will become one of the best games you've ever played. Expand
  75. Apr 20, 2012
    10
    A masterpiece. Even though 12 years have passed since its first release, the game still attracts me like no other. The graphics seems immune to ageing, and the sound (both music and voice acting) are extremely suggestive, creating unique atmosphere. The plot maybe is not as complex as this of 'Planescape: Torment', but it's a decent piece of high fantasy. I sincerely recommend this one.
  76. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    This is the best RPG, in my opinion. Great plot, excellent characters and very interesting gameplay. Just play it and you'll see for yourself. Unfortunately, right now Bioware is unable make something like it. We can say thanks to EA.
  77. Mar 31, 2011
    10
    Everything I always recall about BG2 is just: WOW! Definitely the best RPG made so far, and holding this candle up for more then 10 years by now. The story, the graphics, the party just sucks you into the game. Once you see the end screen, you really feel sad for parting with those memorable characters.
  78. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    After all these years, still the single most excitingly written story line a game ever had. Credible heroes, credible villains, and quests and even sub-quests with exciting and often surprising tales to tell.
  79. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    BG2 is in my opinion the best role-playing game ever released and one of the top five games ever made for any platform, including pen and paper.
    Many more current RPGs seem to provide little more than a mass of randomly generated, pointless quests which affect the game world as much as a mosquito affects a jumbo jet. BG2 is one of the few games, along with Fallout 1&2 and
    Planescape:Torment, that really got this right.
    The plot's depth doesn't masterpiece level of Planescape, but the fun factor, for me at least, surpassed it.
    Note: Dragon Age: Origins is a similar game by the same team, so if you like this, you should try it as well. DA:O doesn't have the strategy or plot quality of BG2, but I think it actually surpasses BG2 in character development.
    Expand
  80. May 4, 2012
    10
    I loved ES: Skyrim, and i really enjoyed ES: Oblivion, I liked DA: Origins and I've played a multitude of the most popular MMORPG's like WoW, Rift, Swtor and GW. But all of those games still feel meek compared to the epicness of BG2. The first game in the series is amazing, and because it is the first, it's still closer to my heart, but all in all, BG2 is the best RPG i've ever played through more than once (i've cleared it more than 4 times with different builds and choices in the romances and main quests) and still the only one i feel like i want to play more, experience more in, and find out even more about the characters in.
    The game can be hard and unforgiving, especially for a player of new-age RPG's, and that is part of it's charm. I still think the graphics are good and the gameplay never felt repetitive since i went through with different characters and party set-up each time.
    All in all, best RPG ever in my opinion, can't wait to see how the updated version will be.
    Expand
  81. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    Best RPG game ever. No need for too much explain. Epic story, epic combat as well as epic gears. The world is huge, there are so many places waiting you to explore. And there are so many quests, some of them are as long as a independent story, some of them are short but interesting. You can enjoy all kinds of RPG elements in this game, char building, story, squad members, combats puzzles etc. People who can finish this game can understand how great it is. Expand
  82. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    I love this game. I worship it. If ever there was a religion about BGII, I would be a fanatic! But beware, there is a huge huge flaw within.. It raised the standards so much for me back in early 00's, that I haven't been able to really play any other crpg after that. Maybe the first installment of Dragon Age had something of BG feeling, but every other crpg looks so shallow.

    If there is
    any rpg lover left who hasn't played it, buy it, download the 2 most famous MODS (Shadows Over Soubar, and The Darkest Day), add them (they expand the game with tales from R.A.Salvatore's books, Drizzt D'Urden etc and double the size of it) and prepare to lose a couple of months of your life... Expand
  83. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    Baldurs Gate: Perfection. In every way imaginable; i would never consider writing a review for a game, but the love and admiration towards the finest game of my generation deserves one. This game truly, has everything.

    You really cannot find a negative, for what is now almost fifteen years later STILL considered the finest RPG to ever exist. The story, the characters, all become reality
    to you. An endless adventure with characters you feel afterwards had been life long friends, prepare to spend weeks sleepless, planning your next adventure.. Going on quest after quest trying to find the perfect six to complete the dreaded quests only you could conquer.

    Play it properly, complete it. Side quests after side quest, explore every where there is to explore. Hundreds of hours gameplay, which never seems to bore.

    Best RPG of all time? Obviously.

