Baldur's Gate II: Shadows of Amn PC

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1083 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    Quite possibly the best game ever made! A deep, compelling experience. To say this is now an 11 year old game is astonishing, as nobody has managed to make a better game yet! The only other contender for best RPG would arguably be Planescape Torment, another amazing game but with a less "epic" story and more personal one. Baldur's Gate is a game that, if you can get past the (by todaysQuite possibly the best game ever made! A deep, compelling experience. To say this is now an 11 year old game is astonishing, as nobody has managed to make a better game yet! The only other contender for best RPG would arguably be Planescape Torment, another amazing game but with a less "epic" story and more personal one. Baldur's Gate is a game that, if you can get past the (by todays standards) steep learning curve, hard to use interface and unforgiving nature will become one of the best games you've ever played. Expand
  2. Aug 27, 2010
    10
    The first time that two members of my party, NPCs, started bickering with each other, I knew I had something special. When one of the NPCs left the party after I told her to stop whining, my jaw dropped. Before Mass Effect, before any of the many other BioWare masterpieces, this game made NPCs interesting. For that I give them a 10/10. Also, the rest of the game was outstanding in almostThe first time that two members of my party, NPCs, started bickering with each other, I knew I had something special. When one of the NPCs left the party after I told her to stop whining, my jaw dropped. Before Mass Effect, before any of the many other BioWare masterpieces, this game made NPCs interesting. For that I give them a 10/10. Also, the rest of the game was outstanding in almost every way. "Minsc and Boo stand ready. Meep-eep-eep" Expand
  3. Feb 17, 2011
    10
    One of the best games every made. Not many RPG's have gotten anywhere near this level. Great characters a good plot and an enormous amount of side quests.
  4. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    10 for story. 10 for replayabilty. 10 for combat. 10 for characters. 10 for graphics at the time of release. 10 for entertainment. 10 for addictiveness. 10 for timelessness. 10 for the modding community. Nothing but nothing is in this game's league and I suspect people will be saying the same thing after another 10 years.
  5. PhilipD.
    Oct 17, 2008
    2
    Oh. I really am annoyed about this. I bought it with intentions of getting sucked into the game like money into a vacuum cleaner but it just didn't work. Time and time again I have come back to this game, spending hours playing it and trying to get into the story. I can see why people like this game so much- once you get past the shell of this game I'm sure there are emotional Oh. I really am annoyed about this. I bought it with intentions of getting sucked into the game like money into a vacuum cleaner but it just didn't work. Time and time again I have come back to this game, spending hours playing it and trying to get into the story. I can see why people like this game so much- once you get past the shell of this game I'm sure there are emotional plot twists, epic fights and pants of +3 healing... but what a shell to crack. I mean, I keep playing this game, sitting down for several hours, failing at enjoying it then going off for a stab at Oblivion or Deus Ex instead. Don't get me wrong- I do try. I spent £20 on this game, after all. I have a horribly powerful urge to play this game every couple of months (much as I do with the Sims) but once it's loaded up, I look at its pixelated graphics and sheer... dullness and give in. I'm going to say LOOK OUT. If you don't mind spending a whole day or so getting into it I'm sure there's a fantastic game underneath. However, if you're anything like me you'd be better off with a game which pays off sooner. A game like Baldurs Gate is missing from my life but at the end of the day, it isn't meant to be. Great music, though. Expand
  6. Dec 1, 2014
    10
    Following my disappointment with Inquisition, I installed BG2 on my PC last week and since then, I have been playing in every free minute. It's my third playthrough (after the first in 2000, my second in 2005 and the present one). So, since my last playthrough 9 years have passed and during that time, I have played tons of other RPGs (e.g. Dragonage, ME, Divinity, Drakensang, Witcher -Following my disappointment with Inquisition, I installed BG2 on my PC last week and since then, I have been playing in every free minute. It's my third playthrough (after the first in 2000, my second in 2005 and the present one). So, since my last playthrough 9 years have passed and during that time, I have played tons of other RPGs (e.g. Dragonage, ME, Divinity, Drakensang, Witcher - just to name a few). And what do I realize in this very moment? Well, I expected that after all these "modern RPGs", playing BG2 would be impossible (old graphics, static world, etc.), but JESUS CHRIST, how **** mistaken I have been!
    It's unbelievable, but BG2 is still a gem, even if you compare it to the newest games. In fact, it is a timeless piece of art. I simply love the graphics (the settings are so detailed and beautiful - almost as paintings that are great enough to be put on a wall...).
    Then, the NPCs are simply amazing: Minsc and his hamster - I do not remember a character as cool and funny in any of the following RPGs ("Go for the eyes, Boo"). And Aerie and Jaheira in the same group: when they fight for your attention and love, be prepared for one of the best written and most realistic dialogues in gaming history. Oh an Edwin, the most arrogant sorcerer ever - take him for an evil playthrough, it is SO well done.
    Besides well written NPCs and beatiful graphics, BG2 has an amazing game play and challenging fights. Gosh, the selection of arcane and divine spells is AMAZING - you basically have thousands of ways of shaping your mages and priests in a way you like it. Sorry to say, but Inquisition is a joke compared to what BG2 offered for RPG-lovers...
    Finally, BG2 has a great story. OK, I admit, it's no too original story, but it is still exciting and epic - and more importantly: the dialogues and all the writing is superb. Moreover, you play a huge part in this story and - more, more, more importantly - most of your quests somehow relate to the main story or add interesting side stories. It's really a complete difference to today's RPGs (e.g. Inquisition) where you have to kill 10 bears to complete a quest. In BG2 such quests do not exist - REALLY!!! I also didn't believe it at first, but now that I play it again, I value this old tradition of quest writing - how could game writing degrade so much over the past years??? It's unbelivable that a game from 2000 has set the standards in story- and dialogue-writing that almost all following games fail to meet (there are a few notable exceptions like ME1). Isn't this unbelievable?
    Anyway, I am going back to playing BG2 now :-) Cheers and praise to the old infinity enginge games, guys!
    Expand
  7. Jan 31, 2012
    9
    I don't consider this to be the best game overall. It doesn't have the best graphics, quite good but not tremendus audio and I haven't followed the plot quite carefully. Nevertheless, it's the ONLY game so far that I've finished... three times in a row! And it's a RPG!

    Yes, it's been a while ago and yes - there weren't so many games around but still. The level of depth that this game
    I don't consider this to be the best game overall. It doesn't have the best graphics, quite good but not tremendus audio and I haven't followed the plot quite carefully. Nevertheless, it's the ONLY game so far that I've finished... three times in a row! And it's a RPG!

    Yes, it's been a while ago and yes - there weren't so many games around but still. The level of depth that this game offers was unprecedented at that time. I could play a game over and over again taking different decisions, different companions and have a lot of fun doing it. The amount of possibilities seemed endless and I haven't spend half a year playing a single player game since.
    Expand
  8. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    If you have never played this game then you have done something wrong. Get this game, and get it yesterday. By todays standards it is not a beautiful game by any stretch, but I still enjoy the aesthetics and the hand-crafted feel to the 2D graphics (oh and the spell animations are gorgeous beyond belief if you ask me, it FEELS like your casting spells, not just waving your arms about likeIf you have never played this game then you have done something wrong. Get this game, and get it yesterday. By todays standards it is not a beautiful game by any stretch, but I still enjoy the aesthetics and the hand-crafted feel to the 2D graphics (oh and the spell animations are gorgeous beyond belief if you ask me, it FEELS like your casting spells, not just waving your arms about like a maniac), the soundscape of this game is amazing. For once a game that deserves the appelation of "best game, ever", I cannot even begin to try and describe how good this game is, except for tell you to get it. Everything about it is perfect in my mind. I want to give this 20/10, but I can't :( Expand
  9. Jan 9, 2012
    10
    Awesome plot - lots of twists -, challenging puzzles, epic fights, very smart AI, highly customizable, in-depth NPC's, timed events, nice encounters with neutral and hostile, non linear history - everything you do has its consequences, to the point you can screw up even with the main quest w/o knowing. Best RPG of all time.
  10. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    Simply the best game I have ever played, second to none. I can't possibly fault this game in any way, it is a masterpiece and will be hard to ever remove from its rightful place at the top of the plinth of PC rpgs.

    All hail the magnificence of Baldur's Gate II: Shadows of Amn.
  11. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    This is the best RPG ever made, period. The quests, variety of play, romances, memorable characters and their interactions, strongholds, the ending epilogues depending on the choices you made during the course of the game and much more. The list of good points just goes on and on. Also, with certain mods, the game is even better. Not repetitive, lots of replay value. I have nothingThis is the best RPG ever made, period. The quests, variety of play, romances, memorable characters and their interactions, strongholds, the ending epilogues depending on the choices you made during the course of the game and much more. The list of good points just goes on and on. Also, with certain mods, the game is even better. Not repetitive, lots of replay value. I have nothing negative to say about this classic masterpiece. A must for any RPG fan. 10/10. Expand
  12. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    There will never be a single player RPG this exceptional again.

    It's absolutely perfect, and it pains me that the greatest RPG I will ever play in my life is behind me. Its strategic, the story is fantastic, the characters are marvelous, the game systems are stupendous, the quests are unbelievable, and I wish the Bioware that made this game still existed instead of the Bioware that
    There will never be a single player RPG this exceptional again.

    It's absolutely perfect, and it pains me that the greatest RPG I will ever play in my life is behind me.

    Its strategic, the story is fantastic, the characters are marvelous, the game systems are stupendous, the quests are unbelievable, and I wish the Bioware that made this game still existed instead of the Bioware that makes passive entertainment.

    If you're on the fence and you love RPGS, just but it. You will be so glad you did.
    Expand
  13. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    No game since has given me the experience of BG II. That might be nostalgia talking, but this game, while definitely dated by today's standards, is one of my all time favorites.
  14. May 27, 2011
    9
    Until the Witcher 2, this was the best RPG I've ever played. Stellar for its time, it is still as good today (though the graphics have aged). Its storyline is awesome as are the NPCs and the quests you will take. It has perhaps the best villain ever in Jon Irenicus. It is challenging, fun and immersive. In fact, it still has an active modding community TEN YEARS after release. ThatUntil the Witcher 2, this was the best RPG I've ever played. Stellar for its time, it is still as good today (though the graphics have aged). Its storyline is awesome as are the NPCs and the quests you will take. It has perhaps the best villain ever in Jon Irenicus. It is challenging, fun and immersive. In fact, it still has an active modding community TEN YEARS after release. That alone should tell you how phenemonal this game is. Expand
  15. Jun 24, 2011
    9
    This is the quintessential story-based RPG! It's a shame it's a sequel, with a storyline focused on the villain of the piece (Irenicus) and rather disconnected from the broader tale of the Bhaalspawn (see its expansion pack to continue that). It's also a shame it still uses the yucky D&D 2E rules, although to Bioware's credit they added deeply tactical options to spellcasters onlyThis is the quintessential story-based RPG! It's a shame it's a sequel, with a storyline focused on the villain of the piece (Irenicus) and rather disconnected from the broader tale of the Bhaalspawn (see its expansion pack to continue that). It's also a shame it still uses the yucky D&D 2E rules, although to Bioware's credit they added deeply tactical options to spellcasters only bettered by Dragon Age. Everything else about it is wonderful: huge, deeper story than the first Baldur's Gate and introduction of romance subplots with NPCs (love them or hate them; hint, go for Viconia). A true classic. Expand
  16. Feb 21, 2012
    9
    One of the great classic games. Excellent writing, superb character development, numerous, varied and enjoyable quests. The world is large and detailed, the characters engaging and memorable. The antagonist is one of the most notorious in gaming and the setting is sufficiently epic for a Greek tragedy. The game is not without it's flaws though. At over a decade old, it's visuals have notOne of the great classic games. Excellent writing, superb character development, numerous, varied and enjoyable quests. The world is large and detailed, the characters engaging and memorable. The antagonist is one of the most notorious in gaming and the setting is sufficiently epic for a Greek tragedy. The game is not without it's flaws though. At over a decade old, it's visuals have not aged well and many mods are required to bring it up to the present day, and even then it's not going to be on the same level as current generation graphics. The game is also the third instalment of a four part series so if you haven't played the previous two games you will be a little lost. The game never penalises you but it is designed for an audience from 1999 when the first two games were still popular. There are also a few balance issues with certain classes, with some being completely useless and others being super-powered. But these problems are quickly drowned away, and the masterpiece tells the story of the god-child with epic brilliance. Oh, and the game is very fun. Expand
  17. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    Well, some people say Nostalgia is the cause of the big score for BGII. That people is wrong. I knew this game 1 and a half year ago and I'm sure this is the best game I have ever played. It has some minor issues, but its design, gameplay, graphics (for the time it was made), and sound are flawless. It even can be played in Windows7 without problems, in 1650 resolution. If you have notWell, some people say Nostalgia is the cause of the big score for BGII. That people is wrong. I knew this game 1 and a half year ago and I'm sure this is the best game I have ever played. It has some minor issues, but its design, gameplay, graphics (for the time it was made), and sound are flawless. It even can be played in Windows7 without problems, in 1650 resolution. If you have not played it before, make it. If you did, do it again. Expand
  18. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    Together with Fallout 2, easily the best role-playing game ever. It fixed anything that was sub-perfect in BG 1. To play it on today's machines, be sure to install the patches and mods from the community (e.g. to make the resolution fit the one of your monitor).
  19. Jaz
    Feb 23, 2013
    10
    The best cRPG ever (along with Planescape Torment). So the question is: Why, oh why, they don't make games like that anymore? What happened to those people who made games like BG2 and Planescape
  20. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    Do you enjoy deep and rich story-lines? Do you like making ridiculously powerful characters? Do you enjoy a plethora of side-quests? Do you enjoy creating 50 different characters whom all interact with the world differently? Do you like berserkers armed with miniature giant space hamsters? If you answered yes to any of the following well...you should already have this game to be honest. IDo you enjoy deep and rich story-lines? Do you like making ridiculously powerful characters? Do you enjoy a plethora of side-quests? Do you enjoy creating 50 different characters whom all interact with the world differently? Do you like berserkers armed with miniature giant space hamsters? If you answered yes to any of the following well...you should already have this game to be honest. I purchased this game 15 years ago and I still play it as if it still has that new game smell to it. I could go in depth as to all the reasons why this game are great but mere words simply do not do this game justice. This is something you simply have to experience to fully appreciate. The only downside to this game is that the path-finding leaves much to be desired and oftentimes your characters get lost walking in a straight-line. Thankfully any member of the Radiant Heart or the Cowled Wizards, the in game law officials, who approach you to ask for a breathalyzer test can be struck down with lightning, or better yet, turned into a squirrel. If you enjoy or even dabble in RPG games This is a must buy, twice if you possibly can. Expand
  21. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First of all this is the best computer game ever made.3.000 interesting quests and a lot of very interesting characters, each with his own great story and personality.Very nice monsters and dragons,perfect music and romantic dialogues.Magnificent combat controls, great and terible villains.I cant wait for the new enhanced edition to live the Baldurs Gate 2 experience again. Expand
  22. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    This game is simply amazing. The first time I played it, I was blown away by the depth. So many storylines and sidequests! Amazing voice acting, especially of the main villian Irenicus. The UI is clunky and dated, sure, but this is a game made in 2000. The D&D rules are also a little daunting at first, but I got used to them and started playing with different combinations to see whatThis game is simply amazing. The first time I played it, I was blown away by the depth. So many storylines and sidequests! Amazing voice acting, especially of the main villian Irenicus. The UI is clunky and dated, sure, but this is a game made in 2000. The D&D rules are also a little daunting at first, but I got used to them and started playing with different combinations to see what characters I liked best.