    Greatest game of all time? Quite possibly..
    Expand
  84. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    Definitely one of the best rpg's ever created. I received this game as a birthday gift when it first came out. At that time I was still relatively new to rpgs. I didn't really have time for anything but rts' as far as I was concerned. Even before installing this game though I was instantly impressed. I just couldn't put down the manual until I actually installed the game. After that I couldn't put down the game. From character creation on I was fully immersed. The voice acting was awesome. First running into Minsc is still one of my favorite character introductions of all time. Everything about this game was awesome. The amount of lore for the items and various books throughout the game was incredible. I'm still of the opinion that NPC's and party interaction have never surpassed this game. The replay value is extremely high with all of the different party variations, classes, and in-game decisions...Throw in incredible amounts of mod options and you will enjoy this game for a very very long time. Expand
  85. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    It is difficult not to give an 11/10 to this game, best RPG ever made, and for me the best game ever made too, no RPG comes even close to it FOURTEEN YEARS after it came out. Dragon Age Origins tried to emulate some of it elements and it partially succeded (DA2 is crap) but only partially. BG2 is still a game I play even today, and since its graphics can be scaled to any resolution with a small mod it can be played on modern computers without issues, and its 2d graphics still look decent and not distracting. Art style in the game is still unsurpassed by any game to date. Music is fantastic.

    As for the game itself it has a wonderful story that gets perfect conclusion in Throne Of Bhaal expansion, probably the best "finish" to a game series ever, so emotional and deep, so rewarding and fulfilling. Combat is brilliant, no game ever reached the intensity of high level combat in BG2 and Throne Of Bhaal, you fight against many types of monsters, many spells are at your disposal, yes it is difficult for those not accustomed to hardcore RPGs or those unfamiliar with AD&D rules but it is well worth the effort. Quests, brilliant party members with their witty banter, memorable NPCs, tons of items of which most are unique, tons of spells, beautiful environments and clever writing make this game epic beyond anything I ever played. I dont think any game will surpass BG2 any time soon, that require a massive effort with brilliant writers but that is not likely to happen. If I was to look for flaws of this game I can find only one, not all lines are voice acted, probably a limitation of disc sizes at the time but it doesnt affect the enjoyment of the game. If only someone remade BG2 and Throne Of Bhaal in 3d graphics, just imagine BG2 with Skyrim graphics, now that would be something I would pay any money to have. Dont get me wrong, BG2 graphics scaled to modern resolutions still looks decent but imagine the immersiveness of 3d graphics, with all the beautiful art of BG2 its 3d version would be a work of art in which you can walk around and just admire the sights.

    How brilliant is this game is shown by the fact that most players STILL consider it the best RPG ever, and they still play it FOURTEEN YEARS after it came out. BG2 aged perfectly, it is still a game that any RPG fan must play so if you havent played it yet get it NOW :D I still remember many key conversations in the game and can recite the entire evil godly ending down to the last letter.

    Last we come to the replayability, that aspect is also unsurpassed, with the option of being male or female, and choosing different races and classes and with lots of party members to choose from, you can replay the game many times, I probably completed BG2 at least 20 times, and there is always more to discover, some small quests can be easily missed. And some quests allow you to take different paths so the replayability is beyond anything available today, Dragon Age Origins with Awakening expansion and other DLCs is the only game that comes close to BG2 and Throne Of Bhaal replayability but it is way easier than BG2 on AD&D rules, even at high levels in BG2 and Throne Of Bhaal you will get squashed if you dont prepare for fights, that is one more quality in BG2, other games make you overpowered in the end so you can simply walk around killing everything with ease and little danger to yourself, in BG2 you are certainly powerful in the end but still without preparation and appropriate tactics you get squashed, that is realistic. Now go and play it, your life as a gamer is not complete if you havent played BG2, trust me it is a life changing experience, warning-it will make you disappointed too because you will quickly realize how mediocre to bad are modern RPGs compared to BG2.
    Expand
  86. Aug 22, 2014
    10
    I've been playing both WRPGs and JRPGs for decades. Of all of the RPGs that I have played, Baldur's Gate is without a doubt my favorite RPG of all time.
  87. Oct 12, 2014
    10
    **** you meta critic i jusdt typed a long ass reveiw about how legit this game was and you ****ing peice of **** sit crashed. any ways this game is the only game I have had a personal connection with nuff said.
  88. Oct 31, 2014
    10
    2014 - and the Game is as good as in 2000. Buy it for a little amount of moneys DRM-Free on Good Old Games (GOG). The Resolution is not this what we call retina.... BUT THE GAME IS GREAT!
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. I'd like my life back, Black Isle.
  2. For the first time in a single player game, I truly felt I was playing my way through a pen and paper fantasy campaign.
  3. 100
    It's not just vast, but flooded with quests and side adventures. There is always something to do in this game and, after that, there's always something more.