    Another big plus for this game is the dedicated modding community. The game itself is great, but if you want more challenge or more quests, you can install mods available on the internet. That shows how strongly people love this game, they spend so much time creating additional content to share with everyone.

    BG2 is so good, I occasionally dust it off and re-install it, just to play it again. Even though I know all the story, and have even memorized where all the item drops are. It's that good, I can't stop coming back for another taste.
    Expand
  23. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    The most demanding and rewarding experience in my life.Quest,enemys,bosses,skills,combat,story,it's all there.This and diablo took 3 years of my youth,and i don't regret it at all.It was a hell fun ride there.
  24. Jul 3, 2014
    10
    The single greatest PC RPG of all time. I still do a play through every now and again. Fantastic story devoid of cliches so common in current Bioware RPGs. Instead of being a hero destined to save the world, you are a hero destined to become an ultimate big bad. That alone should be enough to give it a try.
  25. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    It is difficult not to give an 11/10 to this game, best RPG ever made, and for me the best game ever made too, no RPG comes even close to it FOURTEEN YEARS after it came out. Dragon Age Origins tried to emulate some of it elements and it partially succeded (DA2 is crap) but only partially. BG2 is still a game I play even today, and since its graphics can be scaled to any resolution with aIt is difficult not to give an 11/10 to this game, best RPG ever made, and for me the best game ever made too, no RPG comes even close to it FOURTEEN YEARS after it came out. Dragon Age Origins tried to emulate some of it elements and it partially succeded (DA2 is crap) but only partially. BG2 is still a game I play even today, and since its graphics can be scaled to any resolution with a small mod it can be played on modern computers without issues, and its 2d graphics still look decent and not distracting. Art style in the game is still unsurpassed by any game to date. Music is fantastic.

    As for the game itself it has a wonderful story that gets perfect conclusion in Throne Of Bhaal expansion, probably the best "finish" to a game series ever, so emotional and deep, so rewarding and fulfilling. Combat is brilliant, no game ever reached the intensity of high level combat in BG2 and Throne Of Bhaal, you fight against many types of monsters, many spells are at your disposal, yes it is difficult for those not accustomed to hardcore RPGs or those unfamiliar with AD&D rules but it is well worth the effort. Quests, brilliant party members with their witty banter, memorable NPCs, tons of items of which most are unique, tons of spells, beautiful environments and clever writing make this game epic beyond anything I ever played. I dont think any game will surpass BG2 any time soon, that require a massive effort with brilliant writers but that is not likely to happen. If I was to look for flaws of this game I can find only one, not all lines are voice acted, probably a limitation of disc sizes at the time but it doesnt affect the enjoyment of the game. If only someone remade BG2 and Throne Of Bhaal in 3d graphics, just imagine BG2 with Skyrim graphics, now that would be something I would pay any money to have. Dont get me wrong, BG2 graphics scaled to modern resolutions still looks decent but imagine the immersiveness of 3d graphics, with all the beautiful art of BG2 its 3d version would be a work of art in which you can walk around and just admire the sights.

    How brilliant is this game is shown by the fact that most players STILL consider it the best RPG ever, and they still play it FOURTEEN YEARS after it came out. BG2 aged perfectly, it is still a game that any RPG fan must play so if you havent played it yet get it NOW :D I still remember many key conversations in the game and can recite the entire evil godly ending down to the last letter.

    Last we come to the replayability, that aspect is also unsurpassed, with the option of being male or female, and choosing different races and classes and with lots of party members to choose from, you can replay the game many times, I probably completed BG2 at least 20 times, and there is always more to discover, some small quests can be easily missed. And some quests allow you to take different paths so the replayability is beyond anything available today, Dragon Age Origins with Awakening expansion and other DLCs is the only game that comes close to BG2 and Throne Of Bhaal replayability but it is way easier than BG2 on AD&D rules, even at high levels in BG2 and Throne Of Bhaal you will get squashed if you dont prepare for fights, that is one more quality in BG2, other games make you overpowered in the end so you can simply walk around killing everything with ease and little danger to yourself, in BG2 you are certainly powerful in the end but still without preparation and appropriate tactics you get squashed, that is realistic. Now go and play it, your life as a gamer is not complete if you havent played BG2, trust me it is a life changing experience, warning-it will make you disappointed too because you will quickly realize how mediocre to bad are modern RPGs compared to BG2.
    Expand
  26. Aug 22, 2014
    10
    I've been playing both WRPGs and JRPGs for decades. Of all of the RPGs that I have played, Baldur's Gate is without a doubt my favorite RPG of all time.
  27. Feb 18, 2015
    10
    To me? GOAT. Michael Jordan. Wayne Gretzky. Greatest of all time. Nothing has come close. I'm not just talking RPGs but gaming in general. And it is a timeless experience that has never really aged.

    Every paid game journalist / writer that dares to put Dragon Age on the same level as this should get fired and be banned from the trade simply for lying to you. Hearing that limp menu
    To me? GOAT. Michael Jordan. Wayne Gretzky. Greatest of all time. Nothing has come close. I'm not just talking RPGs but gaming in general. And it is a timeless experience that has never really aged.

    Every paid game journalist / writer that dares to put Dragon Age on the same level as this should get fired and be banned from the trade simply for lying to you. Hearing that limp menu music, seeing the whiny faces on character creation made me sick.

    Baldurs Gate 2 says **** all that noise, **** saving the world for the 1000th time from blighting reapers.
    You are not the usual world saving hero, beloved by all, like you are nowadays all the time. You have an own agenda, an own contextualization and drive. You can be a monster, slaughtering random people at will. Or you can be the classic knight in shining armor. Or you could be one of thousand things in between. All of it makes sense because Black Isle lets you brilliantly pick and pronounce you own motivation. Even after coming back for the 50th time, this to me is still so refreshing compared to the now usual "picked by destiny blablabla, shut up now and do as we say."

    You will meet wonderful characters, each with there own state of mind and depth to them.

    It is vast, full of charm, full of craziness, self-confidence and most of all: detail. You will wonder what happened to the industry and bioware (EA probably happened) when you right click a found magic weapon for the first time, just to realize it comes with its own 10-15 lines of signature lore and story.

    Not sure about the Enhanced Edition. Get it on GOG, get the widescreen fix, the unfinished business mod and spend a bit of time getting to now the critical character figures that are a bit disorientating at first in Dungeons and Dragons V2.

    I could either end it here or massively exceed the 5000 character limit.
    Expand
  28. A.K.
    Mar 11, 2007
    10
    After seven years after its release, I still play this game compulsively. A compelling plot, a huge, extremely well detailed and varied gameworld, amazing tactical depth, non-linear structure, great freedom of action and a stunning attention for particulars make Baldur's Gate 2 skyrocket to the Olympus of videogames: the best CRPG to this day.
  29. TomA.
    Apr 21, 2008
    10
    This Is A Fabulous Role playing game, I love everything about it. And The Humor and story. It was one of my first crpg's and I love it to this day.
  30. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    Ya, it's well made, deep, fun etc. But I was quite disappointed by the story, it lacks any cohesion and the conclusion is very cheap. But on the other hand, the side quests or stories or whatever are actually much more better than the main quest line itself.
  31. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    My favourite game of all time. If you are an American RPG fan and you havn't played and loved this game then you probably don't exist. BEST GAME EVRAAAR
  32. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best games I have ever played. I bought it when it originally came out, loved it then, beat it again last year and still love it. It has very few flaws; the only reason I don't give this a 10 is because of the slow and somewhat overwhelming intro. Fantastic storytelling with an original storyline (no "you are the chosen hero" stuff here), deep & tactical gameplay, and aThis is one of the best games I have ever played. I bought it when it originally came out, loved it then, beat it again last year and still love it. It has very few flaws; the only reason I don't give this a 10 is because of the slow and somewhat overwhelming intro. Fantastic storytelling with an original storyline (no "you are the chosen hero" stuff here), deep & tactical gameplay, and a diverse cast of characters with their own agendas round out a mindblowingly good RPG that has actual roleplaying in it. Expand
  33. Nov 29, 2014
    10
    This game along with the first in the series have a special place close to my heart.

    Rich in depth, interesting story, power progression, options, forgotten realms lore, great characters, great places to explore, fun combat. The only fault about the game is that there wasn't enough of it, I wish there was more place to explore on the world map. All in all thank you so much to the
    This game along with the first in the series have a special place close to my heart.

    Rich in depth, interesting story, power progression, options, forgotten realms lore, great characters, great places to explore, fun combat.

    The only fault about the game is that there wasn't enough of it, I wish there was more place to explore on the world map.

    All in all thank you so much to the people who made this game you will go down in history as having created the benchmark that all rpgs are based on. Please make something similar again!
    Expand
  34. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    Best game ever made for the PC. It makes such a difference when important characters have talented voice actors. What I think also makes a difference is that the player character is actually part of the story, not just some mercenary who was "mentioned in the scriptures that were foretold". You know the kind of crap that developers try get away with when they lack creative talent. TheBest game ever made for the PC. It makes such a difference when important characters have talented voice actors. What I think also makes a difference is that the player character is actually part of the story, not just some mercenary who was "mentioned in the scriptures that were foretold". You know the kind of crap that developers try get away with when they lack creative talent. The music is beautiful and enhances the atmosphere of this game. They just get everything "right" basically, very little is out of place. That's kind of why major modifications for this game were always mediocre at best. Expand
  35. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Quite simply the best CRPG ever made, Bioware at their best. Exceptional gameplay, story, content, art design and voice acting. Long, long campaign filled with interesting characters and side quests. As close to perfect as gaming gets.
  36. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    This is the Citizen Kane of PC gaming. It is even better than Fallout 1 and it is 100x better than any RPG that get out since then. Student will study this game in classic class 75 years from now. Masterpiece.
  37. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    Definitely one of the best rpg's ever created. I received this game as a birthday gift when it first came out. At that time I was still relatively new to rpgs. I didn't really have time for anything but rts' as far as I was concerned. Even before installing this game though I was instantly impressed. I just couldn't put down the manual until I actually installed the game. After that IDefinitely one of the best rpg's ever created. I received this game as a birthday gift when it first came out. At that time I was still relatively new to rpgs. I didn't really have time for anything but rts' as far as I was concerned. Even before installing this game though I was instantly impressed. I just couldn't put down the manual until I actually installed the game. After that I couldn't put down the game. From character creation on I was fully immersed. The voice acting was awesome. First running into Minsc is still one of my favorite character introductions of all time. Everything about this game was awesome. The amount of lore for the items and various books throughout the game was incredible. I'm still of the opinion that NPC's and party interaction have never surpassed this game. The replay value is extremely high with all of the different party variations, classes, and in-game decisions...Throw in incredible amounts of mod options and you will enjoy this game for a very very long time. Expand
  38. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    I am still very fond of this game. It was a time-eater and worth every second of it. The story is amazing. I remember the end, when they tell you about the future of your followers, when I just sat there and knew that this is the point where you know, that all those people in your group were not just some pixels, fighting for you, picking locks or healing you. Sadly, the games have changesI am still very fond of this game. It was a time-eater and worth every second of it. The story is amazing. I remember the end, when they tell you about the future of your followers, when I just sat there and knew that this is the point where you know, that all those people in your group were not just some pixels, fighting for you, picking locks or healing you. Sadly, the games have changes since then. I must admit that I might not want to spend so much time, running around and looking for clues what I'm supposed to do now, but I'll remember this game as the peak of it's generation. You, Baldur's Gate 2, made a 23 year old guy very happy back then. Thank you. Expand
  39. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    Story: 8 out of 10, Graphics: 8 out of 10, Fun: 9 out of 10, Controls: 8 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 7 out of 10, Length: 9 out of 10, Re-play: 5 out of 10, Value: 8 out of 10
  40. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    top shelf, next to only a very few

    baldurs gate series is one of the few games i never regreted to have payed money for(3 times actually)
    and i would again(depending on the publisher)
    "insert words of highest praise"

    10
  41. Oct 12, 2014
    10
    **** you meta critic i jusdt typed a long ass reveiw about how legit this game was and you ****ing peice of **** sit crashed. any ways this game is the only game I have had a personal connection with nuff said.
  42. Oct 22, 2014
    10
    Between this and Deus ex, the year 2000 has got to be the best year for great games. Two different games yet the best of their class.

    Hours upon hours of exciting gameplay, side quests, epic fights bound. The hand drawn background graphics are still beautiful now, especially with the upgraded high res version of the game. I wholly recommend it, it is one of the best out there.
    Between this and Deus ex, the year 2000 has got to be the best year for great games. Two different games yet the best of their class.

    Hours upon hours of exciting gameplay, side quests, epic fights bound. The hand drawn background graphics are still beautiful now, especially with the upgraded high res version of the game.

    I wholly recommend it, it is one of the best out there. Neverwinter nights doesn't hold a candle to BGII, it is a very poor copy of the BGII greatness.
    Expand
  43. Oct 31, 2014
    10
    2014 - and the Game is as good as in 2000. Buy it for a little amount of moneys DRM-Free on Good Old Games (GOG). The Resolution is not this what we call retina.... BUT THE GAME IS GREAT!
  44. KarlG.
    Jun 15, 2008
    10
    The best RPG ever, and quite possibly the greatest game ever made. Rather than a 'game' it's an experience that will suck you in and change your perception of gaming forever. I guarantee it will become the standard you judge other games by.
  45. MichalK
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    Even now, after nine years, there is no hardcore RPG game that will be better, or only equal to this little diamond... Best RPG ever.... And even one of the best games ever made...
  46. dd
    Feb 10, 2009
    10
    Every now and then i feel the urge to replay the whole baldur's gate story. every now and then i feel how much work and how much time that game needed to be build. every now and then i feel the masses of detail and art within this game. every now and then i feel ... minsc should STFU! but still i like him. reminds me of giving him that sword with verbal diarrhoea.
  47. ChristopherH.
    Oct 1, 2003
    10
    It's great!
  48. NikosP.
    Feb 17, 2006
    10
    The RPG that elevated an astounding title (Baldur's Gate) to the level of perfection is undoubtedly one of the most significant computer games of all time. No true RPG fan can call himself that without having played this game.
  49. Thullraven
    Jan 28, 2007
    10
    I have been playing RPG's forever. Have all the DND CRPG's. This is the best by far. Even new releases can't compare depth wise, NWN2 comes to mind. Anyone rating this low is doing so just to be different.
  50. JamesF.
    Jul 31, 2007
    10
    Just superb, even today in 2007 it still holds it own in the sheer game play stakes, and by far the best RPG I have ever played. Makes you wonder what the games developers of new RPGs have been doing for the last seven years really. If you didn't get this the first time around, go get it! It doesn't cost much and will last you years (as long as you don
  51. SD
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    They don't make 'em like this anymore, more's the pity. Everything came together in this game in a way that has never been achieved again. Balance was just right, gameplay was fun without being excessively repetitive, plot was interesting, world was expansive, mechanics were sound. But all that does not really get to the essence of what it is: an alternative world They don't make 'em like this anymore, more's the pity. Everything came together in this game in a way that has never been achieved again. Balance was just right, gameplay was fun without being excessively repetitive, plot was interesting, world was expansive, mechanics were sound. But all that does not really get to the essence of what it is: an alternative world experience that is totally immersive. Hardened gamers on forums reported that they literally cried at the end of this, as they would at the end of a great novel or a great movie. This had real characters doing epic things. It's not quite The Lord of the Rings, but in terms of epic scale, feel, emotion, heroism, and all out escapist joy, it's the closest thing PC gaming has ever produced. It may be ten years old now, but it's still peerless. Expand
  52. SamP.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    Baldur's Gate 2 is undoubtedly the best cRPG of all time. Even after seven years of its release, it's still ahead of its time in terms of content, depth, dialogue, non-linearity and replay value. All in all, it's an epic masterpiece of absolute perfection. If you are into RPG's and have never played this game, get it. It'll be the best deal in your life.
  53. Jan 14, 2015
    10
    King of Kings to RPGs. Fantastic characters, amazing world waiting to be journeyed and explored, very high replay value, stories that push and drive you forward. Only downside and CON is there'll never be another work of art like SoA.
  54. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    This game influenced me so much, amazed me to a point, that it is definitely one of my favourites all-time. It is an improved version of BG1, with another thrilling plot, maybe a bit less interesting than the first.
  55. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    While this game is great, there are some instances where it will test your patience. First off I dont know how anyone can complete this game without guide. If you did you are one hell of a gamer. The item system is a little too strict. If you do not find one little key or something you maybe screwed. There were a couple of instance where I had re load a saved game because I couldntWhile this game is great, there are some instances where it will test your patience. First off I dont know how anyone can complete this game without guide. If you did you are one hell of a gamer. The item system is a little too strict. If you do not find one little key or something you maybe screwed. There were a couple of instance where I had re load a saved game because I couldnt find some stupid key sitting somewhere. Other than that this is pretty impressive, huge rpg that many of the newer rpgs have copied. Expand
  56. Dec 6, 2013
    9
    I was utterly in love with this game. I played it for about 6 month solid, exploring every possible story arc. I even had the official walkthrough and it still took 6 months. Wonderful story, beautiful graphics (at the time), a huge cast of deep and well thought out characters. In fact, there is absolutely nothing I can fault this game

    I also have to commend this game for being the
    I was utterly in love with this game. I played it for about 6 month solid, exploring every possible story arc. I even had the official walkthrough and it still took 6 months. Wonderful story, beautiful graphics (at the time), a huge cast of deep and well thought out characters. In fact, there is absolutely nothing I can fault this game

    I also have to commend this game for being the first game (that I'm aware of) that had a romance side story that player could choose to have or not with some of the other part members. At them time, this was surprising and a very welcome feature.

    Overall:
    Baldur's Gate 2 is by far one of the most memorable RPGs I have ever played. Few RPGs have and will ever come close to the majesty that is this game.
    Expand
  57. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    My all time favorite game. I have spend at least 200 hrs on this one. There are tons of reviews out there but all I can say is that it is the best RPG of all time. The gameplay is superb and the characters are memorable. I can see myself playing this game even im another 30 years if I am still alive by that time hehe. The thing about this game I really like is this is the first game thatMy all time favorite game. I have spend at least 200 hrs on this one. There are tons of reviews out there but all I can say is that it is the best RPG of all time. The gameplay is superb and the characters are memorable. I can see myself playing this game even im another 30 years if I am still alive by that time hehe. The thing about this game I really like is this is the first game that actually captured the complexity of D&D. Diablo 2 was great but it pales in comparison to baldurs gate in terms of complexity. Diablo 2 is the mainstream RPG that focus in mindless hack and slash. The game is text heavy and you have to actually think to actually get things done. Actions also have consequences and killing a NPC can mean not being able to take a certain quest or missing out on some reward. And going back to complexity, you have to really understand how the game works to even make a good character build and build for your other characters that can make or break a party in many fight scenes. And you have to understand how teamwork/strategy should be employed else your characters are dead in no time. This game is not for the simple minded. Expand
  58. Dec 11, 2014
    10
    Just finished it some days ago. It is really the best RPG ever: Story 1st class, gameplay complex. Some mistakes in the controlling and overview (over the many spells f.e.).
  59. Aug 5, 2014
    9
    Fantastic sequel to the ultimate masterpiece, that was the first Baldur's Gate. More content, more levels for your characters, more quests, better resolution etc. everything a sequel should have, even dragons! But honestly, for me, it lacked that otherworldly magic of the first Baldur's Gate for me and my experience here wasn't nearly as strong. I also feel it's a bit overrated and myFantastic sequel to the ultimate masterpiece, that was the first Baldur's Gate. More content, more levels for your characters, more quests, better resolution etc. everything a sequel should have, even dragons! But honestly, for me, it lacked that otherworldly magic of the first Baldur's Gate for me and my experience here wasn't nearly as strong. I also feel it's a bit overrated and my theory is that people who prefer the BG2 to the original played it first, but it's a must play nevertheless, both Baldur's, especially when you can (and should) create your chars in BG and then export them and continue with them in BG 2, this is an incredible saga. The one that wasn't surpassed still to this day and might never be. 9/10 Expand
  60. Lev
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    Favourite RPG, especially with all the mods out there nowadays. The only thing I don't like about is that even though you get to choose the alignment for your PC, you're forced to play the good guy all the time since it's more rewarding and also it makes more sense storyline wise. So it's kind of hard to really build up a personality for your characters, which Favourite RPG, especially with all the mods out there nowadays. The only thing I don't like about is that even though you get to choose the alignment for your PC, you're forced to play the good guy all the time since it's more rewarding and also it makes more sense storyline wise. So it's kind of hard to really build up a personality for your characters, which distracts from the overall enjoyable game. Expand
  61. AndyC.
    Aug 9, 2006
    10
    The best game I have ever played. It turned me into a drooling BioWare fanboy.
  62. LukeT.
    Dec 30, 2001
    9
    The problem with tabletop RPGs is all the dice rolling. The problem with Computer RPGs is that they aren't as flexible as a human GM, and so story paths are relatively inflexible. BG2 Has so much divergence, that problem has now been addressed. Problems-- unstable in the Mac version, though I guess mac owners should be happy to see it at all :) Astonishingly complex, and very The problem with tabletop RPGs is all the dice rolling. The problem with Computer RPGs is that they aren't as flexible as a human GM, and so story paths are relatively inflexible. BG2 Has so much divergence, that problem has now been addressed. Problems-- unstable in the Mac version, though I guess mac owners should be happy to see it at all :) Astonishingly complex, and very immersive... Extremely good overall, I'd like to see Fallout 3 done in the Infinity Engine :) Expand
  63. TimothyW.
    May 27, 2004
    9
    When i got the game shortly after its release, I swear i heard a choir of angels. This is easily one of the best CRPGs ever made. Not the best, but it comes darn close.
  64. MinscB.
    Aug 4, 2004
    10
    Maybe the best RPG I've ever played. This is coming from a guy having never heard of the series then poped it in and then played it. Of course by doing that I was saying good bye to a good 2 months of my life.
  65. SamuelP.
    Dec 21, 2007
    10
    BG2 takes away your breath, your time, your conceptions of a good RPG, and last but not least, your life. Its 2008 and I still play this game once or twice a year, and its completely new everytime...the magic just never dies. The graphics are pure ART, the soundtrack could come from a Peter Jackson movie, the gameplay is perfectly adjusted, the challenge is up to you, but it is always a BG2 takes away your breath, your time, your conceptions of a good RPG, and last but not least, your life. Its 2008 and I still play this game once or twice a year, and its completely new everytime...the magic just never dies. The graphics are pure ART, the soundtrack could come from a Peter Jackson movie, the gameplay is perfectly adjusted, the challenge is up to you, but it is always a tough battle throught it. Try doing the firts BG, then importing your poweful character in BG2, then, as it wasn't already enough, go throught the Throne Of Bhaal expansion pack for BG2. You'll probably need some protection for your balls, though. Expand
  66. OleH.V.
    Apr 11, 2007
    10
    At this point, there have been no better RPG games released.
  67. Jarno
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    Quite simple the best RPG I've played in 20+ years of gaming. Immersive storyline, looooong game play, exceptional writing, and a still active community (7 years after the game's release) creating mods and populating the official forums for the game. That must tell you something. Of course BGII can't match up in graphics to modern games, but in pure gamplay, it beats them all.
  68. JohnR
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Along with BG1 and Planescape : Torment the best cRPG of all time. My only criticisms are that : Bioware/Black Isle decided to dispense with the wilderness (i.e. non-essential, connecting) areas that were present in BG1 ; and I reckon BG2 could have done with perhaps five more playable NPCs. But everything else about the game is as good as and quite often better than the original, which Along with BG1 and Planescape : Torment the best cRPG of all time. My only criticisms are that : Bioware/Black Isle decided to dispense with the wilderness (i.e. non-essential, connecting) areas that were present in BG1 ; and I reckon BG2 could have done with perhaps five more playable NPCs. But everything else about the game is as good as and quite often better than the original, which was already easily the best cRPG of all time. The level of imagination, the quality of writing, the inexhaustibly involving tactical combat, the incredibly human characterization, the moments of sublime drama, great humour and of almost religious awe (e.g. when entering the Watcher's Keep area ) - make this ,along with BG1 and P:Torment, to computer games what The Iliad and The Odyssey will forever be to poetry. I will vow always to keep a machine to play these games on and they MUST be kept compatible with all future hardware to come. Expand
  69. Mr.K.
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    Too bad they don't make games like this anymore. I already signed off Fallout 3.
  70. DaveG.
    Jan 23, 2005
    10
    This game ia great there always something to do.
  71. ChristophB.
    Aug 18, 2005
    10
    The most extraordinary, utterly brilliant game that I have ever, and are ever likely, to play. Timeless.
  72. FelipeP.
    Sep 15, 2005
    10
    One of the best RPGs of all time, incredible storyline and amazing gamplay.. although the graphics are soewhat outdated. Quality in the line of fallout games.
  73. StuartX.
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    Absolutely the greatest RPG ever made. Beautiful graphics, excellent story, strategic gameplay, deep character development and a brilliant story. Play it!
  74. Blob
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    This is simply the best cRPG ever. And I doubt my opinion will ever change. Stunning graphics, NPC interactions, music, game play, story telling... what could you want more from RPG?
  75. AlexC.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    I have played the game at least 20 times since I got it (7 years ago) and yet I still want to play it again... it is a rare gem.
  76. ChadR.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This is and probably will always be the best pg game ever. No other RPG i played since has captured my attention and made me want to keep playing longer. Neverwinter nights is newer and Balgurs Gate 2 totally makes NWN look like a pile of hot dogcrap. My advice to anyone who is trying to get into D&D or RPG's this is the best title you can possibly find. There are always a few on This is and probably will always be the best pg game ever. No other RPG i played since has captured my attention and made me want to keep playing longer. Neverwinter nights is newer and Balgurs Gate 2 totally makes NWN look like a pile of hot dogcrap. My advice to anyone who is trying to get into D&D or RPG's this is the best title you can possibly find. There are always a few on Ebay and if its under 50.00 grab it as fast as you can bcause yu got a deal. Expand
  77. JoeB.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    More earth shattering than ground breaking, this game set the standard for storyline and character development. Seven years later, the bastard son of the god of murder still reigns as the deity of great gaming.
  78. JonasM.
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    The deepest CRPG to date, even 7 years after its release.
  79. GeorgeL.
    Aug 1, 2007
    10
    Amazing... The best RPG in terms of character interaction, gameplay, replayability, and spell repertoire. Only slightly behind the immortals FFVI and Chrono Trigger in terms of story. The voice acting, while not the greatest, still holds its own. The graphics are, as with all games, the only point of Baldur's Gate II that will get worse with age. Anyone who hasn't played this Amazing... The best RPG in terms of character interaction, gameplay, replayability, and spell repertoire. Only slightly behind the immortals FFVI and Chrono Trigger in terms of story. The voice acting, while not the greatest, still holds its own. The graphics are, as with all games, the only point of Baldur's Gate II that will get worse with age. Anyone who hasn't played this and enjoys RPG's... Get it. Now. BGII is the greatest single-player RPG on the PC. Neverwinter Nights 1/2 are wonderful for their easy ability to be modded and their mulitplayer, but as far as single-player goes, NWN and NWN2 both fall short of the compelling story and gameplay of the Baldur's Gate series. Any fans of the NWN 1/2 single-player game who haven't played Baldur's Gate II, go buy it now. Now. Do it. Seriously, do it. Don't fear the outdated graphics... Play this game now. Expand
  80. Jesper
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Definitely the best game ever, there is no rpg like it, there is no game like it at all i have ever played after...but i hope there will be.
  81. Nova
    Mar 21, 2008
    10
    Not as good character development as BG but so diverse - have layed through well over 100 times with different character combinations. Downloadable Baldur's Gate TuTu allows BG1 to be played using BG2 game engine so can create amazing characters to play right through, no need to change any weapon proficiencies etc
  82. MareusK.
    Mar 23, 2008
    10
    This is how a game should be made. THE BEST game ever, no doubt! I dont even want to get into the details, just play it and you wont regret it. I promise!
  83. SniperZ.
    Mar 30, 2008
    10
    Not to sound too over the top but Baldur's Gate II : Shadows of Amn may possibly be the greatest RPG ever made, combining excellent graphics, gameplay, narrative, story and a living, breathing environment populated by some of the most weird and wonderful characters you'll ever see in a video game, this game will take you on an amazing adventure and you owe it to yourself to own Not to sound too over the top but Baldur's Gate II : Shadows of Amn may possibly be the greatest RPG ever made, combining excellent graphics, gameplay, narrative, story and a living, breathing environment populated by some of the most weird and wonderful characters you'll ever see in a video game, this game will take you on an amazing adventure and you owe it to yourself to own this game. Put simply; if you don't like this game you either down like RPG's or you are an idiot. Expand
  84. BillDoor
    Apr 11, 2008
    9
    The only reason this game is not a 10? A few bugs that caused me to re-load old saves and re-do some tough spots. The patches MOSTLY cleared things up, but a few broken plot lines and a vanishing item glitch caused much undo frustration. All fixed with a re-load but irritating none the less. In the year 2008, I still play this game often.
  85. OmbarK.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    Along with it's prequel, Baldur's Gate, this has to be the best RPG based on the D&D system ever made. To all RPG fans, if you haven't played this one, you're really missing the best one.
  86. DomC
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    Great game, if you like D&D then you cannot go wrong. Shame some trolls had to spoil this games reviews, great artwork, characters and voice work even to this day. Games industry needs more 2D games.
  87. JonathanN
    Jul 17, 2008
    10
    BG2 has not equal .
  88. SS
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    Quite simply the best classic heroic-fantasy RPG ever made.
  89. JohnR.
    Jul 22, 2003
    10
    The best computer game I have ever played. Everything about it is perfect. You can't ask for more in a game: the music is beautiful and appropriate, the story is enthralling, the writing is clever and interesting, the gameplay is fantastic ... I would recommend this game to strangers on the street. If you don't have it yet, BUY IT.
  90. K.E.
    Aug 26, 2006
    10
    How does a game deserve a 10? By being one of the best games I've ever played over the last 25years+ Watch out this could ruin your social life and your girlfriend must be very undrestanding.
  91. SHODAN
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    Complex villain with believable motivations. NPCs with personality and backstories. Solid and lengthy well-written plot. Subtle, detailed world. Stellar art direction with appropriate and effective graphics. Beautiful score. Totally engaging.
  92. AleksiS.
    Jul 14, 2007
    10
    Simply the best RPG ever.
  93. Lars
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    Still the best RPG i've ever played. Great story, very good music, interesting characters, romances and party banter, lovingly character portraits, beautiful graphic backdrops. The voice acting is brilliant - Jaheira with a slight touch of arrogance, an innocent Aerie, mad Minsc. It's an epic RPG that offers many, many hours of gameplay, but it's not an empty, dull world Still the best RPG i've ever played. Great story, very good music, interesting characters, romances and party banter, lovingly character portraits, beautiful graphic backdrops. The voice acting is brilliant - Jaheira with a slight touch of arrogance, an innocent Aerie, mad Minsc. It's an epic RPG that offers many, many hours of gameplay, but it's not an empty, dull world like Oblivion. Expand
  94. Kevin
    Apr 21, 2008
    10
    In my opinion, the best RPG ever made. Terrific story, good combat, great NPCs... everything comes together so nicely.
  95. bigcheese
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    No RPG can ever beat this game. They can only equal it.
  96. BR
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    Baldur's Gate 2 represents the greatest human achievement in the field of CRPGS. Additionally, it is probably one of the best games of any genre ever made. This game must be rated a 10 due to the fact that it will very likely be studied by scholars years from now.
  97. NathanW
    Jul 16, 2009
    10
    There's a special place in a gamer's heart for his first RPG. What surprises me is how much I adore this game more than the original, which was my first real rpg immersion. Everything was better, deeper, richer, and more exciting. I have never played a more realized and wonderful fantasy world, and never regret the near hundred hours I poured into this game. Is it supremely There's a special place in a gamer's heart for his first RPG. What surprises me is how much I adore this game more than the original, which was my first real rpg immersion. Everything was better, deeper, richer, and more exciting. I have never played a more realized and wonderful fantasy world, and never regret the near hundred hours I poured into this game. Is it supremely complicated and difficult to learn? Of course it is, and all the benefit of those who want to learn and live. Expand
  98. OnurC
    Sep 13, 2009
    10
    Simply the best game I have ever played. An epic adventure which any other game could not offer and I do not think they will do so. I have been playing variety genres of computer games for nearly 20 years and I did not played a game more than once but this. I completed this game four times and after all that I never got tired of it.
  99. Dec 11, 2014
    9
    This is a great role playing game that puts many modern day rpg's to shame. The story and characters are top notch, I couldn't put the game down once i started. The combat is tactical and often difficult which makes winning battles feel rewarding. The graphics will obviously be outdated, the game was released in 2000. If you haven't played this game yet you're missing out.
  100. Mar 31, 2015
    10
    This is one of the biggest games of all time, and nearly all that content is good.

    The story is very good. What I like especially is that in the beginning you are put in a bad situation and are required to raise a large amount of money. This makes it difficult to always act as the typical RPG saint. The NPC companions are brilliant. Some of them won't like you or might even betray
    This is one of the biggest games of all time, and nearly all that content is good.

    The story is very good. What I like especially is that in the beginning you are put in a bad situation and are required to raise a large amount of money. This makes it difficult to always act as the typical RPG saint.

    The NPC companions are brilliant. Some of them won't like you or might even betray you depending on your choices. Some of them won't go together and will leave the party or even kill each other. Never seen better implemented or more meaningful party interaction and dialogue.

    Quests are always interesting. Multiple ways to solve them. You can double cross people or trick them.

    Combat is very fun, and because of the difficulty, it pays off to build a well balanced team. Or if you choose so, it can be fun to have a completely unbalanced one and face the problems that brings.

    I'm rating this a 9.6/10.
    Expand
  101. May 4, 2012
    0
    I loved ES: Skyrim, and i really enjoyed ES: Oblivion, I liked DA: Origins and I've played a multitude of the most popular MMORPG's like WoW, Rift, Swtor and GW. But all of those games still feel meek compared to the epicness of BG2. The first game in the series is amazing, and because it is the first, it's still closer to my heart, but all in all, BG2 is the best RPG i've ever playedI loved ES: Skyrim, and i really enjoyed ES: Oblivion, I liked DA: Origins and I've played a multitude of the most popular MMORPG's like WoW, Rift, Swtor and GW. But all of those games still feel meek compared to the epicness of BG2. The first game in the series is amazing, and because it is the first, it's still closer to my heart, but all in all, BG2 is the best RPG i've ever played through more than once (i've cleared it more than 4 times with different builds and choices in the romances and main quests) and still the only one i feel like i want to play more, experience more in, and find out even more about the characters in.
    The game can be hard and unforgiving, especially for a player of new-age RPG's, and that is part of it's charm. I still think the graphics are good and the gameplay never felt repetitive since i went through with different characters and party set-up each time.
    All in all, best RPG ever in my opinion, can't wait to see how the updated version will be.
    Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Antagonist
    98
    I'd like my life back, Black Isle.
  2. For the first time in a single player game, I truly felt I was playing my way through a pen and paper fantasy campaign.
  3. GamePower
    100
    It's not just vast, but flooded with quests and side adventures. There is always something to do in this game and, after that, there's always something more.